Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Luxury Beachfront Condo at Sand Dollar

Bedrooms 2
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 5 - 7 nights


About the property

Condo, 2 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 4-6)

Accommodations on Sanibel are no lovelier than at Sand Dollar.

Sand Dollar is one of the most premier low density condominium complexes on Sanibel Island, centrally located on Middle Gulf Dr. Our unit is rated “Platinum” the highest rating for desirability, location, amenities, condition, design and décor by the premier island real estate rental agency. The interior has been newly renovated for expansive views and designer decorated in a light Floridian theme. It is a very private, light and airy corner unit with a beautiful view. The complex has a heated pool and tennis courts. It is a wonderful base from which to explore Sanibel's beautiful shelling beaches, nature preserves, waterfowl, fishing, golf courses, bicycle paths, live theatre, and boutiques. Excursions for deep-sea fishing and kayak/canoe/bike rentals are close by as are the island's many delicious restaurants and lovely boutiques and galleries. Local management is available to assure continued quality throughout your stay.

You are never far from all the conveniences, but at Sand Dollar you are millions of miles away from hustle and bustle. If you need to work or stay in touch, we have a comfortable working station with a High Speed Wi-Fi Internet access also available for your laptop.

Keywords: Condominium

More Details

Robert Randell and Kassie Witte
Member since: 2002
Speaks: english, french, german, spanish, italian, dutch
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
March 23, 2018

About Robert Randell and Kassie Witte

We are vacation property owners who are passionate about travel. Over the years, we have acquired a small number of very select vacation properties to rent to our guests. We have 20 years of experience in owning and renting superior properties in exceptional locations. We are not a large company or a rental agency but a small family business owned and managed by a couple who take a great deal of pride in offering you a well maintained, well appointed, carefree vacation home.

Robert Randell and Kassie Witte purchased this condo in 2001

Why Robert Randell and Kassie Witte chose Sanibel

We continually update and upgrade our properties to assure our guests all of the amenities and comfort they expect and more. It is our pleasure to proudly offer these properties. Because of the locations and the amenities, our properties are never the lowest priced properties in the area, but we strive to ensure good value for our guests. We visit each property regularly, and update and upgrade as required to keep them in platinum condition. This way our guests can be sure that they can always count on a first class experience in every way. We hope you will choose to be our guests

Guestbook comments from the owner

Hi Kassie and Robert. We are now home in Ontario after a lovely winter escape. After our time on Sanibel we spent some time in Indian Rock Beach and then St Augustine before our drive home. Each lovely in it's own way but I have to say nothing holds a candle to your place on Sanibel! It is perfect and so comfortable. You must spend some time there because it has the feel of a well cared for home and not just a rental property. My brother has a place in Bonita Springs. They came for a day and he said it is the nicest unit he has ever seen. I just wanted you to know how much we enjoyed our time in your condo. It is a treasure. I hope we are able to enjoy it again in the future.
Mar 2018
  • 1 of 2


Sanibel Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Children welcome ...
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beachfront
  • Air Conditioning
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Elevator
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Dining Area
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • King size beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (2), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1) Convertible sofa in living room to double bed
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Toys
  • Video Library
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • cinemas
  • live theater
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness center
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • sailing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Platinum Quality Rating by local property rating agency, White Sandy Beach, Great Views of the Gulf, Private Quiet Corner Unit, Tennis Courts, Barbecue Area, Private Screened Porch with Ceiling Fan, Three TVs and VCRs/DVD, , Movies, Games, Books, Beach Chairs and Umbrella with Igloo Cooler, Ample Storage, Private Balcony, Cool Decorator Floor Tiles thoroughout with Colorful Area Rugs,


Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(18 traveler reviews)

66% Complete
22% Complete
11% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Luxury Beachfront Condo at Sand Dollar
average rating of 4.5555553 based on 20 reviews
Caledonia, Michigan

OK, but not a great value

  • 3 of 5

This is an OK unit, but overpriced IMO. Furniture was good, unit was clean. Entry door could be pushed in by a 10 year old. Really loose. No deadbolt.Toilet in master was the lowest I've ever seen outside of a mobile home. The toilet seat in 2nd bathroom was really loose and could be swiveled 45 degrees. All sink drains were slow, plugged with hair. Kind of a buzz kill. Water heater must be set at minimum, always a luke warm shower.The screen deck was nice. Appliances were good. Pool and grounds were well kept and gas grills were new. A couple of dead rats were noted near the grills. At least they were dead. The guy grilling next to me said they had problems last week, but exterminators were on the job. Probably wouldn't come again.

  • Submitted: Mar 17, 2018
  • Stayed: March 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so glad that you enjoyed what our condo has to offer, a beautiful lanai, nicely appointed furniture, brand new appliances and the lovely grounds of the complex itself. We’re sorry to read that you were unaware that the front door lock is a high security electronic Schlage lock which operates a dead bolt that opens only with the custom codes we give each guest, and the door itself is a heavy duty steel door, which is the standard dictated by the condo complex. The toilets are of high quality, installed when we completely renovated the condo and are standard height. Perhaps in your home you have one a higher toilet, as we do, and are accustomed to that height. As you remember, our handyman appeared immediately to address your issue re the drains. We wish you had mentioned the loose toilet seat then. These can loosen at any time, and he would have been happy to adjust it. Now that you’ve alerted us, it will be attended to immediately. Sanibel is a barrier island of which over 70% is nature preserves. Because of that we are surrounded by nature, and enjoy beautiful water birds and also rodents such as rabbits and cabbage palm rats, whose natural habitat is the native cabbage palm. Responsible condo associations and home owners alike pay for ongoing pest control. We're glad to hear that Sand Dollar’s pest control program works. We’re sorry that you did not feel that our condo provided a 5 star experience for you. We strive for that level of excellence and comfort, and take pride in achieving it, as we hope you will see from the many other reviews here, including the one from a guest who stayed just prior to you.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Saint Louis, MO

Wonderful , short walk to beach, beach chairs and comfortable beds.

  • 4 of 5

We had a great time relaxing on the beach and enjoyed the roomy and welcoming feel of the condo.

  • Submitted: Oct 21, 2017
  • Stayed: February 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Christy, Thanks for the great review. We're delighted that you had an enjoyable and comfortable stay in our condo! Robert and Kassie
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Perfect stay.

  • 5 of 5

Great location, beautiful 2 bedroom unit. Short walk to the beach. Pool was perfect for when kids wanted to take a break from the beach. Loved it.

  • Submitted: Oct 17, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Accommodations at Sand Point Beachfront were great

  • 5 of 5

We love going to Sanibel Island and staying at the Sand Dollar beachfront condo made this a perfect week. This was the second time we were able to stay on the island, and the accommodations were great.

The owners were very helpful and responsive in setting up our stay, as we arrived just 10 days after Hurricane Irma. Everything in the condo was set up fine for us and our guests. They all said we had chosen the perfect beachfront condo to stay.

  • Submitted: Oct 11, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Doug, we are so delighted that you enjoyed your stay at our condo. We're also very thankful that Sanibel was spared the wrath of Irma and remains the beautiful natural environment we all love. Thanks for staying with us and thanks for the nice review! Robert and Kassie
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Beautiful condo!

  • 5 of 5

Great family vacation spot!

  • Submitted: Jul 22, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Miami, FL

Great stay!!!

  • 4 of 5

We spent a week at this apartment and all was great. It was exactly as described and what we expected. The apartment was in good condition. The general living space was spacious and comfortable. The kitchen was well equipped for us to cook what we wanted. The master bedroom is huge and we were able to fit in an inflatable mattress for our son in there so our two guests could have the guest room. The guest room could be a bit bigger but comfortable also. Bathrooms were also great.

The apartment has a beach closet which was great to keep all our beach stuff and not have to keep it in apartment or have to take it up stairs or elevator. The owners answered all our questions prior to our arrival in a timely manner.

The reason I did not give this a 5 start was due to the fact that the elevator in the building broke on our second day there. This created a challenge taking things up and down. This was out of the owner's control but they kept us informed and they offered assistance from the management company and even offered to move us to another location.

Overall a great stay we will remember for years to come. We will definitely be back and will be more than happy to rent this apartment again.

  • Submitted: Jul 9, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Sanibel is a Natural Paradise, 70% Nature Preserve, No Chain Stores, Miles of Sandy White Beaches, over 30 miles of Bike Paths through Nature Preserves and to Delightful Boutiques, Galleries, and Restaurants, Kayak or Canoe the Mangroves in the National Wildlife Refuge or Fish the Local Waters, Island Water Fowl is replete, see Otters, Turtles, Manatees, and Dolphins, visit the Shell Museum, Play Golf, or Cruise to nearby Island Keys, visit the Ford/Edison Museums in Fort Myers, browse Factory Outlets, discover Naples, go to a MLB Spring Training Game, also, we are only a three-hour drive from Orlando for a combination vacation.


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Booking Fee $55 + Tax
Tax Rate 11.0%

Rates are subject to change until reservations are confirmed

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties