This romantic, detached cottage sits on the owner's working sheep farm, seven miles from Edzell in Scotland, and sleeps two people in one bedroom.
The Bothy is a charming, ground floor cottage set in a rural location on the owner's working farm. With one double bedroom it sleeps two people and provides a romantic base with surrounding scenery perfect for walking, fishing and golfing. There's also a bathroom, a kitchen with dining area and a cosy sitting room with a woodburner. The Bothy offers a delightful, romantic retreat for a wonderful getaway discovering Scotland's stunning scenery.
Amenities: Electric central heating with woodburner. Electric oven and hob, microwave, fridge, shared use of washing machine by prior arrangement with owner, TV with FreeSat, DVD, selection of books, games and DVDs. Fuel, power and starter pack for woodburner inc. in rent. Bed linen and towels inc. in rent. Cot and highchair on request. Off road parking for 2 cars. Lawned garden to side and rear with furniture. One well-behaved dog welcome. Sorry, no smoking. Shop and pub 7 miles. Note: Cottage front door opens onto farm access road. Note: There is no mobile reception or WiFi.
Region: From the lush green farmlands of the Borders to the ruggedness of the Highlands, the Scots are proud of their land and identity. Scotland also has some of Britains best beaches with glorious stretches of clean sand over which to roam.
Town: Originally located within the walls of Edzell Castle, the present village was an expansion of the village of Slateford in the early 19th century by the Earl of Panmure and renamed Edzell in 1818. 1861 brought a visit from Queen Victoria and Prince Albert. During WW2 land nearby was used as an RAF base during the Cold War as a US Navy submarine tracking station with the base being closed down in 1995. The original castle dates from 1100 but the ruined castle and the its highly decorated garden that you see today dates from the early 1500s when the Lindsay family became Earls of Crawford and it was extended in 1553. A distinctive feature greeting the tourist arriving from the south is the Dalhousie Arch spanning the main road. Built in 1887 to commemorate the 13th Earl of Dalhousie, the arch provides and striking entrance to the wide main street. The village has 2 hotels, two tearooms, a pharmacy, post office and a couple of shops. Popular with anglers and golfers Edzell also offers riverside walks along the Rocks of Solitude circuit as well as more challenging walking in nearby Glen Clova and Glen Esk.