Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Real Log Home -'E-Z' ACCESS - Quiet, Comfortable & Connected

Sleeps9
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Space 2,000 sq. ft.
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

Cabin, 4 Bedrooms + Loft + Den, 3 Baths, (Sleeps 9)

There is something about a log home experience ... rest and relax ... enter into a secure environment ... away from the noise and traffic of everyday life. We are located here in Lake Lure NC. This is a secure and quiet community with much privacy. As you approach the mountains you see the views all around. We are there. Our cabin is in the view! Enjoy peaceful evenings on any one of our 4 decks. Listen to the katydids . . . fire up the grill, enjoy your favorite team or a great movie on the big screen over the FIRE PLACE !! Read, relax, and enjoy your time away, here at the most 'peaceful place on the planet.' All bedrooms have satellite TV, hi-speed internet, and cell phone service is no problem. The cabin is almost new and so is the furniture.We now have three bedrooms with queen beds and a forth with two twins. There are also two twins in the loft.

The River-bend Development has two lakes, 'Little Mirror' and 'Big Mirror.' Both offer fantastic bass fishing. The Rocky Broad River rushes through the middle of Riverbend. Hiking trails and grilling areas are along the banks. Wildlife can easily be seen during the absence of leaves. Canoeing is also fun. The views from the lake are spectacular. Also, for the athletic type, hiking and trails are all around. PLEASE NOTE THAT OUR RATES HAVE REMAINED THE SAME, HOWEVER, TO COVER COST OF A HOLIDAY MAINTENANCE CALL, OVERLOAD DURING HOLIDAY, AND LOSS OF PERSONAL USE DURING A HOLIDAY, THE FOLLOWING HOLIDAYS REQUIRE A ONE TIME $200. HOLIDAY FEE - LABOR DAY, THANKSGIVING, JULY 4TH, AND CHRISTMAS...THANKS

Of course Riverbend is only 2 minutes from the Town of Lake Lure and the lake. Groceries, restaurants, road-side stands and antique shopping are all around. This location will give you every opportunity to dine out at some of the most reasonable restaurants yet quality food. Seafood, steaks, Italian, Mexican or simply pub style, there are menus galore within a 10 minute drive. Of course, all modern conveniences of home, including gas grill, are available for your cooking and food prep desire at the cabin.

Don't forget Chimney Rock and its quaint little town is only 15 minutes away.If you ride , Hwy 64 is the best motorcycle alley in NC..

Venture to nearby Ashville, Hendersonville, Greenville/Spartanburg, or Charlotte, only a short enjoyable ride of about an hour.

A great Location for a memorable get-a-way, professionally managed by a local firm.

Keywords: High Speed dsl Internet , Log Cabin , private , hospitable , well furnished , peaceful,

More Details

Owner
Marshall Seay
Member since: 2008
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 2 days
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
August 19, 2017

About Marshall Seay

I am Marshall Seay pictured here with my wife, Lori Jill at a South Carolina Gamecocks football game. We are in the construction business. We have built many log homes over western NC and the upstate SC. We thought that it would be nice to build a vacation getaway, not too far from Greenville, SC. We offer it to others as a vacation rental when we are not using it...It has been a great experience and we enjoy our times at the cabin. If you get up there and fall in love with the place, as many have, we can help you find just the right place and build you one. This has happened several times so visit at your own risk ! You may not want to leave...

Marshall Seay purchased this cabin in 2008

Why Marshall Seay chose Asheville Area

The affordability, scenery, security, location, and the Amenities...

What makes this cabin unique

Peace, quiet, decks, trails, etc...according to the time of year...All seasons have their times. Summer... swimming, fishing, homemade ice cream. Fall... leaves, football on the big screen, Thanksgiving. Winter... Ski retreats, hot cocoa by the fire. Spring...flowers, baseball, trails, football. Always the quaint towns and shops year around...Heck, watch the race on the Big Screen !

Amenities

Lake Lure Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2000 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 9
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Golf Course View ...
  • Mountain View ...
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Broadband Access ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Computer Available ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Gas Fireplace ...
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Mobile Phone ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 9
  • Queen size Beds (3). We now have Queen Beds in both upstairs bedrooms as well as the master downstairs. Twin or Single Beds (3). We have 3 twin beds, one in downstairs bedroom and two in the loft.
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
Suitability:
  • wheelchair accessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
  • jetted tub ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountaineering
  • racquetball
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • skiing
  • snowmobiling
  • spelunking
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water tubing
Notes:
This time of year wear a jacket and walk the trails along the 'Rocky Broad.'It is a very peaceful time of year , perfect for the' fireside on the inside'If you are wanting to Ski you can drive about 30 minutes to the nearest slopes. OR,Catch the sports on the flat screen , put on a pot of chili and CHILL....We will leave the light on for you...

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(49 traveler reviews)

77% Complete
14% Complete
6% Complete
2% Complete
0% Complete
Real Log Home -'E-Z' ACCESS - Quiet, Comfortable & Connected
average rating of 4.6734695 based on 49 reviews
2

Disappointing

  • 2 of 5

Functional but much that should be improved. No guest information in house. As result we had trouble getting AC on when we arrived. Kitchen supplies and utensils barely adequate and we had to hint for enough glasses and tableware. No info available about how to access hiking, swimming, fishing, etc. Had find through chance encounter with another guest. No map or guide to these amenities was in the house. Beds did not have mattress pads. Gate entry system was a big hassle over the week we were there. No instructions about parking were provided. As we had 5 cars (3 rentals for people who flew) we parked alongside the road, completely on the shoulder. This led to a very unpleasant incident for my wife who was rudely scolded by a local resident who apparently felt empowered to advise about "rules" we knew nothing of. Again, a sheet of information about such things should have been provided. This is common practice in other properties we have stayed in. Cleaning appeared to have been done half-heartedly.l. Floors had not been thoroughly cleaned and definitely not under couches and chair in living room area.

All in all, we were not impressed and would not recommend this property to others.

  • Submitted: Aug 11, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: This guest called me one time during the stay .When he arrive he called to inform me the air was not working . I immediately dispatched help . When I called him back about 15 minutes later I realized that he had mistaken a hand held remote for the thermostat which is in full view . I immediately called off maintainence and we never heard another word . I will immediately address these concerns of his and I would advise anyone planning to bring more than 3 cars to understand three cars in the driveway is the limit .
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Had a great time !

  • 5 of 5

We enjoyed this cabin. Liked the neighborhood . The swimming hole was a great place to swim. The house was perfect for our needs.

  • Submitted: Jul 29, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful home and beautiful setting!!

  • 5 of 5

This will likely be a bit different as reviews go but it may give peace of mind to travelers who have medically fragile or elderly family members. My father became seriously ill and we had to call 911... literally before my husband arrived at the gate to let them, as instructed by the 911 operator, they were in front of the house... fire truck, paramedics, ambulance, and chief. About 10 extraordinarily kind and highly competent first responders streamed through the front door and stabilized and tended to him getting him ready to be transported. He spent 12 hrs in the ER at Rutherfordton and then transferred to Hickory to their cardiac ICU ... and eventually transferred back to Greenville NC to his doctors. We received lovely, highly competent care and though it wasn't the vacation we planned it was a huge comfort to be so well taken care of in an unfamiliar place! Once my folks were transferred to Greenville (and other family were there to take care of them) we were able to have a wonderful day at chimney Rock and exploring the swimming hole and water fall in the neighborhood.

My one and only complaint is that the gate situation is a little tricky when you have adult kids that want to come and go independently and someone has to be the gate runner to let them in and out. It would be lovely if there was a second pass or a number code available to help that situation. We definitely will return another year! Thanks so much for sharing your home!

  • Submitted: May 29, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Praise God from whom all blessings flow . I am so proud of our local service pros . Caring is the base of good hearted first responders . We are blessed with a caring community , county , and state .
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful house, tucked back in a quiet neighborhood.

  • 5 of 5

We really enjoyed our stay at this house. The house is nicely laid out with lots of room. We had three adults and two teenagers with us. The two boys each had their own rooms in the upper area of the house, which gave them their own bathroom. Then my husband and I had the master bedroom with a huge bathroom. My aunt had the smaller bedroom on the lower level, with her own bathroom. What we enjoyed most was the large dining room table. We spend most of our time there together as a family, eating meals and playing games. The house is not far from Lake Lure. Enjoyed hiking Chimmey Rock and to the Waterfalls. The boys were able to go swimming in the Lake that is located in Riverbend. Lake Lure was not open yet. Nice park down in Lake Lure for bike riding, walking, basketball and a place to play soccer. The owner is very responsive to our emails and provided lots of information about the area.

  • Submitted: May 3, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much . We appreciate the kind words and your visit .....
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Loved it!

  • 4 of 5

We have a wonderful time. Cabin was very nice and we would stay there again

  • Submitted: Apr 1, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Charlotte, NC
5

Quiet and shorr drive to Lake Lure and Chimney Rock

  • 5 of 5

Very comfortable, quiet, and lots of woods do explore! It was a short drive to Chimney Rock Village and Lake Lure. We discovered the "swimming hole" of Riverbend on the last day and wish we would've spent more time there!

  • Submitted: Mar 26, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Note that Mountain areas can be tricky with regard to cell phone service can be tricky. We are in an area where the signal is strong. There are miles of walking trails along the River in Riverbend. There is a "Zip Line" about 5 minutes from the cabin. The famous Biltmore House is 45 minutes away. Spartanburg , Asheville , Hendersonville , Greenville , are all close by....

Photos

Rates & Availability

Lake Lure Cabin Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Spring/Summer
Mar 4 2017 - Oct 7 2017
2 night minimum stay
$165
From
$225
Fri,Sat
$1,155
$3,000
 
 
Leaf Season
Oct 8 2017 - Nov 30 2017
2 night minimum stay
$225
$1,350
$3,000
 
 
Christmas season
Dec 1 2017 - Jan 2 2018
2 night minimum stay
$175
From
$225
Fri,Sat
$1,225
$3,000
 
 
winter
Jan 3 2018 - Mar 3 2018
2 night minimum stay
$150
From
$225
Fri,Sat
$1,050
$3,000
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$165
From
$225
Fri,Sat
$1,155
$3,000
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $110

THE FOLLOWING HOLIDAYS REQUIRE A ONE TIME $200. HOLIDAY FEE - LABOR DAY, THANKSGIVING, JULY 4TH, AND CHRISTMAS. If you don't see this specific fee listed on your quote and you have asked for time during one of these holidays, we will add it before accepting your reservation. THANKS

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Contact Owner
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties