Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

check navigate-up

LTD Vacation Rental Cabins - Lisa

Member since: 2007
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Bear's Den-Private Cozy Getaway-Dogs Welcomed-Hot Tub-Gas Fireplace

7 Reviews
Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

West Virginia Cabin Rental Photos and Description

3 bedrooms, 2 full bathrooms, 1 half bathroom, den, sleeps 8

17 LTD Drive Rough Run, WV 26847

Our vacation rental cabin, Bear's Den, is situated in the Potomac Highlands of West Virginia, less than a 3 1/2- hour drive from most major mid Atlantic cities. Our upscale home is located in the private community of Mountain Lake Retreat in Rough Run, between Petersburg and Franklin, WV.

The abounding wildlife and spectacular views enhance the area's peace and tranquility which creates a vacationers dream for adults and families alike, who just want to relax or get in touch with nature.

Bear's Den has a rugged log exterior which is complimented by the rustic pine interiors with hardwood and tile floors throughout. Our home is fully equipped with all the modern conveniences you would expect: satellite TVs, propane fireplace, video games, DVD/VHS movies, hot tub, books, games, washer/dryer, fully equipped kitchen and plenty of deck space for the gorgeous views. We are 'Pet Friendly'!

Summer is a great time to go to the mountains of West Virginia to relax with friends and/or family.

Bear's Den offers luxury accommodations in a wilderness setting on Middle Mtn. for up to 8 people. We are only 25 miles from Moorefield off Corridor H.

Spring Time and Fishing is another popular activity......we are only a 20 minute drive away from the South Branch of the Potomac River and Smoke Hole Canyon-a great fishing spot!!!!!And a short walk from South Mill Creek Lake.

Autumn makes for beautiful colors with the changing of the leaves.

Winter time-Warm up with our gas fireplace inside after a dip in the hot tub!

Take a Train Ride : Potomac Eagle Scenic Railroad

WV Cabins: When you think of WV cabins, you might think small, drafty, old.......NOT any more......now you can think luxury, clean, warm, inviting, modern amenities.......this is the cabin you always wanted in the woods.......the kids can explore and be outside, make campfires and roast marshmallows, sit in a hot tub, fish, canoe, sightsee, and just relax with nature.....

Check out our cabins in Rough Run, West Virginia (close to Smoke Hole) ....it's more than you expected!!!

More Details
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • pets considered
LTD Vacation Rental Cabins - Lisa (Owner)
Member since: 2007
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Why LTD Vacation Rental Cabins - Lisa chose West Virginia

Peaceful, beautiful and many fun outdoors activities.

Reviews

5
based on 7 traveler reviews

Bear's Den-Private Cozy Getaway-Dogs Welcomed-Hot Tub-Gas Fireplace
average rating of 5.0 based on 7 reviews
5

Paradise, even in the rain

  • 5 of 5

This place is sheer paradise. Even though it rained the entire weekend we were there, the place is absolutely incredible.

We traveled for a motorcycle trip we had planned for the Smoke Hole area, though the approach to the cabin was a bit of a challenge on cruiser-style bike, it was worth it. The cabin is absolutely beautiful, they've thought of everything. Even in the fog and rain, the views are breathtaking.

I agree with the other reviewer that the cookware needs replacing, but it was less than a minor inconvenience. Lisa was a joy to work with leading up to the trip, and we're already planning our next visit.

Thanks for the rental. Can't wait to come back!

  • Submitted: Sep 30, 2015
  • Stayed: Sep 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad you had a nice time even through the rainy weather. New cookware has been purchased, thanks for the reminder! Hope you do come back again and again...... :) Thanks, Lisa LTD Vacation Cabins
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Peaceful, remote getaway....

  • 5 of 5

We came all the way from NJ to visit friends that live in the DC area who booked the trip, and it was wonderful. The eagles that hover about, the endless walks with no one in sight, and roasting marshmallows by the fire at night made it quaint to share a great chat and special memories with friends. What a lovely place. Highly recommend.

  • Submitted: Feb 15, 2015
  • Stayed: Sep 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: So glad you made the trip out to WV with friends and you had a wonderful time! Hope you make the trip back :) Thanks for the nice review. We certainly appreciate it. Lisa LTD Vacation Rental Cabins
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Great stay in a beautiful cabin!

  • 5 of 5

Our son and daughter in law invited us to stay with them at their long weekend in the woods. They had stayed at a couple of the other properties here in the past and loved it. Wow is all I can say! Gorgeous house. Loved everything about it. The views were lovely. The hot tub was great. The loft bedroom with the jacuzzi bath was awesome. It was such a beautiful and relaxing weekend away from the real world. Our grandkids had a great time, hiking, fishing, hot tub. All the furniture was so comfortable. We will definitely be coming back!!

I would recommend not accidentally locking and shutting the downstairs bedroom door as there is no key. The management came out quickly to open it for us, but it could have been a problem. ?

The owners were so very nice. We had an issue with our car and they were so helpful, considerate, and just amazing!!! They went over and beyond and we were so grateful!!

  • Submitted: Mar 25, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are glad you all had a nice time! It was a pleasure meeting you all. Look forward to your next visit to WV. Thanks again, Roger & Lisa LTD Vacation Cabins
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Outstanding cabin, beautiful location

  • 5 of 5

The only thing that makes me want to drop this from 5 stars to 4 is the fact that the cookware was really pretty hard to work with. I'm sure it's hard to keep quality stuff in a rental, but it does need to be replaced. We loved the cabin, the hot tub, the porch - really everything else about the place. Very open and airy with lots of light. We had a great hike down to the small ponds, then down to the bigger lake and around the bigger lake, then back to the cabin. Never saw another human, though I suspect in the summer it'd be quite a bit busier.

Be a great place for a family get-together with grown kids and their families.

Keep in mind that this is a remote location - you won't be going out for dinner...

Also, the whole locked gate thing was distracting - do they really need that kind of security out in the middle of nowhere?

Overall, a great weekend and we'd do it again in a minute!

  • Submitted: Jan 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks Neil! Glad you had a great relaxing weekend. We do try to keep all of our supplied items in good working order and up-to-date. We have a regular schedule when we check all of our cabins for this but we will definitely look through our kitchen supply and replace and upgrade as necessary. :) Thanks for the heads up. The gates are a precaution for safety and to ensure our guests visits are peaceful and private. Look forward to your next visit with us. Lisa
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Wonderful getaway

  • 5 of 5

We rented the Eagle's Nest and Bear's Den over President's Day Weekend. There were 6 couples, 6 children and 2 dogs. The two houses were amazing. They were spacious, updated, clean and had everything you could possibly need. Only complaint was the sulfur smell in the water at Bear's Den. It's well water, so maybe a purifier would be helpful. But, other than that, it was a great place to spend a long weekend. Will definitely be coming back!

  • Submitted: Feb 27, 2012
  • Stayed: Feb 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Glad you all had a great time Jessica! We have and continue to work on the faint well water aroma that comes and go at different times of the year. We will be providing more filtered pitchers in the cabin as well. Always nice to hear positive feedback and that you will be coming back to WV! Thanks :)
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Columbia, Maryland
5

Just what we were looking for

  • 5 of 5

My wife and I were looking for a getaway that was private and peaceful, but within reach of activities and dining. We couldn't have asked for a better location. The cabin was spotless and absolutely beautiful. From the moment we pulled up to Bear's Den, we knew we found what we were looking for.

Breakfast out in the deck each morning followed by a day taking in the breathtaking views, hiking, and touring the area.....there is so much to do we didn't have enough time.

Our evenings were incredibly relaxing with a canopy of stars like none we'd ever seen.

We're already planning on returning with our kids for a longer trip. We can't wait.

  • Submitted: Sep 22, 2008
  • Stayed: Aug 2008
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0

Map

Nearest Airport
80 Miles
Dulles
Nearest Golf
25 Miles
Nearest Train
12 Miles
Petersburg
Nearest Ski
80 Miles
Car: necessary

There are a selection of nearby activities.....hiking, biking, hunting, golfing, skiing, rock climbing, rafting and much more.

South Mill Creek Lake is adjacent to our property and is great for fishing, kayaking, and canoeing.

Four-wheel drive vehicle recommended in winter :)

South Branch of the Potomac River is a wonderful swimming spot and very refreshing.

Relax by our 2 private ponds (located on the property) in Mt. Lake Retreat.

Seneca Rocks is a wonderful climbing adventure for rock climbers and hikers alike.

Seneca Caverns and Smoke Hole Caverns are just a short drive away-great for kids that like to explore caves.

Dolly Sods is a wilderness experience that you won't want to miss!! Plenty of activities to keep you busy or just relax around our beautiful log home.

WV cabin in the woods.

Other Activities: Climbing at Seneca Rocks, swimming and fishing in South Branch of the Potomac

Photos

Rates & Availability

Seneca Rocks Cabin Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Spring/Summer/Fall Rate
Apr 1 2016 - Nov 30 2016
2 night minimum stay
$250
From
$300
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
$1,650
 
 
Winter Rates
Dec 1 - Mar 29
2 night minimum stay
$250
From
$275
Fri,Sat,Sun
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$250
From
$300
Fri,Sat,Sun
 

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $50
Tax Rate 12.0%

Holiday Rate is $350.00/ night
Holiday weekends include: Thansgiving, Christmas/New years, MLK, Presidents Day, Easter, Memorial Day, 4th of Jyly, Labor Day, Columbus Day, etc.

50% due for deposit at time of reservation, excluding taxes. The balance, including pet fee (if applicable), and the 12% tax will be due seven (7) days prior to your arrival.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates to see total
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

West Virginia Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2200 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Mountain
  • Rural
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Romantic
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Heating
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Telephone ...
  • Telescope
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Lobster Pot
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet
    Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , suite loft
  • All towels and linens provided.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , Suite loft
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
    Den - 2 twin/ single , TV Den- Daybed with trundle
  • Please note that we have a maximum capacity of 8 people. We do have a pack and play for your use at your own risk.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Books for Adults
  • Books for Kids
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Music Library
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • VCR
  • Video Game Console
  • Video Games
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Beach Towels
  • Binoculars
  • Deck Furniture
  • Gated Community
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Wood Deck
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • pets considered
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
  • Outdoor Hot Tub
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • caves
  • cinemas
  • forests
  • playground
  • pond
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • spelunking
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
Notes:
Bath towels, beach towels and linens are provided. Pet bowls are also provided if needed. Outside decks have gates on them so that your dog can walk around safely on the decks. Each bathroom is supplied with a roll of toilet tissue to get you started, but please remember to provide your own for the duration of your stay. There is a full laundry with a washer and dryer for you use.

Learn more about this vacation rental at the owner's website:

Partner Offers

Contact the Owner

Request to Book

This property requires that you message the owner to complete your booking request.
Enter dates to calculate a quote