Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled

Cozy Log Cabin-Franklin NC, Off Little Tenn River,

Bedrooms 1
Property type cabin


About the property

1 bdrm, king size bed, 1 bath..Hot Tub Overlooks River. Easy access

Come relax and enjoy the serenity and beauty of the Little Tennessee River and beautiful mountains. Newly remodeled cottage with white pine tongue and groove walls, wrap around gas fireplace, spacious wrap-around deck, and much much more. Large flat screen plasma TV to enjoy DirecTV. Fish in the stocked trout pond or the Little Tennessee River for mountain cat fish...Own outdoor hot tub on porch deck, right outside you bedroom.

Enjoy movies in your king size bed in the bedroom while you listen to the music of the mountain outdoors. Fully equiped kitchen.

If you want romance, relaxation or just down home fun - this is the place for you. Go spend the day gem mining for local native rubies and sapphires or take the canoe down the Little Tennessee River for the beautiful scenery and fishing.

Located right off Hwy. 28 N. which is well known by bikers heading to and from the famous Dragons Tail.

More Details

Deanie Gunder
Member since: 2008
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 2 days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
May 7, 2017

About Deanie Gunder

We came to these mountains in 1997, fell in love with them, the peacefulness, beauty, the people and we knew one day we'd have our own home here.

My husband and I, high school sweethearts married, and had 2 beautiful babies...still living our fairy tale story 47 years later. Owning a business, auto collision full repair and body work, Gunder's Auto Center, in Florida, having second home to get away from the fast pace, demanding and very hot days there ,was truly a blessing.

Getting away every chance we could, the mountains we went, for weekend or 4 days to week. 4 grandchildren, who loves the mountains as much as Popa and Nani, our life is full. Many memories and special times has been shared in these homes by many.

My husband and I hope to one day retire in the mountains. It's getting very close to that time. I'd like to share something very personal, hoping it will be considered appropriate...asked to tell the traveler about ourselves, how could I not?

Our son, Michael Travis, our first child lost his 3 month battle with cancer. Our world stopped. June 29,2015 it started crumpling - quick and fast - Sept 24th God took him home. The pain, tears, smiles, love - it never goes away. Days get better. I mention this to remind us all to love, respect, share life with your children, to all in your life. Don't take them for granted. And please please pay attention to signs your body gives you. Our son didn't, his mother didn't. What didn't seem of much importance, doesn't matter. Go to the doctor. Get it looked at. Knowing now....doesn't help. Maybe it will help just one traveler reading my words today......

Why Deanie Gunder chose North Carolina Mountains

We loved it. The quiet, peaceful sounds of the river flowing. Its just perfect. Out of town, but close to any needs you have. Easy access. We just love it.

What makes this cabin unique

Everything about it. SiZe, beauty, hot tub, location, fireplace, fire pit, the pond. All of it. And the history.

Guestbook comments from the owner

the cabin appeared quite clean. It was a beautiful setting and very peaceful, which was what we needed! We enjoyed coffee on the deck every morning. We also enjoyed some hot tub time at night. Enjoyed our stay at Sparrow's Nest. Clennie is such a sweet man, my husband Joe and he got along very well sharing stories of fishing in Florida. He is a hard worker and can see an asset to you
Jul 2015
  • 1 of 11


Franklin Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • Mountain ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • River ...
  • Rural ...
  • Water View ...
  • Waterfront ...
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Air Conditioning
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Heating
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Parking
  • Sofa Bed
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • Spacious bath with stacked washer and dryer, door to open outside deck
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , Ample space in living room for pallet or air mattress...
  • Spacious bedroom with king size bed. TV for dvd movies
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • VCR
  • Video Library
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Wood Deck
Pool / Spa:
  • Outdoor Hot Tub
  • autumn foliage
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • forests
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • restaurants
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • roller blading
  • skiing
  • swimming
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
Stocked Trout Pond guarantees easy fishing for all ages.


Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(10 traveler reviews)

Cozy Log Cabin-Franklin NC, Off Little Tenn River,
average rating of 4.3 based on 21 reviews

Outstanding cabin!

  • 5 of 5

My wife and I visited 4/15 - 4/18 and had a wonderful time. We enjoyed the hot tub, the pond, and sitting out and using the fire pit. Deanie was wonderful to work with and we can't say enough good things! We plan to be back!

  • Submitted: Apr 19, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much Frank. I hope to meet you sometime. Please call when you are visiting your brother in Sylva. I will keep your pillow for you. You were the best. So glad you caught some fish, and yes they are big.! Can't express my gratitude for choosing us, for being so easy and enjoyable to work with and your kindness!!!!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

dirty furniture, very old and run down, inside.

  • 1 of 5

The furniture was really old, couch cushions were broke down, occasional chair was filthy, bedspread had a urine stain, curtain rods in bedroom were hanging, we paid for 6 days and left on the 3rd day. There were so many pots of potpourri and glade plug- ins, my husband and I both had headaches after being there about one hour, had to put them out on the porch. Old TV in bedroom was only god for antique DVD's. She never did return our Damage Deposit, as we ask her to do.

  • Submitted: Dec 3, 2015
  • Stayed: Sep 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: To future interested guests, I apologize for this poor review. I can give you many references if you would like. My goal is to do everything possible to provide a beautiful, comfortable, and clean home for your gettaway. I hope you look at pictures, get references, ask questions, give us a chance and decide for yourself. To my unhappy guests, I do apologize. I am so sorry you were not happy. I don't feel your statements are accurate however, in fact they are not at all. I can not refund your damage deposit because as explained, my policy is the damage security deposit is written in separate check. This check I do not deposit but hold until after check out and walk thru is done. This check is then shredded unless their are damages. Guest would be notified and pictures taken. You can verify this with your bank statement. I was not aware you left early, you didn't let me know. Had I known perhaps I could have rented and worked something out with you. Pictures are available for your review with listing and also I give you our Facebook Page to review. Yes, our beautiful cozy rustic cabin is not modern new furniture, but it is clean and not broken down. The sofa bed is stated in listing it does not let out. And the tv in the bedroom is for dvd's and old vhs. Also stated in listing. I will not refute a stain on bedspread and will certainly check on this though and replace if needed, but I can promise you it is not a urine stain. 3 potpouri pots are placed in home for arrival. Bath, Bedroom, and living room. Barely open, with the guest choosing to open up or closing. And the choice of fragrance is light as I have allergies to perfume so I understand the importance of not overkill with the fragrances. I went to the domes because the plug ins seemed to be stronger to me. I will however add to general information if any objection to potpouri, please let us know before arrival and this can easily be taken care of. Thank you for this insight. Satisfaction by our guests is very important to me. To get away for vacations or special times with our loved ones is very very special, I understand this, which is why I take a personal interest in doing the best I can to make sure your visit is a good one. I truly am sorry you were not pleased. I take pride in our cabins and my guests, of which I have many repeats of 3 -4 seasons. I am guilty of not calling but I replied once I returned to Florida advising of deposit via email.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Such a wonderful and cool cabin!

  • 5 of 5

We fell n love with this cabin. We came from blairsville, ga to escape the heat wave because our a.c. Got struck by lightning,and it was going to be a few days before it could be repaired. The location is very near many great places to visit. We enjoyed a drive to the smokey mountains one day,,and exploring the Clayton area. Clennie was so friendly and most delighted to offer any assistance we needed. The hot tub was also great. We did not get to fish, but enjoyed feeding them. Thank you deanie for allowing us to rent the cabin. We will definitely return.

  • Submitted: Jun 17, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Our pleasure and honor, so glad you had a wonderful cool get-a-way!!!! Come back anytime!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Healing of my soul

  • 5 of 5

My boyfriend & I spent a week in this little cabin and enjoyed every minute. My mother had just passed away a month before we went on vacation and just being able to relax and sit outside in the hot tub in the evening with the stars and lighting bugs was a great healing for me. We brought too much food but being able to cook our meals was very nice. We were unable to take dvantage of the canoe going down the river as time got away from us with al there was to do in the area. Clennie greeted us right after we got there and was a very pleasent fellow. Even though we were unable to try our luck at fishing in the pind, it was a lot of fun just feeding them. We wished we could have stayed longer and do some of the other things we wanted to do.

  • Submitted: Aug 3, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much Jackie for taking time out of a busy day I'm sure to say such nice things and share your stay with us. I am so sorry for your loss. You will miss her every day, but know she will be with you, guiding you from above - as does my Momma. deanie gunder
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Great Place to Relax and Unwind

  • 4 of 5

My husband and I stayed at this little piece of paradise for 3 nights. The cabin was in great condition, very clean and in a quiet area. I started and ended each day in the hot tub:) Our suggestion to the owner would be to add a 2nd rocking chair on the front porch and a recliner in the living room to make if feel more like home!! We had all the amenities we were seeking when we were searching for a place to stay in Franklin. The fishing was fun even though we weren't able to hook one:) The only thing we didn't have time to do is build a fire and make smores. Time just slip away with so many other things in the area to keep you busy. The weather was fantastic. With this being our second trip to Franklin we fell more in love with the area and now have purchased our own little piece of heaven in nearby Sylva.

Thank you Deanie for making this a very memorable vacation. I enjoyed all the conversations we had and you made us feel at home in your cabin. Thanks for sharing it with us and the many vacationers who have stayed in the past.

  • Submitted: May 16, 2014
  • Stayed: May 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Wonderful Getaway

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I really enjoyed the cabin. The fishing was a plus for my husband Mark. It was well stocked and clean. We stayed From that June 9- 16th. This was our first time going on a vacation by ourselves so it was a blessing to be able to actually do it. And the owner Mrs. Gunder is a Godsend. Very nice and kept in-touch with everything. She made booking and checking out so smooth. And Mr. Carter is a very nice. A+++++++ for everyone and everything.

  • Submitted: Aug 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: What a wonderful gift Angela you've given me this morning!! Made my day! It was truly nice having you and your husband there, I had to force myself not to come and "chat" with you more. So appreciated your kindness and patience. I'm glad you guys had a good time. You were like newlyweds, lol. thanks again for the review, taking time out of your busy schedule, and your kinds words for Clennie. Can't wait to call and tell him. Take care, hope to see you guys again. deanie
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


Nearest Airport
60 Miles
Asheville, NC
Nearest Barpub
10 Miles
Nearest Golf
10 Miles
Nearest Restaurant
8 Miles
Nearest Ski
50 Miles
Maggie Valley
Nearest Beach
200 Miles
Myrtle Beach
Car: not necessary

South of Great Smokey Mountains...2 hrs north of Atlanta...and an hour and half west of Ashvelle,NC. See the Biltmore House, a must for all.

Under 2 hours to Pigion Forge and Gatlinburg. Visit Dollywood, or snow ski at OberGatlinbur. Name brand outlet malls. Theaters and theme attractions for kids.

Cade's Cove, Smokey Mountain National Forrest, Cherokee all just under an hour and a must see for all.

Dilliard House is an experience in eating you must try. 30 minutes south in Dilliard Georgia.

Gem Mining, hiking, movie theaters, gambling, plays, concerts, festivals, zip lining, fly fishing, rock climbing are just a few of the activities available for your enjoyment.

.17 beautiful waterfalls surround you. Just 30 minutes from famous Fontana Lake where the movie 'Nell' was shot. Folk festivals, Western North Carolina and all the art and cultural it has to offer.

The Biltmore House in Asheville, just over an hour away, is also a must! Each season offers a display that will take your breath away. I recommend investing in the headsets as well as your guide. So much fasinating history!

Take a ride into Cherokee, be sure to stop at Harrah's, whether you like to gamble or just site see, their newly renovated casino and new hotel is an experience itself. Cherokee is filled with history, fun, shopping, and the river. Have a picnic and swim in the river. A must see is the 'Trail of Tears' pageant!!!

Trip to the Dillard House Resturant in Dillard Ga, just 35 minutes away, will be the best meal ever in your life!!! Promise. After your meal, or while you wait, stroll down to their zoo and let the little ones fee the animals. Downtown Dillard has some of the best anique shops in Western Carolina. You will find whatever you are looking for, and then some.

Pigion Forge and Gatlinburg are both just over an hour away, going through the Smokey National Forrest Parkway, an amazing site to behold. Actually allow yourself a couple hours because you will want to stop and take pictures from the many overlook areas onlong the way. Pigeon Forge not only is one of the outlet capitals in the country, there are many rides and attractions for the kids. As well as the home of Dollywood, another must see/must do.

Gatlinburg is just simply a fun town! Winter, enjoy the skiing. and winter activities in OberGatlinburg.

Western Carolina, Great Smoky Mountains, one of God's many masterpieces...come and see for yourself!


Rates & Availability

Franklin Cabin Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
Standard pricing

Changeover Day: Saturday
1 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 3 guests; add $25 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $200
Cleaning $60
Pet Fee $45
Tax Rate 10.0%

additional guests over 2 adults $50
occupancy 2 (if 1-2 small children not considered additional guests)
2 max limit of fish caught in trout pond

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing

Special HomeAway Offers

You might like these similar properties