Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Romantic Seneca Lake Wine Trail Getaway/Hot Tub/Pet Friendly

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Space 500 sq. ft.
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Overview

About the property

Awesome, private, beautiful lake setting, on Wine Trail

The 'Wild Flower' is a completely redecorated and updated cozy cottage overlooking Seneca Lake- and exceptionally clean. While not water front, it is about 100yds from the water on a very scenic acre beside our 200 yr old historic mansion. Public lake access is within walking distance. Includes year around sun porch - great when it rains or gets cold. Limo service to wineries, in-cottage massages, bike and boat rentals available. The Outlet hiking/biking trail is walking distance. Located on the Seneca Lake Wine Trail - we consistently receive 5-star reviews and are rated highest for accommodations in this area - recipient of Award for Excellence every year.


Owner
Pat Hoke
Member since: 2007
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
October 17, 2017

Guestbook comments from the owner

We hope winter is a good time for you. It is beautiful in spite of the adjustments it requires. We stayed in the Savannah House in late July last summer. We walked the Watkin's Glen trail (twice) and Taugannock Falls State park in Ithaca (seven dollars a day to visit all the State Parks you can get to!) and on the rainy day we went to the Museum of the Earth just North of Ithaca. In addition, Watkin's Glen and the Amish Farm just North of you were wonderful places to visit. It was a pleasure to relax mornings and evenings at your motel. Clean, marvelously appointed and surrounded by the beauty of one of the most wonderful areas on earth, the Finger Lakes. You promised me we would be glad we chose your motel for our four day stay and you were so right. We look forward to returning next summer for a getaway.
Jul 2009
  • 1 of 2

Amenities

Himrod Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 500 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Lake
  • Rural
Theme:
  • Family
  • Romantic
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Standard Full Bathroom - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • Bath incorporates touches of the past with up to date facility
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Room - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 sleep sofa /futon , Very comfortable
  • Bedrooms are newly decorated with very comfortable beds and period furniture pieces. Linens are not your typical rental linens.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Walkway to Water
  • Wood Deck
  • 6 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair accessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
Onsite Services:
  • Chauffeur
  • Massage
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • forests
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • waterfalls
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • ski lift privileges
  • ski privileges optional
  • skiing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
Notes:
Rooms are exceptionally clean and are odor free. Those with allergies will feel little or no discomfort. Linens subject to several stages of cleaning not found in most hotels, motels, or B & B's. Rentals of bikes, canoes, kayaks, and boats available at very reasonable rates. Walking distance to Outlet hiking and biking trail between Seneca Lake and Keuka Lake - 6 miles long. Two tennis courts walking distance. On site massages available - limo service also available. Plenty of parking for boat and car trailers. We are on an acre overlooking Seneca Lake - not lake front. Lake access in short walking distance [100yds]. Our guests enjoy privacy, quiet and solitude. Large peaceful picnic area with plenty of tables and chairs - fire pit [wood available nearby - $5/bundle]. Ideal for couples or small families looking for a quality place to stay at a reasonable cost. Can be combined with cottage in front which sleeps 6. Inquire for combined rate.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(25 traveler reviews)

68% Complete
20% Complete
4% Complete
0% Complete
8% Complete
Romantic Seneca Lake Wine Trail Getaway/Hot Tub/Pet Friendly
average rating of 4.4 based on 27 reviews
5

Cozy weekend by the lake!

  • 5 of 5

The cottage was perfect for our quick weekend away! Everything was perfectly clean and had everything we needed. The lake is beautiful and we really enjoyed the hot tub in the evenings!

  • Submitted: Aug 20, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Shannon it was great having you as a guest and we appreciate your very nice comments. Hope to see you both again, Pat and Brenda
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

not what you expect for the money you paid

  • 1 of 5

I made reservation and got a confirmation from owner/manager. I was told that more information will be sent and it was never sent. We drove 5 hours to get to the place, I emailed and called several times, no response. Followed the address which was listed on reservation and ended up in an inn, where owner's wife, also managing the property, had no clue about the rental. Told us to show the picture and then told us its 7.5 miles from the current location. As we were leaving owner showed up, never bothered to even talk to me. Found out he was out with his son and did not reply any emails or phone calls. Finally we made it to place, behind a haunted house (they call it 'historic' house), house smells like it has not been cleaned well for years, no direct access to water as portrayed in picture ( there is another house in between). To top it off, another party showed up next day stating that they had reservation on the property. Turned out, that party also made reservation through online. We tried calling owner several times, he never answers and replied only through texts, finally that party left around 11PM, what a shame, we felt bad for them too. We have little kids, it was a very stressful trip, ruined it with smelly house, being behind the haunted mansion, weird crackling noise at night, less than average service, no access to owner in case of emergency except texting him and hoping that he will respond soon, no direct access to lake, , needless to say, it was not even worth for free.

  • Submitted: Sep 14, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are sorry guest was this disappointed. Unfortunately online booking sites created conflicting reservations for the same date, which was beyond our control. The other guest was accommodated that night. This cottage is listed as a "lake view cottage", and is about 100 yds from the water, with lake access. The property, one acre, is shared by a 200 yr old historic mansion, which is being worked on. Many people are captivated by this mansion and often stop by to look at it and to take photos. The cottage is well maintained, as attested to by the many guests who have stayed there. Those guests usually speak very positively about the mansion, as well as the beautiful, peaceful, and private setting. There is a cottage that is waterfront in front of it, about 100yds away - not even close to the cottage. Our housekeepers are noted for the fine job they do preparing our cottages for incoming guests, and there are no odors. The cottage has all new appliances and washer/dryer - new large screen TV with high speed wifi - leather living room furniture - and a hot tub. It is in the center of the Wine Trail, and only 5 minutes from the nearest town, with a 24-hour super market, many shops and stores, restaurants, and gas stations. Even a movie theater. Walking distance on the same street to the Outlet Trail for hiking and biking. Because we receive so many calls and emails, we ask guests to use text to better help them. During guest's stay, many of his concerns were not mentioned, except for the conflict in booking the first evening. There appeared to have been miscommunications as a result of guest booking online, and possibly not reading all the information contained therein. We are keenly aware of guest expectations, and work hard to meet them. Again - it is disheartening to know we came up short in this guest's experience. The vast number of guests who stay at this cottage continually tell us how much they enjoyed it. So this review is a surprise, and it seems to have stemmed from the mix up at the very beginning. We are very sorry for that.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Henderson, KY
4

Nice, clean, quiet accommodations well situated for our schedule

  • 4 of 5

Enjoyed our stay

  • Submitted: Aug 15, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Craig we're delighted that you enjoyed your stay at our cottage, and that you were thoughtful enough to share your experience with others. We were pleased to have you and your family and hope you come again. Pat and Brenda
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Private Hideaway

  • 5 of 5

I really wasn't expecting how private this rental is. It's lake view but only a short walk to the lake. Beautiful Sunrises. The house is a trailer but it's clean and decorated with little touches to make it a relaxing getaway. The hot tub is wonderful. Short drive to everything. Fire pit to relax at night. The host are very good historians of the area too.

  • Submitted: Jul 30, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: What a nice comment Linda. You were a great guest and we hope to see you again. Best regards, Pat and Brenda
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great place to spend a week

  • 4 of 5

Just spent a terrific week here with my family. A great place if you have a small child, within walking distance of a playground (and ice cream), and a short drive from a number of attractions in the finger lakes. My only complaint would be I wish the owners had provided a little more instruction about the place (maybe a binder in the property) but it was a very small worry. A great way to spend a vacation!

  • Submitted: Jul 9, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you very much David. Appreciate you taking the time to share your comments, and for taking such good care of the cottage. Glad you had a good time. We hope to see you again. Pat and Brenda
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Finger Lakes Vacation

  • 5 of 5

The cottage was perfect for our stay in the finger lakes! We were traveling with a toddler and a dog and they both had plenty of room inside and out. The lake is a great view but not close enough for the dog or kid to jump in. Wish we could have enjoyed the hot tub more but it was too cold and windy. The cottage is a perfect location. It was in the middle of everything and we were only 5 minutes from Penn Yan and wineries and breweries were even closer.

  • Submitted: Mar 11, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Ashley - we're delighted that the cottage worked so well for you. Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your experience. Pat and Brenda
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Nearest Airport
70 Miles
Rochester International Airport (ROC)
Car: recommended

We are located just off on Rt 14 overlooking Seneca Lake - 15 miles north of Watkins Glen, and 20 minute south of Geneva - within 10 minutes of 12 wineries - two wineries within walking distance, and within 30 minutes of 50 wineries.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Wine Travel Card $0
Cleaning $50 + Tax
All linens and towels $0
Refundable damage deposit $100
Pet Fee $50 + Tax
Tax Rate 4.0%

We offer attractive room/limo/massage/dinner/skiing/biking packages to any and all wineries.
We are rated highest in this area for accommodations on Trip Advisor - and Excellence Award every year. Best value in the Finger Lakes.
Pet fee is $25/day - $150/week

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.

You might like these similar properties