check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Michael O'Donovan

Member since: 2008
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Artist's House on 5+ Acres, with Creek and Views- Newly Done!

21 Reviews
Sleeps12
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Scaly Mountain House Rental Photos and Description

House - 3 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s) - 2 Baths - (Sleeps 8-12)

Have a real mountain experience at the newly renovated mountain home on 5+ acres (elevation 3500+**to get the cool mountain temperature you must be above 3000ft). Situated on the actual state line between Georgia and North Carolina (the creek is the state line) and 12 minutes from Highlands, you'll have all the space and privacy you could want. Be sure to watch the short video of the house and it's beautiful surroundings at the link tab at top of page.

All furnishings are new, 2008 (except for the antiques, of course), as is most everything except the charm and character of the original house.

The pine paneling and oak floors in the living room give added warmth to the fireplace and those cool summer nights. Original artwork throughout by the artist/owner and local artists.

Leave your cares behind as you settle into a true rural mountain setting- if you don't want the country club or subdivision, the Artist's House is the real thing!

Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Michael O'Donovan (Owner)
Member since: 2008
Call Owner
Speaks: english

About Michael O'Donovan

Though born in North Carolina, I reside in Fl and try to spend as much time in these beautiful mountains as possible. I found the perfect location on 6 acres about two years ago and spent over a year completely renovating and updating the house. I am a photographer-publisher, and enjoy hiking, traveling, and of course, photography.

Michael O'Donovan purchased this house in 2007

Why Michael O'Donovan chose Cashiers Area

It's simply beautiful and the town of Highlands is one of the most charming mountain towns I've found, with great resturants, art galleries and shopping. 3 waterfalls are within 15 minutes, the National Forest is a 10 minute walk past the Christmas tree farm, its peaceful and quiet beyond description.

What makes this house unique

There is a lot of open land around my 5 acres and no noisy or nosy neighbors! This is a simple "cabin"- the great price reflects that but the lack of granite countertops and expensive furniture is more than made up by the peaceful feeling you get from being out of the subdivisions and into nature. As we have internet and amazon TV service can be spotty at times in the mountains. If your want to spend your time searching the web or gaming this might not be the vacation house for you. If you want nature right outside your door this is your place!

Guestbook comments from the owner

My family and I stayed at the artists house for 5 days of peace, beauty, and quiet. The large front porch overlooks a Christmas tree farm and no other houses are in site. The private lane was lined with flowers when we arrived, and we found the house to be just minutes away from great restaurants and shopping in charming Highlands.

The house is lovingly restored and maintained- beautiful oak floors and pine paneling and a fireplace with bookshelves made our indoor time warm and cozy. If you want a beautiful, secluded property that is just minutes from downtown, the Artist's House is it!
Feb 2015
  • 1 of 3

Reviews

4.1
based on 21 traveler reviews

Artist's House on 5+ Acres, with Creek and Views- Newly Done!
average rating of 4.142857 based on 24 reviews
5

Great Owner!

  • 5 of 5

Unfortunately for us, We had to cancel our trip at the last minute and the owner was more than accommodating in working with us on alternatives! We would Highly recommend!! Cheers! Lowell.

  • Submitted: Aug 18, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

A Beautiful Escape

  • 5 of 5

Upon arriving at the artist’s house, I immediately felt a sense of calmness and serenity. When we pulled up in front of the quaint, cozy house tucked away, I knew this would be a great experience! As I stepped out of the car and inhaled the fresh mountain air, I was relieved our 8-hour journey in the car was over and the real adventure was about to begin. I was eager to unpack and unwind.

The house was beautiful. Everything was neat and clean. It had a lived in feel, which made it more like home away from home. When I viewed the houses to rent in the Highlands area, I knew I didn’t want to spend $3-400 or more just to have granite countertops or designer furniture. I could tell from the photos, this house was nicely furnished and comfortable. I was not going to pay for all the bells and whistles that we just did not need. It was just right for the price and amenities. Exactly what I had wanted. Every necessity I could possibly want was there. After unpacking I quickly settled down on the couch by the fire, where I had an interesting selection of reading material to choose. My favorite was “Florida’s Northwest” a pictorial journey by the artist himself Mr. Michael O’Donovan. The beautiful pictures of the emerald coast captivated me!

After reminiscing of home, I decided to step outside before bed to gaze at the most stunning arrangement of stars I have ever seen. They were so clear, bright and beautiful. The little dipper seemed to be right above me, as if to take me away! This background along with the sound of the creek made for the perfect lullaby for my first night of a week that I will never forget.

The next few days were spent exploring, hiking, and enjoying all of the breathtaking views. Highlands was just a short ride up the mountain, where I got to encounter what a waterfall really is. I am more than pleased with my visit and stay at the artist’s house, and cannot wait to return. I highly recommend this experience to anyone.

  • Submitted: Jan 13, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Anderson, SC
5

Awesome Family Getaway

  • 5 of 5

Our families had an amazing time at the house. My Ford Fusion was able to make the driveway, which is not paved. It has been a very wet fall/winter so that was a bit tricky, with a few large holes - BUT once I drove it the first time, I knew where I needed to be to avoid the problem areas. Our second vehicle (Explorer) had no issue at all. It poured rain for more than half our stay, we let our children enjoy exploring in spite of the weather. They were all over the property, safe and within ear shot. On the one sunny day we enjoyed the nearby Scaly Mountain Outdoor Center at the end of the road, which was much closer than anticipated and SO fun for the entire group - even without snow! We cooked in the house for every meal, the kitchen was supplied with all the utensils to complete such and a mini dishwasher to help us keep up with the mess. The table sat everyone comfortably and was the center of much fun for card games and lego building! The beds and rooms were comfortable for all 8 of our group. Plenty of space for unpacking and outlets for charging. There is a stacked washer/dryer system available, we did discover however that the drying unit runs very hot and burned some fleece and poly clothing. This adventure led to discovering the smoke detectors work fabulously! We made a clothes line in the living room and let the fireplace do the drying - which worked just fine for us! The living room is spacious and allowed room for all of our indoor activities. Between the heating system and the fireplace, we stayed very comfortable despite a few very nasty storms, especially with the children being in and out. The T.V. and internet service was touch and go due to weather. Given the amount of wind and severity of one storm, we certainly couldn't complain. We never lost power, so we were happy! When asked, everyone had a different "favorite part" of the trip. We ventured into the National Forest, which was gorgeous. My car had another interesting time with that 9 mile round trip, but it was doable! We missed out on the ZipLine course due to weather, but we're already talking about the next time and when we can get back to the Artist's House!

  • Submitted: Jan 2, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your review- it's so nice to have one so detailed, honest, and exceptionally well- written! May you have a very good New Year.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
2

Not for my family!!

  • 2 of 5

I paid for 9 days to stay in July. Without going into a lot of details, I started crying within 15 min upon arrival. I planned on my young grandchildren coming up for the week. There was absolutely no yard for them to get outside. Horribly overgrown. And forget about the creek as pictured. The bathroom floors were filthy. Roaches falling out of kitchen cupboard. And I'm sure owner will reply it's country, but I also live in the country, my floors are clean, I don't have nasty bathrooms. Sheets on mattress's - no mattress pads. I checked out on Wed AM after only 3 nights, having to locate another place for my grandkids( 2 of which were only crawling at the time)

I asked for a partial refund, which owner offered me $150...If I DID NOT WRITE A REVIEW!!!

I felt like that was blackmail..... I did not agree to such a request. But it has taken me 3 months to write this, it was a really bad experience, lesson learned!!

  • Submitted: Oct 18, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I made every effort to please this guest, to no avail. She contacted me by voice mail, only after leaving without notifying me, mentioning only that she expected a bigger yard and creek than shown in the photos. I've never had a complaint about that, though she claims "absolutely no yard", my photos show the front yard, and the creek has never been altered. Any of her greatly exaggerated or just plain false claims could have been solved by my maid who lives just two miles away. I offered her a partial refund and a free visit another time so she would be satisfied and not lash out. That wouldn't do as she claimed to hear strange noises at night "that sounded like a UFO"- whatever that sounds like. Never had that claim either. She tried to get a full refund from me, money from VRBO, even a rental agent who highly recommended my place; we all politely declined. Her other claims were just too outrageous for me to address. I thought she was satisfied with my offer and her moods were better until her review was sent 3 months later. She left after staying 3 days and just before 2-3 days of rain came. Coincidence? (Also, VRBO/Homeaway state they will publish virtually any review, even if it can be proven to be false or inaccurate, as this one is. My only recourse, I was told, was to publish a response, so here it is.) Thank you for taking the time, Michael
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
5

An elevated vacation on Scaly Mountain

  • 5 of 5

My family of eight converged on this vacation rental for a full week. Our mountain vacation goals ranged from epic day hikes to front porch sitting. This rental supplied my family with memories that will last forever, the kitchen and dining area supplied us a great working space as well as a great back drop cooking dinner together over looking gorgeous landscape. The kitchen accoutrements are definitely workable, and left us to not really need anything once we arrived. The kids room with its awesome bunk beds and musical keyboard left the kids in love with this cabin! The other rooms slept much like I anticipated, and we all rested pretty well. We enjoyed the spirit of this mountain house, and when I surveyed the group the only protest was that we had to leave. The owner loves to share and openly encouraged us to explore the local hikes, swimming holes and was more than accommodating for our furry legged friends joining us on this vacation. Everyone loved the fire circle in the front yard! The amount of nature is plentiful, between star filled evening skies, wild berries, grapes, and apples we even had hummingbirds coming by every day to the feeder my father in law put on the porch. Every night felt like home here, the mix of solitude and comfort that is offered at the house is perfect for those wanting to relax and definitely unplug to embrace a refreshing piece of family time in gorgeous Scaly Mountain.

  • Submitted: Aug 12, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great for young families

  • 4 of 5

The house was rustic but charming! The kitchen had everything we needed and our experience was positive. Great front yard that was mowed and easy to play in. The sheer number of great activities that you could drive to in 15-20 mins in every direction made the house a great spot., yet we loved the secluded feeling the location offered.

Although the house is on 5 acres, the lushness of the foliage kept much of it from being accessible. It would be great the owner could make a couple of trails just so more of the beautiful property could be explored. The mattresses are a bit challenging---the master sags to the middle and the bunk beds feel like the springs are popping through. Aside from that, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The owner was easy to work with and get in touch with. The house was clean by cabin standards. And the weather was cool and beautiful!

  • Submitted: Aug 11, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Hiking, waterfalls, art galleries, Zip Line, Snow tubing, ice skating, summer tubing, trout fishing

Photos

Rates & Availability

Scaly Mountain House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$150
From
$185
Thu,Fri,Sat
$795
$2,900
 

Additional information about rental rates

Property Damage Protection $59
cleaning fee $120 + Tax
Tax Rate 9.75%

Please contact me regarding a rental agreement that will be provided to you. /Users/odonovan777/Desktop/Sample Rental Agreement & Invoice v2-2 2.pages

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Scaly Mountain House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1800 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Mountain
  • Mountain View ...
  • Rural
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Computer Available ...
  • Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Sofa Bed
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Fireplace
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Outdoor Shower - outdoor shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , combination tub/shower
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 4 twin/ single
  • The master bedroom has an adjoining room with a futon and a desk.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Music Library ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Wood Deck
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered ...
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • forests
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
Notes:
Barn, stable, smokehouse-all original buildings, 2 apple trees frame the house, also blueberry and peach trees.

Learn more about this vacation rental at the owner's website:

Partner Offers