check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Amelia Kienzl

Member since: 2007
Call Owner
Speaks: english, french, german

Gated & Patrolled Oceanfront Villa w/ Private Beachfront Terrace

78 Reviews
Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Lomas de Valle Verde House Rental Photos and Description

3 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, accomodates a max. of 6 people

Casita Barranca, built by Nobel Peace Prize Physicist and widely read author Richard Feynman, sits on the side of a low beach cliff overlooking the Pacific Ocean. A private stairway, from two intimate ocean front patios, allows for immediate access to a sandy, solitary beach.

At Casita Barranca, you are only a few steps from one of the best beaches in Baja. Walk in the surf, sunbathe, dig for clams, fish, build sand castles, swim, surf or ride horses on the house's isolated and romantic beach. Guests are afforded an extraordinary view of the Pacific Ocean from this one of a kind house, hidden from view in a gated community. Spectacular sunrises and sunsets can be observed from the interior of the house, the patios or the beach.

Casita Barranca has been newly decorated and completely remodeled. Exquisite Mexican furniture and new appliances add to your comfort.

The three bedroom, two bath house sleeps six comfortably.

Suitability:
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Amelia Kienzl (Owner)
Member since: 2007
Call Owner
Speaks: english, french, german

Reviews

4.9
based on 78 traveler reviews

Gated & Patrolled Oceanfront Villa w/ Private Beachfront Terrace
average rating of 4.948718 based on 78 reviews
San Diego, CA United States
5

Great location and beautiful outdoor ares

  • 5 of 5

This is our third time staying at Casita Barranca over the last 10 years. We love the beach at La Mision from the public beach up North to La Fonda and we love where this house in situated on that two mile stretch. We were delighted to find the addition of a fire pit and lounge chairs right at the base of the house on the sand where we had nightly fires. We left the windows open at night so we could hear the surf from the bedrooms. The master bedroom and the second bedroom were very comfortable, the third bedroom is quite small and can only fit one person or two small children. The kitchen was well stocked with a super cool back splash. There were lots of fun treasures to explore at the house and books to read.The house could use a non-stick frying pan. We met the owners and they were very personable and accommodating.

  • Submitted: Aug 17, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

A "most excellent" Baja beach house

  • 5 of 5

Our family of five (plus dog) loved the house and location. Very cool architecture and eclectic decor combine to create the perfect casual beach house. Early morning walks (north) at low tide reveal tide pools with sea anemones, mussels, small crabs and fish. Nice waves for surfing/boogie boarding right in front of the house... and safe swimming conditions, too. Friendly beachgoers (gringo and Mexicano alike). Horseback riding on the beach was easy to arrange. We just flagged down one the "caballeros" as a group of riders passed by. He returned at the appointed hour, with horses all saddled up and ready to go. We enjoyed our day trips to nearby Ensenada and Puerto Nuevo. Grilling dinner on the front deck at sunset was awesome (don't forget to bring the charcoal!). We will definitely return to Casita Barranca.

Owners Micheal and Amelia were friendly and helpful throughout our stay. Genuinely nice people.

  • Submitted: Aug 9, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Love this house!

  • 5 of 5

This is our second year staying at Michael and Amelia's place. (We got to meet them this year, very nice people) We love it. The house is very accommodating for our family of 5, with all the amenities you need. The kitchen is fully stocked with all the necessary tools for cooking. The furniture is comfortable for relaxing at night. The two whicker chairs in front of the wall of windows is my favorite spot. Great views from the whole house, even while doing dishes. Can't complain about that. We love all the outdoor space as well. Seating on the upper deck and having the lower deck right at sand level is an added bonus. There is also an outside shower to rinse all the sand off you before you head up. The fire pit is nice in the evening for relaxing and roasting marshmallows.

We had invited my brother and his family to join us this year. They booked Zev Beckerman's property in January for a stay in late June. 3 WEEKS BEFORE our trip, he canceled on my brother because he didn't realize it was a holiday weekend and wanted $600.00 more from my brother. Zev Beckerman is not a man of honor, beware when you rent from him. By the way, Zev's property sat empty for 5 of the 7 days while we were there. That's what karma will get you.

Thanks again Michael and Amelia, you are the best host and we will see you again next year.

  • Submitted: Jul 21, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Amazing amazing amazing!

  • 5 of 5

This house is just a dream. The deck space and the fire pit on the beach and the hammock.. What a dream! The inside space has such gorgeous bathrooms and the entire experience we felt very comfortable and safe. Being close to the little market and taco stand and bar in la mission was so nice. We surfed everyday and we went horseback riding on the beach!! I really was a fantasy come true. I will never ever forget my trip here and hope to be back every year. It was very very special. Thank you!!!!!

  • Submitted: May 28, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
El Cajon
5

Paradise

  • 5 of 5

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Casita Barranca. The views were unbelievable and the artistic touches in the house were wonderful. We enjoyed the fire ring on the beach and the wood burning stove in the house. The kitchen had everything we needed to cook and the beds were comfortable. We ate a couple meals at La Fonda and every meal was delicious. We also all had massages at the La Fonda spa and they were great. Also one member of our group played golf at Baja Mar and enjoyed the course and the views. Our dog also enjoyed the beach and our walks. One member of our group lost his wallet while we were there and everyone helped us look for it. We didn't find it before we left but got a email the next day and one of the neighbors found it, with everything in it and will bring to San Diego this week. We hope to make another visit in the near future.

Stayed May 17-20, 2016

  • Submitted: May 24, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Outstanding Trip!

  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful ladies trip at Casita Barranca. The house is exactly as described on the website. Amelia gave us great directions to the house. I would recommend turning on Mexico coverage for cell service. The Wifi worked great. The views are amazing - practically no one around - everyone is very friendly and it feels very safe. We went to dinner at Poco Cielo and the food was great. We also drove down to Ensenada and went to Di Toni's recommended by the neighbor Dennis and it was fantastic. We also used Baja Winery Tours to take us to Valle Guadalupe, which was beautiful. And we got a massage at Spa Ventana Ala Mar. It was fantastic and they also gave us a medical pass which saved us hours at the border. We took food also with us because there isn't a whole close to you to do grocery shopping. All of these things were recommended by Amelia - she is a great host. We couldn't have asked for more! ON A VERY IMPORTANT SIDE NOTE - MAKE PERSONAL CONTACT WITH WHOEVER YOU BOOK THROUGH! WE WERE VICTIMS OF A SCAM. WAS ABLE TO RESOLVE BUT BE CAREFUL!

  • Submitted: May 9, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Car: necessary

Other Activities: Boating, Wildlife Viewing, Kitesurfing

Photos

Rates & Availability

Lomas de Valle Verde House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
SPRING/SUMMER 2016
Mar 24 2016 - Oct 3 2016
3 night minimum stay
$245
$1,544
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$198
$1,247
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $500

1 week constitutes 7 nights/8 days
3 nights minimum ; 50% deposit required to reserve
The balance due and $500 security deposit is required 2 weeks prior to reservation
We also accept Paypal.
$500.00 security deposit will be refunded after inspection.
Please speak to a reservations specialist for more details.

Note: Until confirmed, rates are subject to change

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Lomas de Valle Verde House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Near The Ocean
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Romantic
General:
  • Alarm System
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking On Street
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Stove
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Master Bedroom - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 double
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • VCR
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Gated Community
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Patio
  • Terrace
  • Walkway to Water
  • 4 garden chairs
  • 4 beach chairs
Suitability:
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Attractions:
  • bay/sound
  • churches
  • marina
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • paragliding
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing

Learn more about this vacation rental at the owner's website:

Partner Offers