check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Cute Penthouse Overlooking Sol Street In Old San Juan

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 3 - 4 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview


Details
Property
apartment
Sleeps
4
Bedrooms
2
Bathrooms
1
Minimum Stay
3 - 4 nights

Description

Catedral Apartment Rental Photos and Description

2 bedrooms, 1 full bath, terrace and patio, PH walk-up

This cute Penthouse opens to a beautiful patio and has a terrace with a view of Calle del Sol in Old San Juan. The entrance to the apartment is especially beautiful, getting up the stairway you will be welcomed by wonderful, tropical vegetation. The living room is openly designed and receives natural light from Patio and Terrace. The open kitchen is equipped and the dinning area opens to the terrace. The two bedrooms have A/C and can sleep up to 4 persons one queen and two twin beds. The bathroom has a shower only, and a washer/ dryer is available. Also included are cable television & wireless Internet. Please find more info about Old San Juan and what we provide below and contact our agents for any question you may have. With each confirmation we are sending a file with helpful tips on where to find our favorite local spots.

Old San Juan is the oldest city on US Territory and part of the World Heritage. It is about 8 by 8 blocks of unique colonial style architecture and offers everything from restaurants, bars, Puerto Rican coffee shops, galleries, open air music, nice paths to walk by the Port & Ocean, tourist shops to grocery store, pharmacy, Marshalls and Starbucks. The closest unofficial beach is in front of the Capitol Building in about 10-15 walking minutes from almost anywhere in Old San Juan. The nearest blue flag beach is called El Escambron and can reached in about 25-30 minutes walking along the Atlantic Ocean or in about 5 minutes by car/ taxi or bus. Old San Juan has a bus station from where you can go to Plaza Las Americas, the biggest mall in the Caribbean, to the Convention Center, as well as to Condado and Isla Verde, the other two main tourist spots along the coast of San Juan. Condado and Isla Verde are the modern parts of the city and have great beaches, hotels & casinos & much more...

Frequently asked questions:

Have you been to the property?

Where do you live?

Do you have references?

What are your policies for payments and cancellations?

What do you provide?

Where do we meet? How do I get the keys?

Where to go? Where to rent a car? Where to park? Where to eat?

We have prepared answers to all of these questions for you - please email us, if you would like to receive detailed information about us and our services.

More Details

Property Manager
Vida Urbana
Speaks: english, german, spanish
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
December 7, 2016
Call Manager

About Vida Urbana

VidaUrbanaPR is a result of our love to Old San Juan and our desire to share this beauty with you. Therefore we enjoy representing our neighbors (homeowners) who have decided to offer their homes to travelers. We are managing an incredible variety of properties, all very different from each other and yet in the same gorgeous old city, Some Truly Economic and as well Some of the Finest Locations in Old San Juan. We live in Old San Juan ourselves and like to welcome you to experience our Latin-, Tropical-, Spanish-colonial style neighborhood.

Vida Urbana is committed to Serve Travelers at a Fair Rate and to help Finding The Rental That Meets Your Needs. We enjoy providing an Honest Service and being Available Before and During Your Stay. Our Message to all Tenants: Have Fun, Enjoy, Relax and don't hesitate to contact us for anything you need.

We recently added as well apartments in the modern part of San Juan for you to visit and enjoy the "beach front" lifestyle of Puerto Rico and two "hidden get a ways" around the Island.

Guestbook comments from the manager

This place is amazing........even better than the pictures. beds are nice and firm and the location could not be better.
Mar 2015
  • 1 of 4

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(10 traveler reviews)

Cute Penthouse Overlooking Sol Street In Old San Juan
average rating of 4.6 based on 14 reviews
5

Easy, Low-Key Accomodations

  • 5 of 5

The penthouse was perfect for our 3 night stay in Old San Juan in late October. The condo was clean and quiet, and the AC was effective at night. It was easy to text the property reps and they were there to greet us and help with bags once we arrived at the condo from the airport. The rep (Javier) also clued us into UBER existing in San Juan -- life saver. The neighborhood felt both safe and charming. Unfortunately the elevator was not in service while we were there, but the five flights probably did us a favor since the condo is within walking distance of great restaurants. We weren't looking for anything fancy - so be advised if you're looking for a 5-star hotel/spa/all-inclusive stay, this is not that. We wanted safety, cleanliness, comfort, and walkability, and Vida Urbana delivered. Also, lots of charming art and reading material, WIRELESS, and a helpful binder with restaurants/emergency numbers/close activities. Thank you for a relaxing stay.

  • Submitted: Nov 14, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for sharing your experience and being such a wonderful Guest. We would be glad to welcome you soon again. To our future Guests: The 3rd floor PH is listed as a walk-up, because there is an elevator in the Condo, but due to age and logistics it is not always available.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
4

The second time is always a little less exciting, but still reliable.

  • 4 of 5

I stayed at this apartment last year during April. I love this place so much. It's still a beautiful apartment, the courtyard coqui found a partner, comfortable, air con, full kitchen, cable, nearby grocery...everything! It was like coming home, except a few things were a little worse for wear. Two of the ceiling fans didn't work. Luckily, found a large fan in the closet. That saved the day. And the elevator, while appreciated to no end when you're carting luggage upstairs, was a lot more temperamental this year. You need to know how to touch him the right way. Be patient, he's middle aged.

There was a tiny miscommunication with the staff where I had to hunt them down for check out, but they are so nice and attentive it didn't make a difference.

Can't wait to stay here again next year.

  • Submitted: Apr 22, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
San Francisco, Ca
4

Convenient Location + Great Price.

  • 4 of 5

We stayed on the 3rd floor (Penthouse - press PH on the elevator) for a week during our research trip to PR. It's a basic homebase, but located in the most convienent part of OSJ. Two blocks from Plaza de Armas, where all the cabs, supermarket and weekend performers are. It's also across the street from a buzz-in only antique store and a sort of art space (only open on weekends). A block from Calle Cristo (first paved street in the new world), and some friendly felines.

The building is archaic. It has to be older than who knows what, or a good replica. Every morning I'd wake up and open the two doors that opened up to the balcony that overlooked the street (good people watching), open the living room window/shutters, turn on all the fans and go get coffee. Both bedrooms have stellar working air-conditioning. The whole house has several industrial-strength ceiling fans. A lot of great art on the walls. And I didn't see one lizard the entire time (we usually stay with our family in the country, sorry). At night, a coqui took to serenading us from the courtyard.

There wasn't any water pressure in the shower, but that's not their fault. But, there was hot water. Not that I used it. No issues with the internet. We stayed in one night (recuperating) and cooked dinner and watched cable. And I got to meet the owner of the bldg...which was basically one of the highlights of my trip. Gave me some great insight on my research. I only wish I would have gotten the owner's phone number. I'll be staying here next year.

  • Submitted: Apr 25, 2015
  • Stayed: Apr 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for sharing your experience. See you soon again. The VidaUrbanaPR Team
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Wonderful Time

  • 5 of 5

Our experience in San Juan exceeded all our expectations. I went to school in Puerto Rico and I am married to a local. However, after been away for so many years it was fantastic to go back and have such a pleasant experience. The apartment was perfect. It had everything we needed and since we were not looking for luxury this was perfect. The location was ideal for shopping, dining, and fun.

Plan to go again in the future!

  • Submitted: Jun 4, 2014
  • Stayed: May 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Great location!

  • 3 of 5

The location is very central, the building is well maintained, and the layout of the apartment is good. Being up high, the apartment has lots of natural light. However, there are hardly any hot water, be prepared for 'cold' showers.

The kitchen is very old and not that functional - if you are more than 2 people and plan to do some cooking you might want to look somewhere else.

We (2) spent a week at the apartment, and yes, in spite of these weaknesses, I would recommend this place.

  • Submitted: Jan 10, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for sharing your impressions and recommending the apartment. We are glad you had a great time and are sorry that you did not like the indeed small, yet openly designed kitchen. And yes, it is an older model, yet everything is clean and functioning. We are as well sorry that our hot water wasn't hot enough for you and especially sorry that you never mentioned it to us directly. We would like to let our future clients know, that we went right upstairs to check on the water and it wasn't cold. But more than anything we are wondering about the 3 stars, because we provided a late evening check-in free of charge, we were right over when you had a question, we delivered extra household items for free and on the courtesy late check-out we even called a taxi and waited patiently until you were ready to depart. We don’t mind critics, especially not if they help us to do better, but we would also be happy to see that it is appreciated when we go the extra mile.
Did you find this review helpful?
7 0
Not Specified
5

private w/great location. roomy and comfortable.

  • 5 of 5

great management team. easy to work with and very attentive. apartment was perfect. clean and very comfortable. bedding was above average. location was good. elevator was a plus. will recommend to all my friends.

  • Submitted: Jan 3, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Pat, Thanks for staying with us. Hope to have you back soon. Saludos, Irma.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Nearest Airport
8 Miles
SJU - Luis Munoz Marin
Nearest Ferry
1 Miles
to Bacardi Factory
Nearest Beach
2 Miles

Photos

Rates & Availability

Catedral Apartment Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
high season
Dec 16 2016 - Apr 15 2017
4 night minimum stay
$145
$975
$2,400
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$115
$750
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $95 + Tax
Refundable damage deposit $300
Tax Rate 10.0%

The rates do not apply for the annual San Sebastian Fest in January.
10% tax include 7% local tourism tax and 3% service charge
Listed Deposit may be higher for stays longer than 1 week.
Listed Cleaning Fee may be higher for stays longer than 1 week.
Monthly Rates do not include the cost of electricity.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message

Amenities

Catedral Apartment Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • apartment
Location Type:
  • Downtown
  • Near The Ocean
Theme:
  • Historic
  • Romantic
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Kitchenette
  • Microwave
  • Stove
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Patio
  • Terrace
Attractions:
  • bay/sound
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • rain forests
  • restaurants
  • ruins
Leisure Activities:
  • eco tourism
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • laundromat
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • snorkeling
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing

Learn more about this vacation rental at the manager's website:

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties