check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Sunshine & Cody Qualls

Member since: 2008
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Dream Views I by the Waterfall. Slope Side, Patio, BBQ, Jacuzzi

69 Reviews
Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 2 - 6 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Durango Condo Rental Photos and Description

Needles Mountain Views! East Rim, Sleeps 2-8*, Wood Fireplace, 2Pn Jacuzzi tub

Searching for somewhere truly special for your visit to Durango? Our beautifully renovated interior and 2 levels of stunning Needles Mountain views will make you want to stay in the San Juan mountains forever. Our East Rim "Dream Views I - by the waterfall" condo is a short 2-3 minute walk to Purgatory summer + ski lifts, Purgatory Village Plaza and the Purgatory lodge pool.

Filled with art and gorgeous hues, our condo also features an upstairs balcony, a downstairs patio and gas BBQ for spring, summer and fall. We make improvements every year; you can always expect our home to look as lovely, or even better than it's photos.

To reserve, choose the "send email/message" link by our owner photo to the right, or use the "Request to book" option. We've rented by owner through advertising on VRBO & HomeAway since 2008, so you can reserve with confidence through Sunshine or the site. Is "Slope Side Romance" full for your dates? Just type the property number in the "where to go" box to see our "Views to Dream About, Ski in Ski out" Condo (3610720), or "Luxurious Romance" town-home at Silverpick Village (342980). Guests can also visit our SkiDurangoResort or DurangoLove site to plan Durango activities and see more condo details.

Children always welcome, we have lots of children's movies and board games! Graco Pack n Play, Fisher Price booster seat, and a stair gate are provided. Pets are welcome with approval & small nightly fee. In order to offer savings for smaller families, lowest rates shown are for lower occupancy, progressing to our standard rate as guests are added. The 7th night is Free during summer and winter seasons. THANK YOU! for considering our 'Slope Side Romance' condo for your Southwest Colorado, vacation in Durango.

We' update our home annually to keep 'Slope-Side Romance by the Waterfall' special for our guests. Sunshine looks forward to hearing from you, home questions are always welcome.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Sunshine & Cody Qualls (Owner)
Member since: 2008
Call Owner
Speaks: english

About Sunshine & Cody Qualls

If you've yet to be completely enamored with Durango; it only takes once! We fell in love with Durango mountain our first visit; and purchased 'Slope Side Romance by the Waterfall' a few months later. The refreshing mountain climate and charming down-town genuinely offer year-round fun for everyone. Nearly a decade ago, we left satisfying careers in the US as a high school teacher and commercial builder; to start a custom building business in Costa Rica. We love USA! dearly, even more so after living abroad; yet were drawn by the sense of adventure and lack of traffic jams. We miss the US greatly, and have come to cherish Durango mountain as a gathering place for family, and an escape from Costa Rica's heat. CR's beaches are stunning for vacations, ha ha; yet quite sweltering while out working. The intensity of the tropical heat makes one want to stay immobile on a beach blanket or wet in the ocean; whereas the refreshing mountain climate inspires family activity! Our young daughter reminds us weekly that she wants to go to Durango for horseback riding, hiking, skiing or dance class at Bella's. Due to living in a rural coastal area with limited amenities; we truly appreciate Durango's down-town area: the arts, great eats, festivals, churches, parks, charming shops, the 'choo choo'! On the mountain we love: horses, rock hopping streams, Stunning hiking vistas, breathtaking lakes, fishing, the scent of the trees, the surprise snow in early May, looking out at the mountains and feeling like time has stopped. Our hearts are torn between the tropical beauty and responsibility of loyal building employees in Costa Rica; and the many opportunities that Durango offers for raising children. While we dream about moving to Durango in the coming years; we want guests to thoroughly enjoy our home. We have worked to create an ambiance that we hope our guests will also create memories in, and want to call their Durango 'home away from home' each year.

Sunshine & Cody Qualls purchased this condo in 2008

Why Sunshine & Cody Qualls chose Southwestern Colorado

Upstairs Views. Downstairs Views. Balcony and Patio. Corner Unit Views. The Waterfall next to us. Exterior Entrance without Hallways. Oversize Jacuzzi Tub for together time. Easy Walk to Main Lifts and Bunny Slope Tunnel. Stroll to morning Starbucks in the Plaza, Refreshing Mountain Temperatures in Summer, Views of the Aspens Turning Color in Fall! So close to sooooo many lakes and Streams for hiking, drawing and pick-nicks. Perfectly easy to drive down-town as often as we like to enjoy the Historic district and arts. Just as easy to take a fall or summer adventure day to Silverton or Ouray.

What makes this condo unique

Lovingly Upgraded; we have spent many vacations on remodel projects, and hired a few out. Built in the early 70's, East Rim are one of few resort buildings that feel homey (only 8 units) and have exterior entrances (Hubby takes issue with condo hallways, ha ha). Our building is extra special as it is set into the cliff-side beside the waterfall, and down below the street level. Inside we opted for a mix of amber Bruce distressed hardwood flooring, slate and travertine. In addition to flooring and the kitchen, all lighting, fixtures and design elements were hand picked. We strive to care for our vacation rentals as if they were our full-time residence. We hope when guests head home; you'll remember your inside ambiance as much as the fun on the mountain.

Guestbook comments from the owner

The rooms were very accommodating and the condo was better than advertised. We had a beautiful view of the mountains from our balcony. DMR was less than 50 yards from our front door. We could not of asked for better ski conditions, 45 inches of snow fall in 3 days makes for great skiing/boarding. I enjoyed working with the owners. They were honest, we had no problems with the deposit refund, everything was as promised and Sunshine is a very sweet , personable, and caring person. I will definitely be lodging with Sunshine again. I can't wait to visit with my family. Of all the places I have been skiing DMR has the best variety of slopes and is very family friendly. Thanks for the beautiful condo.
Feb 2013
  • 1 of 13

Reviews

4.9
based on 69 traveler reviews

Dream Views I by the Waterfall. Slope Side, Patio, BBQ, Jacuzzi
average rating of 4.927536 based on 82 reviews
Hillsdale, NJ
5

Perfect place to stay during your Durango Vacation

  • 5 of 5

Perfect! Everything was just as presented in photos and in discussions via email with Sunny! The information she provided in her PDF's were very useful while in their home and the Durango area! The condo looks like it right out of a magazine, but yet is comfy for those visiting! I would highly recommend this condo for your trip to Durango. We were here in the summer, but it would love to come back and see this place hopping in the winter! The condo is just steps to the mountain! The actual location is perfect, between Durango and Silverton. We had a fantastic time and if we visit again, we would stay here in a heartbeat!

  • Submitted: Sep 2, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Jenny, Thank you! Cody and I appreciate hearing that your family enjoyed our decor. Thank you also for affirming that you found the arrival and welcome materials to be helpful to your stay. We would love for your family to stay again, and hopefully get to come enjoy the ski season.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

The condo is better than advertised! Great views & all the amenities and comforts of home.

  • 5 of 5

This was our first vacation to Colorado and the condo and surrounding activities were better than expected. First, the condo is well appointed with first class finishes and decor. It truly has everything you need and the kitchen is stocked with every appliance and utensil you could ever want. The kitchen/dining/living room are large and make a great gathering place for the entire group in the evenings. The condo is located on a ski resort and we had access to all the amenities...restaurants, pool, spa, fitness center, etc. There were lots of activities for kids at the resort (zip line, Alpine slide, bungee jumps, mountain biking, ropes course, etc.). In the surrounding areas, we enjoyed hiking (all the ones the owner suggested were great), ATVing, floating the river, white water rafting, zip lining, and golfing were some of our favorites. Downtown Durango also had a cool vibe with lots of shops and restaurants. Since the kitchen was well stocked and there was an awesome weber gas grill, we prepared most of our meals at the condo. The kids are still talking about the steak dinner one night and the chicken fajitas another night. Can't do better than this condo and with so many activities to do in the area, we had an awesome vacation! Looking forward to returning, maybe we'll come back during the ski season!

Thanks Cody and Sunshine for your attention to detail and making your house our home for a week!

Regards,

The Johnson Family

  • Submitted: Jul 31, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Joel and Family, thank you for taking time to share about your wonderful experiences. We added additional stainless pots and pans in June, and were appreciative to hear that the kitchen supplies made an positive impact on your family's stay. It is also great to hear that your children enjoyed Purgatory's plaza activities. The highlight (aside from the major joy of being a Mom) of my post pregnancy year was beating hubby and daughter down the Alpine slide this summer. May have been a total fluke, but shredding down the alpine slide makes us all feel young again. And the feat earned some admiration from our older daughter. At her beckoning, I tried the ropes course last week.....and challenge all you Mommy's and Daddy's to give it a shot... it's another good dose of childhood adrenaline, and fun bonding. Upon reading your review to the family, we were all excited and grateful to hear your feedback. Thank you for being fantastic guests, we hope that you will make it back to Dream Views I by the Waterfall soon.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Family Fun

  • 5 of 5

We had a great time during our vacation in Durango. The view of the mountains from the back patio is spectacular. The beautiful ride up to Slope Side is about 25 minutes from Durango. The condo had everything we needed and more. As a family we enjoyed the train ride to Silverton, horse back riding, rafting and ATV rides. We will plan on coming back again. Hopefully soon!

  • Submitted: Jun 29, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Gerry, thank you for sharing the activities that your family enjoyed. After your stay, our family rented an ATV and Jeep for the first time this year too! It is so helpful to learn things to share with other guests. Box Canyon Waterfalls, Ouray's Side Street Cafe, and Treasure Waterfalls (just North of Pagosa Springs) were our new discoveries to pass on this summer. We are so happy that you got to relax, loved the views from Dream Views I by the Waterfall, and hope you'll be back soon.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Amazing! Wonderful! Relaxing!

  • 5 of 5

Sunshine thought of everything for this condo rental, she is so kind, and will respond quickly to any question you might have. After a long motorcycle ride we enjoyed all the condo provided. The outside dining area with grill provided a great meal, with stunning views of the snow capped mountains and the sound of the waterfall will melt your stress away. You can't to wrong with this rental! We can't wait to go back. This is the perfect location between Durango and Silverton! Thank you so much for sharing your beautiful home with us!

  • Submitted: Jun 1, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Christy, it was a joy to share your review with our family. Our older daughter has patiently assisted with our home renovations and my guest care time since she was old enough to listen, ha ha; therefore reading guest reviews is a family affair. Hearing that our home was the perfect fit for your mountain experiences put a smile on all of our faces. Thank you so much, we hope you'll be able to return soon.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Exactly what we needed for a getaway

  • 5 of 5

Slope Side was everything that was advertised plus more! A perfect getaway for a couple or family that's far enough out of town to give you space and close enough if you really need a city treat. The condo was perfect, the lodge facilities were perfect and Purg was awesome (springtime skiing is what you make of it). One of the other reviews complained about the labeling around the condo....not me, thanks for keeping it super simple and having provided for all of the accessories one needs while on vacation.

We were most impressed with the family friendless of the entire experience and we'll be back either as a family or a couple. Thanks for the memories!

  • Submitted: Apr 2, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Scott- Thank you for the grins! All the remodeling and annual decor updates are very much a family affair. When guest reviews arrive, they are read aloud as a family. Hearing that you appreciated our home and welcome materials, and that had a great time makes us feel grateful. We've added comfy new padded pecan leather dining chairs and more since your stay, and look forward to your next visit.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Tucson, AZ
5

Wonderful accommodations at the base, met every expectation

  • 5 of 5

This property is as lovely as described. . The views get no better, and the accommodations are luxurious. Our family went skiing for three days over the Tucson rodeo break, and were so happy in this home that we were sad to leave. Sunshine thought of everything. Every dish, every pillow, blanket, everything was clean, comfortable, and top-notch. The ambiance in the home is warm and inviting, and the location could not be better. You walk out your door and to the lift. I am a picky sleeper, and the beds were incredibly comfortable. When we return to Durango there is no question I will book this unit - five stars all the way.

  • Submitted: Feb 28, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear BJ, Thank you so much for appreciating all the details, and for sharing that you enjoyed the beds. We hope that all of our guests enjoy the condo ambiance to the fullest during their stay. Since your 2016 ski stay we've added new cream diamond embroidery curtains with black out panels to the master, large earthy, beaded woven pillows in the living room (I so want to take them home, ha ha, yet am excited for guests to enjoy), and 8 new pecan leather dining chairs .. Our family appreciates that you took time to share. We look forward to your next stay.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Car: recommended

So Much to do in beautiful Durango! Outdoor activities abound in every season and our location at Durango Mountain Resort is a perfect base. Winter snow brings skiing, sledding, mogul, cross country and snowboarding opportunities. Spring thaw is great for hiking, picknics, fishing,mountain biking and photography. In summer add white water rafting, Pool time, tennis, horseback riding, rock wall climbing and golf. As the Fall colors burst on the scene enjoy 'Music in the Mountains', cruise the downtown art galleries, explore the old mining towns of Silverton and Ouray, hike the waterfall on the drive up. Year-round ride the Durango-Silverton Railroad, enjoy the heated pool, dine in the vast array of great restaurants in Durango, work out in the fitness center or relax in our 2 person jacuzzi bath with travertine walls. Don't forget about enjoying a steaming cup of coffee on our balcony or patio, watching the sunrise over the mountains from our Master bed, or snuggling by the fireplace

Golf: Just a 15 minute drive south to Golf Course at Tamarron/ Glacier Club

Ski: We are just a 3-5 Minute walk to the main 3 ski lifts. Our Condo is a 1 minute walk to the New purgatory Lodge and the lifts are just behind the lodge. Our Condo's View Side has unobstructed views of the Needles Mountains (pine trees, but no buildings in front of us!) from 2 levels and our entry side has designated parking on Sheol street. We have a ski locker outside in a large covered entry area. Each condo in our building has a separate outdoor entrance, with no hallways to tromp through.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Durango Condo Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Durango Fall Colors
Sep 18 2016 - Nov 18 2016
2 night minimum stay
$129
From
$174
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
$763
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $12 per night, per additional guest
 
THANKSGIVING SKI WEEKEND
Nov 25 2016 - Nov 27 2016
2 night minimum stay
$199
From
$249
Fri,Sat,Sun
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $12 per night, per additional guest
 
PURG SKI & Polar Express 2016
Nov 28 2016 - Dec 14 2016
2 night minimum stay
$174
From
$224
Fri,Sat
$999
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $15 per night, per additional guest
 
Christmas 2016
Dec 16 2016 - Dec 23 2016
5 night minimum stay
$539
$2,694
 
 
New Years Week 2017
Dec 31 2016 - Jan 7 2017
5 night minimum stay
$539
$2,694
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add $15 per night, per additional guest
 
SKI 2017- Excl. MLK & PRES Day
Jan 8 2017 - Mar 3 2017
4 night minimum stay
$224
$1,349
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $15 per night, per additional guest
 
Spring Break 2016
Mar 4 2017 - Mar 26 2017
5 night minimum stay
$499
$2,694
 
 
Tranquil Spring Retreat
Apr 10 2017 - May 19 2017
2 night minimum stay
$99
From
$124
Fri,Sat,Sun
$699
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest
 
Refreshing Green Summer 2017
May 20 2017 - Sep 5 2017
6 night minimum stay
$224
$1,249
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $15 per night, per additional guest
 
CHRISTMAS WEEK
Dec 23 2017 - Dec 29 2017
6 night minimum stay
$499
$2,694
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add $15 per night, per additional guest
 
New Years Week 2018
Dec 30 2017 - Jan 5 2018
5 night minimum stay
$499
$2,694
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add $15 per night, per additional guest
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$224
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add $15 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $400
Pet Fee $96
Service Fee is from SITE $0
Cleaning Incl. 6.8% Tax $159
Tax Rate 14.8%

Thank you for appreciating our home:) Most Seasonal rates reflect savings for lower than maximum occupancy.
Guest is age 2+. Adding a guest above the discounted seasonal base rate is just $10-15pp/pn.
Ask about pet approval, fee and welcome policies. Pets also count towards max occupancy.
Maximum Occupancy with all guests paid is 6 adults OR 8 guests if 2 are children under age 14.
ACCIDENTAL DAMAGE PROTECTION OPTIONS: As a rental by home-owner our homes are kept beautiful but we cant get the volume discounts rental pool mgrs can for insurance, nor do we keep a credit card on file for damages like Lodge/ hotels and mgrs.. If you choose the $59 PDP insurance we will refund $200 of the $400 refundable damage deposit w/in 72 hrs of booking. Please see our SkiDurangoResort site for more details.
TAX INCLUDES 8% for Resort's Fee & Amenity Guest Use Fee (heated pool, hot tub, fitness)

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Durango Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 1
Building Type:
  • building
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1275 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
  • Resort
  • Ski-In ...
  • Ski-Out ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Alarm Clock
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Firewood
  • Fitness Room / Equipment
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer ...
  • Sofa Bed
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Fireplace ...
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Upstairs, Beautifully Remodeled with Gold Travertine
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , jetted tub , Downstairs w/ Travertine and Oversize Jacuzzi Tub
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , Stunning Pillow-top Views, Luxury mattress and bedding
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , Beautiful Hardwood floors, Pottery Barn Bedding Set
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single , Semi-Private Bunk-bed Room for Children
    Sleeper Sofa Living Room - 1 sleep sofa /futon , Queen Sleeper Sofa In Front of Amazing Views
  • Permitted maximum occupancy is 6 adults + 2 children under age 14. The bedrooms are downstairs. The "3rd bedroom" is a semi-private bunk bed area, best suited for children. 1274SF Condo can sleep 6 adults using sleeper sofa in the upstairs living room. Our home space is most comfy for 2-6 persons total. Any approved pets (doggies only), children and and infants all count towards occupancy maximum.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Patio
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
  • Tennis ...
  • Tennis Court
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Wood Deck
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Heated Pool
  • Hot Tub
  • Jacuzzi
  • Outdoor Hot Tub
  • Outdoor Pool
  • Shared Hot Tub ...
  • jetted tub ...
Onsite Services:
  • Massage
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • forests
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • water parks
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • ski privileges optional
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • whitewater rafting
Notes:
Please see our 'DurangoLove' website for Durango Activity Links, Durango Events Calendars, Mountain weather link (Molas Pass report is most accurate for mountain), and lots more of our Slope Side Romance by the Waterfall Condo 'home' details.

Learn more about this vacation rental at the owner's website:

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties