check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Maryfrances Dobron

Member since: 2008
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Cozy mountain retreat in the picturesque PA wilds

15 Reviews
Sleeps7
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Westfield House Rental Photos and Description

3 bedbrooms, 2 full bathrooms, sleeps 7, washer/dryer

Our home away from home is located in picturesque Sabinsville, PA just 1 mile away from Beechwood Lake and PA State Game Lands. You will find all the comforts of home with 3 bedrooms, 2 full bathrooms, eat-in kitchen (fully equipped with dishes, cookware & limited spices), living room (with sofa bed), wrap around porch with rocking chairs, picnic table and gas grill. Enjoy the cool evenings by the fire pit. You will be 10 minutes from town for all your shopping needs and the River Valley Golf Club in beautiful Westfield, PA. Corning, NY is within an hour drive where you will enjoy the wineries, Corning Glass Museum, Watkins Glen State Park and many other attractions. Wellsboro, PA is home of the PA Grand Canyon and is an easy 30 minute drive away. Bring your bike and ride on rails to trails (20 minutes away) or tow your boat and put her in at the 'stocked' Beechwood Lake or other area lakes! Ski Saw Mill within 45 minutes of the cabin. Be close enough to everything but far enough away to relax and unwind! (PETS CONSIDERED, PLEASE ASK)

LOCAL GOLF COURSES: River Valley Golf Club 18 holes over 6,350 yards with a par of 72, Westfield, PA.

Tyoga Country Club, 18 holes over 6,335 yards with a par of 71, Wellsboro, PA.

See www.visittiogapa.com for current event dates

LOCAL EVENTS: MARCH-Maple Syrup is flowing in Pa.

APRIL- Trout Season opens in Pennsylvania

MAY-Maple Festival

JUNE-Bass Season opens in Pennsylvania

JUNE-Laurel Festival JUNE

AUGUST-Tioga County Fair, TO BE ANNOUNCED; AND Woodsman Competition, Potter County, PA for more information see www.visittiogapa.com

SEPTEMBER & EARLY OCTOBER- See the spectacular autumn leaves

OCTOBER APPLE & CHEESE FESTIVAL IN CANTON, PA

OCTOBER & NOVEMBER-Hunting Season and Harvest Festival

DECEMBER-Dickens of a Christmas, First Saturday in December. Fun for the entire family

Check out Tioga County Visitor Bureau on-line for current events.

PLACES TO SEE: Tioga County is home of the PA GRAND CANYON. Enjoy Pine Creek from the shore or on a raft during white water!; Watkins Glen State Park, New York; Corning Glass Museum; Rails to Trails; Cowanesque Lake; Hills Creek Lake, Ives Run and the STOCKED Beechwood Lake; Miles Mountain Motor Cross; PA State Game Lands; Cherry Springs State Park for Star Gazers; The Windmill Farm & Craft Market open May to December on Saturdays from 8-4:30; Local wineries in Pa and NY. Ski Saw Mill Ski Resort! THERE IS TONS TO DO IN THE PA WILDS!!!

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Maryfrances Dobron (Owner)
Member since: 2008
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Why Maryfrances Dobron chose Pennsylvania Wilds

We purchased this property as a second home away from home. The view from the front porch is breathtaking and the night sky is amazing. You feel like you are in the middle of no where, but close enough to everything you need.

What makes this house unique

Tranquil, amazing night sky, peaceful and cozy.

Guestbook comments from the owner

"Your cabin is so cozy and relaxing, we didn't want to leave. I love the front porch and the rockers! We will definitely come back. We surely found our 'home' away from home!
Jul 2010
  • 1 of 1

Reviews

4.9
based on 15 traveler reviews

Cozy mountain retreat in the picturesque PA wilds
average rating of 4.9333334 based on 16 reviews
Point Pleasant, PA
5

Perfect Autumn Getaway

  • 5 of 5

My husband, 3 of our friends and I had a relaxing and fun weekend at the Cozy Mountain Retreat. We were amazed by the view of the fall foliage from cabin.. what a great surprise! The cabin was very comfortable and exceptionally cleaned. I would recommend this rental to anyone - great stay!

  • Submitted: Oct 11, 2009
  • Stayed: Sep 2009
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Total privacy with a beautiful view

  • 5 of 5

This property was wonderful- very private, with an amazing view of the area. The cabin is clean and well-kept, and having two full bathrooms was a nice bonus with six adults and one child. The kitchen provided plenty of space and had all of the items and utensils that we needed to prepare meals. We lucked out with the weather, so we were able to eat every meal outside- either on the back deck with the picnic table, or having breakfast and coffee on the front porch with the view. Sitting around the fire pit is a great place to end the evening, and the star-gazing was fantastic!

I would highly recommend making the short drive to Colton Point State Park for some hiking. The Rim Trail (not to be confused with the West Rim Trail) is a manageable one-mile round trip, with stunning views of the "Pennsylvania Grand Canyon."

Mary was great to work with, and was quick to respond to any inquiries. Thanks so much for the warm hospitality!

  • Submitted: Aug 14, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay at our Cozy Mountain Retreat. Thank you for the kind words and for taking care of our home away from home during your stay!! We hope you'll visit again. It was such a pleasure to have you stay at our home.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Amazing little place in the mountains!!

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I had a wonderful time here! The house was clean and cozy. The porch was our favorite place to be! Breakfast and coffee were had out on the front porch every morning. We will most definitely be back as we have family in the area! Thanks for sharing your home away from home with us!!

  • Submitted: Aug 30, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you. We are thrilled you enjoyed our home away from home and look forward to having you visit again. ;)
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Tobaccoville, NC
5

Just what we needed!!!!

  • 5 of 5

Our family was looking for someplace to get away from it all. The location was perfect, the scenery was breath taking. The guys enjoyed watching the deer come out in the pasture across from the house every morning and evening!!! Mary was extremely friendly and very prompt in all our travel reservations. I would highly recommend this rental for a wonderful relaxing time!! Thanks Mary!!!

  • Submitted: Sep 15, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Laurie! Glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you'll visit us again. :)
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Clarksboro nj
4

Great escape!

  • 4 of 5

My husband and our two young children just came back from a quick weekend get away! The only thing we wish is that we could have stayed longer. The home was perfect for our size family and very comfortable. The weather was beautiful and the star gazing was out of this world! Mary was a wonderful resource for all that there is to do in the area, but I truly have to say that just spending time on the porch with the spectacular views was the best part of the trip! My children and I look at the pictures and videos that we have taken often! Hopefully we can continue this new tradition next year!

  • Submitted: Jun 9, 2014
  • Stayed: May 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are thrilled you enjoyed your visit! We look forward to hearing from you gain. It was a pleasure having your family stay at CMR!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

very nice, clean, quiet

  • 5 of 5

The house was very clean and well-stocked with dishes. The yard was well-maintained and there was a fire pit outside. The reservation process was smooth and the security deposit was returned promptly. No cell service, or internet (which I consider a plus) but there is a landline.

  • Submitted: Sep 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you! We are happy you enjoyed the accommodations. Hope to have you visit again in the future.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
53 Miles
Elmira Corning Regiona Airport, NY
Nearest Barpub
8 Miles
Bear Tracks Tavern
Nearest Golf
5 Miles
River Valley Golf Club
Nearest Motorway
3 Miles
Route 349
Nearest Restaurant
8 Miles
Schoonovers
Car: necessary

Located in the PA Wilds you will find tons to do!!! Beechwood Lake is STOCKED for fishing and is just 1 mile down the road, bring your small fishing boat and fish the day away!! PA State Game Lands is close by in both Tioga and Potter Counties. Cowanesque Lake is an approximate 30 minute drive where you can swim, fish or go boating (no hp restrictions). The PA Grand Canyon is a short drive to Wellsboro, PA. The River Valley Golf Club is a 10 minute ride into Westfield where you can also get groceries, gas and restaurants. The newly completed Rails to Trails is within 20 minutes so bring your bikes and enjoy the ride!!!! Don't forget about New York being an easy 40 minute drive away. Remember to pick up some of Pennsylvania's finest Maple syrup!! Due to the rural location, cell phone service is not guaranteed. There is a phone at the house for emergencies and local calls. You can find tons of things to do here or just kick back and relax! Whatever you want to do, you can do it here!!

Photos

Rates & Availability

Westfield House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Fall/Winter
Sep 21 2016 - Apr 17 2017
2 night minimum stay
$175
$750
$2,600
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$175
$750
$2,600
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $175
Tax Rate 9.0%

Tax is 6% Pa Sales Tax and 3% County room tax.
Rates quoted are for up to 7 people.
A REFUNDABLE security deposit for 50% of the rental rate is required to hold reservations.
Final payment is required 30 days prior to stay.
Non-refundable $75 fee for canceling within 3 weeks of your scheduled stay.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Westfield House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Lake
  • Mountain
  • Rural
  • Town
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Gas Heating
  • Heating
  • Laundry Soap
  • Living Room
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Sofa Bed
  • Telephone
  • Telescope
  • Toilet Paper
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 7 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • You will need to provide your own linens. There is a washer/dryer for your convenience.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 7
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 double
    Bedroom 2 - 1 double
    Bedroom 3 - 1 twin/ single
    Living Area - 1 sleep sofa /futon
  • You will need to provide your own linens. There is a washer/dryer for your convenience.
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Games for Kids
  • Radio
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • VCR
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Deck Furniture
  • Golf ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Furniture
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Porch Furniture
  • Small Cooler
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Wood Deck
  • Yard
  • 6 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • caves
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • forests
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • waterfalls
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • rafting
  • skiing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
Notes:
In an attempt to keep the cottage renter friendly, smoking is NOT permitted in the house, however, smoking outside on the deck and property is fine. There is an air conditioning unit in the master bedroom for the rare occasion when temperatures rise. We want you to be able to relax and unwind, for this reason, the television is NOT EQUIPPED with cable or satellite. The television is equipped with a DVD/VCR for viewing movies should you decide to stay indoors. Feel free to view our movies or bring your own. Enjoy the front porch view!! There is an outside fire pit for those cool evenings and star gazing... You won't believe the night sky! PA State Game Land in Tioga and Potter Counties are just minutes away for your hunting pleasure, NO hunting on the premises. ATV and snowmobile trails are close by in Potter County. PHONE IS FOR LOCAL AND EMERGENCY CALLING ONLY. There is a calling card provided for minimal calls. Cell phone service is sporadic. Bring the whole family and reconnect!!!

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties