check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Sandra Spence

Member since: 2008
Call Manager
Speaks: english

Fall Rates/Stay 7 nights for the price of 5/Prime Location in Galena Territory

52 Reviews
Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

The Galena Territory House Rental Photos and Description

3 bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8, fulll kitchen, great room w/stone fireplace

The home has been all updated when we purchased in 2002. There are walnut wood floors on the main level and frieze carpet on all the other level. There is a bathroom on each level with tile for the flooring. The home is inviting and a comfortable place to have a weekend get away! There are two flat screen television located in the two family room areas.

There are three level to the home. The first level has a great room with a stonewall fireplace, full kitchen, harvest eating table, and a bar height counter top that will eat 4 people comfortable. There is a screened porch, and a deck with a view of the beautiful golf course on the main level. The bedroom has a queen size bed in bedroom and a full bath with tub and shower.The lower level has Laundry facilities, Full bath with tub and shower, Family room area with a screen door opening to the patio where the fire pit is located. The family room has a three cushion sofa and a chair and a half the are sleepers, these will sleep 3 people comfortable. The Bedroom on this floor has two full size beds in order to sleep 4 people.

The upper level has a Bedroom with Queen size bed, a loft area with a Twin bed and a Full bath with a shower only. The home is decorated in a rustic decor, the exterior view is of the third hole of the north golf course. There is a weber gas grill for grilling pleasures that is located on the ground level patio.

Groceries: The drive to Galena coming from the east is a very pleasant drive. You travel in a US Rt 20 which is a two lane highway. You travel thru many small towns such as Lena, Elizabeth, Stockton. There is a grocery store in the town of Stockton by the name of 'Sullivans Foods', this is a great place to stop and stock up on reasonably priced groceries as you are arriving. In the territories there is a general store for necessities, there is also a wonderful deli and bakery and meat counter here. They do also rent more current videos here for a 24 hour time period. You can also stay on Rt 20 past the turn to get downtown galena and there is a Piggly Wiggly and a Walmart super store. Gas at the Walmart is usually cheaper.

Short cut to town: When driving out of Green View Lane you want to take a left on to eagle ridge dr. and then your very next left on to thunder bay from here you will drive about 2 miles you will see the trash facilty on the left side just before that there is a farm road that will take you out to Rt 20 again. This will cut down your drive to town at least 15 minutes or more.

House essentials: When you arrive at the house you will need to turn on the water which is located inn the laundry room on the lowest level. Behind the door you will see a faucet, you need to open that valve when you arrive and close that valve when you leave. The thermostat has been programed for the heat and the cooling. When you arrive you need to open the cover and push run program and when you leave if you could set it at 55 degrees in the winter and in the summer at 80 degrees. I have a well stocked kitchen for your use, pat and pans, dishes for a service of 8 people, coffee pot, tea kettle,silverware, cutting knives, toaster, a few serving dishes, cutting boards, measuring cups, few spices, salt & pepper, sugar, paper towels, dish towels, dish soap, cleaning supplies. Let me know if there is any questions about any other items. The bathrooms have toiletries, body soap, hand soap. I also have laundry soap if you need to wash a few things in the new front load washer & dryer.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Sandra Spence (Property Manager)
Member since: 2008
Call Manager
Speaks: english

About Sandra Spence

We purchased the property for our own families use. As our family grew and we weren't able to spend as much time there, we decided to share our home with others. It has been a wonderful experience getting to know others who have come to enjoy the Galena area as much as we have. The continued revenue from visitors has enabled us to continually care for the home and made it a wonderful place to enjoy your time away from home anytime of the year.

Sandra Spence purchased this house in 2002

Why Sandra Spence chose Galena

The nice thing about this property is that it has a wonderful view of the golf course and yet very private. The area provides great outdoor activities all year round. Boating, Fishing, Golfing and Hiking in the spring, summer and fall. Skiing in the winter season and relaxing by a cozy fire.

What makes this house unique

I believe the most unique benefit to this property is it's location it is centrally located in the Galena Territory Area. It is about 5 min, drive to the Eagle Ridge Inn which is convenient for many of our guest who are attending weddings at the Inn. There is a back way to town that is about 15 min. drive, also a 5 min. drive to the homeowners club. The homeowners club is where you will find the indoor pool all year around as well as the workout facility. The Indoor pool is open year round at the homeowners club also.

Reviews

4.9
based on 52 traveler reviews

Fall Rates/Stay 7 nights for the price of 5/Prime Location in Galena Territory
average rating of 4.8846154 based on 52 reviews
Rockford, IL
5

Beautiful retreat!

  • 5 of 5

We had a ladies get-away in Sept. 2009 and stayed at this lovely home. It is in the Galena Territories, and has amazing views. It was well stocked, incredibly clean, and nicely updated and decorated. The screened in porch was a great place for coffee. There were 3 floors, so plenty of space to spread out. The kitchen was completely stocked. I can't think of anything "missing". If you've never been to Galena, you have to visit the Territories. We actually went on the official Galena "girlfriends getaway weekend", but we never even ventured up town to the main drag of stores and restaurants. The Territories is like its own little world. Quiet, tranquil, rolling hills, beautiful homes, general store, golf courses, ponds, water falls, etc. It's an amazing place, and so is this rental home. WELL WORTH the price. We hope to come back some year and spend New Years Eve there w/ a bunch of couples. And Sandy was very responsive and helpful. Thank you for sharing your lovely home!

  • Submitted: Nov 5, 2009
  • Stayed: Sep 2009
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am so pleased to have yet another wonderful review on my web page. I continue to feel my efforts are well spent when I have so many people enjoying their families and friends there. It is a truly wonderful place to get away! I do wish to assure visitors that there are not any concerns with mold issues at my property, all of the lower level carpet has been replaced after a broken pipe was repaired this past summer. I appreciate you looking at my reviews and I look forward to hearing from you. Sandy
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0
5

Great place for any occasion!

  • 5 of 5

We visited the Galena area and stayed at this house for a recent friends trip and the property could not have been better! The homeowners provided everything you could possibly want and were friendly in answering any and all questions we had. The home way clean, quite, and just a quick drive away from all the wonderful Galena attractions. Would definitely stay again!

  • Submitted: Sep 24, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much for your wonderful review. We are so happy you had a great time at our home! It is a wonderful place to stay! We have wonderful memories of our home and the times we spent there over the years. We are so happy to share our lovely home with others so they can enjoy it as much as we do. So when we get reviews like this it makes us so happy! Thanks for letting others know what a great time you had at our home. Look forward to hearing from you in the future!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderfully relaxing adult weekend!

  • 5 of 5

We had 10 adults stay for an adults only weekend and we loved it. The house was very nice and fit all of us comfortably for meals as well as sleeping! The men loved that it was right on the golf course! The location was perfect and it was very easy to get to and from. We will be going back and hope to make it a yearly trip.

  • Submitted: Aug 23, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I want to Thank you for putting such a nice review of our home on the website. It is so helpful for other guests viewing our site! I am so glad everything worked out so well for all of you, it really is a great location. I love watching the golfers when I stay there. I am so happy that you guys are wanting to make this a yearly event. I have a many yearly guests over the years. I look forward to hearing from you next year. Thanks again for the wonderful review it is so appreciated!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Chicago
5

Awesome Property

  • 5 of 5

Loved our stay!! The description and pictures were authentic. The house was updated, clean and very well maintained. Sandra, the manager was very helpful. 10 minutes from town. Quiet and beautiful setting. I would recommend to all.

  • Submitted: Jul 31, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much for the Awesome review! It is so nice to let others guests, visiting the site, what they can look forward to when they arrive at our home. So glad you were happy with all your accommodations. We look forward to having you visit in the future! Thanks again, Sandra and Family
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great place for gal reunion and for 1 - 2 families

  • 5 of 5

We are 7 college friends from Iowa, Minnesota and Michigan. We have stayed here for four days for the last five years. The home is very roomy with three bedrooms, a loft and a sleeper sofa in the lower level. One bedroom is perfect for our snorer! If is very, very clean, well furnished (kitchen, too). We usually eat breakfast in the home, then go out for dinner. It sits on a golf course and has access to a pool and clubhouse. We usually spend one afternoon shopping in Galena and sit around doing lots and lots of talking. The rooms in the home are situated so that some can talk and some can nap! We love it! We would also recommend it for a gals/guys weekend together or 1 - 2 families.

  • Submitted: Jun 24, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: You gals are the best! I am truly blessed to have such a great group of sorority sisters find our home for their reunion every year! Words can't say how appreciative we are for all of the great reviews you ladies have given us. It is so nice to know that all of you enjoy our home as much as we do! Thanks again for letting others know what a great place we have. My best to you all! Sandy
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great Home for a Girls Weekend Away

  • 5 of 5

We have been renting this home for many years for our "college friends" weekend. It has always been very clean, well maintained, and very inviting. We have enjoyed going to the community pool, having pizza at the community restaurant and watching the golfers from either the screened in porch or the outside deck (with fire pit). The home gave the seven of us plenty of room to visit, relax, and catch up. Since we continue to come back year after year, this home is very special to us. You will love it, too!!

  • Submitted: Jun 22, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much for the five star rating! It is so nice that you ladies have such fond memories of our home. It has been a pleasure continuing to host your sorority sister gathering these past years. You have made me feel like part of your group even though I am not there physically. You all stay in touch over the year and get so excited when your arrival date comes close. You all are very special to me! Thanks again, Sandy
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Car: necessary

This property is located in the galena territories, a unique golfing community with many family activities! It is about 15 minutes from the town of galena which is an old stage coach town along the Mississippi river. The town is full of little shops and restaurants that is set into the hillside. There is lots of wildlife in the area, many species of birds, wild turkey, & deer. There is an Inn at the territories where there is a spa for your leisure enjoyment, also a gift shop and a main restaurant and a bar restaurant. There are many events throughout the year organized in the area such as a hot air balloon events, civil war days, etc. You can also rent a pontoon boat and enjoy a sail around lake galena. There is also a stable where you and your family can enjoy a trail ride or a rodeo over the 4th of July holiday weekend. There is a new local hospital in Galena.

You are about 30 minutes from the border of Dubuque Iowa, there is a gambling boat & other site seeing attractions.

Golf: There are four separate golf courses in the Galena Territories. There is the north course the south course and a short 9 holes course and also what is called the 'General' a more difficult course. I am not a member of these courses, but you can easily set up tee times in the golf season.

Ski: Our home is about 10 miles away from chestnut mountain that overlooks the Mississippi river. There is ski rental there in the winter and in the summer they have an alpine slide that is great fun for the whole family. In the town of Dubuque on the other side of the Mississippi there is sundown ski resort. They also have rental facilities, for your skiing pleasure.

Photos

Rates & Availability

The Galena Territory House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Late Summer
Sep 6 2016 - Sep 30 2016
2 night minimum stay
$400
From
$425
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
$2,125
 
 
Fall Season
Oct 1 2016 - Oct 6 2016
2 night minimum stay
$425
From
$425
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
$2,125
 
 
Columbus Weekend
Oct 7 2016 - Oct 11 2016
3 night minimum stay
$450
 
 
Late Fall
Oct 12 2016 - Nov 23 2016
2 night minimum stay
$425
From
$425
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
 
 
Thanksgiving Weekend
Nov 24 2016 - Nov 27 2016
3 night minimum stay
$450
 
 
Later Fall
Nov 28 2016 - Dec 22 2016
2 night minimum stay
$400
From
$425
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
 
 
Christmas & New Years
Dec 23 2016 - Jan 6 2017
3 night minimum stay
$450
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$425
$2,125
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $250
Cleaning $90
Tax Rate 11.0%

Security Deposit of $250.00 in a check form along with a signed contract required. If checking in on a Sunday, cleaning fee will be $100. We accept credit cards, and also Pay Pal. Three night Min. for Holidays, Christmas, New Years, Easter, Memorial Weekend, 4th of July, Labor Day, Columbus Day, Thanksgiving.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

The Galena Territory House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2075 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Downtown ...
  • Golf Course View ...
  • Lake ...
  • River ...
  • Rural ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace
  • Firewood
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer ...
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Wood Fireplace ...
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , on first level
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , on lower level
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower , on upper level
  • A bathroom on each level of the house, lower level tub and shower. Main level tub and shower, upper level shower only. I provide toilet paper, hand soap and body soap.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 2 double
  • Lower level bedroom has 2 full size beds, the other two levels have queen size beds in each bedroom. There is also a sleeper sofa in the familyroom in the lower that has an air mattress along with a sleeper chair and half this area can comfortable sleep 3 people.
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television
  • VCR
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Furniture
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Porch Furniture
  • Screen Porch / Veranda
  • Tennis Court
  • 2 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Heated Pool
  • Indoor Pool
  • Outdoor Pool
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • forests
  • health/beauty spa
  • marina
  • museums
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • hunting
  • kayaking
  • pier fishing
  • ski privileges optional
  • skiing
  • swimming
  • tennis
Notes:
The house is decorated in a rustic colorado decor with a 2 story wood burning fireplace. The main level familyroom has a new flat screen television, vaulted ceiling, leather couches and a cozy reclining chair. The kitchen has cherry cabinets with granite counter tops, all new stainless appliances. It can comfortable seat 10 people 6 at the harvest table and counter seating for 4. There is a screened porch with table and chairs that seat 4 people. Also a wood deck with a weber gas grill and a golf course view from the two back decks. The lower level has a familyroom with TV and dvd player. There is a sleeper sofa with an air mattress and a sleeper chair and a half and a walkout basement to a wood deck. On this level is also a laundry room with new front load washer and dryer with laundry soap and softener for your use.

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties