check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr

Storm Zbel

Member since: 2007
Speaks: english

SUMMER SPECIAL! July/Aug $1200/wk! Private pool. Huge ocean view. Walk to beach!

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Property type villa
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Dominical Villa Rental Photos and Description

2 bedrooms, 2.5 bathrooms, sleeps 6. 4 in bdrms, 2 on blowup mattress.

Amazing Ocean view like you only see in travel posters! This villa is luxurious and conveniant to everything! You will be blown away by the view. Walk down to Playa Dominicalito for a surf or a swim. Hike to Poza Azul for the waterfall, then jump off of the rope swing into the cool, clear swimming hole! For dining enjoy all the local flavor restaurants or make yourself a delicious meal in your kitchen with fresh fish bought right from the boats below. Drink Margaritas from your balcony while watching the surfer's at Playa Dominicalito! Swim in your private pool! It's awesome! The Villa has a king sized bed and two twins that can couple to make another king! If you like we can provide you a blow up mattress to sleep two more. We also have cable TV and a bluetooth stereo with kickin' Bose speakers. WiFi Internet throughout. We live in the area and are on hand to greet you and share our local knowledge to make your stay unforgettable.

Does your date appear to be taken?: Check with us as we have several similar villas for rent for the same price!

SURFERS LOOKEY HERE!: I surf here several days a week. I know all of the spots and will be glad to drive around and show them to you upon your arrival. There is somewhere to surf here every day of the week!

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Storm Zbel (Owner)
Member since: 2007
Speaks: english

About Storm Zbel

My name is Storm, my wife is Amy and our three boys are Xavier, Von and Aidan. We have lived here Since 2007. I used to be a D.J. on the radio in Boston, MA and Charleston, SC. Now I run a pirate bar and surf a lot. When you come to visit us the first rounds on us.

We look forward to sharing our local knowledge with you and pointing out all the great places, wether they be surf spots, restaurants, beaches, tours or secret waterfalls!

Storm Zbel purchased this villa in 2008

Why Storm Zbel chose Puntarenas

We have traveled extensively all over Costa Rica and knew immediately that this was the spot for us!

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(92 traveler reviews)
SUMMER SPECIAL! July/Aug $1200/wk! Private pool. Huge ocean view. Walk to beach!
average rating of 4.880435 based on 92 reviews
5

Panoramic Views Garner Unfounded Excellence

  • 5 of 5

The owners of this nicely adorned vacation villa have packaged the splendor of Costa Rica up with the magic and sincerity of their loving spirit. From the moment you approach the front door, you know this will be a special respite. Once you open the french doors, your eyes have no choice but to beam out to the tranquil ocean tides, breaking subtly off the coast. You have no choice but to venture out to the integrated balcony and patio, with your own private pool! Storm and Amy have seen to it that every amenity of home is here to be used at your discretion. The Villa is spotless. The views are stupendous. And the overall environment makes you wish you lived here. So if you are stealing a romantic get away, just be sure and get out to see the local sites. You're within 10 minutes to buckets of them, and within an hour of tons! Waterfalls, surfing, night life at the ever famous Jolly Roger Bar, tourist shopping in downtown Dominical, and fishing charters are just a few of the Costa Rican activities you can enjoy! This is a true five star experience! I guarantee it! Chad Church - Denver, CO.

  • Submitted: Jul 13, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Beautiful place

  • 4 of 5

We really enjoyed the place. It sleeps 4 people very nicely with a king bed in the master and two twin beds in the 2nd bedroom. There is a single type day bed in the hallway between the two bedrooms, no windows or anything to possibly sleep a child. They offered to bring an air mattress to sleep two more but forgot so we spend one night on the floor with beach towels as bedding. Be sure to remind the owner before you come if you need the air mattress and ask if it has leads. The one they brought leaked.

They did have nice welcome gifts, boogies boards, beach chairs, and beach towels for use which was great. It's a beautiful condo and a nice location. We'd stay again.

  • Submitted: Jul 10, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Gorgeous house, view, excellent owners

  • 5 of 5

We loved this property! As soon as we saw the huge view from the deck of this home, I knew we were going to love it here. Really nice, well equipped home. Lots of space for our family of 5. The boys stayed in the room with the twin beds and my daughter stayed on a day bed in an area outside the bedrooms. Both bedrooms had their own lovely bathroom with double sinks and shower. The beds were very comfortable.

The owner, Amy, was super helpful in getting us acquainted with the area. She booked a horseback riding tour (Brisas del nara-it was so much fun) and a snorkel whale watching tour. Both were lots of fun. She also recommended restaurants and beaches that we loved. Our stay there was a pleasure.

I would highly recommend this place. If we ever return to Costa Rica, we would definitely stay here again. Only good things to say about this lovely villa!

  • Submitted: Jul 9, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

What a GREAT Villa

  • 5 of 5

I have nothing but good things to say about our stay in this villa. Ok, yes, a couple appliances need some help but that's what made it such good experience--that everything doesn't have to be perfect. It is about finding the simple things and enjoying them as is. Storm and Amy are fantastic. They are responsive and helpful and accommodating. Amy was particularly wonderful at the Bar Jolly Roger which they also own (I highly recommend the blue cheese bacon burger). Storm put us in touch with Karl for the ATV tour which was one of the best things we did on our trip. The view from the villa is outstanding and never gets old. Our kids loved the cat that came to visit each day (I think it's Storm and Amy's), finding geckos on the property and swimming in the pool. It was such a nice getaway from the hustle and bustle of day to day life. What a great place, great owners and great time! Looking forward to going back.

  • Submitted: Jun 28, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Raleigh NC
5

Amazing time /Amazing Host's and views cant be beat

  • 5 of 5

The pictures do not do the view justice. When you walk into the condo, the entire front is all windows looking out over the ocean. My husband and I did three nights there, driving from San Jose. I do recommend a 4-wheel drive around that area if renting a car. Amy was wonderful. She met us upon arrival and was wonderful, hospitable and welcoming. As we say in the south, bless her heart, she brought me some coffee as we had not stopped by the store yet. The Villa was spacious and had every luxury of home! The only bad part is was it was so nice, we never left it to go to the beach! The splash pool was awesome so we just decompressed from our corporate lives, had drinks at the villa and relaxed. The beach was right there, a walk down the hill, but we were enjoying the view from the Villa! They were great recommending places for dinner and lunch. The Jolly Rogers restaurant was awesome. Great burgers, best I have had in ages. We went to Por Que No twice, also amazing. Storm and the boys were there and very welcoming. Thank you Amy and Storm for making our first stop in CR so incredible. I would go back to Dominical and Amy and Storm's villa in a heartbeat. Thanks again!! PS go to the waterfalls on horseback, it was AMAZING!

  • Submitted: May 16, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
2

Great location but needs some work

  • 2 of 5

The property has a beautiful view and it's right across the road from a nice beach. The home itself is in disrepair. The soap dish in master shower is broke off. There's a wiring short in several of the light switches. A few ceiling fans don't work. The screen door for 2nd bedroom was lying on the patio floor. The air conditioner in 2nd bedroom would not turn on. There were essential supplies such as toilet paper not provided even to last a day or 2. The property owners were very inattentive. I requested a light bulb for front porch and it took a few days to get that. It is very dark at night by the way and it's a challenge to get to the driveway in the dark. The stairway is very unsafe. It spirals and since it's tile it's easy to slip on with no handrail so I hurt my left foot while I was going downstairs. I hate to sound like a complainer nut it is what it us. It seems as though no one checks the house for needed maintenance. It desperately needs a coat of paint. It would be good to have window coverings for front sliding glass door to keep cool when leaving during the day. None of the locks on screen doors work and most of the screens have holes in them. Since this house was not cheap we really expected it to be in excellent condition. I hope this feedback helps to get house in better condition for future guests.

  • Submitted: May 2, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Sheryl. So sorry you had these things on your mind while you were at our villa. I would have welcomed you addressing these issues on any of the number of occasions I visited the villa to check on you or within the correspondence via texts back and forth I had with your husband while I was booking your tours and helping your guests find alternative transportation to SJO. Many of these items were quick fixes that were addressed as soon as I was made aware. The a/c was functioning after batteries were replaced in the remote. All other remotes work in each room as well. The electrical issues were addressed as well as the screen door. Regarding supplies of toilet paper, supplies such as those are put in to start your week but not replenished during the week as it is in hotel situations. Our screen doors do not have locks but our sliders do. We have security bars for every door. It was a same day check out/check in so the turn around time was very fast. I hope in your future rentals you will communicate with your hosts directly so as to give them a chance to address all your concerns as I'm sure they, as do we, hope to make each stay meet and exceed your expectations. Pura Vida, The Zbel family
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0

Map

Car: recommended

Dominical is a funky little surfing and fishing town 30 minutes south of Manuel Antonio. I have traveled extensively throughout Costa Rica and when I visited the Dominical area I immediately knew that this was the spot for me. I hope it will be for you too!

Photos

Rates & Availability

Dominical Villa Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
July-August 2016
Jul 1 2016 - Aug 31 2016
3 night minimum stay
$200
$1,200
 
 
September - November 2016
Sep 1 2016 - Nov 30 2016
3 night minimum stay
$175
$1,000
$3,000
 
 
December 1st - 22nd 2016
Dec 1 2016 - Dec 22 2016
3 night minimum stay
$250
$1,400
 
 
Christmas Week
Dec 23 2016 - Dec 29 2016
7 night minimum stay
$2,300
Flat fee
 
 
New Year's Week
Dec 30 2016 - Jan 5 2017
7 night minimum stay
$2,300
Flat fee
 
 
January - April 2017
Jan 5 2017 - Apr 30 2017
3 night minimum stay
$250
$1,500
 
 
May - June 2017
May 1 2017 - Jun 30 2017
3 night minimum stay
$200
$1,200
 
 
July - August 2017
Jul 1 2017 - Aug 31 2017
3 night minimum stay
$250
$1,400
 
 
September - November 2017
Sep 1 2017 - Nov 30 2017
3 night minimum stay
$175
$1,000
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$250
$1,400
 

Additional information about rental rates

departure cleaning $65
Property Damage Protection $59
Tax Rate 2.5%

You must have a 4-wheel drive vehicle to access the villa! It is also plenty useful for many other places in the area.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 90 days before arrival date.
Enter dates to see total
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Dominical Villa Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • villa
Floor Area:
  • 1500 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Mountain
  • Ocean View
Theme:
  • Romantic
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Filtered Water
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Half Bath - toilet
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Living Room - 1 sleep sofa /futon
    Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single
  • The two twins can be converted to a king. A queen sized air mattress or daybed can be provided for additional guests.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Books for Kids
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Toys
  • VCR
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Gated Community
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Terrace
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Private Pool
Attractions:
  • forests
  • rain forests
  • reefs
  • restaurants
  • volcano
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • whitewater rafting
Notes:
Walk to Poza Azul, a beautiful waterfall and swimming hole only 15 minutes away by foot. Walk to Playa Dominicalito. Only a 5 minute walk down the hill. Wonderful surfing and swimming beach.

Learn more about this vacation rental at the owner's website:

Partner Offers