check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Affordable Florida Beach House

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Overview


Details
Property
house
Sleeps
6
Bedrooms
2
Bathrooms
1
Minimum Stay
3 - 7 nights

Description

Gulf Beaches House Rental Photos and Description

House, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 4-6)

Affordable Island Rental. Across the street from the beach.

Relax in this cozy-comfortable beach house. Whether you want to get away with friends or a small family get away that you can afford; this is the vacation place for you. Wake up and enjoy sitting on the front deck watching the sun rise. Take a stroll on the beach to search for shells and enjoy a day swimming, fishing, sun bathing, or just relaxing. Beach is across the street. After lunch, take a siesta on the sun porch before heading back to the beach for the afternoon. In the evening, unwind on the deck and enjoy the moon rise over the gulf.

The house is classic Florida construction with two stories. The two stories are totally seperate. The upper story is available for your vacation rental. The house is located on the west end of the island-approximately two miles from the bridge on the beach road (W Gorrie Dr). Close enough to enjoy the heart of the island attractions and activities, but far enough away from the hustle and bustle. The upper story has two outside decks, sun porch(see picture), open living-dining and kitchen area (see picture), one tiled-bathroom with walk-in tiled shower, and two bedrooms. Each bedroom has queen beds. The living area has two full couches and one small couch. One of the full couches is a sleeper sofa. The house has newly laid laminate flooring through out living area, kitchen and bedrooms. The kitchen area has a island/bar and stools(see picture). The dining area has has diiner table and chairs for 6. The house has outdoor chairs and a charcoal grill for deck use. There is also an outside shower under the stairs to rinse off after your trip to the beach.

Keywords: House

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible

Owner
Pat Herold and Kerry Griffin
Member since: 2008
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
December 7, 2016

About Pat Herold and Kerry Griffin

I've own this great beach house since the 70's. My kids grew up spending great times here, with many family memories being made. While my kids have grown into adults with families of their own, we still make time to make memories at the beach each year. The house has been a great get away for me, my friends and family. When not at the house, I make it available to others to enjoy and offer an affordable option on SGI. We've listed on VRBO since 2008, and have many guest that return. We hope to add you to list of guests that have visited and come back on a regular basis.

Pat Herold and Kerry Griffin purchased this house in 1977

Why Pat Herold and Kerry Griffin chose Florida

Me and family use to visit the island for weekend get always back when there was hardly anything on the island. We had the opportunity to purchase this place in 1977 and it has been one of the best purchases we've ever made. We could not have asked for anything better to be able to take our kids and spend lots of quality time together. A lot has changed on the island, but one thing has not and that’s the laid back casual atmosphere that inherent to a relaxing place to get away.

What makes this house unique

Simple and affordable, in a great location that's quiet with awesome access to the beach.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(9 traveler reviews)

Affordable Florida Beach House
average rating of 4.4444447 based on 9 reviews
5

Loved it!

  • 5 of 5

Wonderful weather. Great location. Perfect accommodations. Great meeting Kerry and Darryl.

  • Submitted: Nov 20, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Charming, neat and tidy older cottage!

  • 4 of 5

We enjoyed our stay on W Gorrie Drive. The cottage is well equipped for everything you need and Pat and Kerry are very helpful and fine, friendly people ready to help. It is an older, second story cottage. The location is across the street, but you have a lovely view of the ocean from the front deck. Cycling is very enjoyable on the island. We have plans to return, it was all we had hoped for, October was a great time to visit!

  • Submitted: Nov 3, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Disappointing

  • 2 of 5

Affordable Florida Beach House is very conveniently located just across the street from the beach and really is a very cool "old Florida" style house that has been renovated and is very cute. Kitchen had all equipment we could have wanted. The charcoal grill & fire starter on the deck were nearly new and great to cook on! The disappointing part was that both beds were very uncomfortable, the master was on a flimsy frame with no box spring & was hard as a rock. The second bed was less uncomfortable, but not by much. Felt worn out. We didnt sleep well at all on our vacation. Also disappointing was the lack of a washer & dryer. We knew there wasn't a dryer, but expected the washer to be under the deck as stated. When we got there the washer was missing & a note was left apologizing for this, telling us that we would be reimbursed for laundromat cost. Just what we want to do on our vacation, drive to a laundromat and sit there washing laundry. We would give this place 5 stars if the beds were comfy & it had a functioning washer & dryer.A small stacking unit in a closet would be great!

  • Submitted: Oct 5, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are sorry that you were disappointed! We want all our guests to enjoy their stay. We too were disappointed that the washer went out on us, and we were not able to get the replacement washer delivered during your stay. We are surprised to hear about the beds. We know everyone’s comfort level on mattresses are different, and surprised to hear that our new memory foam/interspring mattress was hard. We have family members that use this same mattress and enjoy sleeping on it. This is why we decided to upgrade the mattress to this brand for our guests. This is also the first feedback we have received in reference to either mattress not being comfortable. Thank you for sharing, and we will definitely look into the concerns you addressed as we want all our guests to enjoy their stay.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great Place and great people

  • 5 of 5

We stay at this property twice a year, two weeks at a time. Pat and Kerry (Daughter) charge a very fair rate and this is just one of the reasons this make this place a great place to stay. If you want something simple and affordable you will want to keep coming back. Per the previous review it seems to be a best keep secret. The family also owns the property downstairs and they cannot be more accommodating. We met Kerry and her husband Darrell for the first time this stay and they are just super nice people and so easy to work with. While this is an older place it is well maintained as they continually do work to improve the place. My wife likes to cook and I can confirm you there were more than enough utensils to use, in fact we were surprised by how much there was to use. I found Kerry very easy to reach and easy to work with. You have access to a washer and dryer, which makes it easier for long term stays. If you want to watch TV there are plenty of channels to choose from and the internet is 50 mbps or greater down load with a 6 mbps or greater upload.

The location is great, very quiet, about 1 ½ miles from St George shops, bars and restaurants with easy access to the beach directly in front of the property. There is plenty of parking with a newly laid gravel driveway. Love the two decks – one very large one on the front and another to the side, which is great on breezy days and if you want to get out of the sun in the afternoons. Also great place if you want to bring your furry four legged kids with you.

  • Submitted: Apr 30, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Costal Cottage Getaway

  • 4 of 5

My favorite island getaway is to this cozy cottage on SGI. We've been coming to the island for over 20 years, and have been staying with Pat for well over 7 years. I felt like we had stumbled on the best kept secret on the island and we never plan to stay elsewhere, it just feels like home. Im not sure when quaint and quite became such a turn on to our family for vacationing but to be here is the dream come true.

The house is well equipped, affordable and truly enjoyable. Two comfortable bedrooms, a sun porch with daybed, and large open concept kitchen dining and living area that keeps everyone together. Also a sofa bed if extra sleeping areas are required.

We spend our days on the beach, fishing, shelling, swimming, sunning, flying kites, building sandcastles and enjoying all the wildlife!! I feel very energized and creative while there and usually work on a few artistic projects from making jewelry with seashells and even painting.

We cook most of our meals in, frying up the days catch, or using the barbecue grill downstairs. Favorite fish are the Red Fish!! But we catch a wide variety 🐟

Be sure to make your way into town to shop at the island stores and get a bite at fabulous restaurants ~ Blue Parrot our fav and recommend the grouper sandwich!! Or venture across the bridge to tour Appalachacola a great River town only a few miles away!!

Island Nightlife spent around the new firepit, star gazing, reading books, doing puzzles, playing board games and listening to friends playing guitars. And for those who like to get out there are plenty of local bars and restaurants that have entertainment.

Treat yourself and your family to an amazing stay at a charming costal cottage and you will see why SGI has been voted Florida's #1 island to visit!!

What makes me so happy is when a new visitor to the island starts talking about "next year" already making plans to return!!

  • Submitted: Apr 13, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Awesome Family Beach House

  • 5 of 5

This house is the perfect beach house! The rooms are comfortable and equipped with everything you need for a fantastic family stay at the beach. The kitchen is awesome and fully equipped. The cozy sunroom has a view of the beach and there's an expansive deck for sunning; you could not ask for more. This home is not only perfect for families but for couples and even close friends getting away for a weekend at the beach. As a matter of fact a bunch of us girls have stayed here for a girls weekend away and have many fond memories of being here. We never want to leave.

  • Submitted: Apr 12, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Photos

Rates & Availability

Gulf Beaches House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Winter
Nov 13 2016 - Feb 25 2017
3 night minimum stay
$120
From
$135
Fri,Sat
$650
$2,000
 
 
Spring 2017
Feb 26 2017 - May 19 2017
5 night minimum stay
$135
$795
$2,500
 
 
Summer 2017
May 20 2017 - Aug 5 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$1,000
 
 
Fall 2017
Aug 6 2017 - Dec 22 2017
5 night minimum stay
$135
$795
$2,500
 
 
Holiday 2017
Dec 23 2017 - Jan 6 2018
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$795
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Service $50
Refundable damage deposit $100
Tax Rate 9.0%

VRBO site notifies parties via email when a communication has been sent. During reservation period and prior to your payment, please check email and VRBO site regulary for communication. We will assume lack of response as being uninterested in moving forward with reserving/paying. Until 1st payment is made, the house is not reserved.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Gulf Beaches House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1100 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Ocean View
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • Walk in shower. 2 bath, hand and face towels provided per guest. 1 Bar soap provided.
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , New Queen Matress
  • Queen size Bed (2), Sleep Sofa (Queen 1) Living area has 3 couches-1 being convertible bed. Day bed located on sun porch. 1 Set of linens will be provided.
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible ...
Attractions:
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • boating
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • sailing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties