check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Mary Bush

Member since: 2008
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Scenic South Woodstock, Vermont home

16 Reviews
Sleeps6
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Overview

Woodstock House Rental Photos and Description

4 bedrooms, 2.5 baths, sleeps up to 6

Nestled on a hillside above the scenic village of S. Woodstock, Apple Hill is a cozy year-round home with a large deck offering views of the Kedron Valley. The setting features fields and woods, with nearby farms. Take a 10 minute walk down the hill to S. Woodstock, and you'll find- a country store( with penny candy, and deli serving delicious take-out food); Kedron Valley Inn with fine dining and a wonderful beach/pond for swimming; historic church and academy.

An open floor plan on the first floor, allows for a relaxing atmosphere-living room with fireplace, dining room seats 8, den/TV room, generously supplied kitchen, mud room/entryway, powder room, bedroom (queen bed) and full bath. The second floor sleeps 5-6, in three bedrooms -one full, two queen-full bath on second floor. House includes washer/dryer.

5 miles from Woodstock. Outdoor activities at your doorstep, including cross-country skiing, biking, hiking, nearby swimming, horseback riding and golf. GMHA 5 m

Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Mary Bush (Owner)
Member since: 2008
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Reviews

5
based on 16 traveler reviews

Scenic South Woodstock, Vermont home
average rating of 5.0 based on 16 reviews
5

I wanted to move in!

  • 5 of 5

We rented this home with a few other couples for a wedding at a nearby farm. The house is absolutely gorgeous, even prettier than the pictures. Everything was perfectly clean, comfy beds, and beautifully decorated. It didn't feel like a rental property but a warm and cozy home. Honestly, I wanted to move in permenantly. Just a quick drive to downtown Woodstock and other fun Vermont sites. I wish we stayed longer than just the weekend! Mary was so easy to work with- I would absolutely recommend this home rental to anyone looking for a beautiful Vermont getaway!

  • Submitted: Sep 16, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: What a lovely review! We hope you return for a longer visit.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
South Alabama
5

Perfect property for a winter vacation

  • 5 of 5

Our family stayed at Apple Hill Farm for 9 days into the New Year. This house was perfect for our stay. It was comfortable and spacious, yet cozy and inviting. It could not have been better equipped; everything we needed during our stay was at the property and easily at our disposal. The property is well-maintained during your stay. We found the drives and walks scraped the mornings after a snow often before we awoke in the morning. The beds and linens were so comfortable, and there were plenty of towels and washcloths-always a nice touch! Working with Mary was a pleasure. She was always prompt to respond to any questions we had. She was also flexible, which we appreciated, as we had to add days to our stay, and she was more than willing to accommodate. This property is perfect for a family vacation in Woodstock, no matter what season!

  • Submitted: Jun 11, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your lovely review. We are so pleased you enjoyed Apple Hill. Your thoughtful descriptions and comments are so appreciated.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Fall Family Gathering at Apple Hill

  • 5 of 5

We loved our stay at Apple Hill. It is quintessentially old New England, located in beautiful South Woodstock with narrow roads, stone walls, fields, woodlands, and a valley view. The homes interior is extremely well planned and updated to accommodate families (as we were joined by our children and grandchildren ages 6 and 11). The floor plan and layout provided a relaxing atmosphere without feeling confined. Everyone had their space. The grounds were especially appealing to the children with a swing set; the opportunity to pursue adventures in the open fields, the patches of woodlands and trails through the woods. Everyone enjoyed sitting on the deck during the day and by the fire in the evening with a nearby den with large screen TV to satisfy the children. Our family likes to cook and the kitchen was well equipped to accommodate our needs. The bedrooms and the bedding were exceptional. Apple hill is 5 minutes south of Woodstock and 15 minutes north of Mt Ascutney hiking trails. We highly recommend Apple Hill.

  • Submitted: Oct 14, 2015
  • Stayed: Oct 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for the informative and descriptive review. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay at Apple Hill and hope you will return.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Home away from home

  • 5 of 5

This house was the perfect place for our 5 days in Vermont. Mary has done a wonderful job of creating a clean, comfortable, relaxing place with everything you could possibly want. Upon walking in, you just feel like you're home! The bed linens and towels were all lovely, not the typical musty, old mismatched ones usually found in rental homes. We've rented many vacation homes over the years and there's usually something that doesn't meet your expectations or the photos don't really represent the house, but you won't be disappointed here. Mary provided all the necessary info in advance, as well as suggested places to see and eat, and responded to our inquiries very promptly.

Inside and out, it's just a wonderful place to stay.

  • Submitted: Oct 10, 2015
  • Stayed: Sep 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much for the lovely comments. We enjoyed having you as guests and would love to have you return anytime.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
st augustine, FL & Cliveden, UK
5

Comfortable, beautiful, quiet--did not want to leave.

  • 5 of 5

We have rented many houses over the years, mostly through VRBO, and this one is truly our style. Every part of it was comfortable and beautiful and furnished with good taste.

There are plenty of books and a well-equipped kitchen along with an outside deck with a view for dining and enjoying the early evening. If you seek a quiet country experience but still near a charming sophisticated town in New England, Apple Hill VT, is your kind of place.

  • Submitted: Sep 8, 2014
  • Stayed: Sep 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Christmas in Vermont

  • 5 of 5

Christmas in Vermont is an understatement! What a wonderful place to spend some quality family time. A Hallmark town if ever I've seen one. The rain never dampened our spirits and of course, this house nestled in the heart of South Woodstock is the perfect setting. This was our second stay in this home and hasn't disappointed us at all. The amenities, the crackling fireplace and the warm and cozy beds are just what we needed. Mary, your little slice of heaven has become our home away from home. Thanks so much for sharing!

  • Submitted: Dec 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Car: necessary

Apple Hill is located 5 miles from Woodstock Vermont, in the small village of South Woodstock. Boston, Massachusetts is 3 hours away. We are a 25 minute drive from the junction of routes I-89 and I-91. Hanover New Hampshire is 35 minutes.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Woodstock House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Fall
Sep 2 2016 - Dec 9 2016
3 night minimum stay
$300
$1,500
 
 
Winter
Dec 10 2016 - Mar 14 2017
2 night minimum stay
$375
$2,500
 
 
Early Spring
Mar 15 2017 - Apr 30 2017
2 night minimum stay
$300
$1,150
 
 
Summer
May 1 2017 - Aug 31 2017
3 night minimum stay
$300
$1,500
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $175 + Tax
Refundable damage deposit $600
Tax Rate 10.0%

The rates quoted are minimum rates and may be more or less depending on number of guests and season.
There is a 10% sales tax on rent and cleaning fees unless rental is more than 30 days.
Cleaning fees may change, and will depend on number of guests and number of occupancy days.
An additional $250 rental fee may apply to holidays.
Please contact owner for definite rate information.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 7 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Woodstock House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Rural
  • Village
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Garage
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , tub , shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 double
    Bedroom 4 - 1 queen
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Books for Kids
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games for Kids
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • VCR
Outside:
  • Beach Towels
  • Child's Swing
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Patio
  • Sand Box
  • Small Cooler
  • Wood Deck
  • 8 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • forests
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • skiing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water tubing
Notes:
The house is equipped with a clothes washer and dryer.

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties