check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Steven Shook

Member since: 2008
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Beautiful All-Season Northern Wisconsin Lakeshore Chalet

11 Reviews
Bedrooms 3
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more


Siren Cabin Rental Photos and Description

Cabin, 3 Bedrooms + Loft, 3 Baths, (Sleeps 10-14)

Relax and enjoy our year-round lakeshore chalet style home on Upper Clam Lake near Siren, Wisconsin. This getaway retreat is less than 2 hours from Minneapolis/St. Paul.

Our home is fully furnished with all of the modern amenities and conveniences to make your stay comfortable, yet encompasses the rustic cabin atmosphere with cedar siding, knotty pine ceilings, stone fireplace and hardwood (heated) floors to provide the 'retreat' feeling you desire.

This spacious 1,800 square foot home with attached screen porch is big enough for large families and friends. There is ample bedrooms and sleeping areas to give every member of your group a place to 'escape' - a critical necessity!

There is no shortage of activities for kids and adults regardless of season - kids can play basketball (2 hoops and paved court), trampoline, large flat yard, full beach and private dock. Great fishing off the dock, a bonfire pit and plenty of roads / trails for daily walks and hikes. Clam Lake is one of the best fishing spots in the area year round. Enjoy snowmobiling, biking, or hiking on the nearby Gandy Dancer Trail. Four-Wheeler trails are also in the area.

The home is perfectly suited for a private winter chalet retreat in the winter time with direct access to the late for snowmobiliing, fishing or skiing. The heated floors, gas fireplace and modern conveniences (i.e cable) allow for a perfect winter or summer retreat!

The home is situated on a private wooded lot which typically is visited daily by local deer and wildlife.

Siren (4 miles away) is a vibrant resort town with many restaurants, winte-tasting events, antique and gift shops, along with scrap-booking and quilting stores with helpfull personnel and classes to explore. There is a movie theatre, mini-golf, public beach /park and indoor skating rink if part of your clan has an desire to explore and enjoy life in-town. There are several golf courses in the area, including Siren National (18 holes) and the new re-opened Hole in the Wall Casino, just outside of town.

Come explore what Siren has to offer - you will have the time of your life!

Keywords: Cabin

More Details
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Steven Shook (Owner)
Member since: 2008
Call Owner
Speaks: english

About Steven Shook

Busy, active family (2 teenage boys and Dad!) who love the water and special moments at the lake! Grew up in 'god's country' (Lake country in Wisconsin) and want to give those same special memories to my children. I hope you can have some of those moment as well - enjoy our home.

Steven Shook purchased this cabin in 1997

Why Steven Shook chose Northern Wisconsin

To escape the city and corporate life and decompress ocassionally.

What makes this cabin unique

Relaxing, antique shopping (many shops), scrap-booking (this area is know for it's shops and classes), stopping at Burnett Dairy for fresh ice cream and yogurt (a MUST stop if taking 70 in and/or out of Siren), kids love the trampoline and catching fish off the dock, attending numerous festivals, visiting local animal shelter, we always discover something new.


based on 11 traveler reviews

Beautiful All-Season Northern Wisconsin Lakeshore Chalet
average rating of 3.909091 based on 11 reviews

Not worth the hassle

  • 1 of 5

We stayed in the cabin in August and at first thought it was beautiful. After we arrived the owner then asked us to use as little water as possible, only use the air conditioner at night, and only use the dryer if it was an emergency; none of that was ever mentioned up front. When you pay that much money for a cabin, you expect that you will be able to use the amenities listed in the add. Then, in the middle of a rainy night, we woke to gallons of water pouring in to the dining room. It was leaking in through the walls above the patio doors. We stayed up for hours cleaning it up and trying to prevent water damage. We took VERY good care of the house; cleaned it all week and before we left. I have tried to contact the owner many times by phone, email, and snail mail, but he will not reply and he has never returned our deposit as he said he would. We have never even received any reasoning as to why it has not been returned. We had very poor communication up front and after we stayed. I was very disappointed with the whole experience.

  • Submitted: Oct 31, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
48 1
Minneapolis area

Family Vacation!

  • 5 of 5

Our family rented this lake home in July for our vacation. We have 3 kids (ages 12, 9, 7) and a golden retriever. We painstakingly reviewed VRBO listings to find the best options and prices. While we love VRBO and have used it several times, it is a bit daunting to not really know what your place is going to look lit is really like until you arrive!

The cabin and location was perfect - we had great weather and much of the vacation was spent in the lake swimming or pulling tubes behind the boat. The kids loved fishing off the dock.

They have a great bonfire pit for nightly fires. We definitely did not want to leave by the end of the week!

We especially loved the privacy of the cabin - it is wooded on all sides. I loved being able to go for my morning run around the 2 1/2 mile loop - we saw deer, wild turkeys and eagle every day!

Rachel and I loved having a Wi-Fi connection and it was convenient to be able to bring Jake (our dog); he loved it!

The listing accurately represented what we expected for our rental. Modern, updated and clean - which we appreciated!

The convenience of the lake with a nearby small town with plenty of activities (i.e. mini-golf, grocery stores and restaurants) is absolutely necessary for young families. We also loved that the property had a trampoline, basketball and a large yard. VERY important for active children!

The lake home is ideal for families. There is plenty to do, yet ample room to just relax. The deck or screen porch is perfect for afternoons and evenings. We liked that it had separate spaces and was large enough to 'escape' if necessary. The upstairs loft worked out great for the kids.

We have already contacted the owner to possibly rent again next year. We might even rent it this winter to go snowmobiling, it is a great location.

The owner did a nice job of providing what we needed in advance to be prepared such as directions, helpful hints, etc. He sent a nice welcome letter and was available for questions and general information.


  • Submitted: Oct 28, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
8 0
Edina, MN

Girl's Getaway Weekend

  • 5 of 5

We rented this lake home in October for a 4 day / 3 night girls 'getaway' weekend. We are a group of 7-9 women who have an annual weekend for the girls.

This is our 3rd year renting this lake home and it is perfect! The owner continues to make improvements. The cabin is modern and updated (stainless appliances, granite counters, flatscreen TV's). It has plenty of space and having THREE bathrooms is very nice! The cabin itself is private allowing our group to spend time on the deck, screen porch, evening bonfire and boche ball in the yard without any worry of bothering (or being bothered) by anyone.

We had mixed weather - 2 sunny days and 1 rainy - but there is always something to do. We had bonfires, played outdoor games, grilled on the deck and watched movies on the flatscreen TV and enjoyed the company of each other.

We love the location - its only a couple miles from Siren and there are other towns nearby. It feels like the perfect mix of 'cabin time' while also exploring the local venues of nearby towns.

As a group of 'ladies' we can be a bit critical, however the owner alway exceeds our expectations - it always clean and inviting for our stay. The atmosphere, venue and location is better than described.

Anyone interested in a girls weekend - this is the perfect place, we have already signed up for next year!

  • Submitted: Oct 28, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0

Great Family Getaway!

  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful week at this cabin in 2010, as we are looking for our 2011 summer vacation plans and hoping to get here again!

The property is private, self-contained and modern. The lake, dock, trampoline, basketball, large yard and of course....cable TV gave our 3 kids (and a friend) plenty of activities to enjoy. The adults enjoyed the screen porch, pontoon rides, golfing, cocktail hour on the deck and the grill! The weather was 'almost' perfect, we had several bonfires and s'mores and the cabin is so modern and new, we enjoyed the indoors as much as the outside.

The town of Siren is charming with antiques, restaurants and of course minature golfing for the kids.

Definitely recommended for anybody with a family looking for a weeks relaxation and getaway. We hope to make this experience a tradition.

  • Submitted: Apr 23, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Atlanta, GA

Lakeshore Property

  • 3 of 5

Beautiful setting and spacious floor plan and amenities for extended family stay. Property description not entirely accurate: screened porch unusable due to broken screens and heavy mosquito population, ice maker not in working order, dishwasher leaked, dryer not working properly ( LOTS of hair and lint left on "clean" sheets ), library ( ? ) of videos = 3. Left property cleaner than we found it, but deposit has yet to be returned, and phone calls and emails to owner have likewise been ignored.

  • Submitted: Oct 29, 2010
  • Stayed: Aug 2010
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: In 2010 we had a difficult time with our cleaning and caretaker team responsible for this property and it was not managed as professionally as it had been in 2008 and 2009. The owner was not available due to personal issues for the entire summer of 2010. These issues have been addressed and our property is restored to the beautiful property it was prior to 2010. We have purchased new patio furniture for the screen porch, new deck furniture and a new kitchen table. We have even purchased a flat screen TV for the living area! There will be landscaping improvements this spring and we expect this property to exceed it original beauty that was so popular in 2007, 2008 and 2009!
Did you find this review helpful?
12 0

The vacation from hell

  • 1 of 5

My family of 10 stayed here for 2 weeks in August, 2010, and paid quite a bit of money to do so. There was not one day that we didn't have a problem that required a phone call. From a beehive that the owner knew about to a garage full of two weeks worth of garbage from the renters prior to our arrival to no hot water at night. I could go on and on. The house was filthy and half of the "amenities" in the house were broken. I have pictures. The beds were horribly made. The bedframe in the master bedroom is broken. And my poor husband found a pair of women's underwear behind the dresser, and they didn't belong to us! There is NO beach at all. The screened in porch would have been wonderful however many of the screens are torn or broken so it was a mosquito fest. Upon our arrival there were no supplies. The grill was disgustingly filthy and even after it was "cleaned" we were still unable to use it. We spent a day of our vacation cleaning the house so that we were comfortable with our children being there. The trampoline is falling apart, bordering on unsafe. The toilet in the upstairs bathroom clogged repeatedly to the point that we just stopped using it. One or two of the beautiful windows that overlook the lake are broken as are the vertical blinds that cover the sliding glass doors. In addition, the sliding glass door frames leak into the house when it rains. After all of this we were expected to make sure we left the house in the same condition we got it, trust me when I say we left it better. We were also expected to do laundry for the housekeeper so that it was "easier" on her. And after cleaning as we did I was still charged a cleaning fee. On the plus side, the fishing was good as was the weather. The woman and her family who maintain the property were very nice and always available, unlike the owner. Although it wasn't their fault, it was not always conducive to have them there almost every day. And despite all of the obstacles, we as a family still had a good time. The owner told me that I would get my deposit check back as well as a partial refund however to this date I have neither heard from him or received any checks. I would discourage anyone from renting this property however I would definitely recommend the lake and the area. There was plenty to do in the surrounding towns for all ages.

  • Submitted: Oct 25, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am very sorry that Christy and her family had a poor experience during her stay. We had 22 rentals in 2010 (12 during the summer) and everyone except those listed on this review had a wonderful time. However, we are only planning on have 6 or 7 rental during the summer of 2011 to ensure it is managed more proactively. From the first day of her stay, it was clear, Christy was not happy with our property and she was looking for something much more luxurious than our property offers. Our lakehome is very new (7 years old) and is very much like a home. I did offer a full refund immediately if they were unhappy and wanted to leave, they declined and said they would have a good experience despite their unhappiness. I wish she would have had a better experience and feel terrible that she left unhappy. I did spoke to Christy everyday, my caretaker responded to her each daily with her requests. One interesting item is that when I recieved my cable bill for the time of her stay, I found more than $150 of purchased pornographic movies ordered during their stay! Each of Christy's issues have been repaired, cleaned or replaced. We also have new patio furniture, new screen porch furniture, a new kitchen table and updated landscaping. The issues have been fixed, they are: 1) lower part of the torn screen doors in screen porch have been fixed (they were torn by the previous renter), 2) the toilet was unplugged (there was a large piece of jewelry that had been dropped into it) and 3) the gas grill was completely cleaned and checked to ensure it was working.
Did you find this review helpful?
20 4


Nearest Barpub
1.2 Miles
Sip-n-Suds; Last Call
Nearest Golf
5 Miles
Siren National Golf Course
Nearest Restaurant
4 Miles
Adventures Resturant
Nearest Beach
4 Miles
Siren, Crooked Lake
Car: recommended

Scrapbooking, quilting, snow-mobiling and three wheeling trails, nearby new casino, pottery, biking trails, art festivals and minature golf.


Rates & Availability

Siren Cabin Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
Winter, Spring
Sep 6 2016 - May 27 2017
2 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 10 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $250
Pet Fee $30

I have two rate plans:
Summer (Memorial thru Labor day). Weekly ($1,599) or Fri-Sun ($799). I prorate custom rates as needed.

Rest of year (non-summer). Weekly ($899) or Fri-Sun ($499). I will prorate custom rates as needed.

A cleaning fee of $99 is added to all rates. All other fees (i.e. taxes, utilities, etc.) are included. A $30/pet fee required. Weekly rental is Mon am - Sun pm

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)


Siren Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1850 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beachfront
  • Lakefront
  • Waterfront
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Gas Fireplace ...
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Telephone ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Master bathroom in bedroom - toilet , shower , bathroom in master bedroom
    main level bathroom - toilet , combination tub/shower , tub , shower , full sized bathroom with tub, shower, toilet, etc...
    upstairs / loft bathroom - toilet , combination tub/shower , large bathroom upstairs - tub, shower, toilet, sink
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 14
  • Master Bedroom - 1 queen , attached full bathroom!
    2nd main level bedroom - 1 queen
    Loft - 1 double , 1 sleep sofa /futon , Has double bed (one side) and sofa and futon (other side!)
    Upstairs bedroom - 1 double , 3 twin/ single , bedroom has 4 beds - perfect for kids!
  • Queen size Beds (1), Double Beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (1), Child Beds (1), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1), Bunk Beds (1)
  • Books ...
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys
  • VCR
  • Video Library
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered ...
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • boating
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
Bonfire pit, dock, basketball nets, large deck, screened in porch with table and chairs, and trampoline.

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties