check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Pam Gadd

Member since: 2007
Call Manager
Speaks: english

Lake in the backyard. Golf Course in the front yard!!!!!!

26 Reviews
Sleeps12
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 4 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Lancaster House Rental Photos and Description

5 Bedrooms, 3 Full Bathrooms, Sleeps 12+ people!!!! Full walkout Basement

This great lakefront home has the best lake access on Herrington Lake. The property is located on the north part of the lake near the damn/power plant. This ranch home has 5 bedrooms with a full finished basement. The basement has a pool table, big screen TV, and a view of the lake. This house is located right across the street from the 18 hole Peninsula Golf Course. The property also has a private dock to leave your boat in the water while you stay. Wake up in the morning and be in the boat in minutes. Children have their own lake playhouse. This property is great for golf trips, family gatherings, vacation, or just to get away.

Central Kentucky Lake Herrington: Herrington Lake was created in the 1920's when a dam was constructed across the Dix River three miles upstream from its confluence with the Kentucky River. The purpose of the dam was to establish a reservoir which would provide the water to operate a hydroelectric generating station. The dam also provided the State of Kentucky with the capability to partially mitigate flooding on the Kentucky River by holding back water in Herrington Lake during critical periods. Construction of Dix Dam began in the fall of 1923, impoundment of water began on March 17, 1925, and the project was completed and power generation began in October 1927.

It is worth noting that the Dix Dam was constructed by the private sector and prior to the Great Depression when many public works projects were financed and managed by the federal government throughout the United States. Consequently, Kentucky Utilities owns the land beneath Herrington Lake (up to the maximum possible lake level of 760 ft. above sea

Property is located across the lake from the power plant and dam. Owner is not responsible for lake level and condition of the lake. NO REFUNDS will be issued to due either issue. Please visit HLCL.org for more information regarding the lake and its surroundings

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair accessible
Pam Gadd (Property Manager)
Member since: 2007
Call Manager
Speaks: english

Reviews

4.5
based on 26 traveler reviews

Lake in the backyard. Golf Course in the front yard!!!!!!
average rating of 4.4615383 based on 26 reviews
5

Comfort & Convenience

  • 5 of 5

We really enjoyed our recent long weekend getaway with our adult kids! It becomes more and more difficult to find a time that we are all available and the close proximity of this beautiful home with all its amenities helped to provide just that luxury. We were able to keep our jet skis at the dock and the added convenience of renting a pontoon at a nearby marina added even more fun. The house itself was perfect for our group with 3 full baths and the large, cozy bedrooms. We found the property to be clean and well maintained and appreciated having linens provided and the use of the washer and dryer. We loved the family room with its expansive windows that let us enjoy the view. Our group of 7 had plenty of space and we took full advantage of the pool table and the ping pong table! The kitchen had plenty of room to cook while others were grilling on the deck. We were happy to find an additional refrigerator in the garage, as we brought lots of food and drinks. It was fun and relaxing watching the kids catch bluegill, one after the other, off the dock one morning after breakfast. The power plant nearby didn't bother us at all. Nothing but positive comments from all of us and we look forward to visiting again and recommending this great find to our friends. Thanks for sharing this home away from home!

  • Submitted: Sep 1, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect location

  • 5 of 5

We had an excellent stay. The accommodations were perfect for a small or large group. The location of the partially covered dock in the private cove was great for fishing, swimming or sun bathing yet located still close enough to enjoy boating in the main part of the lake by the dam. The views from the property were beautiful. You could see the lake from anywhere. The power plant wasn't an issue and no sounds were heard during our stay. The furnishings were very nice and comfortable. The property management staff was a pleasure to work with and very quick to respond. We will definitely be back. The only downside would be launching a personal boat because the closest ramp is private but there were several public marinas within 10 minutes drive so it's not really an issue.

  • Submitted: Aug 12, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderful stay!

  • 5 of 5

Our family of four had a fantastic five night stay at this property! There were issues with the lake and access to the dock when we arrived due to rain, but the owners got everything taken care with the dock the next morning (and lake conditions thankfully improved).

The home is clean, well stocked and very comfortable. Family joined us for one afternoon to celebrate my son's birthday and the spacious layout of the property was perfect. My only complaint is the mattress on the pullout couch - super thin and uncomfortable. Otherwise - we hated to leave!

We swam and fished from the dock, rented a pontoon for tubing and roasted hotdogs on the bonfire. Cellphone access was limited - perfect for our getaway! Thanks for sharing this property - we will be back!

  • Submitted: Aug 9, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great home in beautiful area

  • 4 of 5

My family rented this home for our 2016 family summer vacation. The home is beautiful and accommodating for two families. The home has lots of fun things to do such as a pool table, board games, ping pong table, multiple decks, a fire pit, and a floating boat dock.

The home makes you want to stay inside because it’s so nice and spacious. The property has a steep slope which limits a lot of outdoor activities other than walking down to the fire pit and the waterfront. Depending on the rain before your trip the lake level will vary. When we arrived the lake level was down so we could use the cove for swimming and wadding in sandy / rocky water, it was perfect and one of the few sandy coves on the lake. After a day of heavy rain, the cove level rose three feet and we were unable to swim or boat due to the debris picked up during the storm. So beware if the water level rises and it’s storming your use of the cove, and possibly even the dock, for swimming or boating purposes may be limited for a day or two.

We were able to cook each night at this home. The kitchen has a ton of room and there are two dinner table to support two families. There are plenty of items to support cooking, such as pots, pans, silverware, etc... Or you can cookout on grill located on the upper deck. There are plenty of linens and towels and they were very well kept.

The lake is beautiful and golf course near the home is also wonderful. You’ll get real enjoyment on the lake as there is very little boat traffic and it’s very scenic. The golf course is a 2-minute drive from the home and is a great value for being such a well maintained and challenging course.

The county is dry so you’ll have to buy or bring refreshments from elsewhere. There is not much near this vacation house as far as stores or restaurants, so plan wisely.

  • Submitted: Jul 30, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Kentucky Family Christmas

  • 5 of 5

My family and I enjoyed this property so much. The home is so very beautiful and made an exquisite backdrop to our christmas photos. If there was an option to share pics with the viewers, I certainly would. The home was very clean and the energy plant was not an issue at all. It even played Christmas music on Christmas Eve. It was a great experience and are planning a return visit soon.

  • Submitted: Jan 13, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Exceptional Stay

  • 5 of 5

The cabin was exactly as advertised and incredibly nice. There was plenty of space for everyone, the view of the lake out back was actually quite lovely, and it was incredibly peaceful. The only possible negatives were there were a few cleaning spots missed, and the back yard was in a bit of a rough state, but it didn't hinder the experience in the slightest. Those staying wished they had more time to really enjoy the cabin, and it would be a lovely place for an extended stay. Secluded, but not overly far from getting anywhere interesting.

  • Submitted: Nov 1, 2015
  • Stayed: Oct 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Nearest Airport
35 Miles
Blue Grass Airport Lexington Kentucky

Golf: This 18 hole championship course is situated on 200 acres of rolling terrain. Built in 1997 by the renowned Pete Dye, it has already been the host of various professional and amateur events. Lush Bermuda fairways sweep through natural contours and elevations producing many breathtaking sights. Mr. Dye has strategically placed over 60 bunkers around the fairways and greens. The bent grass greens of Peninsula are recognized as some of the best in the country. With their many undulations and swells, the challenge is not over until the last putt is holed. All the greens are surrounded by bent grass approaches and Dye's famous 'collection areas' for those wayward iron shots. The championship tees, Playing almost 6700 yards, will provide even the scratch golfer with a most arduous task. The middle and front tees play 6100 and 5100 yards respectively. All players of every caliber will enjoy the Peninsula experience.

Course Difficulty: Gold Blue White Red - Slope 124 119 TBD 115 - Course Rating 71.5 68.9 TBD 68.5 - Yardage 6647 6082 5519 5049

Photos

Rates & Availability

Lancaster House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Summer/Fall
Aug 1 2016 - Oct 15 2016
3 night minimum stay
$175
From
$225
Fri,Sat
$1,325
 
 
Summer
May 15 2017 - Oct 31 2017
4 night minimum stay
$300
From
$350
Fri,Sat
$2,000
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $125
Tax Rate 10.0%

Email for Special Events and Holiday Pricing

Manager's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the manager or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Lancaster House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 3600 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Lake
  • Lakefront
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Heating
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Master - toilet , shower , jetted tub
    Upstairs - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Basment - toilet , tub , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 4 - 2 twin/ single , Bunk Bed
    Bedroom 5 - 1 sleep sofa /futon , sleeper sofa
  • Bedroom 4 has day bed and bunk bed
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Pool Table
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • VCR
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Boat Dock
  • Deck / Patio
  • Golf ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Wood Deck
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair accessible
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • cinemas
  • marina
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • walking
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • sailing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties