check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr

Rebecca Southwick

Member since: 2008
Call Manager
Speaks: english

Charming Lakeside Gingerbread Cottage in 5 College Area - Sleeps 6-8

27 Reviews
Sleeps8
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Belchertown Cottage Rental Photos and Description

2 bedrooms, 1 full bath, sleeps maximum of eight

Relax in our charming cottage while resting your eyes on peaceful Lake Arcadia. Slip into your suits & jump in across the street or walk 8 mins to bask on the town beach. Take in the sun & fresh air as you picnic under tall pine & oak trees. Get away from it all as you lounge in our three sided screened in porch.

Picturesque Lake Arcadia is perfect for swimming, canoeing & kayaking. For serious boating & fishing, nearby Lake Metacomet (5 minute drive) has a public boat launch.

Our fully furnished cottage was built in1950 complete with knotty pine & fancy scrolled wood trim. There are three levels overlooking the lake: the main floor has an open living/dining area & a fully equipped kitchen. Sleep upstairs in a comfy queen bed or downstairs in a plush king bed.

Take a stroll on our beautiful New England town common circled by old churches & fine eateries. Explore the Five College Area's numerous amenities or the nearby Quabbin Reservoir, a one hundred acre wilderness park.

Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Rebecca Southwick (Property Manager)
Member since: 2008
Call Manager
Speaks: english

Reviews

4.4
based on 27 traveler reviews

Charming Lakeside Gingerbread Cottage in 5 College Area - Sleeps 6-8
average rating of 4.3703704 based on 27 reviews
3

Rustic cabin near lake

  • 3 of 5

This is a rustic cabin across the street from the lake. Beds and furniture are comfortable. We are professional adults traveling with friends. Between the 4 of us we've rented more than a dozen VRBO's. The level of owner engagement at this property was well beyond any experience we've ever incurred. We were traveling 7 hours to get to the property and we arrived 37 minutes after checkin time which seems to annoy the owner. She called us 5 times on checkin day starting 6 hours before we were suppose to be there. Then called us twice on check out day. I much prefer to pick up the key from a lock box. Requiring rental contact, copy of drivers license, security deposit, cleaning fees, check out instructions that include leaving no finger prints on toaster... It's all a bit much. To her credit we do get the security deposit back promptly.

  • Submitted: Aug 28, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Recreating Childhood Memories for My Nieces

  • 5 of 5

My two nieces (8 and 10) were visiting from Savannah and I was looking for a lake side cottage that would recreate my fond childhood memories of vacationing in the Adirondacks. Abigail's Cottage came with everything we needed to enjoy a fun summer week. The nieces played down on the rocks across from the cottage and we found the town beach to be affordable and friendly with pedal boats and everything. We made easy day trips to Old Sturbridge Village, the Quabbin Reservoir, and South Hadley. It was a great and restful week. Both Dot and Rebecca were communicative and professional checking in before and after the stay.

  • Submitted: Jul 18, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

A Lakeside Cottage Without Access to Lake!!! Totally Disappointing, Nervewracking, Unappealing Stay!

  • 1 of 5

We arrived at Abigail's Cottage on a sunny day with five grandchildren ready to swim and kayak (2 kayaks loaded on top of car). They advertise you can swim and kayak right across from cottage. After venturing around the lake we found a closed beach, a barbed wire fence around the boat launch, no trespass/private property posts on every abutting parcel preventing any access to safe swimming. The only accessible swimming area was unsafe with concrete blocks, fish hooks in water. For three glorious sunny days we drove to Highland Lake, a 40 minute drive, to swim and kayak.

OWNERS NEGLECTED TO TELL US TOWN BEACH OPENED THE DAY WE LEFT!!!!! Even after discussing beach closure, misrepresented advertising, the owners did not offer any compensation back from our stay. In fact the owner called repeatedly on our way to cottage, and lectured me about not being prompt because she had a meeting. She continued to complain about our tardy arrival in front of our grandchildren, who commented on her rudeness and unfriendly manner.

Cottage is livable, kitchen stocked, but totally lacks any charm. Tilted floorboards, moldy, mildewed bathroom, hanging cable wires in basement living space, outdated, rickety porch furniture--cottage needs complete renovation. Do not recommend!!

  • Submitted: Jul 15, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so sorry this renter found our Cottage not up to her expectations. Unfortunately, she never called us until after she left to discuss this with us, so we weren’t able to help her. There is swimming right across the street which we distinctly pointed out. In our “help” binder is a handmade map which shows you exactly where to go. You go down a small embankment where there are large stones like a stairway, to a swimming area set up by the town’s DPW. She told us that they did not go down to the water because she thought there might be fish hooks in the water. Maybe they went to the wrong area where there is an old concrete step in the water, but this is not the swimming area. She was not able to find the boat ramp; again, she went to the wrong place. The boat ramp is directly across the lake with easy access, no barbed wire and open to the public at all times. In fact, there is a second boat launch on a second lake (Metacomet) 5 minutes away. This seems to be a case of not carefully reading the description of our place. The swimming place opposite the cottage has no beach. The lovely Town Beach is open the week after school gets out so the date changes every year. And yes, there are other residences around the lake with their own private beaches. We have a specific check-in time of 4 PM because we live 40 minutes away and often need to check-in other renters at our second vacation rental house on the same day. This was the case here. We called them that morning; they said they would be there at 4 PM. When we called them @ 4 PM, they said “we are on our way” but didn’t show up until 5:30 PM. That meant that the other on-time renter had to wait the 1 1/2 hours at our other place. She was unable to see the charm of our cottage. Its charm is one of its best features. Our porch furniture is solid and a moldy/mildew bathroom simply is not true. We think she got a little carried away here. We take pride in a very clean house, and the bathroom is spotless when you come. We ask our renters to please carefully read what our cottage offers. This renter expected a beach in front of the cottage, a good boat launch (which we have), and some other kind of Cottage that would be much more expensive. We post our phone numbers and encourage renters to please call us if there are problems. Had she called us, we could have directed her to the right areas and we believe she would have had a more enjoyable time.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Ludlow, MA
5

What a great house to stay in!!!

  • 5 of 5

We were a week early from Illinois for the closing on our new home the lawyers moved the date a whole week. We found this house on a local listing and boy what a find, we were saved. We have our 5 kids, a dog and a huge truck with all of our stuff in it. The owners were very amicable, allowing our kids and dog with our truck to stay at this lovely home. We did not need to use anything in our truck the house was fully equipped from the kitchen with everything you could possibly need to fresh huge towels & linens. The kids loved the house and didn't want to leave. It had a large back yard as well as a large front yard & within feet from a beautiful lake (it was a little frozen over but we enjoyed it just the same). Thank you Rebecca you were the perfect hostess with the mostess!!! What a comfortable house. Now we know we can invite our relatives and have a great place for them to stay while visiting us as well.

  • Submitted: Mar 30, 2016
  • Stayed: Jan 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your lovely review and for staying with us. We put a lot of effort into making our renters feel welcome and are so happy that you enjoyed your stay. Please come back any time.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Perfect Brimfield get away!

  • 5 of 5

I had a wonderful time staying at Abigail's Cottage. We came up for the Brimfield Fair and found this just right for our purposes. We loved being right next to the lake and it was very central for all the things we wanted to do - explore AMherst, Northampton , and visiting the Brimfield Fair. The cottage had everything we needed. The kitchen was fully equipped, there are lots of books to read, and the beds were very comfortable. Dot and Rebecca greeted us and we're great hosts. Swimming in the lake after a long day at the fair was very enjoyable. We had a great time and will do it again next year. I recommend this cottage to anyone. It was perfect for our women's get-a-way!

  • Submitted: Nov 15, 2015
  • Stayed: Sep 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Perfect Lakeside Retreat

  • 5 of 5

I needed to rest and rejuvenate and found Abigail’s cottage to be a special place to do just that. The fall colors have been spectacular around the lake even though many had already fallen. I had a lot of quiet time to go on day trips and spend time at the Quabbin Reservoir. What a peaceful, wonderful place for hikes and taking rides. My favorite thing to do is to curl up with a good book, I had brought plenty of my own to read, but also was happy to find many at the cottage that I haven’t read. I found it to be quite comfortable. It was so nice to have time to myself and peace and quiet. It was a perfect place to get my head back together before I go back to my busy, hectic life. You will find that Rebecca and Dot are delightful hosts, answered all my questions, and the cottage has everything you need.

Barbara W.

  • Submitted: Nov 14, 2015
  • Stayed: Nov 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Nearest Airport
42 Miles
Bradley Int'l Airport, Hartford, MA
Nearest Golf
2 Miles
Cold Spring Country Club - Belchertown, MA 18 hole
Nearest Train
5 Miles
Am Track, Amherst MA
Nearest Motorway
12 Miles
I - 90 Mass Pike & I 91
Nearest Beach
0.2 Miles
Town Beach
Car: recommended

Lake Arcadia is in Belchertown and the Five College Area of Amherst, Smith, Mt Holyoke, Hampshire and Umass Colleges. Visit Amherst (15 minutes) with its many international restaurants, Emily Dickinson House and Amherst College Dinosaur Museum. Or visit Northampton (25 minutes) for cultural delights and Smith College's exceptional art museum.

Within a 15 min drive: For outdoor enthusiasts, visit the Quabbin Reservoir Park, over 1000 acres of wilderness with hiking and biking. Or take a 10 minute walk and get on the Metacomet/Manadnock trail with miles of trails. Bike the Norwottuck rail trail from Belchertown to Northampton.

1/2 hr drive: Butterfly Museum, Historic Deerfield Village, Yankee Candle and the Mass Pike.

3/4 hr drive: Old Sturbrige Village, Brimfield Antique Markets.

2 hr drive: Boston, Foxwoods and Mohegan Sun Casinos.

3 1/2 hr: New York City.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Belchertown Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Peak
Jul 1 2016 - Aug 31 2016
2 night minimum stay
$195
From
$230
Fri,Sat,Sun
$1,295
$5,550
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add $25 per night, per additional guest
 
Fall
Sep 1 2016 - Oct 31 2016
2 night minimum stay
$195
From
$230
Fri,Sat,Sun
$1,295
$2,400
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add $25 per night, per additional guest
 
Winter
Nov 1 2016 - Apr 30 2017
2 night minimum stay
$185
From
$225
Fri,Sat,Sun
$1,225
$1,795
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add $25 per night, per additional guest
 
Graduations
May 1 2017 - May 31 2017
3 night minimum stay
$200
From
$295
Fri,Sat,Sun
$1,295
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add $25 per night, per additional guest
 
June
Jun 1 2017 - Jun 30 2017
2 night minimum stay
$195
From
$230
Fri,Sat,Sun
$1,295
$2,400
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add $25 per night, per additional guest
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$200
From
$250
Fri,Sat,Sun
$1,325
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add $25 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $300
Cleaning Fee $95

Holiday weeks for Thanksgiving, Christmas, and New Years are $1,325.00/week.
Cleaning Fee for over six guests or a one month or longer stay is $125.00.
Security deposit for a month or more is $500.00-$1,800.00.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Belchertown Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1200 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach ...
  • Lake
  • Lake View
  • Lakefront ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Broadband Access
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Free Long Distance
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Telephone
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • Fully stocked with towel sets (bath, hand and washcloth). A full line of cleaning products, paper towels and toilet paper.
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , Day bed & Trundle
    Bedroom 2 - 1 king , Day bed & Trundle
  • Top floor bedroom: one queen and one day bed with a trundle - sleeps 4. Walkout level: one plush king - and one day bed with a trundle - sleeps 4.
Entertainment:
  • Audio Tape Player
  • Books
  • Books for Adults
  • Books for Kids
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • VCR
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Beach Chairs
  • Beach Towels
  • Boat with Paddles
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Patio
  • Screen Porch / Veranda
  • 4 garden chairs
  • 5 beach chairs
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • library
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • synagogues
  • water parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • paragliding
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • snorkeling
  • swimming
  • tennis

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties