check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Lisa Craig Morton

Member since: 2008
Call Manager
Speaks: english

Luxury suite in the Short North Arts District, Near Ohio State University

78 Reviews
Sleeps4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Victorian Village Apartment Rental Photos and Description

1 bedroom, 1 full bath, elegant great room w/daybed, full kitchen, sleeps 2-4.

Located in Victorian Village on historic Neil Ave. just minutes from downtown Columbus & a 15 minute drive from Port Columbus International Airport (CMH). Built in 2005, the Guest House is a dramatic loft suite in the carriage house adjacent to an 1895 Queen Anne home. The Guest House provides convenient access to the fabulous Short North arts district, The Ohio State University, Goodale Park & the Arena District from the heart of one of Columbus' most historic neighborhoods. It is within walking distance to highly acclaimed restaurants & night clubs, numerous art galleries, specialty boutiques & antique stores. Ohio Stadium, Huntington Ball Park & Nationwide Arena are all within one mile of the Guest House. Less than two miles from downtown, the Guest House also provides convenient access to Columbus' cultural & performing arts facilities such as the Ohio, Palace, Capitol & Southern Theaters, COSI, the Columbus Museum of Art & the Wexner Center for the Visual & Performing Arts.

A Note About Our Loft Style Architecture: Victorian Village Guest House features dramatic, open loft-style architecture. Please be advised that the bedroom has open walls and no doors - it is open to the great room and kitchen areas. The guest suite is at the top of a flight and a half of stairs. We regret that it is not handicap accessible, nor is it suitable for young children and toddlers. If you have an infant that is not yet crawling or you have school aged children, it may be suitable for your family.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Lisa Craig Morton (Property Manager)
Member since: 2008
Call Manager
Speaks: english

About Lisa Craig Morton

After more than 25 years in the banking industry, I felt increasingly dissatisfied with my career and professional life. I began working with a life coach who helped me explore possible career changes. As an outcome of the coaching sessions, I decided to start a guest house business. The idea was one I had always been drawn to and because of the nature of the business, I could maintain my banking job while getting the new business off the ground. In April 2008, I formed Victorian Village Guest House, LLC and hosted my first paying guests in July 2008. In March 2009, I left the banking industry and never looked back! Now celebrating its fifth anniversary, Victorian Village Guest House continues to provide me with a satisfying and rewarding career and it continues to delight travelers, too!

For me, this has been a wonderful journey from corporate America to 'Main Street,' from banking Vice President to small business owner. And hopefully my enthusiasm shows in the 'product' we are offering at Victorian Village Guest House - attention to detail, care for our guests' every need, luxury combined with the comfort of home and a surprising oasis in the middle of this urban neighborhood. We now have the honor of welcoming many repeat guests as well as 'first-timers' so we must be doing something right!

Lisa Craig Morton purchased this apartment in 2004

Why Lisa Craig Morton chose Columbus

Beautifully restored historic homes, a walkable urban neighborhood and a quiet, private location are what make Victorian Village Guest House a first class destination in Columbus! Our proximity and easy access to the fabulous Short North Arts District and all major sporting and cultural arts venues will insure an enjoyable visit to the city. Or if you prefer a secluded, retreat where you can relax and recharge, the guest house will not disappoint! Fine dining, one-of-a-kind boutiques, art galleries, night life, concerts and sporting events and The Ohio State University are all within walking distance of this premier location.

What makes this apartment unique

Victorian Village Guest House has all the benefits of a bed and breakfast and none of the downsides! As the only guests on the property, you will enjoy a luxurious, private apartment suite in a historic carriage house separate from the owner's home. The guest house's kitchen, great room, private bath and bedroom create an experience that has all the amenities of a great hotel and all the comforts of home. Guests are invited to 'live like a local' in the heart of Columbus' premier historic neighborhood. We love living in a walkable, urban neighborhood and encourage guests to enjoy the energy and diversity that only the city can offer. Whether you are visiting from out of town, are an empty nester from the suburbs who wants to try out urban living or live in the neighborhood and want to offer friends and family a unique place to stay, Victorian Village Guest House will provide guests with an exceptional travel experience!

Guestbook comments from the manager

"Thanks for everything! Victorian Village Guest House was a fabulous retreat after my long days in class. 'S' really got to know Columbus - thank you for the books and information. You have a great place here."
Jul 2011
  • 1 of 1

Reviews

5
based on 78 traveler reviews

Luxury suite in the Short North Arts District, Near Ohio State University
average rating of 4.9871793 based on 79 reviews
Atlanta, Georgia
5

Comfortable elegance; vibrant & cool neighborhood

  • 5 of 5

Careful attention by the owners on this comfortably luxurious in-town property, combined with the location in an historic, vibrantly rich neighborhood makes for a perfect stay in Columbus. On the doorstep of the vast campus of The Ohio State University, and in the rich heartland of Victorian Village, this guest house is The Ritz meets reality. Elegantly owner-maintained gardens, a canopy of mature trees, and peaceful silence made the proximity to great, eclectic dining and shopping a highly satisfying juxtaposition that was worth more than the price I paid. A short, easy drive from Port Columbus airport, and nearby the downtown freeways and State Route 315, this place is the gem among the guest houses I have experienced.

  • Submitted: Jul 22, 2009
  • Stayed: Jun 2009
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: At Victorian Village Guest House, we strive to provide a relaxing and luxurious retreat in the midst of the fabulous Short North arts and entertainment district. We are delighted that our recent guest found just that!
Did you find this review helpful?
9 0
5

Perfect location, wonderful hosts

  • 5 of 5

I stayed here with my colleague for a work conference. All of the hotels were booked up so we wanted to find something that was within walking distance of the convention center. The guest house was perfect. It's in a lovely residential part of Columbus and very close to N High street where all of the shops, restaurants, and bars are. The house was equipped with all of the essentials plus many extras like cookies from a local bakery. Was a great stay. Would highly recommend it!

  • Submitted: Sep 30, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

A comfortable and cozy stay!

  • 5 of 5

Nicely maintained and private. Close to a variety of restaurants and shopping. Love the tree lined streets and the ability to walk or drive to your desired destination. Lisa and Jeff make you feel very welcome. Thanks!!

  • Submitted: Sep 20, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great house with a great location

  • 5 of 5

My family stayed here for a weekend visit to Columbus. Lisa was fantastic to work with and made our stay lovely and seemless. The guest house has enough room for a family of 4, and the special touches are fantastic. The house was stocked with coffee, tea, creamer, water and juice upon our arrival. The beds are very comfortable and the neighborhood is fantastic. Could not ask for a better experience.

  • Submitted: Aug 10, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great girls getaway!

  • 5 of 5

My friends and I truly enjoyed our stay at this lovely home. The decorations were stunning, and it was delightful to return "home" after a day out shopping, walking and eating. The recommendations for restaurants were helpful. I especially appreciated the local products that we enjoyed during our stay-amazing cookies from a local bakery, local candles, etc. The stocked refrigerator was also enjoyed. It was just a delight and a highlight of our summer!

  • Submitted: Jul 27, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Tastefully decorated and comfy!

  • 5 of 5

Lisa and Jeff are great hosts! Attentive and friendly!

  • Submitted: Jul 17, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Car: not necessary

Victorian Village Guest House provides convenient access to the fabulous Short North arts district, The Ohio State University, Goodale Park and the Arena District from the heart of one of Columbus’ most historic neighborhoods. It is within walking distance to highly acclaimed restaurants and night clubs, numerous art galleries, specialty boutiques and antique stores. Ohio Stadium, Huntington Ball Park and Nationwide Arena are will within one mile. Less than two miles from downtown, the guest house also provides convenient access to Columbus’ cultural and performing arts facilities such as the Ohio, Palace and Southern Theaters, COSI and the Columbus Museum of Art and the Wexner Center for the Performing and Visual Arts.

Other Activities: Art galleries, night clubs, fine dining, specialty fashion boutiques, cultural & performing arts

Photos

Rates & Availability

Victorian Village Apartment Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$199
From
$209
Thu,Fri,Sat
$1,393
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $25 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Tax Rate 5.1%

The maximum number of guests we can accommodate is 3 to 4 people. There is a queen bed in the bedroom and a twin day bed and twin trundle bed in the great room. If you are using one or both of the twin beds in the great room, there is an additional fee of $25 per bed + tax per night. If you are a party of two, three or four people who will be using an extra bed, this additional fee applies.We do not permit guests to host any type of parties, events, business meetings or gatherings on the property. We do not allow any overnight guests other than the registered guests who are identified at the time the reservation is made. We do not do meals, catering weddings, parties, bridal or baby showers, business meetings, photo shoots or video shoots.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Victorian Village Apartment Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 2
Building Type:
  • building
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 950 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Downtown ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking ...
  • Parking On Street
  • Shampoo
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Mini Refrigerator
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • Bathroom is equipped with historic style Kohler® fixtures and an antique linen cabinet. The warm red color scheme includes decorative red and white transfer ware, toilet accents, luxurious bath linens and exclusive spa amenities from Paris.
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
  • Decorated with red and white transfer ware and botanical prints, the spacious bedroom is furnished with antiques, new queen sized bed with pillow-top mattress and luxurious hotel bed linens. The bedroom also features two spacious closets equipped with ironing board, steam iron and luggage racks. Waffle weave spa robes are provided for guest's comfort and relaxation. For more details, visit our website. PLEASE NOTE: We have one bedroom with a queen sized bed. There is a twin daybed and twin trundle bed in the great room. Depending on the configuration of your group, the maximum we can sleep is 3-4 people.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
Outside:
  • Bicycles ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Patio
  • 1 bicycles
  • 12 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • autumn foliage
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • gambling casinos
  • photography
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • roller blading
  • tennis
Notes:
The great room of the guest house has dramatic 17 foot high ceilings, exposed duct work and open loft style architecture. In addition, the guest house is furnished with antiques and oriental rug, modern sofa and club chairs, dining table and chairs and breakfast bar with four bar stools. Cable TV service, DVD player and stereo are provided for your entertainment needs. Kitchen is fully equipped with bar fridge, full range, microwave, coffee maker and dishwasher. Kitchen also includes china, silverware, glassware, utensils and cookware. Adjacent to the kitchen is a washer and dryer. Bedroom has queen sized bed. Twin daybed in great room with twin trundle bed can accommodate up to two additional people. NEW! 32' flat screen TV.

Learn more about this vacation rental at the manager's website:

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties