Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

100 steps to beach, chill, relax under magnificent sunsets

Sleeps5
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Space 700 sq. ft.
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

About the property

Cozy rancher, peaceful surroundings 100 steps to sand/beach

If your looking for cozy, quaint, and charming, look no further on that note if your a wine lover too, we are centrally located to Cape May's 7 extraordinary wineries. Our cottage is located in an old quiet fishing village, you will think stepping back in time like the sea shore use to be. We may be the most southerly location, but the extra drive from other shore points will be worth your while because of the spectacular sunsets, and fewer crowds. Our Delaware Bay beaches are still free, pet friendly, parking plentiful, you don't have to fight traffic as you would in the 20 min. drive to Wildwood or Cape May. Enjoy morning coffee on the patio while being cooled by the bay breeze. My yard partially in a wild state because it borders up to a wildlife refuge and wetlands, keeping that in mind, I have crickets that like to stay too, so be mindful that they are gone after I fumigate, however you may find a few dead ones upon arrival, j ust wanted to red flag you incase your squeamish. Giving that it's very private and tranquil adorned with natures lush shade trees/shrubs as a cooling backdrop against the hot, and sunny days, have a dog post for mans best friend.

Last minute essentials a Dollar Store near by on Bayshore Rd. Try Fish and fancy, fresh fish just caught by local fishermen, eat in or take out the prices are great, and the food compares to the LOBSTER HOUSE, Shop-Rite, Acme, McDonalds, 10min. away and many other restaurants too. I have provided a green folder with brochures for things to do and see. Almost forgot.just a short block at the end of my street is The Fishermens's Inn delicious food/bar on the Bay, or a few miles away make a left at the WaWa (Fillermill Rd) is Menz Restaurant/bar and Harpoon Henry's 15 min drive on Beach Ave. Consider some fine dinning in Cape May with reasonable early dinners, fancy beverages $2.00 that will wet your appetite and not 'ouch', your pocket. Try The Cape May Inn with FREE appetizers Mon to Fri, from 1pm to 6pm. Tour Historic Cape May area by trolly. If tired of the beach, shop til you drop along Washington Street Mall (20 min) and many antique shops. Later treat yourself to a fresh seafood dinner caught from the Atlantic's largest fishing ports. If your wishing for Italian, that too.

September is great hear with the Irish Festival it is as busy as 4th of July.

Don't forget to visit World War II LOOK-OUT TOWER adjacent to the Lighthouse (20)min drive. Search for Cape May diamonds at Sunset Beach, fun for the kids and adults alike. Enjoy gentle waves, beach combing, jet sking, surfing, sailing, whale/dolphin watching or biking along beach-views.

We are approx 100 steps to your very own quasi private beach, and for the walkers, your pets are always welcome on this beach, just walk along the beach 45 min to Cape May Beach and Lewis Ferry or 20 min drive. Cape May is great to visit anytime of the year with it's collection of Victorian architecture(especially during Christmas Holidays) with the candlelite tours and trolly rides. Yes, I rent year-round with specials. Just 15 min to the Cape May Lite-house,Cape May Zoo, and Wildwood's famous boardwalk/amusement park. Feel lucky, then do Atlantic City only 40 min. away and hit the Jack pot to take home.

A few important reminders that this is my family home not an investment property so I would appreciate and expect you to treat my home as you would your 'very own home' with respect and TLC.. My home is a SMOKE-FREE HOME.... smokers PLEASE use a butt can OUTSIDE of course. not the yard or surroundings Thank you!

The security deposit is fully refundable pending upon house INSPECTION for damages, cleanliness, neglect, and orderliness. We EXPECT to find our home in the same condition that was received. The owner personally cleans and inspects all applicances, plumbing prior to your arrival. We request that guests contact via text/phone once you arrive, do an inspection within (2) hours of your arrival, immediately report any descripancies or issues.

Please keep in mind that this is a medium size 2 bedroom home.

Keywords: cozy, romantic, just kick back and relax

More Details

Owner
Mary Barbera, Mgr make checks out to W New York Ave LLC
Member since: 2008
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 2 days
Response rate:
80%
Calendar last updated:
September 19, 2017

About Mary Barbera, Mgr make checks out to W New York Ave LLC

This vacation cottage was orginally owned by my dearest beloved Aunt Sue and Uncle Perry. Every year they invited me for vacation. This was always and still is a cozy and peaceful place to call HOME away from home. The town is an old fishing village and the neighborhood is friendly, pet friendly too. I always looked forward to coming back each year just......... couldn't get enough of the breezy sea air and spectacular sunsets. The yard always reminded me of my very own private sanctuary. it backs up to natural wildlife preservation, and offers shade and serenity. I have lots to do though with the yard and little by little I am planting shrubs and plan to plant a berm of armavitese along the back yard this fall.

Mary Barbera, Mgr make checks out to W New York Ave LLC purchased this cottage in 2002

Why Mary Barbera, Mgr make checks out to W New York Ave LLC chose South NJ Shore

Fortunately, for me this cozy home I enjoyed as a teenager I now enjoy 35 years later into my golden years enjoying the peacefulness listening to the seagulls, sounds of the water while having my morning coffee. I still enjoy a glass of wine in the evening taking in the breeze from the water or a short jaunt to the beach to enjoy the magnificent. sunsets.

What makes this cottage unique

Our home brings back memories of family enjoying good times, great meals and beautiful sunsets. If you want peace and quiet, it's here, for excitement 15 min. drive to all the people, amusements, and nightlife. Yaay!!

Map

Nearest Airport
3 Miles
3 miles
Car: recommended

cinamas, winery tours, zoo, blues/jazz festivals, playground, restaurants, zoo, boardwalk.

Amenities

Villas Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 700 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:30 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 5
  • Max. adults: 5
  • Min. age of primary renter: 28
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets considered ...
  • Non smoking only ...
  • Remove ALL sand B4 entering house Pets OFF furniture, no wet dogs inside, smoke free, no one permitted pass paver pad rear yard, return house as recd
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • one - toilet , tub , shower , outdoor shower
  • Tiled bathroom, bathtub with shower, toilet, and pedistol sink.
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 5
  • master - 1 queen , 1 double , 2 bedroom, 1 bathroom
  • MASTER BEDROOM has queen size bed 2nd bedroom has double sized bed Sleeps (3-4 COMFORTABLY) over 4 persons including tots over 3 years old is additional $
Entertainment:
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • shuffleboard
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • racquetball
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Delaware Bay beach only 100 steps from the house. Property has outside shower or hose, highly recommended will make it easier for you to return my house as you found it. NO SAND, dust, etc.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(32 traveler reviews)

68% Complete
18% Complete
6% Complete
6% Complete
0% Complete
100 steps to beach, chill, relax under magnificent sunsets
average rating of 4.5 based on 32 reviews
5

Great location

  • 5 of 5

Mary was very accommodating and gave several good recommendations for local restaurants..we especially liked Harpoon Henry's. She also gave us a nice bonus of a late checkout which was much appreciated. Pet friendly, comfortable home - it had everything required for a nice vacation. Thanks, Mary!

  • Submitted: Jul 9, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much Janet, I am happy that you had an enjoyed about vacation. Please come stay again I would love to accommodate you spring, summer fall winter and at a repeat guest discount. Mary
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
2

Disapointed

  • 2 of 5

Was nice but a lot of appliances didn't work or were misfunctioning and did not hear back from property owner. A lot of stuff was advertised on page that was not avalible. Not fire pit, no line for dog leashes. "Beach" was filled with dead horse shoe crabs. Okay for your price rent with your own risk.

  • Submitted: Feb 15, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Jennifer, You said a lot of appliances did not work!! I noted that the ice maker did not work in the notes. However taking it upon yourselves to DENT the door of my Stainless steel frig is NO acceptable. Bangang and denting it to try and release the ice was ridiculous. You ate very fortunate that You received the Full Security Deposit. The fire pit you didn't mention was missing and there is infact a dog tie out, maybe the run line was removed however I have a cemented tie out for my own dogs.
Did you find this review helpful?
3 1
5

A wonderful long holiday weekend with memories to last

  • 5 of 5

My family, including two young daughters and our dog, had such a wonderful time during this trip. The cottage was spacious and clean, and Mary was consistently responsive throughout the preparation for the trip and during our stay. The bay is so close by and made it easy for us to go for quick walks with our dog. It is centrally located to all possible activities the area has to offer, making it ideal for exploring but still quiet enough at night to give us the calm we were looking for as two working parents with young children :) For example, downtown Cape May is about 20 minutes south and Cape May Zoo being 20 minutes north, then Wildwood boardwalk the same distance to the east. And then there's Sunset Beach, a true find, which turned to be our favorite beach that we wouldn't have found if we'd have stayed downtown. This really was such a wonderful trip and the cottage was perfect for our needs.

  • Submitted: Oct 21, 2015
  • Stayed: Sep 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Sunset Beach is one of my favourites never too crowded, Harpoon Henry's restaurant a stone throw, and a pavilion to sit under and watch the Ferry come and go. Thank you so much for your super review and please keep us in mind including a repeat discount for any other get away vacations. Regards, Mary
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Cherry Hill, NJ
5

Fabulous stay at this property!

  • 5 of 5

We enjoyed our stay very much, I will look forward to the next time at this comfortable, clean, cozy house.

Great location and owner responded right away with helpful information about the area, she assured us we could count on her help should we have future questions, what a nice personal touch. I am pleased and hope its available for our next trip to this lovely area. Highly recommend this property and friendly owner.

  • Submitted: Sep 22, 2015
  • Stayed: Sep 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Just what we needed!

  • 4 of 5

My daughter and I decided to take a last minute getaway to the beach for some relaxation and rejuvenation. Mary's property was just what we were looking for: very clean and well maintained, very convenient to the beach, near good restaurants and just a short drive to Cape May. We enjoyed daily walks on the beach at the end the street and eating at the Back Bay Café. Fleck's Ice Cream was excellent and not to be missed if you love ice cream. We also had fun shopping in the nearby antiques/vintage resale stores. We would recommend this property to other people and it was perfect for our girls getaway.

  • Submitted: Sep 13, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Wynnewood Pa
4

Mom, Dad and Daughter

  • 4 of 5

We had a very pleasant Labor Day weekend. Owner was very helpful and property was as described. Had two great dinners at the Back Bay Bistro and a fun time at Harpoon Henry's.

  • Submitted: Sep 5, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks! and glad to hear you enjoyed.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $500
Pet Fee $50

IMPORTANT READ, READ, READ!!!!Signed lease must be scanned and returned prior to completing booking. Weekly Rental begins on Fridays. Limit (4)guests extra $25/per guest except infants. Guests are not permitted pass the block pavers located middle of yard or (beyond cones for wildlife refuge and broken bricks). Travelers please be mindful to protect the flat scree, each have (2) totals (4)remotes. If go missing FULL security deposit will be forfeited.
The lease must be signed/returned prior to your arrival date plus payment in full.
A few reminders: completely wrap all bought or caught seafood before storing in Frig. Smoking outside 10 ft from house, leave house cleaned as you found, dishes, pots, utensils. Please remove grease if you cooked from counters, tables, pots, stove, oven surfaces, remove dust bunnies, HAIRS to avoid cleaning fees $150.00. Restrict eating to kitchen/counter area ONLY not the bed, couch or chairs nasty food been found under couch pillow. Remove all personal items, clothing from under the beds, drawers, closets.
Please clean/dry your dog before entering my home if they were at the beach, use outside shower or hose.
Do NOT allow your dog inside my house wet/dirty particularly the furniture, beds, or use our blankets, pillows for your dogs needs, need to avoid odors for the next guests. Please! Do not leave pets outside unattended TOWNSHIP NOISE VIOLATION.
SAME DAY/LAST minute reservation less than 48 hours $100 inconvenience fee.
TD BANK INFO: Acct: 4341620072 Route: 031201360 Name: New York Ave LLC also put your name on the deposit slip so yo can be properly credited. Any questions CALL 856.313.0850

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties