check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Carol Roth

Member since: 2008
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Ski in Log Chalet with Antique Furnishings

16 Reviews
Sleeps13
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms4
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Fernie Cabin Rental Photos and Description

Cabin, 5 Bedrooms + Loft, 4 Baths, (Sleeps 13)

The Lodge at Fernie is a 3700 square foot custom built log chalet nestled in the Canadian Rockies at Fernie Alpine Resort.

The house is built of spruce logs in the Swedish style of log building. The 29 foot ceiling visible from the entry way highlights the complexity of the architecture. Massive log beams, hardwood floors, antique furnishings and cozy fireplaces combine with breathtaking views to create a rare combination of wilderness and comfort.

The lodge is within walking distance to ski lifts, bike trails, the Elk River and restaurants. The 80 foot deck accommodates an 8 person hot tub, a stainless steel gas BBQ, a 12 foot picnic table, plus patio tables. Steps from the deck lead to an outdoor fire pit surrounded by log benches and to a bridge crossing the small stream that meanders through the property. Moose and deer are occasionally seen from the back yard.

(For specifics regarding beds, kitchen, etc., see information below.)

35% non-refundable deposit due at time of booking. Balance due one month prior to check-in.

Keywords: Log House

More Details
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair accessible
Carol Roth (Owner)
Member since: 2008
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Reviews

5
based on 16 traveler reviews

Ski in Log Chalet with Antique Furnishings
average rating of 5.0 based on 16 reviews
5

All Around Impressive Lodge

  • 5 of 5

With views of the hill, the Lodge catered to all of our needs. Separate areas for cooking, eating, watching TV or hanging by the fire gave us 9 adult guests tons of space. Fully equipped kitchen and BBQ were perfect for creating fantastic dinners. Large dining table provided ample space for our group (plus a few more) for dinners and after dinner cards and laughs. The outdoor hot tub was perfect for soothing the muscles after a day on the hill. The Lodge got full marks from each in our group despite our different tastes and interests. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend this classy and comfortable Lodge to anyone (but would prefer to use it again ourselves). Thanks, Carol!

  • Submitted: Jan 18, 2016
  • Stayed: Jan 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Our own family uses this lodge occasionally and we want it as comfortable and convenient for our guests as we want it comfortable and convenient for ourselves! There is nothing more frustrating than getting away for a little bit of recreation and relaxation and finding that your group is short of cooking utensils or towels.... We have spent a lot of time and thought in bringing together what we feel is a venue where people can relax, have lots of room for cooking, dining and visiting and where they feel that they are enveloped in just a hint of the luxurious.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Calgary AB CAN
5

Absolutely Perfect for our Family Ski/Board Weekend

  • 5 of 5

Our family, 8 adult children and 3 grandchildren absolutely fell in love with this Lodge. The antique furniture and décor made it feel so cozy. The open concept; large table/kitchen was perfect for our evenings of games/socializing and preparing of meals. The 8 minute walk to the hill was convenient and the hot tub was enjoyed by all of us after our day of skiing/boarding. I highly recommend this lodge (felt like a home away from home) - we plan to make this family ski/board weekend an annual event and will definitely be booking here for next year. Carol was great to deal with and even called upon our arrival to ensure everything was okay and to see if we had any questions.

  • Submitted: Jan 3, 2015
  • Stayed: Dec 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I try to contact guests on the evening of their arrival to make sure that any questions that they may have are answered and also to make sure that everything in the house is as it should be.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Calgary, AB
5

A Definite Gem!

  • 5 of 5

We have done VRBO's for a number of years and seem to be able to feel what we are getting into after chatting with the owners, or communicating in some form or other.

After talking with Carol (owner), there was no question in regards to integrity. I felt totally comfortable in sending her a deposit and moving forward with confidence.

When we arrived the openness and the display of trust was beyond our experience. And, the bottle of red wine with the "have a wonderful time" note sealed our total belief of everything that we had come to know.

Anyone who wants a family gathering in a rustic environment with all the amenities of a 5Star environment, I would recommend wholeheartedly to try this little nugget in the BC Rockies.

Not only was the home second to none but the entire SKI hill with all of its activities really keep everyone busy and full of life!

We especially loved the hot tub, the games table, the dream kitchen, the fire pit and the construction of the LOG home. Not to mention the master bedroom with all of its antiques, comes right out of a Better Homes and Gardens Magazine.

Nonetheless, if you love the outdoors, and if you want to get away, book this high-end log home, situated in a quaint little hamlet in lower British Columbia.

We sure are grateful that owners like this are willing to share something of this quality with others. Enjoy!

  • Submitted: Dec 29, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: The integrity and consideration of our guests makes it a pleasure to share our home with them. Someone asked me this evening if our guests respect our property. Without any reservation, I responded "YES".
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Amazing place and wonderful owners!

  • 5 of 5

Just returned from a gals fly fishing trip, and had the wonderful opportunity to stay at this lodge home. Very well equipped and stocked. With 6 women it was a perfect vacation to stay at this beautiful home. Nice to enjoy our friendship and share a great place to do so in. With 6 women, it was nice to have the comfort of 4 full bathrooms, and the main bedrooms were amazing. Nice touches through-out, and very much appreciated. The garage was wonderful to leave our vehicle in, when the guides picked us up. We will be back. Thank you.

  • Submitted: Aug 22, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: What wonderful guests we have! It was a joy to work with them.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Halifax
5

Fabulous Family Vacation!

  • 5 of 5

A wonderful, well cared for, and relaxing family home with every convenience available. Our group included 3 parents and 9 young adults gathering from across the country to ski and enjoy some family time together. Lots of comfortable sleeping accommodation, and the large kitchen/dining area was the perfect setting for après ski. The owners were a delight to deal with, attentive to our pending arrival, and checked in with us while there. A great place on a great mountain. We'd return in a heartbeat!

  • Submitted: Mar 12, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Spokane, WA
5

Elegant, spacious and charming

  • 5 of 5

We stayed in the Lodge this past week, 4 aging active skiers sharing the Lodge, each with our own bedroom and we had a totally wonderful time, despite -24° C. temperatures and worse windchill, making our ski time far more limited than planned. But the game room, the spacious kitchen, fully equipped to support a full restaurant crowd, the hot tub and comfortable furniture made our in-cabin vacation such a pleasure. Carol,the owner contacted us several times to insure our happiness and comfort--a first for me as a frequent VRBO'er. The photos, while beautiful, don't fully do justice to the beauty of the Lodge, with its unique log construction, the carefully chosen antiques, and the spaciousness. Given the cold, we chose to drive to the hill, but were able to easily ski back. Fernie is one of our favorite North American mountains, and this was our best lodging ever there. Fast wifi, heated garage--useful this week particularly. We were so pleased to be able to stay here.

  • Submitted: Feb 10, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We have the greatest guests! I have to admit that we take vicarious satisfaction in having people enjoy their stay at our lodge. We attempt to provide exactly what we would want. It seems to work.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
203 Miles
Calgary
Nearest Golf
3 Miles
Fernie Golf Course in the town of Fernie
Nearest Train
3 Miles
In the town of Fernie
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
Highway #3
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Griz Inn; Kelsey's; Lizard Creek;
Car: recommended

Fernie Alpine Resort, in the Elk Valley at Fernie, British Columbia, is on the eastern edge of the Rocky Mountain Trench. The trench is a chain of individual valleys over 1000 miles long, leaving a scar so distinctive it is visible from outer space. Extending from Flathead Lake, MT to the Liard Plain near the Yukon border, the Trench marks the western boundary of the Rocky Mountains. Nine rivers, including the Fraser and Columbia drain the Trench, most entering and leaving through canyons.

Activities: ski, board, fish, hunt, golf, river raft, mountain bike, hike, ride horseback, birdwatch & nature tours............. The great outdoors!

Photos

Rates & Availability

Fernie Cabin Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
CAD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Fall
Sep 11 2016 - Nov 30 2016
3 night minimum stay
$377
 
 
December 1 - 8
Dec 1 2016 - Dec 8 2016
3 night minimum stay
$452
 
 
$200/night off if book 5 night
Dec 9 2016 - Dec 15 2016
3 night minimum stay
$648
 
 
$200/night off if book 5 night
Dec 16 2016 - Dec 31 2016
3 night minimum stay
$965
 
 
$200/night off if book 5 night
Jan 1 2017 - Mar 31 2017
3 night minimum stay
$792
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$377
 

Additional information about rental rates

Tax Rate 5.0%

A non refundable deposit of 35% is required in order to book. The balance is due one month prior to check in.
During summer season and ski season, save $200/night if you book 5 or more nights.
During spring and fall season, save $100/night if you book 3 or more nights.
Go to www.thelodgeatfernie.com for more information.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Fernie Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Floor Area:
  • 3600 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Mountain ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • Ski-In ...
Theme:
  • Family
General:
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace
  • Firewood
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer ...
  • Security System
  • Telephone ...
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Fireplace ...
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Catering Available ...
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
    Bathroom 4 -
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 13
  • King size beds (1) A king four poster bed is located in the master bedroom, which is complete with ensuite., Queen size Beds (2) There is a queen bed in the main floor bedroom. There is a queen bed and a single bed in the third bedroom., Twin or Single Beds (5) There are three single beds in the fourth bedroom, located on the second floor. There is also a single bed in the loft. There is a single bed & a queen in the third bedroom., Bunk Beds (1) The fifth bedroom contains a bunk bed (equivalent to 2 twin beds.) This bedroom is adjacent to the master bedroom, and is entered through the master bedroom. Usually used as a child's bedroom.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Books for Adults
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Music Library ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Toys
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Barbecue
  • Beach Towels
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Patio
  • Wood Deck
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair accessible ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • photography
  • shopping
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • mountain biking
  • rafting
  • ski lift privileges
  • ski privileges optional
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • whitewater rafting
Notes:
3700 square feet of living area, attached garage, 80 foot deck, backyard picnic area, professional landscaping.

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties