check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Anne Napier

Member since: 2008
Call Manager
Speaks: english, English only

Napier Cottage-a charming and beautiful place to make Maine memories

13 Reviews
Sleeps8
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Half Baths3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Overview

Southwest Harbor House Rental Photos and Description

4 bedrooms, 2.5 baths, sleeps 6 adults, 2 child, with partial harbor/water views

Napier Cottage is one of the oldest homes in SW Harbor, ME, and features the charm of high ceilings, hardwood floors and sun-drenched rooms with views of the harbor. It has been lovingly maintained, restored and enhanced over the years, and is furnished with oriental carpets and antiques, linens, a well-stocked gourmet kitchen, Wi-Fi connection, satellite TV, and many books, games and puzzles. The cottage is situated on nearly an acre of land with lovely gardens, patio, wrap-around decks and a screened, lighted gazebo. Part of the lawn is fenced in and is a perfect play area for small children. It is an easy walk to the upper and lower town docks, 2 lobster pounds, a ferry, and the market, restaurants and stores in downtown SW Harbor. It is also within 1/2 block of the free bus which will take riders anywhere on Mount Desert Island or in Acadia National Park. Concierge services are provided by the owner at no charge to renters, and catered meals are available for a fee.

Inside the Napier Cottage: Located on Clark Point Road, with views of the harbor, The Napier Cottage is one of the oldest homes in Southwest Harbor. The original part of the house was built in 1826 by Captain Clark for his daughter, and features the charm of high ceilings, hardwood floors, and sun-drenched rooms. It has been lovingly maintained, restored and enhanced over the years. The Cottage is situated on nearly an acre of land with lovely gardens and landscaping, and even an area of lawn perfect for croquet. Part of the lawn is fenced in and is an ideal and safe play area for small children.

The Cottage is furnished with antiques, comfortable and welcoming couches and chairs, and oriental rugs, and has lots of books, puzzles and games for all ages. There are several sets of linens and towels for each bedroom, color-coded for each room, and down comforters for those chilly nights.

Computers are made welcome with a DSL connection, and a satellite dish provides TV and music reception.

Outside the Napier Cottage: Outside you will find a brick patio, with gas grill and 6-person table with chairs and umbrella. There is an area of the lawn suitable for croquet--a croquet set is provided. And the screened, lighted gazebo is a wonderful place for early morning coffee while watching the sun rising over the harbor, or for a glass of wine in the evening as the sunset highlights the boats, and the moon reflects in the water.

The Napier Cottage has a circular drive with plenty of parking, and it is an easy walk to the Upper and Lower town docks, 2 lobster pounds, and the market, restaurants and stores in downtown SW Harbor. It is also within 1/2 block of two stops of the Island Explorer, the free bus which will take you anywhere around the island. The Explorer will drop you off throughout the park and island for your first exploration and pick you up to take you to your next adventure. Some of the buses also have bike racks. Bikes, canoes and kayaks can be rented in SW Harbor.

The Quietside Concierge: The services of the Quietside Concierge are an extra benefit provided to guests of The Napier Cottage. The QC will stock the refrigerator and pantry prior to guests' arrival, using guests' lists and funds, make reservations for dinner, theater or a boat ride, run errands, pick up flowers or groceries, answer ' what to do, where to do it, how to do it'' questions, bake cookies, and can prepare meals with advance notice. Special events, picnic lunches, lobster dinners, or even a wine and cheese party may be scheduled ahead and planned with QC. There is a charge for the ingredients, preparation and service for catered meals and events, and for gas for off-island errands and trips. Otherwise, the QC services are free to Napier Cottage guests, and are provided by the owner who resides elsewhere on the premises.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • alternative lifestyle
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Anne Napier (Property Manager)
Member since: 2008
Call Manager
Speaks: english, English only

About Anne Napier

I am an eternal optimist, enthusiatic about life and its adventures, am a creative problem-solver, a gardener, a seamstress, a reader, a traveler, an appreciator of beautiful things both living and hand-crafted, enjoy music, art, theater, and occasionally make stained glass pieces. I am single with grown children, and I have many years experience as an RN, a psychologist and a psychotherapist, as well as having a variety of other employment experiences and adventures. I find sources of joy every day, and am open to life's next adventure or next lesson.

Anne Napier purchased this house in 1979

Why Anne Napier chose Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island

It is a lovely, well-kept and cherished home which lends itself especially to gatherings of families and/or friends. A warm and welcoming home which is beautiful in any season, and especially suited for summer vacations or Thanksgiving and Christmas holiday visits. While the Cottage can sleep 6 adults, 2 children and an infant, it accomodates many more for visiting, dining and outdoor activities. For overflow sleeping, there is a fine bed and breakfast directly across the street.

What makes this house unique

I fell in love with the Cottage on my first visit--drawn by its Victorian charm, high ceilings, hard-wood floors, large windows overlooking the harbor, lovely lawn, constant sun with E, S, and W-facing windows, brick patio, and quiet location, yet close to town.

Guestbook comments from the manager

Although some of us are Mainers, we never cease to be awed by the wonders of MDI. And the joy of watching grandchildren discover the wonders is, as they way, "priceless". What made it even more "awesome" (Sam's exclamation when he opened his goodie bag) was your generous welcome in beautiful Napier Cottage. Nothing was overlooked! Bowls and treats for Feta, high chair, cots, and stroller for little ones--and delicious treats all around. thank you again for it all. My only regret was not to have an afternoon to hear your story of this magnificent house. perhaps another time.
Aug 2016
  • 1 of 17

Reviews

4.9
based on 13 traveler reviews

Napier Cottage-a charming and beautiful place to make Maine memories
average rating of 4.923077 based on 30 reviews
5

Our home away from home

  • 5 of 5

My family has been vacationing at Napier Cottage since 2007. Once again this year, Anne provided incredible hospitality even including produce from her garden. The house is wonderfully comfortable for our large family and full of books, movies and other treats to make our vacation especially relaxing. We love the views over Southwest Harbor, and the gazebo is a delightful place to have dinner. We plan to return to Napier Cottage next year and every year for the foreseeable future. Thank you, Anne, for making us so at home.

  • Submitted: Jul 20, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

This is the one you want

  • 5 of 5

What an absolutely wonderful vacation we had staying in this lovely home! First, the photos cannot do it justice. The house is huge, beautifully decorated, and expertly organized and labeled. We instantly felt right at home. The yard and gardens are perfectly maintained and were exploding with color during our stay. The location--amazing. Quiet and peaceful save for the sound of birds singing, boats in the harbor, and the occasional shuttle bus driving by (which incidentally will bring you free of charge from the doorstep to Bar Harbor, Echo Lake, various trail heads, and many other destinations on the island). The real gem is Anne, the owner and caretaker, who has an almost magical talent for making you feel completely at home throughout your stay while remaining seemingly invisible. We scarcely knew she was there at all except for the helpful labels and notes detailing use of appliances, check out procedures, etc; area guidebooks, maps, and restaurant menus she provides; and personalized welcome gifts for our family! My 2.5-year-old son especially loved all the books, movies, and toys she provides for young children. We definitely want to return next summer!

  • Submitted: Jul 21, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Lovely place and awsome hostess

  • 5 of 5

We always stay in SW Harbor when we come to Acadia and this was our favorite place yet! The house was lovely and well kept, just as pictured. The real treat was the herb and vegetable garden for the guests, all of the lawn games, and the gazebo, which is really an outdoor room. We were so glad to be able to eat outside looking at the working harbor, even with the rain on our first night there. We will be returning!

  • Submitted: Jul 8, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Scottsdale
5

Sanctuary by the Sea

  • 5 of 5

This is a perfect vacation sanctuary in a quiet setting with a warm and cozy atmosphere. The owner went above and beyond to make our stay extra special. From the freshly baked treats upon arrival to the refrigerator stocked with basics, to the fresh cut flower arrangements, music and lighting we knew we were at "home". The kitchen is extremely well equipped. New washer and dryer came in handy. The deck and gazebo provided great sunny space. The puttering of lobster boats in the harbor added a pleasant touch. The location is great - within walking distance of town and Beal's Lobster. Great place for a family.

  • Submitted: Aug 23, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Truly our home away from home!

  • 5 of 5

My family has been vacationing at Napier Cottage for some years. Anne is always so welcoming and has outfitted the house perfectly for our needs. The house is fabulous inside and out - from the comfortable bedrooms and living spaces to the deck and outdoor gazebo overlooking Southwest Harbor. We especially appreciate the fact that it is beautifully arranged for both our comfort and for entertaining - we have an extended family in the area, and it's great to be able to cook and enjoy meals together in the house. This year Anne provided us with an extra special surprise - a guest's garden with herbs and vegetables we could cut and use. Which we did! Nothing makes a place feel like home to me more than an herb garden. Thank you, Anne! We have already made our reservations for next summer. This is the perfect location for us, and the most wonderful environment - truly our home away from home.

  • Submitted: Aug 11, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderful vacation experience!

  • 5 of 5

My family rented the Napier Cottage for a week: four "parents," two kids in their 20s. We found the house itself spectacular. Nothing was missing. The kitchen is up to date, well-stocked. The bedrooms are large and comfy. Bathrooms modern. Kitchen all you could want. The deck, the yards, the gazebo, and the view---all fabulous. And there are great restaurants and stores just a few minutes' walk away from the front door. We hiked along Acadia's pink granite ledges for day, also on the pleasant and family-friendly "carriage roads" laid down by John D. Rockefeller. All of it and much more are a short drive from Napier Cottage! Then there is "the landlady," who provided all the information we needed to explore and enjoy the area. We would recommend the Napier Cottage to anyone seeking a real vacation along the north coast of Maine. Wonderful!

  • Submitted: Jun 30, 2014
  • Stayed: May 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
15 Miles
Bar Harbor/Hancock County International Airport
Nearest Ferry
0.01 Miles
Partial harbor and water views
Nearest Train
8 Miles
Other ferries available at different MDI locations
Nearest Beach
1.5 Miles
Echo Lake
Car: recommended

Napier Cottage has salt-water views of SW Harbor, is close to Acadia National Park, and is within an easy walk to town, lobster pounds, ferry and sailing opportunities, whale watching, hiking, biking, fishing, bird-watching, public gardens, car-less carriage roads for hiking, biking or horse-drawn carriage rides, and fresh water lakes and an ocean beach for swimming. There are museums, libraries, live theater, cinema, art galleries, shops, and restaurants nearby. The Cottage is 1/2 block from 2 stops by the Island Explorer bus, a free bus service that will take visitors anywhere on Mount Desert Island or in Acadia National Park. Some of the buses have bike racks. Bikes and kayaks can be rented in SW Harbor. Seasonal festivals are held in SW Harbor, and around the island, as are bike races, running races, and sailing events.

Other Activities: Whale watching, windjammer sailing, galleries, museums, bald eagles, sea birds

Golf: The Causeway Club is a club with golf, swiming and tennis, located in SW Harbor, about 6 blocks from Napier Cottage. It is open to the public, and also has golf events throughout the summer.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Southwest Harbor House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
September
Sep 6 2016 - Sep 30 2016
7 night minimum stay
$2,500
 
 
Leaf-peeping
Oct 1 2016 - Oct 29 2016
7 night minimum stay
$2,800
 
 
My Standard Rate
7 night minimum stay
$2,700
 

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $100
Refundable damage deposit $300

Reservation is not confirmed until initial deposit has been received and cleared.

For weekly or bi-weekly rentals, 1/2 of total cost to be paid at the time of returned signed lease. Remainder due 1 month before arrival/occupancy.

Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Southwest Harbor House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 3000 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach ...
  • Lake ...
  • Mountain ...
  • Near The Ocean
  • Ocean View ...
  • Rural
  • Town ...
  • Village
  • Water View ...
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Elevator ...
  • Firewood
  • Free Long Distance
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Telephone ...
  • Thermos Bottle
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Water Cooler
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Wood Stove ...
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Catering Available ...
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Freezer
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Lobster Pot
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 3 Half Baths
  • Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , tub/shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , toilet and sink-1st floor
    MBR - toilet , shower , walk-in shower, marble-top vanity with sink
    Half Bathroom -
    Half Bathroom -
  • The walk-in, 5' x 3' shower in the master bedroom is fine for anyone with mobility issues.
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Master Bedroom - 1 queen , Private bath
    Sage Bedroom - 2 twin/ single , Bay window
    Poppy Bedroom - 1 double , built-in window seat
    Woodlands Bedroom - 1 double , 1 twin/ single , 1 child bed , Twin top bunk, double bottom bunk, + trundle & Pack and Play
  • Master bedroom has private bath with walk-in shower. An additional full bath with tub/shower serves other 3 bedrooms. Several sets of color-coded linens and towels are provided for each bedroom, as are portable fans and down comforters. Good storage and closet space is available in each bedroom, and the master bedroom, Sage and Poppy bedrooms all have water views. The house can accommodate 6 adults and 2 children for sleeping. There is a stair lift from the main floor to the second floor for those who might need it.
Entertainment:
  • Audio Tape Player
  • Books ...
  • Books for Adults
  • Books for Kids
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Games for Kids
  • Music Library
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • VCR
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Barbecue
  • Binoculars
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Gazebo ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Large Cooler
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Patio
  • Screen Porch / Veranda
  • Terrace
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Wood Deck
  • 14 garden chairs
  • 4 beach chairs
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • alternative lifestyle
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets considered ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible ...
Onsite Services:
  • Concierge
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • autumn foliage
  • bay/sound
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • forests
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • restaurants
  • water parks
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • ice skating
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • snowmobiling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
The screened, lighted gazebo, with its views of the harbor and boats, is a wonderful place for early morning coffee, a glass of wine in the afternoon while the sunset highlights the harbor boats, or a quiet time to watch the moon on the water. It also makes a great artist studio or a place for puzzles on a rainy day. The stair lift to the second floor, and walk-in shower in the master bedroom make the Cottage accessible for those with mobility concerns. There are no steps from the dining room onto the deck or into the gazebo. Many of the services of The Quiteside Concierge are free to guests, and include stocking of groceries and refrigerator prior to arrival, using guest's lists and funds; making reservations for restaurants, boat rides, and theater, running errands, ordering flowers, or coordinating special events. Errands which require trips off the island would cost only the price of gas for the trip. Catered meals, or cooking and freezing food ahead, would have a charge.

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties