check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Sara Schomp

Member since: 2008
Call Owner
Speaks: english, spanish

Sara's Oasis Elegant country home large heated pool, spa sunny redwood views

32 Reviews
Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 6 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Sebastopol House Rental Photos and Description

3 br, 3 baths (1 at poolside) 3 queen beds, gourmet kitchen,custom woodwork

Elegant modern sunny home on two acres in rural residential area in the middle of the Russian River and Green Valley Wine appellation in West Sonoma County, 12 minutes from Bodega beaches, yet in a sunny inland weather area.

40' x 20' x 9' heated pool, non-chlorine (salt generator) and spa. Large views of redwood forest, meadow, mature landscaping, old Oaks, bordering 100 acre organic garden and orchard. Hiking and biking trails, minutes to the Russian River with boating and swimming. Fine dining, world class wineries, breathtaking beaches, fabulous weather.

60 minutes No. of San Francisco, within minutes of Healdsburg (25), Graton (7), Sebastopol (7), Forestville (12), Occidental (9), Bodega (5), Tomales Bay (25).

Artful, sunny, rural and relaxing.: This is a beautiful wine country setting. The house is open and sunny, with hand crafted furniture and finishings, oriental carpets, sculpture and paintings. The large heated pool and spa are inviting places to relax swim and sun (non-chlorine, salt generated pool).

You may canoe on the Russian River, go deep sea fishing at Bodega Bay, surfing at Salmon Creek beach, beach combing at the numerous beaches, antiquing in and around Sebastopol, go golfing at Bodega, Guernville, or Santa Rosa, try out a variety of wines at the scores of wineries in the area, eat fresh seafood, try out the various restaurants which feature the abundance of organic produce, meats and wines from Sonoma County.

Sonoma County, exciting wines, gorgeous beaches: Sonoma County has rolling hills, sweeping vineyards, world class wineries, exciting beaches and cliffs with surfing, fishing, and whale watching.

It is a gormandise paradise, with fine dining spots located in the little villages in the surrounding area for example: Healdsburg, Occidental, Freestone,Graton, Forestville, Sebastopol. You will find artist's studios, jazz and other music festivals and venues. You may go to Tomales or Marshall and pick the oysters out of the sea, or buy fresh fish from the docks at Bodega Bay and bring it all home to grill by the pool or on the deck.

San Francisco is an easy day trip away where you may cross over the Golden Gate Bridge, visit the museums such as the SF Museum of Modern Art, the Asian Art Museum, the Palace of the Legion of Honor and......many more. Visit the world famous Aquarium, the Exploratoriun, China Town, North Beach, Castro and Noe Valley all invite you to visit. The Napa Valley is just over the hills.

Plenty to do...or nothing: Within a 30 minute radius there are numerous activities. There is a large concert venue, Wells Fargo Center with classical and pop concerts year round. There are several repertory theaters, small venues for classical concerts as well as night club performances. Live Jazz is available in several places, including numerous winery concerts. We even have casinos north of Santa Rosa and in Rohnert Park. Visit one of our small local night spots for live music and dancing. We are a legal permitted Vacation Rental: Sonoma County Permit No. ZPE12-0070

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Sara Schomp (Owner)
Member since: 2008
Call Owner
Speaks: english, spanish

About Sara Schomp

I am an artist and a retired San Francisco high school teacher. Much of the furniture and cabinetry in the house was hand crafted by my husband and me. His furniture is shown in galleries in Northern California. I am a sculptor and web designer and live and work nearby. The house was designed and lovingly built to house our family, now gone to their own lives. It is sunny and private with lots of oak trees and a meadow. If you moved to Sonoma County, this is exactly where you would want to live...beautiful, quiet, private and inviting. We eat organic fruits and vegetables all year long, not to mention quaff the wine.

Sara Schomp purchased this house in 1991

Why Sara Schomp chose Sonoma County

As a child I came from Denver to visit my aunties here in Sebastopol in the 1940's-60's. While living in San Francisco during the 70-90's we set up our furniture and wood working shop here when it became too costly to work in SF, eventually moving the family here to live in the country. While living in SF we came up here for the Apple Festival, concerts and dances and enjoyed visiting the beach and all the little villages.

What makes this house unique

It is so quiet here I could not move back to the city. Everywhere one looks one sees beauty and that's important to me. It's exciting to have so many artists and vineyards surrounding us, and being near the ocean and seeing the green and hilly landscape, studded with oaks and redwoods just tops it all off.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Our stay at Sara's Oasis was a great value! We felt very welcome and would recommend it 100% . We spent one entire day of our 3 day vacation lounging at Sara's beautiful pool, spa and garden. We enjoyed Sonoma County wine tasting, and took some walks.



Particularly delightful was our lunch at Lynmar winery and our morning trips to nearby Wild Flour bakery for breakfast breads and coffee.



Just to be unbiased, there were a lot of leaves in the grill on the back deck which we quickly brushed aside.
May 2013
  • 1 of 4

Reviews

4.8
based on 32 traveler reviews

Sara's Oasis Elegant country home large heated pool, spa sunny redwood views
average rating of 4.84375 based on 36 reviews
Franklin, Indiana
5

Fabulous Vacation at Sara's Oasis

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I and our good friends just returned from a wonderful week at Sara's Oasis. In reading the reviews and looking at the pictures before we left we had high expectations. Upon first arrival and our look around the house and the grounds I told Sara that this house is actually more beautiful than the pictures! The grounds around the pool and the gardens are indescribably lovely. The beds are very comfortable and the gourmet kitchen fully stocked. We shopped for seafood at Bodega Bay and cooked some wonderful seafood at the house. We love to go to wineries and spent several days at the many local wineries within driving distance. The highlight of the trip however was canoeing down the Russian River which is only about a 20 minute drive. The house is centrally located in the county which makes it easy to get to many communities in the area for restaurants and sight seeing. Thanks Sara for the wonderful week and we plan to return soon!

  • Submitted: Jul 10, 2009
  • Stayed: Jun 2009
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
5

This property is prettier than pictures and exceed

  • 5 of 5

This property is wonderful, and exceeded our expectations. The house is beautiful, and was very comfortable for our group of 5. We cooked and barbecued, and had everything we required. The highlight was the pool/hot tub area. It is very private, and planted beautifully. The pool house had everything we needed, and meant we didn't have to run back to the main house. My only regret is we couldn't stay longer. One caution: the contract specifies that it is a quiet neighborhood and that no noise is permitted outside after 10 pm. We were just sitting by the pool, looking at stars and talking in normal voices, and triggered a complaint from the neighbors. As long as you are not wanting to utilize the outside after 10:00 pm, this is a perfect vacation spot.

  • Submitted: Jun 17, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your kind review. I am very happy you were comfortable and enjoyed yourselves. It is unusually quiet at night out here, and dark, particularly for city people. The quiet, the star and moonlight help one sleep well, a true benefit when visiting this rural area. We cooperate with our neighbors and follow the county regulations which prevent outside noise after 10 pm. Fortunately the inviting and comfortable house make going inside to continue socializing quite pleasant and our hotels all have similar regulations to protect guests from intrusive noise at night. We hope you come back another time! Sincerely, Sara
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Restful with natural and man-made beauty

  • 5 of 5

Our March stay was delightful. Depending on which of us you asked, the favorite elements were: The art in the house, the pool, the quiet of the whole area, the many charming areas where the 5 of us could spread out for conversation or quiet reading. Kitchen was very well provisioned with pans, utensils, etc. Sara was very willing to help.

  • Submitted: Apr 5, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for mentioning these things you appreciated about your stay here. I appreciated your respectful care and enjoyment of the property and hope you all return one day. -sara
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Really heavenly! Great place to stay!

  • 5 of 5

I came to Sara’s Oasis to get away for a relaxing weekend. I was not disappointed. To start with the house itself is lovely…homey, beautifully decorated with handcrafted furniture, interesting artwork, handmade furniture and cabinetry and antique rugs.

Though early in the season here the weather was warm and we spent a number of hours just hanging out in the outdoor hot tub with quick trips to splash in the beautiful pool surrounded with gorgeous landscaping.

There were two or three great restaurants we went to, but the Oasis had a beautiful kitchen making eating in easy as well.

I spent a wonderful morning exploring the many antique shops and little food markets.

The town is quaint and I loved seeing the apple blossoms and vineyards as we drove to and from the Oasis.

My only complaint is that I didn’t have more time to spend. The weekend was over way too quickly.

  • Submitted: Mar 27, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your comments! The mention of the many antique shops will be very useful to many guests. Antiquing seems to be a popular pass time in Sonoma County! I'm very happy the pool and garden was relaxing! Come again.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderful home in wine country

  • 5 of 5

Sara's home is beautiful, spacious, clean, quiet, private, well furnished, well appointed and full of works of art, amenities and modern conveniences. The photos shown in Sara's listing depict the home accurately. The pool and spa are both large and really made my stay enjoyable. The environs of the house certainly made me feel relaxed and gave me the feeling of being "away from it all". There are even deer and turkeys that roam the land surrounding the house.

The house is also in a very good location as Healdsburg, Dry Creek Valley, Guernsville, Kenwood, and Santa Rosa are all within a 20-30 minute drive. I would suggest visiting Kenwood as it's a wonderful town with fantastic wineries, but rarely mentioned in guidebooks.

Unfortunately, I didn't meet Sara, but she was certainly available to help/answer questions via text/email. Her wonderful daughter gave a good tour of the house. Sara also has guidebook for the house itself and the places to go and things to do in the area. Sara also mailed my security check back to me on the day that I checked out.

I highly recommend Sara's home and I would certainly seriously consider staying there again on future trips to Sonoma County.

  • Submitted: Oct 26, 2015
  • Stayed: Oct 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you! If we are lucky enough to have you return I'll get the chance to meet you, though I appreciate my daughter being a welcoming host! It's very kind of you to let others know you were happy and with what.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Bluffton SC
5

Peaceful and spacious

  • 5 of 5

We recently stated at Oasis to visit friends on Sebastopol. The home is beautiful with great living space. Bedrooms are smaller but comfortable. Outside porches are lovely. Pool area is amazing and great entertainment for our 3 4 year olds. We are lots of meals by the pool. I could not recommend the property more highly we had a wonderful vacation.

  • Submitted: Sep 27, 2015
  • Stayed: Sep 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you. Your 4 year olds made the place feel quite happy! -Sara
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
80 Miles
Sonoma County Airport 15 miles & San Francisco
Nearest Barpub
3 Miles
K&L Bistro, HopMonk, Underwood
Nearest Ferry
65 Miles
Golden Gate Ferry to SF
Nearest Golf
3 Miles
Sebastopol golf links
Nearest Train
15 Miles
Santa Rosa (train-bus to Martinez)
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
Bodega Highway Highway 12
Nearest Restaurant
2 Miles
Hazel, K&L Bistro, Willowood, Underwood
Nearest Beach
3 Miles
Several beaches: Salmon Creek, Doran, Goat Rock
Car: necessary

We are located in the middle of the Russian River appellation. Several vineyards are within minutes- wine tasting, fine dining easily accessible. 12 minutes to Bodega Bay, River and ocean sports are nearby (surfing, deep sea fishing, canoeing), hiking swimming, sunning, biking and relaxing are all encouraged. There is even a zip-line through the redwood forest!

The villages of Occidental, Graton, Forestville, Sebastopol, Freestone, Valley Ford are within 10 minutes, and Healdsburg, Santa Rosa and Tomales are within 1/2 hour, so shopping, dining and visiting artist's studios and galleries, antique collecting is easy.

Other Activities: Wine tasting Russian River and Green Valley appellations, Hot Air Ballooning, Zip-line through the redwoods, Safari West Wild Animal park

Golf: Several challenging and beautiful golf links in this area, including one along the Pacific coastline and an inland local link.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Sebastopol House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Thanksgiving
Nov 24 2016 - Nov 27 2016
4 night minimum stay
$2,000
Flat fee
 
 
Christmas
Dec 22 2016 - Dec 25 2016
4 night minimum stay
$2,000
Flat fee
 
 
Jan-April 13, 2017
Jan 1 2017 - Apr 13 2017
2 night minimum stay
$330
From
$405
Fri,Sat,Sun
$1,800
$6,000
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add $40 per night, per additional guest
 
Easter
Apr 14 2017 - Apr 16 2017
3 night minimum stay
$1,500
Flat fee
 
 
Independence
Jun 30 2017 - Jul 5 2017
6 night minimum stay
$2,500
Flat fee
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$400
From
$500
Fri,Sat,Sun
$2,200
$7,000
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $1,000
Cleaning fee $145 + Tax
Tax Rate 9.0%

Rates are subject to change until reservation is confirmed.
Days added on to weekend stay are discounted ($340 standard and $270 mid-Oct - April ).
Rate is for up to 6 people with additional $40 per night per person with a maximum of 8 people.
Holidays, 3 night minimum, charged at Standard Rate

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Sebastopol House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2000 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach ...
  • Downtown ...
  • Mountain ...
  • Near The Ocean ...
  • Resort ...
  • River ...
  • Rural ...
  • Town ...
  • Village ...
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Wood Stove ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , corian enclosure, marmoleum floor
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower , tiled shower, washer/dryer
    Poolside bath/changing room - toilet , shower , tiled pool side bath and changing room.
  • Pool side bath is for use while at poolside.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Largest - 1 queen , 12 x 18' room, desk, dressing table, chest, walk in closets
    Office room - 1 child bed , 1 baby crib , 1 sleep sofa /futon , 4' foam sleeping mats, queen futon
    Tree deck - 1 queen , Looks into large old oak tree, 12' x 12'
    Sunny deck - 1 queen , view to oak trees & deck, 12' x 12'
  • Three separate bedroom, and an office which may be used. Largest bedroom has desk and chest of drawers, large closets. Other bedrooms have chests of drawers and closets. Bedrooms are wool carpeted. High chair and crib/playpen and queen futon available. All bedrooms have queen beds, soft cotton high thread count luxurious cotton linens.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Toys ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • 10 garden chairs
  • 2 beach chairs
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Heated Pool
  • Hot Tub
  • Private Pool
Onsite Services:
  • Massage
Attractions:
  • bay/sound
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • forests
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • rain forests
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Pool is fenced, with electric pool cover in place at night or when no one is present. There are large umbrellas for shade pool side as well as a large teak table (seats 8-10) and 6 teak chairs + 2 chaise and 4 other outdoor chairs poolside. There are grills on house deck and at pool side and a fire pit by the pool and spa. House deck has 4 wrought iron chairs, chaise and a table. Children must be accompanied by adult at all times at pool. Many of the furnishings in the house are hand crafted by a local wood worker. There are paintings and art everywhere. Children must be supervised. Facilities are for the use of registered guests only.

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties