Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

110 Sq Meter Ground Floor Apartment in Jordaan

Bedrooms 1
Half Baths1
Space 1,184 sq. ft.
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 3 nights


About the property

Apartment, 1 Bedroom + Convertible bed(s), 1.5+ Baths, (Sleeps 2-5),2 bikes


I do not accept online booking because it will cost you 8% and it makes me less flexible in accepting customers. I ask people to be quiet to the neighbours.

The quiet comfortable apartment is situated on the ground floor of an 18th century monumental building in the Jordaan district. The area is famous for history, trendy shopping, bars and restaurants. And is situated in the city centre of Amsterdam. Apartment is located 50 metres from Prinsengracht, hundred metres from Noordermarkt, 500 metres from Anne Frankhouse with free view on Violettenstraat.


Twice a week there is a local market (Monday: flee market and on Saturdays a farmer market).

Close to the canals

The apartment borders the canal district, is close to the Ann Frank House and nearby all other sight-seeing attractions in town (5- 20 minutes walk).

Ground floor apartment


The apartment is well furnished in an understated fashion. The apartment is 110 sq m (about 1050 sq ft). Renovated kitchen and bathroom (end 2012). The living/dining room has a superb view in front and a patio at the rear. The sofa also serves as two/three separate(quest) beds. There is a cable TV and stereo with CD-player. There is a computer with wi-fi.


The kitchen has an oven, coffee-maker, dishwasher and microwave.


The very quiet bedroom is at the rear and behind this bedroom there is a large bathroom with toilet/bath and separate shower. The bedroom has a double (not separable) bed of 2.00-2.00. It is very quiet and has open doors to the patio. Childbed available. There are three bikes available.

Keywords: Apartment

More Details

Member since: 2008
Speaks: english, german, dutch
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
May 18, 2018

About The Owner

I'm living here now for almost 30 years. I saw this area rising to the nicest area in Amsterdam. I live here now with my family upstairs. The plan is in the future to live at the basement as well. It is a beautifull place with a beautifull patio. I put a new bathroom and kitchen in it at the end of 2012 because of two reviews. Because I'm living upstairs I don't want any complaints.

The Owner purchased this apartment in 1980

Why The Owner chose Grachtengordel

It is still a quiet apartment in the middle of the centre. For me it is the best neighbourhood of Amsterdam.

What makes this apartment unique

You can walk/cycle to every part in the centre within 10-15 minutes. Lot of restaurants and bars. Markets and good shops. Within 10 minutes in a park. In fact everything is available.


Grachtengordel Apartment Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 0
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1184 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 5
  • pets considered
  • children welcome ...
  • smoking allowed
  • Computer Available ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 5 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • There is a big bath and a seperate shower.
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 5
  • King size beds (1), Child Beds (1) There is a crib available, Sleep Sofa or Futons (3) In the living room there is one sleeping bench which can be used for two people (no heavyweights) or by one. There is a sofa too where you can sleep (see pictures).
  • Books ...
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • wheelchair accessible ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • duty free shops
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • boating
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hot air ballooning
  • ice skating
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • pier fishing
  • racquetball
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing


Very Good! 4.2/5 -
(46 traveler reviews)

45% Complete
41% Complete
4% Complete
0% Complete
8% Complete
110 Sq Meter Ground Floor Apartment in Jordaan
average rating of 4.152174 based on 46 reviews
Boulder, Colorado

Nice location

  • 4 of 5

The apartment was in a great spot in Amsterdam with a grocery store, liquor store, and restaurants nearby. The kitchen and living room were spacious. There was also a small terrace with bikes.

The bedroom was decent but felt a bit unclean and the bathroom while large was a bit run-down. We squeezed 5 people into the apartment but it really only could fit 3-4. (3 comfortably)

One of our friends unexpectedly invited people over to have a few drinks and we were immediately told to quiet down. That was fine. It was in a quieter area so we left.

  • Submitted: Mar 31, 2018
  • Stayed: March 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am surprised about the response although it is a 4 star review. I welcomed 1 guy and he was very fond of the place and no complaints. I asked him to be gentle with the neighbours in the evening. Between 10 and 11 suddenly very loud music and I went down to ask them to lower down. I knocked on the door for 5-10 minutes with now response. I was angry and went in myself. Much more than 10 people were having a party and I asked them to quite what they did.What I am asking this man is you did not complain at all about the space, beds, and bathroom. Maybe now I spoiled your party it feels a bit of revenge afterwards. Better next time rent a party place and a suite in a hotel for more than 2000 a night instead of my apartment for 150. You cannot have it all when you pay a hostal price for your stay. At one hand you invite a lot of people and you are telling me that it is to narrow for 5 people. It sounds ridiculous to me.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

What a great apartment!

  • 5 of 5

I stayed at this apartment with 4 friends (5 20 year old boys in total) and had an amazing time! The apartment had everything we needed, had enough space and was close to everything. We liked how we was away from the busy part of the city and could just chill out in the apartment if needed. The weather was very cold but the heating was working well all weekend. Considering there was 5 young boys staying there, we didn't once need to contact Paul and had no problems at all. Also Paul is a lovely helpful man!

  • Submitted: Nov 24, 2015
  • Stayed: November 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Full of character

  • 4 of 5

Great Location and a great experience. We had a few little things but nothing major. We would DEFINETLY stay here again.

  • Submitted: Sep 29, 2015
  • Stayed: September 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 1


  • 5 of 5

I went there for 3 days with 4 friends, it was our first visit to Netherlands and Wendy told us about everything, she was so kind. We enjoyed the stay so much.

The apartment is really nice, it has everything to make your stay comfortable, and they even gave us bicycles. I'm sure I'm going to repeat the experience!

  • Submitted: Aug 21, 2015
  • Stayed: July 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Perfect location and a great stay

  • 5 of 5

I stayed for a week with other 4 friends at Paul´s apartment.

Despite Paul was not in the city during our week, Wendy was really nice and friendly with us, providing information about the city and helping us with everything we needed.

Probably, the best characteristic of the apartment was its location, the center of the city (Dam square, red light district, etc...) is just 10 minutes away from there. Bicycles were also provided so we could go through the city comfortably.

Without hesitation, I strongly recommend this property and I would love to go back!

  • Submitted: Aug 8, 2015
  • Stayed: July 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Critical flaws need repair

  • 1 of 5

We encountered one major problem, which, until it is fully and completely remedied by a professional builder, requires me to post a one star review, and provide a warning to others. The combination of the toilet and loose floor tiles was a show-stopper. Seriously. Absolutely. Appallingly. Disgusting.

The owner had obviously had toilet problems in the apartment, since he mentioned it during our initial tour, and there were two used toilets sitting outside in the courtyard. After our first night, I noticed more wetness on the floor around the toilet than one would expect. Further investigation in the morning showed that the drain line was not even properly attached to the back of the toilet, and I could see through the gap between the toilet porcelain and the plastic drain at the connection point. Yes, that meant the water on the floor came from the toilet. From the business end of the toilet.

Okay, I've installed a few toilets in my day, and consider myself moderately handy. It only took a few minutes to get the drain reconnected, and the plastic seal back over the porcelain. Except that the toilet rocked. On loose black 60x60cm tiles with missing grout. Not a problem!! I cut up some plastic to make some shims to put between the toilet and the tiles, and leveled the toilet. Now we're ready to rock, I think to myself.

Except that the loose tiles with the loose grout were effectively floating in a cesspool, with raw sewage mist blasting into the air at the joints. Little fountains of feces burbled from each and every step as the loose tiles wobbled and forced air and a foul cesspool mist out at the joints. I bleached the floor, but I am pretty certain my diarrhea the next day was caused by the fecal mist.

Don't stay here until that bathroom is gutted down to the brick structural elements, has all wood removed, and is basically rebuilt from the foundation up by certified tradesmen.

As a confirmation of the lack of ongoing investment by the owner, the fitted sheets on the main bed were too small, and would come loose at the corners during the night. Combined with the damaged front blinds and insubstantial front curtains on a well-lit street, you have to ask why the owner won't even put 100 euros into the simple and easily remedied problems. I can make a bed, and it is pretty obvious when the sheets are too small for a bed. This is something you know before you even finish putting them on.

This apartment would otherwise be three stars or more.

  • Submitted: Apr 10, 2015
  • Stayed: March 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I saw this review and thought what is this. Unfortunate there were other people in the apartment so it wasn't possible to get in. I asked the people if everything was alright and thet told me everything was alright. I wrote Darren to tell him I felt sorry and try to settle it. because I don't want unsattisfied customers. I told him that I renewed the toilet in a couple of hours because the former customers broke the old one. He didn't want to. Two days ago I went into the apartment and was surprised what I saw. This so called plumber put some plastic under the toilet as you do with a table in a restaurant which is a bit unstable. That is why he maybe touched the pipe at the back which started to drip (the other people didn't even recognized it). This man came into the apartment without saying a word. His children sat down and started to play on their computer. His wife was friendly. During their stay I asked them if they need something. They never asked for anything and they knew I was living upstairs. I don't want to be realy personal but this man realy is unfair. The only thing I have to admit is that blinds in the front needed a repair. I already changed them. I run a apartment which is on a realy good location which the most people do like. It is realy good value for money. I will ask more people for a review so this one will be fast on the next page, Writing this response I'm getting angry again so I hope to see a lot of new customers with good reviews.
Did you find this review helpful?
6 0


Nearest Airport
10 Miles
Nearest Barpub
2 Miles
several good bars
Nearest Ferry
2 Miles
north sea or behind central station
Nearest Golf
5 Miles
Nearest Train
2 Miles
Central Staion
Nearest Motorway
2 Miles
different highways
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
several from cheap till star restaurants
Nearest Ski
8 Miles
Nearest Beach
15 Miles

Everything is possible in the surroundings of Amsterdam. I advice when you have a longer stay to find your way on internet. If you have a stay shorter than 7 days you will have a very busy program just in the surroundings (within 5 miles). There are 3 bikes included so you can bike all around.


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Two days are possible but price will depend on availability.
Rates can be less during low season or last minute. Rates are inclusive I advice you to send a mail for the best rate.
Rates for the whole apartment are:
375 for 3 nights
500 for 4 nights
550 for 5 nights
800 for 7 nights
Month 2750 euro

Rates depends on availability, season, last minute and how it fits in booking schedule.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties