check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Lake Placid Hillcrest Haven (Sleeps 14) - 1 block to Main Street

Sleeps14
Bedrooms 7
Bathrooms4
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview


Details
Property
house
Sleeps
14
Bedrooms
7
Bathrooms
4
Minimum Stay
2 nights

Description

Hillcrest House Rental Photos and Description

House, 7 Bedrooms, 4 Baths, (Sleeps 14)

This unique Lake Placid, Adirondack style home was built in 1915 as a year round home for a well-to-do family and shows it in the detail and quality of construction. Over the years it has been thoughtfully maintained and upgraded, while retaining virtually all of the original charm of a house of that era. As with many homes built in the early 1900's, it has many little nooks and cranies where you can grab some quiet time with a good book. It was purpose built to be a large comfortable Adirondack home for a large family and still is.

Details such as beautiful wood railings, built in book cases, a beamed ceiling in dining and living rooms and even skeleton key locks that work on many doors are all part of the experience. At the same time, upgrades, such as a new large master bath, enclosed wrap around rear porch with bay window, and granite kitchen counters have expanded the living area and comfort of this home. Your favorite quiet breakfast spot will be in a corner of that porch surrounded by windows. The deck with Adirondack style railing and the large (accommodates 6) spa you step into right off the deck is another favorite spot of our guests.

The location (one short block from the center of town - short walk to everything) is ideal for large groups and families in particular. At least a dozen restaurants, many shops, movie theater, Olympic skating arena, Mirror Lake and more are literally within a five minute walk. The kids can have as much freedom as you wish. The beautiful Lake Placid Resort golf course (45 holes with an outstanding links layout) is a three minute drive and great tee times are always available. Likewise, Whiteface ski area, Olympic ski jumping, bobsledding, and cross country venues are all within 10-15 minutes.

A fully equipped kitchen, woodstove in living room (wood supplied by us), five televisions, two VCR's, DVD, and wireless internet access make this a house ready to enjoy. Parking for 5 - 6 cars in our driveway.

We have a caretaker in town who maintains the house and hot tub. He is also available to resolve any problems that may arise with the house.

Keywords: House

More Details
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed

Owner
Owner
Member since: 2007
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
November 15, 2016
Call Owner

About The Owner

Shirley and I are married 40 years and have 5 children. We own and operate a small family business together. We bought the house so we could all enjoy it year round (great golf in the Adirondacks is a well kept secret). As we have started to rent it, we have found a great deal of enjoyment in sharing it with the many wonderful people who have visited and loved staying at the house.

The Owner purchased this house in 2000

Why The Owner chose Lake Placid

Before purchasing this house we enjoyed winter skiing and summer hiking & fishing in the Adirondacks with our family for many years. Finding great golf courses with easy access was a real bonus. We love the idea that we have a place we can enjoy year round. When we visited the area over the years we were always drawn to the village at night for dinner and relaxation. So a location in the village was important to us.

What makes this house unique

Built in 1915, the house is a large and comfortable family residence. It is ideally located because it is in the heart of the village. So whether we feel like a cozy weekend or a sporting day with nightlife, we are in the ideal location to quickly get around.

Guestbook comments from the owner

I would like to take the opportunity to express how wonderful our stay was at the Hillcrest house. The house exceeded our expectations. The weekend was perfect for the family, your pictures of the house don't do this house justice. My daughter had knee surgery one week before the trip and felt so comfortable in the house while the family went on daily outings. This multi generational family weekend was so well suited by your home,.My son and grandson pitched two tents and camped out My daughter enjoyed the sectional and arm chair , the jacuzzi made everyone happy. The bedrooms where so spacious and all the bathrooms made the morning so easy to get up and out. The dining areas were perfect for our nightly family dinners.The two large dining tables were just what I hoped

for. You have a real gem in Lake Placid thanks for listing you home for all to enjoy.
Jun 2014
  • 1 of 1

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(25 traveler reviews)

Lake Placid Hillcrest Haven (Sleeps 14) - 1 block to Main Street
average rating of 4.88 based on 26 reviews
New Jersey
5

Perfect for large group

  • 5 of 5

I rented this wonderful house for a skiing weekend for a group of co-workers. The house is "old" but in a really good way. Very nicely kept up with everything in good working condition. The house has eight (8) bedrooms scattered across three floors (which is perfect if some in the group want to turn in early while the others stay up). One of the bedrooms though is only for very small children (as the description of the house indicates). One of the bedrooms does have a futon as the bed. That wasn't a problem for us although a dayriser would be a better choice. The bedrooms vary is size but all (except as noted) were of good size. The kitchen and living areas are nice. The dining table will sit 8-10 comfortably so if you fill the house to its maximum occupancy (14) understand that you may need to adapt. Linens and towels were supplied. Hot water and pressure for the showers were good.

The owner was honest and very easy to deal with.

The house is close to the main thoroughfare and has a driveway suitable for 5-6 cars. A hot tub on the back porch is a few steps away from the back door and we used it both nights. I was able to grill up some steaks for the group on the propane barbecue grill that does function during the winter. The house also has free high-speed wireless. Cable TV is also present.

I would definitely recommend this house for reasonably large groups.

  • Submitted: Feb 14, 2010
  • Stayed: Jan 2010
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We always appreciate reviews because they help futrue renters to know that the house is as we present it in our listing. It's large, well kept and charming in a way that only a big old house can be. We have a full time caretaker who gets the credit for having everything working as it should be.
Did you find this review helpful?
11 0
5

Awesome house - great for big families/groups

  • 5 of 5

My brother recently got married up in Lake Placid, so we rented this house to be able to have the whole family stay in one place. The house itself was awesome. Such a cool house with a lot of character. The set up of the house was great and never made it feel like there were 14 people staying there. I highly suggest this house if you are traveling with a larger group, as there are many bedrooms and bathrooms. The location of the house is awesome too. A quick walk down the hill and you are in the center of the town.

Bob was also so accommodating and great at getting back to me about any questions or concerns I had. I really cannot say enough good things about our stay here.

  • Submitted: Oct 14, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We never ask for reviews, but always appreciate when our guests take the time to write them. They serve two important purposes. First, they assure travelers that our property is as advertised. Second, they assure us that we our guest won't be disappointed.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Fantastic House

  • 5 of 5

Our groups was smaller than the max - 6 adults and 3 young adults - so there was plenty of room for all of us and we loved it! Kitchen was well equipped, tons of comfy spots for sitting and reading - view of the lake from the hot tub - easy access to Main Street, Whiteface, cross country ski venues, etc. All in all, a perfect vacation destination. Hot tub was immaculate as was the house - great team in place.

  • Submitted: Apr 11, 2015
  • Stayed: Apr 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We appreciate the good words for our cleaning/caretaking team and the house.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

Memories

  • 4 of 5

My family and our close friends, with a total of 7 kids have stayed the last two years for March Break and have loved it! The bottom of the hill is a Starbucks, so my morning hike was that with a morning paper. Kids loved the different hiding spots and built many snow forts around the property. We were skiing almost every day, but enjoyed the Oval and the little shops along the way. Hope to be back again this year if our calendars work out.

  • Submitted: Nov 16, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We appreciate the review and agree that our house is perfect for family gatherings. Plenty of space to spend time together and private rooms to retire to in the evening. The side yard is perfect for family activities and the location makes it easy for everyone to do their own thing in town with driving at all.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Ottawa, ontario
5

Amazing location

  • 5 of 5

This fantastic house has become a annual retreat for a weekend of running and hiking with a large group of friends. The location is unbeatable. Being steps away from all the restaurants, shops and nightlife is a huge selling point. The charm and character of this house is a big draw and both the owner and caretaker of this house are very helpful and a pleasure to deal with. I would highly recommend this property.

  • Submitted: Oct 30, 2014
  • Stayed: Oct 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Vacations should be relaxing, so we are always happy to hear guests are pleased with our home and found us helpful and easy to deal with.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Shapleigh, Maine
5

A perfect place for our family

  • 5 of 5

Located within walking distance to Main Street in Lake Placid made this wonderful home the perfect place for us. We rented Hillcrest Haven for the weekend when our son got married. We were close to all the wedding venues as well as all that Lake Placid offers. The house was very clean and well appointed. A variety of bedrooms accommodated our family perfectly. Having a washer and dryer was a big plus. I would recommend this rental to anyone planning a visit to the Lake Placid area with a large group.

  • Submitted: Oct 9, 2014
  • Stayed: Sep 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We love having families at the house for special events like weddings. It just seems right to have a family together in a lovely home at those special times.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Nearest Airport
100 Miles
Saranac
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Many in town
Nearest Ferry
45 Miles
Essex
Nearest Golf
1 Miles
Whiteface Resort 45 holes inclusng links course
Nearest Train
40 Miles
Westport, NY
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Many to walk to in town
Nearest Ski
8 Miles
Whiteface Mountain
Nearest Beach
2 Miles
Mirror Lake
Car: recommended

Large open lawn for sun bathing, badmiton/volleyball, or just throwing a ball around

Photos

Rates & Availability

Hillcrest House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Winter
Dec 1 2016 - Mar 18 2017
2 night minimum stay
$575
$3,700
 
 
Spring
Mar 19 2017 - May 31 2017
2 night minimum stay
$475
$3,000
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$575
$3,700
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning fee $200
Refundable damage deposit $500
Tax Rate 3.0%

Special Rates apply for:
Christmas & New Years - 4 night minimum - $ 750/night $ 5000 weekly
Ironman - 7 night minimum - $ 6500/ Week $ 600/additional night

20% of rent required to secure reservation.
Full payment required 60 days before arrival date.

Payment via check or credit card (Visa/Mastercard, Amex) accepted

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Hillcrest House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 3200 sq. ft.
  • 3 stories
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
Theme:
  • Family
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Garage ...
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Fireplace
  • Wood Stove
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • 1st flr full bath - toilet , combination tub/shower , tub
    2nd flr mater bath - toilet , shower , Also has hall access if sharing is desired
    2nd flr hall bath - toilet , combination tub/shower
    3rd flr full bath - toilet , shower
  • 4
Bedrooms:
  • 7 Bedrooms, Sleeps 14
  • 1st flr bedroom with day bed sleeps 2 with bath attached - 2 twin/ single , Day bed with firm full twin mattresses
    2nd flr master bedroom sleeps 2 in queen bed w/ master bth - 1 queen , master bath has hall access for sharing if desired
    2nd flr bedroom with queen bed sleeps 2, shares bath in hall - 1 queen , Sleeps 2 and shares bath in hall
    2nd flr bedroom with king bed to sleep 2, shares bth in hall - 1 king
    2nd flr small bedroom -bunk bed sleeps 2, share bath in hall - 1 bunk bed
    3rd flr Bedroom with king bed sleeps 2, share bth on 3rd flr - 1 king , Futon in rm sutiable for 1 or 2 small children
    3rd flr bedroom 2 twin beds sleeps 2, shares bath on 3rd flr - 2 twin/ single
  • King size beds (2), Queen size Beds (2), Double Beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (1), Day Bed (1), Bunk Beds (1)
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • VCR
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Golf ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
Notes:
4 TV's, outdoor dining table & chairs on deck, ceiling fans in all bedrooms, master suite with large private bath equipped with heat lamp and dual sinks, electric heat with individual room controls, charming pantry off kitchen with lots of storage space, enclosed porch with cozy bay window seating and breakfast/game table. 2 queen beds on second floor, 1 king bed on third floor, two twin beds third bath, 1 day bed with pull out 2nd bed, 1 covertible sofa in first floor bedroom, 1 futon in 2nd floor bedroom. Full bath on third floor, two full baths second floor, one full bath first floor.

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties