check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand

Kim or Ralph

Member since: 2008
Call Owner
Speaks: english, spanish

Complete home rental, on the water Lake Erie Island

17 Reviews
Sleeps14
Bedrooms 6
Bathrooms3
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 6 nights

Overview

Ohio House Rental Photos and Description

6 bedrooms, 3.5 baths, View 5 Islands and 2 Countries from your front porch

Sunsets, Wow!!! Best sunsets north of Key West, Beautiful 1864 Historic Bed and Breakfast or complete home rental, Also available for weddings, 3800 sq. ft on .91 acres, Sits 40 feet from the water, view 5 Islands & 2 countriesfrom our porch, 5 bedrooms, 3.5 baths, New300 slip Marina All brick home has walls of 18' thick solid brick. Curved circular walnut stair case to the upper level, 110 foot long wrap around porch overlooks the great Lake Erie, North Bass and Sugar Island and also in the horizon Pelee Island. Activities, Horseshoe pit, bikes, Bird watching, we have an Eagle just down the street.

Take the Sonny-S Ferry to 'The Put-in-Bay' Area for the afternoon into the evening. come back on the Sonny-S to enjoy the sunsets from your 110' long porch that overlooks the other Islands and area. Your day will stop 1/2 hour prior to sunset to watch the 3 minutes it takes for the sun to set. Enjoy shore fires and the moon out on the 200' long of pebble beach

Information : We can rent the home out for families, weddings, fishing parties on an as needed basis, call us for details. If it seems Ok to you and to us then lets do business. We would like for just 12 people to stay, we may bend rules some.

We need to make it during the off season (Sept Through March, a win win situation for both parties to use the Inn, If we need an Inn keeper and no one is around to care for the Inn, we may not rent during off season If an innkeeper is not available. The 2007 and 2008 winter months were fantastic for ice fishing. Lets talk.

Walleye fishing, perch and small mouth bass are abundant in the area dring the summer, just out between our Inn and North Bass Island are several shelves deep and shallow where the walleye head during the day, The spring walleye tournament saw 2 of the winners catch a lot of their big winning walleye by Middle and North Bass Islands. You can view 5 islands and 2 countries from our 110 ' wrap around porch

MIDDLE BASS EVENTS : Memorial day weekend, abundance of activities,

OCTOBER 11th Annual Chili Cook Off @ J.F. Walleyes 18th Survivor Party @ J.F. Walleyes 25th Children's Halloween Costume Party

PUT in BAY Happenings : MAY 11th - 16th Island History form Historical Society, 17th Queen Victoria Games and Canadian Memorial Day

17th is Islnad Garage Sales both with the Merchants downtown and local Residence, 26th Memorial Day Celebrations at Perry Monument 11:00 am.

JUNE Through AUGUST Education information at Ohio State Stone Labs on Gibralter Island throughout summer will be tours of Perrys Monument

JUNE 6th, 5 Seniors graduate form High School, 6-9th Kayaker's welcomed from around the area. Islands 6-8th Mills Trophy Race sponsored by Toledo Yacht Club 101 st year event, 7th Murder Mystery Theatre, PIBYC Regatta open to public, 6-15 is Bike week, June 8th all bikes gather on Put - in Bay via Miller Ferry,

12th to 15th Jimmy Buffett Gathering events, 14th Historical Museum Auction under big tent, 14th Pooch Park Parade downtown 14th Perry's Cave Family Fund Center 15th Fathers Day Brunch at PIBYC

21st Browns Backer Party 22nd Golf Classic July 26th Xmas in July

More Details
Suitability:
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair accessible
Kim or Ralph (Owner)
Member since: 2008
Call Owner
Speaks: english, spanish

Guestbook comments from the owner

Tim and Tammy, had a great time, great facility on the water for all guest to enjoy, We will be back.
Jun 2009
  • 1 of 1

Reviews

4.6
based on 17 traveler reviews

Complete home rental, on the water Lake Erie Island
average rating of 4.647059 based on 18 reviews
Columbus, Ohio
5

Great trip

  • 5 of 5

Had an enjoyable stay on Middle Bass Island. The Inn was lovely and charming offering comfy beds and a cleanly evironment. The breathtaking view from the Inn's porch of the lake made for a very relaxed afternoon. We had beautiful sunsets and walked the entire island to view all of the history it had to offer.

  • Submitted: May 2, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks Kris, glad you enjoyed the history part of it, to stay in a home 150 years old makes you appreciate things a little differently. To think the builders of that home in the 1860's are said to have brought most of those brick over from Germany and also some were made on the Island is a feat. Come back again and enjoy. Kim and Ralph
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Excellent Location for Relaxation

  • 5 of 5

The 45 min. Miller Ferry to get us to this place was fantastic and full of scenery. Couldn't believe the Beautiful Sunset while sitting on the porch overlooking the lake. We watched the sunset into the lake with it's vibrate colors and contrasting background. Unbelievable and didn't need to travel by plane to get what is right here at Middle Bass Island. The home has décor throughout with the old time thyme putting you back in time. And then to see the Bald Eagle nest within walking distance and zooming in with the camera to see her and 2 baby eaglets sitting in there nest. The bed was very comfortable and the inside very well kept and clean. We will definitely be going back there to relax and ride the bicycles that are provide to go around the island while stopping at J.F.Walleye's Bar & Grill and MIddle Bass General Store . Will go to Hazards Microbrewery (not open yet) the next time there as there will be a next time. We cooked brats and steak on the grill while relaxing on the wrap around deck overlooking the lake. Visited the Middle Bass Yacht Club and met a lot of friendly people of all ages. We highly recommend Middle Bass Inn as the place to spend your time with family and friends. Have a reunion, wedding, birthday party or just hang out is definitely where this location is a great choice for any occasion. The owners were very cooperative and pleasant in providing all the information we needed to fulfill our needs and info on the island.

  • Submitted: Apr 24, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much, we work so hard to keep the home in fantastic shape so you can enjoy your stay and have an experience different than at your own City you came from. Sounds like you had that experience. Glad to hear your coming back Kim and Ralph
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Atlanta, GA
5

Great memories made here!

  • 5 of 5

My high school friends and I stayed here to celebrate to celebrate our 50th birthdays. We had a wonderful time, and love the house and location. We didn't want to leave the porch, relaxing and enjoying the gorgeous view and sunset on the lake. We are anxious to get back this summer to celebrate a class reunion year. Really looking forward to it! You will love your visit to the island and the stay in this beautiful home.

  • Submitted: Feb 11, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Gorgeous Historical House on the Water

  • 5 of 5

My family and I absolutely loved out stay here! The house is so cool. The history of it is something that we all greatly appreciated. The lake view was and the sunsets are amazing! We even got to see the eagle fishing in front of the house! Lots to do in the area. We will definitely be back.

  • Submitted: Jan 12, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Glad you enjoyed it. With re-booking for next year you will be able to enjoy the glacial grooves, 300 slip marina and the new Lonz winery. They are updating that in 2015 to 2016 with 6 million in improvements. Glad to see your coming back and re booked, Kim and Ralph
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Overrated, buyer beware

  • 1 of 5

Great view! That's it. It's an old dirty place. People live there. They have a cat. It smells. Their food is in the refrigerators. Their clothes are in the closets. The neighbor asked if he could shoot his new gun we told him no as we had very small children in our party, and he proceeded to shoot the gun anyway. Needless to say we stayed inside for hours. These people are difficult to deal with. They did not return our deposit after we spent hours cleaning. Do not go to this property May through June as it is mayfly season, and the lake is full of snakes. They have an exceptionally high opinion of this property. It is by no means worth the money they're asking. If you are only interested in sitting on the porch and looking at the lake this is perfect for you. Be prepared to be given some excuse not to get your deposit back. Be prepared to jump through hoops to rent the property. You're better off staying in a hotel down the street. They have a pool they have a bar they have a restaurant and they will treat you with dignity and respect. The owner of this property mailed me back a torn up check with my deposit and told me they could not give me said deposit because I left the place in such bad condition. That is hogwash and I got a dozen people that will attest to that. Stay away at all costs.

  • Submitted: Dec 4, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: You’re absolutely right, this is our personal home as it states in our website, brochure, etc. We rent our home to guests so that others can enjoy it. We try our best to void it of personal belongings, but as we stay there frequently throughout the year, there are occasionally things left behind, pushed to the back of a closet and out of the way. There are 2 refrigerators. One is always completely empty for guests. The other refrigerator may have some condiments that were left behind, as well as some frozen meats. Sorry if those couple things inconvenienced you. Most people don’t need more than an entire empty fridge and freezer for a 1 week stay. The neighbor can do as he pleases on his property. He should have been respectful but that is out of our control. We have spoken with him since. No reason you had to stay inside when there was an entire historic island to explore! In the almost 10 years of renting our house, we have kept a deposit less times than we can count on one hand. Giant tire ruts were left in the front yard; debris was all over the yard. It took our lawn care company over an hour to clean the lawn. Furniture was moved from room to room that had to be returned. So yes, we kept part of your deposit, not the whole thing. Yes, June is mayfly season, anywhere on Lake Erie you will find this. The snakes are protected. Both things are out of our control. Sorry you let a couple minor things ruin your stay. It is truly a one of a kind home. We do have an extremely high opinion of it, and we have hundreds that will attest to that! Glad you at least enjoyed the views.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

best to worst

  • 3 of 5

The way we were treated by the house keeper of this house was not acceptable! She was very rude to all of us. We wont be staying here any longer. But we still had fun most of the time.

  • Submitted: Dec 11, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Max sent us an e-mail stating that they loved their stay and wanted to book for next year. This was prior to us sending him a letter telling him that we, as owners, regret to not being able to have him back. We had 3 complaints about his party, 2 from neighbors and also the innkeeper. They all said he was up until 3:00 am and talking really nasty outside for many people to hear. Not our complaint, it was the neighbors that asked he not come back. His review prior to us telling him we would not have them back again was happy. They had already asked to book the house for the next year. After we sent him the letter his tone changed.
Did you find this review helpful?
9 0

Map

Perry's Victory and International Peace Memorial
JF Walleye's
Skipper Bud's Marina Del Isle
The Boardwalk
"The greatest place norht of Key West to enjoy the sunsets and a great dinnerl "
Nearest Airport
75 Miles
Cleveland
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Walleyes
Nearest Ferry
2 Miles
Miller Ferry, On Catawba off SR 53
Nearest Golf
0.5 Miles
Burgundy Bay
Nearest Train
75 Miles
Cleveland
Nearest Motorway
25 Miles
SR 53 and SR 163
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Walleyes
Nearest Beach
0.1 Miles
Car: not necessary

On an Island, (Middle Bass Island) Just north of Catawba Island and Port Clinton Ohio area, 300 slip marina just 1 mile away near the Miller Ferry Dock. Just a 8 minute ferry ride to Put-In-Bay. The summer is a buzz with many activities. This is a great area to get married and have a wedding or family function. Access to several Island Restaurants on our Island and many more on South Bass Island (Put - In - Bay) Enjoy the waves lapping at out 28 x 18 gathering room watching and relaxing. We have access to many fishing charters, para-sailing, jet ski's etc. Active eagles nest just down the road, enjoy a beautiful shore fire and telling old family and friend stories. Renew and visit old memories, and especially make new ones. Rent the Inn by the Room, or the entire home. July 25th weekend is Christmas in July, the first weekend in August is Barber shop quartet weekend. Mid Sept is when we celebrate New Years on the Island's. Great time and fun. In 2016 Lonz winery will open

Other Activities: Horseshoes, Boccie Ball, Corn Hole, etc

Golf: Middle Bass Island has a very small Par 2-3 course, Put in Bay has one nice course

Photos

Rates & Availability

Middle Bass Island House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
My Standard Rate
6 night minimum stay
$3,000
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $0
Refundable damage deposit $500
Tax Rate 12.5%

Weekly or Weekend rates.
No Large Functions
Christmas in July, Labor Weekend and Memorial weekends may have a surcharge to them. The tax of 12.5% is because of the local resort tax. New Marina 2010 on the Island, The State of Ohio has finalize the 300 slip marina, approximately $$16 million has been placed into the Island and the Marina. Come and enjoy the comfort the water of the Great Lakes has to offer. Water does work wonders!!! Privacy, quiet and quaint at the inn with the ability to head out and have the time of your life with many local and national groups and shows mostly on South Bass, a 10 minute ferry ride away.
The upper level and the lower level could be rented out as suites sharing the common area 18 x 28 on main floor if you do not mind that set up.Winter Rates are available upon request, the ice fishing is great in front of the Inn, we can hook you up with several outfitters. Call for room rates and availability

50% deposit to book with the balance due 2 weeks prior to our stay.

Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Ohio House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 3800 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beachfront ...
  • Lake ...
  • Lakefront ...
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking On Street
  • Telephone ...
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Freezer ...
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 12 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 4 - toilet
  • 3.5 baths, 2 upstairs are full.
Bedrooms:
  • 6 Bedrooms, Sleeps 14
  • Captain - 1 queen , Private Bath
    Ships Room - 1 queen , Shared Bath
    Blue Room - 1 double , Shared Bath
    Sunset Room - 1 double , Shared Bath
    Sunrise room - 1 double , Shared Bath
    Bedroom 6 - 1 double , Shared Bath
  • 6 bedrooms, The complete home being 3800 sq. ft also has several couches people can sleep on thus the you may be able to sleep more than 13, call for details, Families have also pitched tents and slept under the stars, with the lake waves beside you it is a wonderful experience for children to enjoy. We provide bedding and liens for no more than 13 or 6 bedrooms. Any more than that you supply, no sleeping on couches is permitted.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • VCR
Communication / Internet:
  • fax
Outside:
  • Barbecue
  • Beach Chairs
  • Bicycles
  • Binoculars
  • Boat Dock
  • Crow's Nest
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Walkway to Water
  • Wood Deck
  • 10 beach chairs
Suitability:
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair accessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
Attractions:
  • marina
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • paragliding
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
We have an Island car for emergency purposes only for the guest. The lake is 25 feet from the Inn. If you want to rent jet ski's, kayak's or parasail that is possible through Put-In-Bay. The parasail boat will pick you up in front of the Inn if you have enough people to ride it. package available where you can rent for the 1/2 afternoon. North Bass Island is just 2 miles across the water, enjoyed by bicycle and reached by boat, The STATE of OHIO owns and operates 90% of that Island as a Park. Enjoy, you paid for it through tax dollars. There is a golf course small par 2 or 3, honor system, $5.00 dollars to play. FISHING we have access to several charter captains, call for details and names and numbers. Out in front of the INN about 1/2 mile out in the lake is a drop off to 27feet where the walleye hang out. Great fishing. In the fall Walleye can be caught from many areas along the shore

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties