Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

CAPTIVATE YOUR SENSES air conditioned Villa with SPA, Pool & outdoor Jacuzzi

Sleeps12
Bedrooms 6
Bathrooms5
Space 3,444 sq. ft.
Property type farmhouse
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Overview

About the property

6 bedrooms, 5 bathrooms, all modern facilities, wifi, sauna, steam bath, dryer

Villa PRINCIPESSA is an enchanting and beautifully-restored property, once a medieval hamlet, set in with cypress, magnolia and weeping willow trees, in the noble bespoke estate of VILLA REALE DI MARLIA which was the countryside villa of Elisa Bonaparte, the sister of Napoleon, who have been the Princess of Lucca from 1805 to 1814. This Tuscan retreat has great charm and its renovation has been designed to offer the latest technologies and comfort along with old world charm, such as SAUNA, STEAM BATH, AIR CONDITIONING IN EACH ROOM OF THE HOUSE, ENSUITE BATHROOMS FOR EACH BEDROOM, POOL TABLE, PRIVATE SWIMMING POOL WITH A JACUZZI AREA, 55INCH FLAT TV WITH SATELLITE SKY CHANNELS, DVD PLAYER, VERY RELIABLE HIGH SPEED WIFI CONNECTION THROUGHOUT, CLOTHES DRYER.

COMPOSITION:

GROUND FLOOR: Living rooms with fireplace, dining room + separate fully equipped kitchen opening onto the outdoor porch/dining area equipped with a big barbeque, dining table for 12 people, chairs, sofas and outdoor living area facilities, the SPA room with steam bath and sauna along with a relax corner and shower.

FIRST FLOOR: 5 bedrooms. Each bedroom has a superb en-suite bathroom that are individually temperature controlled (heating and air-conditioning). The bathrooms are also linked to a central music system and are equipped with hairdryers and pool towels.

SECOND FLOOR:

A delightful and elegant suite bedroom with ensuite bathroom, a grand living room with pool table, roulette and card table, sofas and a 55inch satellite flat tv with Sky channels and DVD player.

More Details

Property Manager
Mrs Sonia
Member since: 2005
Speaks: english, french, german, spanish, portuguese, russian, italian, dutch, swedish, greek, czech, danish, norwegian, polish, hungarian, arabic, finnish, turkish
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
December 18, 2017

About Mrs Sonia

Hallo everyone! My name is SONIA and I am from Lucca. I run my Lucca Holiday Rentals company that offers exceptional apartments in the heart of Lucca. My goal is to help you fall in love with Lucca – to discover, explore, taste and savor new sights and experiences in this incredible city.

My company began almost 10 years ago when I started to rent my family villa after my parents moved to the mountains when they got retired. I spent there my entire childhood and I grew up there in deep contact with the nature and the history. My father thaught me everything about the birds and the antique trees and flowers of the villa and the smell of the sizzling pans used to wake me up each Sunday morning after my mum started to cook! I was fascinated by her when she was telling me the history of the villa in the past century. I thought this kind of feelings are too precious to let them go so then I had the idea to share my love of Lucca and “la dolce Vita” by finding beautiful apartments , villas and farmhouses in my favorite Lucca neighborhoods among my family members properties. Lucca Holiday Rentals started out as a boutique family company and now there are over 15 people working together. We are a friendly and enthusiastic team who will assist you every step of the way, from your first enquiry to your arrival in Lucca.

Mrs Sonia purchased this farmhouse in 2015

Why Mrs Sonia chose Lucca

Your Lucca experience begins with where you stay, and we offer you a warm home on the rolling hills of Lucca or in the heart of the walled town. Each of our property is carefully hand picked to ensure it meets our standards of authenticity and warmth, including outstanding locations in authentic Lucca neighborhoods. Find fully remodeled kitchens and bathrooms, comfortable beds with quality linens, exceptional locations, breathtaking terraces and panoramic views. When you reserve, we open our address book and share our favorite Lucca resources with you to help you plan and enjoy your stay – from excellent tour guides to cooking classes, private chefs, favorite restaurants and cafés to the best pastry shops in the neighborhood. Relax, explore, and enjoy each day to the fullest, experiencing a vacation in Lucca that you’ll remember for a lifetime!

What makes this farmhouse unique

My goal is to offer you an extraordinary experience in one of Forbe’s Best Town in the World by enhancing your vacation and helping you to explore and experience the delights of living in Lucca.

Me and my helpful and knowledgeable team will guide you through your vacation planning process and help you choose the perfect apartment for your stay. When you’ve booked, the adventure begins. Want to explore the open air markets near your apartment, take a cooking lesson, relax on the Walls at sunset or hire a chef to cook dinner in your apartment? Based on our many years in Lucca, we happily share our resources and favorite suggestions for our guests so you can savor the fun of living like a local during your stay.

Amenities

Lucca Farmhouse Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • farmhouse
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 3444 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 12
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Mountain
  • Rural
  • Town
  • Village
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Farm Holidays
  • Historic
  • Holiday Resort
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Fireplace
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Tumble Dryer
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 12 people
Bathrooms:
  • 5 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , shower , bidet , This bathroom comes with a big bathtub for two
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower , bidet , This bathroom has a built in shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower , bidet , This bathroom has a built in shower
    Bathroom 4 - toilet , shower , bidet , This bathroom has a built in shower
    Bathroom 5 - toilet , shower , bidet , This bathroom has a built in shower
Bedrooms:
  • 6 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , 1 child bed , 1 baby crib , Baby crib or child bed can be added upon request
    Bedroom 2 - 1 king
    Bedroom 3 - 1 king
    Bedroom 4 - 1 king
    Bedroom 5 - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 6 - 1 queen
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Game Room
  • Games
  • Pool Table
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
Outside:
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Porch / Veranda
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
  • Private Pool
  • Sauna
Onsite Services:
  • Massage
  • Private Chef
  • Staff
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • autumn foliage
  • bay/sound
  • botanical garden
  • caves
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • duty free shops
  • forests
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • nude beach
  • playground
  • pond
  • rain forests
  • recreation center
  • reefs
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • synagogues
  • theme parks
  • volcano
  • water parks
  • waterfalls
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • paragliding
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • ski lift privileges
  • ski privileges optional
  • skiing
  • snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • spelunking
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(12 traveler reviews)

83% Complete
8% Complete
8% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
CAPTIVATE YOUR SENSES air conditioned Villa with SPA, Pool & outdoor Jacuzzi
average rating of 4.75 based on 12 reviews
5

Typical Tuscan Villa

  • 5 of 5

We stayed a week and loved the location and feel of the property. It is prefect for a big family reunion. You do have to keep up on the daily trash duties and be conciseness of the electricity you are using, but other then this it is fine. The 200 euro limit on electricity is doable with a family of 8 adults and 4 kids, even using the sauna and bath and pool, we were slightly over on our usage, but they waved the 10 euros at check out and took care of the remaining trash we had left.

It was difficult to find the place, it is better to use the coordinates with google maps not the address that is provided.

Make sure to ask how to use the sauna and bath, it is not straight forward and we had look up the manual on line.

  • Submitted: Oct 26, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your kind review Joseph! We always pick up our customers at the highway exit to escort them to the property to provide hasslefree stay and because the italian countryside is not well represented on maps. Next time we suggest you to take advantage of my 'pick up and escort to the villa service' instead of driving alone so we can show you the shortest way to get there. See you again soon! Sonia
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

Fabulous pool and spacious welcoming house

  • 4 of 5

This house was perfect for my family, including grandparents ( my husband and I ) our 3 grown children with spouses and 4 grandchildren under 5. The house deserves 4.5, only because of an internet problem. The internet stopped working and we were without connection for 4 days. We complained and finally got a new modem which was great, but why not sooner. In fairness the owner did not charge me for an 80 euro overcharge on electricity, but no internet was a pain and expensive for me to use my phone.

Many of the reviews highlighted Sonia whom we never met and thus did not get input on local recommendations.

We did have Alice Dami who prepared 3 excellent meals for us. Each meal was progressively better as she got to know our tastes. She was professional as was her assistant.Thefood and wine delicious and plentiful. Such lovely evenings with nice table set with flowers and good food. Strongly recommend .

You can not go wrong with this house. I would not change the accommodations, but more local input would have been nice

  • Submitted: Jul 31, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you! Next time please ask if you need local recomendations! You called me 3 days prior departure and immediately provided a suggestion on a public pool to spend your last day after the departure.. so not sure why you are saying that I did not provide any suggestion. Also you have been assisted by Mrs Alice Dami who is my employee.. I sent ther to the house and I suggested you to have her cooking at the house when you requested it when you made the booking. The lack of internet connection was the phone company's fault and beyond our control. We immediately provided a portable router and the company fixed the problem in 4 days. I thought we were enough efficient. My goal is to provide the best experience to my guests and your words of appreciation are so much appreciated! Thanks for choosing one of my properties! Sonia
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
5

Beautiful freshly renovated house with great pool

  • 5 of 5

Our large extended family of 9 enjoyed staying here very much. Highlight was pool among the olives, Multiple bedrooms many with own bath, recently renovated. Beautiful shaded patio where we had dinners several nights. Alice and her helper prepared and served a couple of wonderful meals with excellent local wine. House has AC in all bedrooms and most living areas - kept temps at 22 deg C while we had some hot daytime highs of 30-33 deg C. ( it dumps heat in pool so on hot afternoons the pool is extra warm). An old cobble stone road is on way up - take it slow. Beautiful walk up road into hills and overlooks if you like. Have them send you picture of driveway - a sign would be quite helpful. Italian recycling requires more sorting than here in US with a different kind picked up very early each day, but we found that down hill on edge of town there were public cans to toss the bags in at our convienence. Esselunga is a great supermarket near by with cafe. Take a bike ride on wide walkway on top of tree shaded walls of Lucca for treat.

  • Submitted: Jul 25, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: My goal is to provide the best experience to my guests and your words of appreciation are so much appreciated! Thanks for choosing one of my properties! Sonia
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
3

A good house but some genuine misgivings

  • 3 of 5

Overall a good house, however we had some genuine misgivings in terms of how the holiday was managed by the owner/her representatives.

Positives: a beautiful house that has been expertly renovated. A lovely pool. A great location (short drive from Pisa, close to Florence, very close to Lucca). A beautiful setting.

Negatives: at the end of the stay we were charged for additional costs totalling €155. It was not clear when we booked the property that this could happen. As we were told to give a €500 security deposit on arrival, this money was simply taken from us at the end of the holiday. We disputed the basis of the charges but had no recourse. Further explanation of this is given below.

€125 was for electricity use over the cap of €200. We were a party of nine adults that did not overuse electricity beyond what could be expected. We were there in April and so did not use the air con. We used the sauna once. The weather was mild so we did not need heating - we dutifully turned down the thermostats on a daily basis (instructions on how to use the heating system would have been useful). I honestly do not know how we could have been more mindful of our energy consumption.

€30 was for disposal of rubbish. An explanation of this charge was written on the underside of a piece of paper detailing the electricity meter readings, however none of us saw this and it was not explained on arrival. I feel this charge is rather cynical. Without going into too much detail, it would be impossible to leave the house and not leave any rubbish behind. This is because the authorities pick up one type of rubbish/recycling per day (there are several types). So on the last day you will without doubt be left with several bags of rubbish and/or recycling. The only option would be to dispose of this yourself, however no details were given of where this could be done, or indeed that we would need to do this.

These unexpected charges meant we ended our holiday feeling upset, and as though we were being unfairly taken advantage of.

  • Submitted: Apr 19, 2017
  • Stayed: March 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
9 2
Sydney, Australia
5

A memorable villa with pool in Lucca Tuscany

  • 5 of 5

This place is flat out wonderful! Not only it is clean and neat and lovingly cared for, but look around you! Every little detail is done to perfection. In short, it's just what you want a tuscan farmhouse villa in a 1st century Tuscan hillside hamlet to look like. The pictures on here do not do this place justice. Having a private SPA with a brand new finnish sauna and steam bath was a real bonus. We never found a villa like this before.

Having a car is great so you can explore all the famous hill towns as well as Lucca town centre and its wine country, all of which are easy day trips. Lucca town centre is at less than 10 minutes drive! We especially enjoyed Lucca, the hills around the villa and Montecarlo. The nearby village of Matraia is nice to see and provides you with an excellent supermarket and amazing little groceries and easy access to roads leading everywhere. Sonia is on the premises every day to guide you around the area, providing very helpful information on parking, tours, restaurants, etc. (Her English is very good, by the way.) She totally understands customer service and obviously enjoys being the proprietor of this lovely place. She might even give you a whiff of her own homegrown and heavenly olive oil. On the sad day when we left the villa, I promised Sonia I would write her a glowing review and recommend it to everyone. And indeed I do! Thank you Sonia for a memorable week in Tuscany!

  • Submitted: Jan 20, 2016
  • Stayed: December 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: It was very nice to meet all of you, your family s great! Hope to see you again in the future!
Did you find this review helpful?
12 0
Lancaster
5

relaxing week in Tuscany

  • 5 of 5

We celebrated two wedding anniversaries, our 20th and my sister and brother-in-law's 25th by taking our family on a trip to Italy. There were 6 adults and 6 teenagers and after a week touring Rome and Florence, we spent our second week relaxing at villa principesa Elisa. We took a few day trips to Lucca, Cinque Terre, and Pisa. Everyone enjoyed their stay so much that it was hard to leave the Villa and come back to reality. The grounds were/are absolutely beautiful. There are olive trees, plum trees, pear trees, and vineyard. We were welcomed with several bottles of olive oil, wine, fresh fruit and vegetables, all of which came from the grounds at the villa. There is a beautiful pool which we swam in everyday as it was heated and the spa was the highlight. Chef Cristina cooked some fabulous Italian meals during our stay -- thank you Sonia for helping us plan a trip of a lifetime! What a beautiful trip and such wonderful people that we met -- we hope to come back!

  • Submitted: Dec 4, 2015
  • Stayed: November 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking time to write the review. It was very nice to meet you and I am glad you all enjoyed your time at the house and that you had great time in Lucca! Best regards, Sonia :)
Did you find this review helpful?
15 0

Map

Nearest Airport
18 Kilometres
PISA and FLORENCE
Nearest Golf
18 Kilometres
MONTECATINI
Nearest Train
9 Kilometres
LUCCA CENTRAL STATION
Nearest Motorway
9 Kilometres
LUCCA EST
Nearest Restaurant
1 Kilometres
BOTTEGHINO
Nearest Beach
20 Kilometres
VIAREGGIO and FORTE DEI MARMI
Car: necessary

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Fees No additional mandatory fees

THE 2 STEPS to MAKE A RESERVATION:

1. ONLINE BOOKING: book and pay in full online through Homeaway using your credit card (renter has to pay 2.7% credit card fee at arrival). Cancelled booking will not receive a refund.

2. DIRECT BOOKING: Receive a written rental agreement and then decide if to pay a deposit of approx 30% of the rental amount to secure the booking by wire bank transfer or alternatively phone me and just pay a deposit by credit card of approx 30% of the rental amount to secure the booking. No fees are applied. The balance can be paied at a later stage by wire bank transfer or upon arrival.
CANCELLATION POLICIES: For DIRECT BOOKINGS in the event of cancellation, for any reason including health, the deposit is forfeited. In case the cancellation is within 90 days of the start of the rental dates, the full rental balance is payable as well. If the cancellation is over 90 days from the start of the rental dates, the balance will not be requested. Cancelled ONLINE BOOKINGS will not receive a refund. I recommend CSA travel insurance in the event your plans change or emergencies arise.

Prices include: final cleanings after departure of the guests, laundry (towels and linens), wi-fi, air conditioning, sat tv, electricity, hot water, gas, the booking service and the whole assistance of Mrs Sonia and her staff before and during the whole stay. There are no extra charges to pay.

Minimum stay is 1 week

Winter heating is charged extra according to comsuption.

Legal Notes: Self Catering property: no hotel staff, no maid, no breakfast or meals provided by the owner, no hotel services during the stay.

A fully refundable security deposit of 500 euros is requested against big damages. The deposit is given back at the end of the stay. To guarantee the amount an invoice will be issued.


The above shown price the include electricity for a normal comsuption up to 200 euros weekly while the difference is charged according to comsuption.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

Canceled bookings will not receive a refund

You might like these similar properties