check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

'Yellow Bird' - One Bedroom Luxurious Penthouse Apartment With Rooftop Terrace

Sleeps3
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 1 - 14 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview


Details
Property
apartment
Sleeps
3
Bedrooms
1
Bathrooms
1
Minimum Stay
1 - 14 nights

Description

Mount Standfast Apartment Rental Photos and Description

Exclusive Sugar Hill Apartment. Gated community. Beach Club Membership.

Enjoy the warm sun and relaxation of Barbados from Yellow Bird, this beautiful newly refurbished apartment based in Sugar Hill.

Named after the famous Yellow Bird of Barbados, the apartment overlooks lush tropical gardens and one of the two swimming pools with distant views of the Caribbean. As well as enjoying stunning views from both the dining and secluded rooftop terrace, you will be able to relax and unwind with privacy in this peaceful haven.

Very near to the fine dining restaurants of Barbados' West Coast, as well as more local bars and restaurants where you can sample some of the delicious Bajan dishes. Or why not enjoy alfresco wining and dining in Yellow Bird beneath the stars. Take your pick between the dining terrace or the rooftop terrace where you can sip your cocktails or even enjoy a BBQ.

Yellow Bird is very close to the amenities of upmarket Holetown as well as some of the most stunning beaches in Barbados. It comes with complimentary membership of the Fairmont Pavilion Beach Club and Sugar Hill Club.

In the apartment you will find all the mod cons you would expect and there is air conditioning in both the bedroom and lounge/kitchen. It has had a complete refurbishment with significant input from the famous Coral Island Interiors who has won 4 'Best Interior Design' Awards in the International Property Awards. Maid service twice weekly (more at extra charge) and if you require a welcome pack this can be arranged.

Please note this is a no smoking apartment throughout.

More Details
Suitability:
  • non smoking only
  • not suitable for children
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible

Owner
Kate
Member since: 2015
Speaks: english
Calendar last updated:
November 27, 2016

About Kate

Although I am British, I was lucky enough to spend my early childhood years in the Caribbean, particularly Barbados. My husband and I have been going out to Barbados for many years for our holidays and we know the island very well. We live in Cambridge in the UK.

Kate purchased this apartment in 2015

Why Kate chose St. James

Obviously Barbados has a very special significance for me because of my time there as a child but putting that aside I love everything about the island. The people are so friendly and always make you feel welcome where ever you go. It is a very safe place and we love to just hire a car and get lost on the island! I like the laid back culture and I particularly enjoy the local food and the rum shacks as well as the upmarket international restaurants on the West Coast. I like the contrast between the sophisticated West Coast with its calm Caribbean waters and the unspoilt, often deserted coast of the rougher Atlantic East side.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(13 traveler reviews)

'Yellow Bird' - One Bedroom Luxurious Penthouse Apartment With Rooftop Terrace
average rating of 4.5384617 based on 13 reviews
5

Fantastic

  • 5 of 5

Yellow Bird is a fantastic property within the lovely Sugar Hill Community. Spotlessly clean and has everything that you could possibly need, plus the benefit of access to the Fairmont Pavillion Beach club which is great. Very tranquil but only 5 minutes drive to Holetown. There is also access to a great clubhouse with a lovely new bar/restaurant called Carizma on the Hill, definitely worth a visit. Can't wait to go back.

  • Submitted: Nov 17, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for this lovely review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay in Yellow Bird and enjoyed Sugar Hill with all its amenities. I will pass your compliments about the cleanliness to Phil, my wonderful housekeeper. I'm very happy to your comments about the new restaurant in the clubhouse - Carizma on the Hill. I'm looking forward to trying it myself! I hope to welcome you back again.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Not worth it - Much better options around the island - Be careful

  • 1 of 5

Sugar Hills suppose to be a luxury condo, but during our 3 nights stay there were several water cuts, last one for 6 hours the day we were departing, what means a +10 hours way back home with no possibility to have a shower before depart.

The apartment was not as good as it looks at the pictures. Place is plenty of mosquitos.

There is no option to have lunch, dinner or buy food inside Sugar Hills or nearby, so rent a car is mandatory, or you will be stacked in a place with nothing to do and 3-5km to the beach.

Regarding the beach Club at Fairmont is not a proper access to the Hotel facilities, but only allow you to use a 100m beach front on the left side, full of stones, where is not possible to swim. Hotel staff look that they don't really like people that are not guests staying there.

Best beaches of the island are at the other side (1 hour away) and the west coast is only popular because of its super expensive resorts, but with average beaches that you can find anywhere else. Better to stay close to Bottom Bay / The Crane on that are the real amazing spots.

Huge amount (equivalent to three nights stay) is charged for deposit in your credit card (not only as guarantee but deduced), after almost one month I have not received it back (not even partially), and if it's not solve urgently I would have to claim in all posibles ways.

As we had so much inconveniences the day we departed for the water cut, we forgot to leave the paper cards membership of the Fairmont at the apartment and the housekepper was not there to verify everything at the check out. The day after, owner contacted us asking for the passes and we proceed to send them back immediately by postal service, but obviously it takes some days for them to arrive as we come from far and Barbados is also a remote place.

The owner took the unilateral decision of deduce equivalent to one night stay of the deposit for the replacement of the cards (USD5-10 would have been reasonable), even when she was advised not to do it under any circumstance, cause I disagreed, but the worst of all is that cards are under way and she would have both the originals and replacements in a few days. That makes me think that is only a strategy to gather more passes taking advantage of the clients.

I'm very disappointed, and for all this reasons I wouldn't recommend anyone to visit the place or be involved in any way with the owner!

  • Submitted: Nov 19, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Mr Gonzalez Sanchez I am sorry that you feel that you have had to write such a bitter and inaccurate review. I have now waited 3 weeks for the return of the Fairmont Pavilion Beach Club passes but my property manager has still not received them. For this reason I have had to deduct the price to have these replaced from your security deposit. They are needed for future guests. Just to make it clear at this point, that it is the Fairmont Pavilion Beach Club who set and charge the amount that is required to issue replacement cards. The rest of the security deposit is now being returned to you.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Sweet little apartment

  • 4 of 5

A friend and I spent a few nights at Yellow Bird and it was mostly lovely. The restaurant/bar was closed which meant a drive for dinner but we also did some grocery shopping and the kitchen at the apartment is very well equipped. We had a bit of a frustrating time with the AC - there are sensors on them and they would just randomly stop working (in the middle of the night, if we were watching TV or sitting reading, etc). The windows and doors have to be closed for it to work, which is great, except that the windows are wooden slats so when you close them the little apartment feels very dark. Overall it was a good stay - really nice pools and nice and quiet. Definitely do need a car to get around. Nice to be able to use the chair at the beach.

  • Submitted: Nov 8, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your lovely review. I'm very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Sugar Hill and had taken advantage of the facilities at the Royal Fairmont Pavilion Beach Club. The restaurant was closed for a period of time while work was done on the premises in preparation for the new restaurant, Carizma on the Hill, to open. This is now up and running. I am sorry to hear that you had problems with the air conditioning. The sensors work so that if someone is in the room they are supposed to detect movement and therefore stay on as long as all the windows and doors are shut. The air con unit should not randomly stop working if this was the case. I will draw my Property Manager's attention to this to make sure it is functioning properly. I hope to welcome you back to Yellow Bird in the future.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful and exactly as described

  • 5 of 5

Our stay at the Yellow Bird was absolutely fantastic. There was great communication before and during our stay including helping us out with a later checkout due to our evening flight home. The apartment is exactly as it appears in the photographs and we loved the dining area and roof terrace. It is extremely clean and has a fantastically well stocked kitchen. The aircon was needed and worked very well. The access to the Fairmont Beach Club was a huge bonus as it would be a shame to be in Barbados and not be by the beach - we went there every day! Overall you won't be disappointed with anything at Yellow Bird and the price is extremely good for the area. Thank you for a great stay!

  • Submitted: Oct 30, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for this wonderful review! It's great to hear how much you liked staying at Yellow Bird and how much you enjoyed the added bonus of The Royal Fairmont Pavilion Beach Club. I agree, it is a lovely beach - one of the prettiest on the West Coast. It was no problem at all accommodating a late check out for you. I hope you will come back again to enjoy another stay here!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Suffolk,UK.
5

No hesitation in recommending.

  • 5 of 5

The Apartment is exactly as described, in a beautiful and peaceful location up on Sugar Hill, but only a 5 minute drive down to the Shopping, Beaches, Bars and Restaurants of Holetown. Speightstown is about a further 10 minutes away and Bridgetown about another 15.

Car hire is the best way to go, although there is a good & cheap Public Transport system all over the Island. It would be quite a walk to the nearest Bus Stop though, so a car is recommended, and you do get to see a lot more of this beautiful Island.

The whole process of booking Yellow Bird was very easy and the owner was quick in responding to any queries.

Everything in the Apartment was spotless, and during our stay was kept that way by the delightful Ms.Phil.

Thank you for allowing us to use your wonderful Apartment, we will be booking it again!

Geoff & Yvonne Mason.

  • Submitted: Sep 30, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your lovely review! I am very happy that you both had such a wonderful time in Barbados and enjoyed staying in Yellow Bird. I look forward to welcoming you again in the not too distant future! Best wishes, Kate
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Our first choice in Barbados from now on

  • 5 of 5

This has been our fifth stay in various parts of Barbados, but the first on Sugar Hill. On entering the apartment you can immediately relax because everything is exactly as described and shown in the pictures, and you know at once you have chosen the right place. So I won’t go into detail as you can trust the description and images 100%.

What the images can’t adequately convey, though, is the beauty, tranquility and serenity of the landscaped park-like grounds, which you can enjoy from the large roof terrace, which offers a glimpse of the ocean and is as perfect for watching the sun rise in the morning as for star-gazing at night; or the balcony, where you can have your meals with the palm trees swaying in front of you. This is also the lovely view you will wake up to each morning. The interior layout is well-planned and we also chose Yellowbird because, unlike other properties, it has A/C in the bed- and living-room. Thanks to the added outdoor spaces, though, you can spend all your waking hours outside, which is perfect.

The grounds and the larger pool facing the sea are stunning; the pool directly below the apartment was perfect for relaxing. As August is the low season, everything was really quiet and easy-going, with just a few families enjoying their stay as much as we were.

The housekeeper, who comes twice a week, keeps everything absolutely spotless; there is a great supply of high-quality linen and (pool) towels; and the kitchen is probably better stocked than ours at home.

Being on an island you naturally want to enjoy the beach and watersports, and that is why I would choose Sugar Hill over other communities, as staying in Yellowbird comes with membership in the Royal Fairmont beach club, which is arguably on one of the loveliest stretches of the beautiful West Coast: adjacent to Glitter Bay with its clear, turquoise water and powdery sand, where you can actually watch turtles hatch. There are enough sunbeds and umbrellas, so it never felt crowded, and the sunsets are picture perfect and difficult to say good-bye to after three weeks.

Communication with Kate and her property management team was efficient and reliable from the start; the fridge was stocked with the groceries we had asked for; and our request for a late-checkout was kindly granted as no other guests were expected on the day of our departure. So everything went smoothly from the minute I sent Kate the first request, which I hope will not have been our last.

  • Submitted: Sep 10, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for such a wonderful review. I am so glad to hear how much you enjoyed staying in Yellow Bird and on Sugar Hill. It is indeed just how you describe it - tranquil and relaxing! I'm very happy that you would like to stay here again - that is the greatest compliment I could ask for. I look forward to welcoming you again in the very near future. Warm regards Kate
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
20 Miles
Grantley Adams Airport 40 minutes drive
Nearest Barpub
200 Metres
Carizma on the Hill, Sugar Hill Club House
Nearest Restaurant
200 Metres
Carizma on the Hill, Sugar Hill Club House
Nearest Beach
1.5 Miles
Fairmont Pavilion Beach club 5 minutes drive
Car: necessary

Yellow Bird is within 5 minutes drive of pretty Holetown where you will find all essential amenities. It has a large supermarket, a post office, a patisserie, banks, garage, medical centre and a hardware store. You will also find duty free shopping, boutique shops as well as famous fashion shops such as Ralph Lauren, Cartier and Louis Vuitton in upmarket Lime Grove with its modern cinema. Holetown also offers a big choice of restaurants and bars.

Also within 5 minutes drive is the Fairmont Pavilion Beach Club to which you have complimentary membership. This offers water sports, loungers, a bar and outside café/restaurant and is set on one of the island's prettiest beaches.

Sugar Hill Estate itself has a clubhouse which offers an infinity swimming pool, 4 tennis courts, another large swimming pool, gym and a restaurant. This is all 2 minutes walk from the apartment.

Further afield but still within easy car driving distance are numerous attractions such as Sunbury Plantation House, Harrisons Cave, The Flower Forest, the Mount Gay Rum Factory (lunch and tour) and Earthworks Pottery. A trip to the unspoilt and often deserted beaches such as Bottom Bay on the South-East Coast will take about an hour and of course a trip into the historical capital Bridgetown should not be missed. There you will find lots of duty free shopping, good quality restaurants, a museum and an attractive harbour where you can pick up a catamaran cruise for the day.

There is so much to do and see on this beautiful island that we would be very pleased to send out an information pack with our own personal recommendations in it when you book the property.

Rates & Availability

Mount Standfast Apartment Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
GBP
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
December
Dec 1 2016 - Dec 19 2016
3 night minimum stay
$201
$1,258
 
 
Christmas
Dec 20 2016 - Jan 3 2017
7 night minimum stay
$2,012
 
 
Medium
Jan 4 2017 - Apr 1 2017
3 night minimum stay
$220
$1,509
 
 
Low 2017
Apr 2 2017 - Aug 31 2017
3 night minimum stay
$151
$1,056
 
 
September special 2017
Sep 1 2017 - Sep 30 2017
3 night minimum stay
$94
$629
 
 
Low 2017
Oct 1 2017 - Nov 30 2017
3 night minimum stay
$151
$1,056
 
 
December 2017
Dec 1 2017 - Dec 19 2017
3 night minimum stay
$201
$1,283
 
 
Christmas 2017
Dec 20 2017 - Jan 3 2018
14 night minimum stay
$2,050
 
 
High Season 2018
Jan 4 2018 - Apr 1 2018
3 night minimum stay
$226
$1,540
 
 
My Standard Rate
1 night minimum stay
$207
$1,446
 

Additional information about rental rates

Fees No additional mandatory fees
Refundable damage deposit $377

Please note that the owner only accepts online payments through the Owners Direct website. Cash, cheques or bank transfers are not accepted. A £300 security deposit is taken when the balance of the holiday is paid. This is held by Owners Direct, not the owner, and authorisation for it to be returned will be given after the inventory on the property has been completed by Sotheby's. It will be returned within two weeks of the end of the holiday and put on the same card that was used to pay for the holiday with.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 0% refund if canceled at least 0 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Mount Standfast Apartment Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 1
Building Type:
  • building
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Included
Location Type:
  • Near The Ocean
  • Rural
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Tumble Dryer
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
  • Double sink and shower. All towels provided including beach towels.
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 3
  • Bedroom 1 - King size bed
  • One kingsize bed, wardrobe space, safe and dressing table. There is an additional pull out sofa bed in the lounge. Air conditioning in both the bedroom and lounge. All linen provided.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Tennis ...
Suitability:
  • non smoking only ...
  • not suitable for children ...
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
Onsite Services:
  • Concierge
  • Private Chef
  • Staff
Attractions:
  • bay/sound
  • caves
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • duty free shops
  • forests
  • marina
  • museums
  • reefs
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
Notes:
The concierge at the Sugar Hill Club House can arrange restaurant bookings, taxis, car hire, tours and provide all kinds of information. The Property Manager of Yellow Bird can provide taxis for airport pickups, a welcome grocery pack, extra maid cleaning and even the service of a private chef.

Partner Offers