check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Rent My Island

Member since: 2004
Call Owner
Speaks: english

2 bedroom, 2 bath Home on PRIVATE TROPICAL ISLAND W/ Boat, Dock, Decks, Kayaks

16 Reviews
Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Marathon House Rental Photos and Description

2 Bedroom/2 bath House on PRIVATE ISLAND, Sleeps 4-6, Boat/Kayaks included!!

WHAT IS UNIQUE ABOUT THIS VACATION RENTAL?

This vacation rental puts you on your own private tropical island in the Gulf of Mexico. To enhance your stay this property has city running water and city electric. You have your own 17 foot boat for the entire week!

ARE WE THE ONLY PEOPLE ON THE ISLAND?

Your family or group will be the only people on Pretty Joe Rock. This beautiful island, the great views of the Gulf of Mexico, the motor boat and everything else on the island is exclusively yours for your entire stay.

HOW MANY PEOPLE CAN WE HAVE ON THE PRETTY JOE ROCK?

Our rental license allows up to 6 people to stay in the 2 bedroom home overnight. We have a king bed in the master bedroom and a double in the second. We also have a sofa in the living room and one in the screen porch, as well as a roll-away twin bed available upon request.

HOW DO WE GET TO AND FROM THE ISLAND?

We provide you a newer 17 foot center console boat with Yamaha, 50HP, 4 cycle engine to get to and from the island, which is only a couple minutes from shore. You can also use the boat to go fishing, go out to eat, or sightseeing during day light hours on the gulf side.

HOW DOES THE ELECTRIC AND WATER WORK ON AN ISLAND?

We have the only PRIVATE vacation rental island in the Florida Keys with both ELECTRIC and WATER piped out to the island from the mainland. What that means for you is that the water & electric works just like it would in the average home.

WHAT ELSE DO I NEED TO KNOW ABOUT RENTING THIS ISLAND?

Pretty Joe Rock rents from Sunday to Sunday. The boat provided is for daylight use only.

WHAT IS ALL INCLUDED WITH PRETTY JOE ROCK?

OUTSIDE: A 17’ 2012 Triumph boat with 2013 4-stroke motor, boat dock, multi-level deck, wrap-around boardwalk, screened porch, hammocks, kayaks, fishing poles, a gas grill, fish cleaning station and of course incredible sunrises & sunsets.

INSIDE: Fully Equipped Kitchen with Breakfast Bar, A/C, Satellite TV, DVD, WIFI, a washer/dryer, Sunken Jacuzzi Tub, Romantic Glass Enclosed Shower and more.

WHAT SURPRISES MIGHT WE HAVE?

The crystal clear waters around the island are visited by a variety of wildlife including dolphins, manatees, sting ray, lobster, crab, octopus, Barracuda, parrot and angel fish, to name a few. Some of which are residents of the underside of the island. Snorkeling would be the best way to visit them. We also have the above-water visitors and residents which would include roosting pelicans, great herons as well as some very friendly Iguana’s.

DON'T MISS OUT ON THIS RARE VACATION OPPORTUNITY

CALL 262.650.0246 NOW!!!

Rent My LCC is licensed by the city of Marathon to do vacation rentals. We follow all city and state regulations for our properties. (License - PLR2010-00128)

More Details
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • alternative lifestyle
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Rent My Island (Owner)
Member since: 2004
Call Owner
Speaks: english

About Rent My Island

We fell in love with the Florida Keys back in the 1980 when we took our first trip there. We toured the Keys from the water in a catamaran. We bought our first place in the Florida Keys shortly after. We love owning all these properties in the Keys because it gives us a reason to come down from Wisconsin a couple times a year. We are looking to retire to the Keys someday.

Rent My Island purchased this house in 2008

Why Rent My Island chose Central Florida Keys

It is such a romantic and unique thing, being on your own private tropical island. We wanted to share that amazing feeling with others.

What makes this house unique

We love this romantic tropical island home. The Master Bath has a sunken Jacuzzi tub and a cool exposed shower. Having all the comforts of home and the unique things you only get on a private island make this a truly great experience.

Guestbook comments from the owner

3 Guest comments from same family:

1)

Best Fuzzy headed vacation ever! Family and a tropical island what more can you ask for!?

2)

Recommendations: Fish This Seafood Market for seafood and steaks to bring to the island; Dolphin Research Center; Walgreens for liquor; No Name Pub on Big Pine Key; Relay, Have Fun!!!

3)

This was the best vacation ever. It is so hard to leave. We swam with dolphins, stingray, lobster, giant fish and much more. There is no doubt we will be coming back. All the stress just melts away. Not a care in the world! Have a great vacation.
Feb 2014
  • 1 of 11

Reviews

4.8
based on 16 traveler reviews

2 bedroom, 2 bath Home on PRIVATE TROPICAL ISLAND W/ Boat, Dock, Decks, Kayaks
average rating of 4.75 based on 27 reviews
Hollywood, Fl
5

Vacation in paradise

  • 5 of 5

This island is a beautiful place to stay and I will definitely be returning in the future. The island house is spacious and clean, and the water surrounding the island is filled with sea life you can see by snorkeling or just looking over the dock. The owners are also very kind and accommodating people. I would recommend this vacation spot to anyone who loves to wake up to a beautiful ocean sunrise and later fall asleep to a breathtaking sunset.

  • Submitted: Jun 9, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Best Vacation Of My Life!

  • 5 of 5

I absolutely loved my trip to Pretty Joe Rock! The entire house was like a tropical dream! The views from every window where beautiful and I felt like I was a celebrity on vacation. We were also close to great restaurants. I was adventurous one of the days and used the rental kayaks to explore. Best vacation ever! I am already planning my next trip to Pretty Joe Rock!!

  • Submitted: Jun 8, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for taking the time to share your experience with our future guests. We hope to see you back next year.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Relaxation at it's finest!

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I booked this to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary. When we arrived, Blake was there to show us around and give us some suggestions on fishing, sightseeing and dinning. When we walked in the house we were just amazed at the beautiful views from every window in the house. The house was clean. The house had enough pots, pan, dishes, and towels for your needs. Some seasonings and condiments are at the house so I suggest making a grocery list after you have inspected the cabinets and refrigerator before going to the grocery store. We were able to catch lobster and cook it that same night. Best dinner we have ever had! The kayaks were a blast. Dinner on the deck at sunset every night was amazing. We watched a sea turtle give us a show everyday. We saw an octopus and have some amazing video of it. A couple of suggestions...a diver down flag would have made us feel more safe while snorkeling. The cabinets in the bathrooms need repairs. The only negative thing for me was the iguanas. I thought the island only had a couple and they were everywhere! My husband seemed to be amused by them. We would love to stay there again!!!

  • Submitted: Oct 27, 2015
  • Stayed: Oct 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
virginia
5

A perfect getaway

  • 5 of 5

This was our second trip to the keys but our first time renting Pretty Joe Rock. We loved it so much that I can't imagine staying anywhere else for future visits to the Keys. This was a perfect location a private island that wasn't too far from shore so we could easily boat over to the private dock, get into our car and drive off to dinner or where ever we went for the day. Loved that kayaks were provided for rental use and really enjoyed just kayaking in the bay. The kids enjoyed snorkeling around the island looking for lobsters. The island even had a juvenile sea turtle that I watched swimming every morning. I also enjoyed trying to spot the island iguana (still not sure if there was more than one but there is at least one fairly big one). Great view of the sunrise from the boat dock deck sitting on the bench swing and an even better view of the sunset from the deck with lounge chairs. Basically trying to convey that if you want a great rental that is in itself a vacation this is it.

  • Submitted: Aug 18, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Pretty Joe Rock Paradise

  • 5 of 5

We spent six days at this piece of paradise for a truly relaxing vacation. Our island home for the week was perfect...excellent accommodations and spectacular views from the dock and the decks. Use of the included boat afforded us opportunities to fish and cruise in the area. We could not have asked for a better vacation. Looking forward to our next stay at Pretty Joe Rock.

  • Submitted: Jul 15, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for sharing your experience with our future guests! We can't wait to have you back next year!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Pretty Joe Rock is great!

  • 5 of 5

This was one of our family's best vacations! We would like to come back next year.

  • Submitted: Jun 7, 2015
  • Stayed: May 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We can't wait to have you back. Glad you enjoyed your stay!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Nearest Barpub
0.5 Miles
Marathon
Nearest Golf
1 Miles
Marathon
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Marathon
Nearest Beach
2 Miles
Sombrero
Car: necessary

You are in the family friendly town of Marathon, known as the heart of the Keys. If you ever tire of your own personal paradise, there is plenty more to do such as charter fish on the ocean, hike in Curry Hammock State Park, learn at the Dolphin Research Center, sun-bath at Sombrero Beach, recline at Sunset Park, or help out at the Turtle Hospital. You can also golf or play tennis at the Key Colony Beach Resort and enjoy world class diving, health spas, sailing, parasailing, and jet-ski rentals. If this island is shown as reserved on the calendar, call us anyway as we have other island choices.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Marathon House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Fall 2016
Aug 21 2016 - Dec 24 2016
Changeover Day: Sunday
7 night minimum stay
$3,995
 
 
Christmas 2016
Dec 25 2016 - Dec 31 2016
Changeover Day: Sunday
7 night minimum stay
$5,850
 
 
New Years 2016
Jan 1 2017 - Jan 7 2017
Changeover Day: Sunday
7 night minimum stay
$5,850
 
 
Spring Break 2017
Mar 5 2017 - Mar 26 2017
Changeover Day: Sunday
7 night minimum stay
$4,495
 
 
Early Spring 2017
Apr 2 2017 - Apr 8 2017
Changeover Day: Sunday
7 night minimum stay
$3,995
 
 
Easter wk 1 2017
Apr 9 2017 - Apr 15 2017
Changeover Day: Sunday
7 night minimum stay
$4,995
 
 
Easter wk 2 2017
Apr 16 2017 - Apr 22 2017
Changeover Day: Sunday
7 night minimum stay
$4,795
 
 
Summer 2017
Apr 23 2017 - Jul 1 2017
Changeover Day: Sunday
7 night minimum stay
$3,995
 
 
4th of July 2017
Jul 2 2017 - Jul 8 2017
Changeover Day: Sunday
7 night minimum stay
$4,495
 
 
July non-holiday 2017
Jul 9 2017 - Jul 22 2017
Changeover Day: Sunday
7 night minimum stay
$3,995
 
 
Mini-Lobster 2017
Jul 23 2017 - Jul 29 2017
Changeover Day: Sunday
7 night minimum stay
$4,995
 
 
Late Summer 2017
Jul 30 2017 - Aug 5 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$3,995
 
 
Lobster Open wk 1 2017
Aug 6 2017 - Aug 12 2017
Changeover Day: Sunday
7 night minimum stay
$4,995
 
 
Lobster Open wk 2 2017
Aug 13 2017 - Aug 19 2017
Changeover Day: Sunday
7 night minimum stay
$4,495
 
 
Fall 2017
Aug 20 2017 - Dec 23 2017
Changeover Day: Sunday
7 night minimum stay
$3,995
 
 
Christmas 2017
Dec 24 2017 - Dec 30 2017
Changeover Day: Sunday
7 night minimum stay
$5,850
 
 
New Years 2017
Dec 31 2017 - Jan 6 2018
Changeover Day: Sunday
7 night minimum stay
$5,850
 
 
My Standard Rate

Changeover Day: Sunday
7 night minimum stay
$3,995
$15,980
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $1,000
Cleaning Fee with tax $161
Pet Fee $81
Tax Rate 12.5%

Rent My LCC is licensed by the city of Marathon to do vacation rentals. We follow all city and state regulations. The PLR numbers (Property License and Registration Numbers) for all of our properties are listed below: Pretty Joe Rock- PLR2010-00128, 6th Avenue/Dolphin Jump Key- PLR2010-00397, Sandy Shore Place- PLR2012-00387, Gulf View Place- PLR2012-00386, Ocean View Villa- PLR2012-00385.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Marathon House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1000 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Oceanfront ...
  • Water View
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Master Bathroom - toilet , combination tub/shower , shower , jetted tub , There's a Sunken Jacuzzi and an 2 sided glass exposed shower
    Main Bathroom - toilet , combination tub/shower
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Master Bedroom - 1 king
    2nd Bedroom - 1 double
  • Sleeps 4 in beds, up to a maximum of 6 with a sofa (not sofa-sleeper) and twin rollaway.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • alternative lifestyle
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets considered ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • jetted tub ...
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • nude beach
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
You are in the family friendly town of Marathon, known as the heart of the Keys so if you ever tire of your own personal paradise, there is plenty more to do such as charter fish on the ocean, hike in Curry Hammock State Park, learn at the Dolphin Research Center, sun-bath at Sombrero Beach, recline at Sunset Park, or help at the Turtle Hospital. You can golf or play tennis at the Key Colony Beach Resort and don’t forget about diving, health spas, sailing, parasailing, jet-ski rentals and the list goes on.

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties