check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand

John Krott

Member since: 2008
Speaks: english

Spectacular views of the open ocean and harbor.

14 Reviews
Sleeps10
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Phippsburg House Rental Photos and Description

3 bedrooms, 2 full baths, sleeps 10.

Located in historic West Point in Phippsburg you will enjoy a quiet vacation in a beautiful setting. Enjoy watching the ocean and harbor from our wrap around deck, balcony and Widow's Walk. Stroll down to Cat Cove to swim and explore the tide pools. From here you can launch your kayak to explore nearby islands. Be sure to keep a look out for eagles, loons and seals. Plan an evening lobster/clam bake. Located near Popham Beach, Sebasco Resort and Bath. Convenient amenities to make your vacation comfortable. Coastal Maine at its best!!!

New Dishwasher installed! Free use of season pass to near by Popham Beach.After many request we now offer sea kayak rentals on site for exploring the coast.

Your next relaxing vacation awaits you in one of the most scenic and unspoiled historic fishing villages on the coast of Maine! Come and enjoy coastal living in a waterfront 100 year old dance hall! Once a weekend destination in the late 1800’s to mid 1900’s for the locals to dance, gather and visit. The Sou’Wester has been restored to accommodate vacationers appreciating beauty and solitude. You will be greeted by the crisp salty smell of the ocean, the hum of lobster boats leaving for their days work and the friendly “hellos” from the local “West Pointers”. Relax to awe inspiring vistas of Casco Bay, the harbor and nearby islands on our wrap around deck. Leave the cares of the world behind you as you surround yourself in West Point’s breath taking beauty. Our goal at West Point Vacation Properties is to make your vacation one to remember for years to come. We are dedicated to providing you with quality service and personal attention from the start of your vacation to your actual stay. The Sou'Wester was converted from a early dance hall into an inn in the 1970's then in 2000 into it's current state into a large duplex property. With the decks the entire property is about 9600 sq ft. The properties are seperated by our maintenance space and the decks are seperated by dividers and nothing is shared between the two properties.

The Sou’ Wester has been carefully restored to accommodate guests who appreciate time with family, friends and beautiful vistas of the rocky coast and ocean. The water is a short walk down to Cat Cove for shell collecting and swimming. Cat Cove is an excellent site to launch your kayak for a tour around the harbor and islands close by. A trail through the piney woods will lead you to a secluded area that is fun for exploration. Among the rocks there is tide pool where some of the locals learned how to swim. Be sure to look for sea creatures in the tide pools.

For those vacationers who need more adventures, there are many exciting things to do near West Point. Phippsburg has many wooded walking trails that are both easy to hike and pretty. Historic Popham Beach, settled in 1607, is a short distance down the road. The 500 acre beach is worth a visit for those who enjoy smooth, white sandy beaches. Popham Fort, from the Civil War years, is close by and ready to be explored. Sebasco Resort is also close by, and has a golf course, spa services and several restaurants. The nearest city to West Point is historic Bath, “The City of Ships”. Maine’s first ship was built here in 1607-1608. If you are interested in ships the Maine Maritime Museum offers a glimpse into Maine’s boat building past. Maine’s boat building future can be seen at the Bath Ironworks, where some of the most sophisticated Navy ships are built today.

Quaint shops and restaurants make Bath a fun day trip. To the North one can travel to Boothbay Harbor. This is an excellent day trip where you can enjoy shopping and restaurants. Boothbay offers whale watching and other boating excursions. Brunswick is another historic town nearby that offers shopping, restaurants, Bowdoin College and the Joshua L. Chamberlain Museum. Less than an hour away is Freeport, famous for L.L. Bean’s flagship store. L. L. Bean is open 24 hours a day and a perfect place to go on rainy days. Other outlet stores and restaurants make Freeport a shoppers dream. Portland is about an hour away and offers historic sites, shopping, restaurants and airport transportation.

In whatever way you choose to spend your vacation here in West Point, it will be sure to be one full of gorgeous sights and lasting memories. To make your vacation spot “a home away from home” we have supplied our guests with household items both convenient and useful.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Groups
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
John Krott (Property Manager)
Member since: 2008
Speaks: english

Reviews

4.9
based on 14 traveler reviews

Spectacular views of the open ocean and harbor.
average rating of 4.857143 based on 14 reviews
5

Beautiful home, tranquil point on the bay

  • 5 of 5

If only we'd had a bit more time. We had only time for about a 3 1/2 day vacation in Maine and lucked out on a long weekend here in the Sou'ester. The home is set up like a duplex. Spacious enough for a couple of families just on our side, though you will be sharing one of the baths upstairs among 3 bedrooms. Another full bath is down. It was clean and beautifully appointed. Awesome third floor up the spiral staircase for long range views. The on-site attendant Bill, was very very nice. Maine is gorgeous. And the bay is too...you wake up to the sound of seagulls. Around the corner is cute little spot for swimming or just splashing. It was unusually chilly (for us) when we arrived in Maine and the temps never got out of the low 60s for early July, plus it rained, so I never got to fully enjoy that amazing deck and hammock. It was still so picturesque. We still made our way to Popham Beach nearby and drove into Portland to get long pants and hoodies, lol. Seriously, when we left the week before to travel through New England, the forecast was completely different. I can't wait to visit the area again. It really is away from it all. Highly recommended.

  • Submitted: Jul 17, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Impressive location and facility

  • 5 of 5

We vacationed at the Sou'Wester several years ago and have been eagerly waiting to return. This year was every bit of what we had expected and hoped for. We love the scenic beauty and tranquility of this area. We found the house to be more than adequately supplied for our stay and the linen service was remarkable! The local kayaking was a great experience for our entire family.

While other renters may have encountered some "sound problems" in the past, but we didn't hear the folks who'd rented the north side of the house and wouldn't have known they were there except for their vehicle parked next to ours.

We definitely hope to return to the Sou'Wester again in the future - it's a great place to escape from the hustle and bustle of urban life!

  • Submitted: Jun 23, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Lovely setting and view, clean & well cared for...

  • 4 of 5

We enjoyed our stay in the Phippsburg area very much, and this property is in a beautiful setting with a wonderful view. The house was spanking clean when we arrived and as an added bonus, the caretaker and his family live just a stone's throw away -- very nice people to boot. There is outstanding WiFi and cable HDTV in the house.

This would have been a five star rating except for two problems, one easily corrected while the other, unfortunately would not be. We do a lot of meal preparation in our summer rentals in Maine. This kitchen is amazingly well equipped -- literally nothing was missing in the nature of dishes, pots, pans, flatware, cookware, utensils, glasses, etc. What was a bit surprising was that there were no condiments whatsoever in the kitchen (spices, cooking oil, etc.) and almost no supplies -- even basics like bathroom tissue we had to go out and buy after the roll mounted on the wall ran out. Same for paper towels, laundry detergent pods, garbage bags, the list goes on. In our experience these are the sorts of things that, when left over, a renter leaves for the next renter as a courtesy. We left them anyway, but my impression is that the cleaning crew has been instructed to throw out anything left behind by a renter, even if it is in perfectly usable condition. We hope that the owner will reconsider this policy. I will add that unlike some other rentals we have had, the linen service here is outstanding, a freshly cleaned and wrapped package of sheets, pillow cases, and towels on each bed, just leave them when you're done.

The second and more serious problem was that this property is actually part (about 2/3) of a large house that has been divided and is effectively a duplex. Perhaps this was disclosed somewhere along the way but we didn't expect that. There was a group with small children and a dog staying in the other part of the building. When on the main deck or even inside the house, you could clearly hear these other folks. It wasn't a terrible bother, and they were nice people, but you have no control over that and it could have been much worse.

We enjoyed our stay in spite of these glitches and would definitely recommend this property if you don't mind some neighbors on the other side of the wall that you don't know and if you are prepared to make a stop on the way in to pick up some basic supplies and condiments. It would be an ideal rental for a large group that could take both parts of the duplex setup.

  • Submitted: Jul 27, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We appreciate your review and would like to address your concerns. First, we do not instruct the cleaning crew to throw out paper products, but to leave them for the next guest. We are sorry you got that impression. We do leave enough supplies for a few days to get you started. This is typical for a vacation rental. We are going into our 10th season, and this is the first complaint we have had about that, but we are sorry that you had the wrong impression. As far as leaving condiments and other food necessities, we were instructed not to leave any type of food for the next guest as this could be a problem if anyone got sick, a huge liability risk in this day and age. It has been our experience, as well as others in the vacation rental business that guests will not use open food left by previous guests. The noise is something that hasn’t been a problem in the past, but we do understand your concern. This offseason we have taken sound proofing measures by opening the only wall that is shared between the two sides (as our maintenance room sits right in between the two units) and have installed special sound proofing barrier in between the walls. We want to insure that all of our guest have the most pleasant and peaceful stay as possible. We haven’t had anyone complain about the neighbors, but if it becomes a problem we do have an onsite property manager to address the situation. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay overall, and appreciate your comments. We are continually working to improve the properties and hope that you will visit again in the future.
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
Keosauqua, Iowa
5

Wow! Incredible!

  • 5 of 5

What a gorgeous home. The location is incredible! We loved the early morning, standing on the upper deck watching the lobster boats go out.

We had a teenager, two 20 some year olds, and an infant. Everyone was in awe as we arrived and looked through the house. What an incredible place.

The area has plenty to do for everyone. All of he villages are unique, and we enjoyed our entire Maine experience!

Would return to this beautiful home in a heartbeat. Bill, the property manager was always available, and extremely helpful.

LOVE this property. John the owner was so nice, and accommodating with scheduling our travel dates.

  • Submitted: Jun 16, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
South China
5

We'll be back- and we can't wait!!

  • 5 of 5

Our family spent a magical weekend together here. Plenty of room for all. The views are amazing and when the fog rolled in we enjoyed gathering around the fire, visiting, reading, or playing board games around the massive table. There was not a pot or pan we could have wished for- the kitchen is well equipped. The beds were more than comfortable and the hammock on the upper deck perfect for an afternoon nap. A stroll to Cat's cove to sit and enjoy the sounds of this quaint fishing village and the feel of the ocean air as we reflected about how very fortunate we are to have found such a paradise completed our stay. We did explore the area a bit and look forward to coming back with more time to enjoy the many opportunities for several interesting hikes near by and hopefully time to rent a kayak to explore the nearby coves and islands. Bill was welcoming and helpful, but not intrusive- it was nice knowing he was close by should we need something- but honestly we wanted for nothing other than more time to spend at this amazing home! We will plan accordingly on our next visit!! Thanks you for a weekend of very special memories!!

  • Submitted: Apr 13, 2015
  • Stayed: Apr 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Can we come back?

  • 5 of 5

Our extended family spent almost a full week renting both sides of this large home. It was PERFECT for us(15 total). We were there for a wedding and held a wedding shower here. We were very comfortable.

Each bed comes with its two sheets/pillow cases and towels/hand towels and wash clothes (2 for larger sized beds; 1 for twins). BRING your own beach towels and for the bathrooms: soap-t.p.-tissues.

PLENTY of space and good kitchen layout for prep of food. Every type of kitchen utensil/pots/pans/bake ware/coffee pots/dishes/ glasses/mugs/

silverware/etc. Nice LARGE sinks too. A few dishwasher soap packs were provided as well as dish soap at the kitchen sink We bought trash bags as you are provided with 2/trash can. We like to recycle and Bill willingly took out separated boxes of "paper," "glass," "aluminum," "plastics," etc. to the recycle center when we left.

Bill (manages the property) lives next door and was always available, helpful and friendly. His mature son William was GREAT! All his kids were eager to help when asked but not "interruptive" at all. Truly a model family.

Kayaking from the little cove right there was amazing - got to see seals, eagles, osprey and much more.

Lobster is for sale on the docks right below the house at a very reasonable price, and locals were friendly and happy to accommodate us.

Plenty of parking on site. Honestly, we had NO complaints about anything!

A couple of notes: We could have used extra blankets; shower mats would be nice; there are no bedrooms on the first floor of either side if anyone has trouble going up or down stairs and only one side has a downstairs bathroom.

The bottom stair of one side sticks out and most of us tripped on it at some point; the fireplace sticks out on the other side as you come out of the bathroom, and one of us fell over after tripping on it. Klutzy? or just not the best design. Watch out for it! (We put a chair at each location as our "beacons" so that we wouldn't have any E.R. runs.)

  • Submitted: Jun 24, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Map

Car: necessary

Photos

Rates & Availability

Phippsburg House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Summer
Jul 23 2016 - Aug 26 2016
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$2,695
 
Notes: Rates are based on 9 guests; add $25 per night, per additional guest
 
Late Summer
Aug 27 2016 - Sep 12 2016
3 night minimum stay
$295
$1,995
 
 
Fall
Sep 14 2016 - Oct 10 2016
3 night minimum stay
$275
$1,680
 
 
Late Fall
Oct 11 2016 - Nov 17 2016
3 night minimum stay
$235
$1,470
$5,850
 
 
Thanksgiving
Nov 18 2016 - Nov 27 2016
4 night minimum stay
$255
$1,596
 
 
Winter
Nov 28 2016 - Dec 16 2016
2 night minimum stay
$225
$1,295
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning and linen fee $205
Pet Fee $195 + Tax
Tax Rate 9.0%

We rent from Sat -Sat during the Summer Season.
Kayaks available for rent; single seat kayaks rent for $100 per week and tandem kayaks rent for $125 per week

Manager's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the manager or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Phippsburg House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 3000 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Ocean View
  • Oceanfront
  • Water View
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Family
  • Historic
General:
  • Alarm Clock
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Filtered Water
  • Fireplace
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Mosquito Magnet
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Telephone
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Lobster Pot
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 12 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen , 2 twin/ single , Bunks
  • Plus two roll away beds.
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • VCR
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Barbecue
  • Deck / Patio
  • Deck Furniture
  • Kayak / Canoe
  • Outdoor Furniture
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Porch Furniture
  • Terrace
  • Walkway to Water
  • Wood Deck
Suitability:
  • Groups
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
Onsite Services:
  • Housekeeper
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • bay/sound
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • restaurants
  • ruins
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • pier fishing
  • racquetball
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • snowmobiling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
Notes:
Kayaks available for rent, $100 a week for singles, $125 a week for tandem kayaks.

Partner Offers

Other Vacation Properties