check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-829-7076
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-829-7076

Robin Sparks

Member since: 2006
Speaks: english, german, spanish, italian, dutch, turkish

Water & Old City Views, Balcony, Charming Central Neighborhood, 3bdrm

25 Reviews
Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Half Baths1
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Beyoğlu Apartment Rental Photos and Description

Apartment, 3 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 1.25 baths, (Sleeps 6)

I provide flats around the world with the amenities I choose when traveling. This flat is spacious with AMAZING views of the water and Istanbul's most famous sites, and it is in my favorite neighborhood of Cihangir. It has a lovely terrace with stunning views, an iron table and chairs.

Parquet wood floors throughout.

Enjoy magical Istanbul without having to leave your flat!

Bedrooms (all are quiet):

Master bedroom - queen sized bed with a wardrobe for your clothing. Large window, ceiling fan. A.C.

Bedroom #2 - 2 single beds (which can be moved together to create one king size bed if you wish). Wardrobe for clothing, and a large window.

Bedroom #3, is our "Sultan's Nook" in an alcove off the dining room, made private with curtains. From the bed, you can enjoy a beautiful view of the Bosphorus. A.C.

Sleeper sofa in the salon will sleep an additional 2 guests, so although this apartment is most comfortable for 6, it can accommodate up to 8.

A.C. throughout and we have added another unit in the back bedroom to keep the flat cool in warmer months. Radiant heat throughout.

Fully equipped kitchen also with a view!

Washing machine.

1 1/4 bathrooms - one bathroom contains a sink and toilet, the other a shower/tub combo & sink.

The flat is on the first floor (1 flight stairs up) in a charming, safe neighborhood. Rent this flat with the one just above it at a discount for large groups.

The flat on the floor above this one has an identical layout and similar decor. If the dates you are looking for are booked for this flat, ask about our Cihangir Three flat. You may rent both together at a discount for large groups.

There is a tree that when in full bloom (summer & early fall) filters a slice of the view. From Dec - May, the leaves are off and the view is wide open again. Even with the tree, the views are breathtaking.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • alternative lifestyle
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Robin Sparks (Owner)
Member since: 2006
Speaks: english, german, spanish, italian, dutch, turkish

About Robin Sparks

I am a travel writer who has lived in and traveled to over 2 dozen countries. I prefer flats to hotels, and have chosen some of my favorite places on the planet in which to provide apartments to rent to other global travelers. It's the only way to travel as it takes you out of the tourist observer mode and puts you squarely into the the 'real' spirit of Place. I rent out flats that have the following characteristics:

1. Location just outside the tourist zone so that you get to feel like you 'live' in Istanbul rather than the canned version of tourism in tourist zones. Close enough to the sites and public transportation to get to the main sites easily. There's a lot to see within easy walking distance of this flat!

2. Beautiful views that leave no doubt where you are,

3. A minimum of 2 bedrooms in each flat. This flat contains 3 bedrooms.

Robin Sparks purchased this apartment in 2008

Why Robin Sparks chose Istanbul

Istanbul is my favorite city in the world and Cihangir is my favorite neighborhood.

Istanbul is colorful, vibrant, layered with history and filled with the melodious sound of Middle Eastern music and dance, and the call to prayer. It has some of the world's most delicious food, and best of all is the Turks themselves - the most hospitable people on the planet. If you stay in a hotel in this city, you might not ever learn this fact, which is why I rent this flat in the charming, central neighborhood of Cihangir. Once you've 'lived' in Istanbul, however briefly, you will love Turks! The neighborhood of Cihangir was recently voted best place to live by the Guardian. (UK) And these two flats are together, allowing large groups to stay together. This is a spacious apartment, perfect for 4, fine for 6, and can accommodate up to 8, but will be crowded. It has 3 bedrooms and views that are amazing.

What makes this apartment unique

There are beautiful Turkish tiles in the bathrooms.

Two 3 bedroom flats atop each other for large families and groups. Rent separately or together. I love the light that streams into these flats each morning and the views from the salons, dining rooms, kitchens, Sultan's bedrooms, and private balconies are amazing. Like being in a resort on a bay - but then you turn to the right and see the mosque studded skyline of Sultanahmet and you remember that you are in Istanbul - the most magical city in the world.

This neighborhood is the perfect combination of foreign and locals and is loaded with fabulous restaurants, sidewalk cafes, antique stores and more. It is close to public transportation with easy access to the Bosphorus.

It is the perfect area to escape the over-stimulation of Sultanahmet and relax in the artists and intellectuals favorite neighborhood, while close enough to be at the major sites within minutes when you want to be. Or simply sit back, pour a glass of wine and enjoy the ships passing by on the Bosphorus and a view of the Old City of Sultanahmet from your balcony. You may never want to leave!

Guestbook comments from the owner

“A great sunny apartment with fantastic views over the Golden Horn to Sultanahmet. We had a wonderful 8 days holiday here with our family of 5. The experience with Elif and Robin was very smooth and most helpful. I highly recommend the airport pickup service provided by Robin. We hope to be back one day. ”
Jan 2016
  • 1 of 3

Reviews

4.4
based on 25 traveler reviews

Water & Old City Views, Balcony, Charming Central Neighborhood, 3bdrm
average rating of 4.36 based on 28 reviews
5

Most pleasant stay at Cihangir 3

  • 5 of 5

We rented this property for one full month and really enjoyed opportunity stay. After one week we were upgraded to the flat on the upper floor, and really appreciated it! The flat is very comfortable, bright and clean, decorated in a very cool and tasty style, we French people would describe it as " hippie chic"!. The view is amazing, from the terrace, we couldn't get enough of the view over the Bosporus, the historical district of Istanbul and also the view towards the Asian side.

Elif was there to welcome us on arrival, she's very friendly and helpful in every way. She reacted very efficiently to every issue we met. We met Robin and Marco, very cheerful and helpful too. Marco really went out of his way, coming at 11pm to help us out with a water cut in the flat. We really felt at home with them and in the flat.

The district of Cihangir is very cool and nice, lots of relaxed cafes and restaurants. A well-stocked supermarket very near. Of course, as it's uphill, you have to go up and down ( stairs or steep streets) but it was really no big deal for us ( even though we're 65!) and we got used to it promptly.

We are already planning to go back next year. Thank you for making our stay so enjoyable, Elif, Robin and Marco!

Françoise , Dominique and Pierre ( from the French island of Martinique)

  • Submitted: Jun 16, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: It was a pleasure to host you both. You are the type of travelers for whom I created my short term rentals - for those who view the world as home and settle in to "live", however briefly, in the places they visit. From one global nomads to another, I can't wait to see you again in Istanbul next year. Robin
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Monterey
5

A good place to call home in Istanbul

  • 5 of 5

This apartment is removed from the hub-bub of the tourist center and is located in a leafy neighborhood in Beyoglu. All of the main sites are easily accessible just a short ride and a few tram stops away. The accommodations fit our needs nicely. It is a comfortable space, decorated with a bit of whimsy, and has wonderful views out over the Bosporus and over the Golden Horn to the old city. There are two decent-sized bedrooms at the back of the apartment, both with ample storage closets and good light. The bath room (with over the tub shower) is spacious and also has good light. The WC is tight, but functional and has an additional sink and mirror. The kitchen is equipped with dishes and glasses. There were a few pots and a pan ~ wouldn't want to cook Thanksgiving dinner here, but certainly enough to do some basic cooking. We managed to make toast and scramble a few eggs of a morning, which was nice. The kitchen has a pass-through window to the front of the apartment with it's living space and dining area, as well as a charming sleeping alcove with a great firm mattress. There is WIFI and a TV, which remained off while we were in residence. Who wants to watch TV when the commanding view of Istanbul unfolds before you from the living/dining area and the broad balcony outside, where you get 'through the tree' views of the old city. Sitting on the balcony with a glass of Turkish wine, watching the incredible amount and variety of ship traffic on the Bosporus, hearing the call to prayer bounce back and forth across the city and just soaking it all in was a magical treat and my favorite memory of our visit. The manager, Elif and her husband Marco were most helpful and attentive. Her recommendation of the White Mill restaurant turned out to be such a good one that we dined there three times in as many days. The apartment is situated in a great position, but there are some hills to access it from the nearest tram stop (about a 10 minute walk ), and then some stairs within the building to access the apartment so it would not be a good bet for someone for whom this would be an issue. The apartment is not spanking new or Ritzy deluxe. If this is what you are looking for this would not be a good fit. It is funky, but in a really good way. We felt like we were temporarily living in Istanbul, rather than staying in some touristy hotel. We loved it and are thankful to Robin, Davide, Elif and Marco for all of their efforts to make sure we had a good stay.

  • Submitted: May 20, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Wunderbarer Ausblick, gute Lage, kleine Macken im Detail

  • 4 of 5

Wir haben in dem Appartement wunderbare 8 Tage verbracht.

Positiv:

- sehr gute Organisation vorab

- nette und zuvorkommende Unterstützung vor Ort durch Elif und Davide

- für Istanbuler Verhältnisse sehr gute Erreichbarkeit mit öffentlichen Verkehrsmitteln. Aufgrund der Topographie muss man allerdings davon ausgehen, dass von der Straßenbahnhaltestelle aus in jedem Fall steile Treppen oder Gassen zu bewältigen sind (ca. 10 Minuten forcierter Fußmarsch), so dass Menschen mit eingeschränkter Mobilität oder Kondition möglicherweise auch mal ein Taxi nehmen müssen.

- ruhige und sichere Lage im spannenden und zentralen Viertel Cihangir

- wunderschöne Aussicht auf Bosporus und das Goldene Horn von dem großen Balkon aus

- gute Raumaufteilung

- einige schöne landestypische Details bei der Ausstattung

- gut funkionierende Heizung

- tw. gute Ausstattung: Waschmaschine mit Trockner, Bügeleisen, Klimaanlage, WLAN etc.

- für Tierfreunde: jede Mengen freundliche Katzen und Hunde in der Umgebung

Negativ:

- Küchenausstattung teilweise lückenhaft oder ramponiert (z.B. nur 2 kleine Löffel, Kochtöpfe tw. beschädigt)

- keine Spülmaschine, was dazu führt, dass die Sauberkeit des Geschirrs stark vom Anspruchsnivea der Vormieter abhängt (wir hatten kein Glück)

- Badewanne (zugleich Dusche) ist schon alt und sieht tw. nicht sehr anziehend aus (Überlackierung abgeplatzt, tiefe Kratzer, Verfärbungen)

- tw. sehr liebloser Zustand im Detail: Tisch von Ikea mit abgeplatztem Furnier (Neupreis ca. 15 €), Risse/Kratzer im (Kunst-?)Leder der Esstischgarnitur, anspruchslose Verarbeitung von Silikon- und sonstigen Fugen, Türenrahmen, Parkettleisten

- Reinigungszustand nach der 80/20 Regel (z.B. Ecken "rundgewischt")

Schade, dass solche vermeidbare Kleinigkeiten, die man in dieser Preisklasse nicht unbedingt erwartet, den ansonsten sehr guten Gesamteindruck etwas trüben. Nichtsdestotrotz würden wir das Appartement jederzeit wieder gern nehmen - was wir vielleicht auch tun werden, denn die Stadt hat uns auch begeistert.

  • Submitted: Apr 5, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Nice Flat, Great View & Neighborhood, Awesome Manager

  • 5 of 5

Nice flat although I wouldn't call it 3 bedroom, because it has 2 bedrooms plus a sultan bed with curtains to the dining area.

The flat and balcony has a great view out over the Bosphorus, the Sea of Marmara and the Golden Horn

Located in a great neighborhood with nice restaurants (especially nice is White Mill) and a 24 hour fruit and veggie store at the corner

The manager (Elif) was incredibly helpful, and shared a wealth of great info, and arranged numerous honest taxis for us. We asked for a gym recommendation and she recommended G-mall (a short taxi ride away). We ended up going 7 times to swim, use the gym and get great couples massages at a good price.

When leaving for the airport, I managed to lock us out with one of our bags still inside. We texted Elif and she showed up to rescue us a few minutes later and she was still friendly and cheerful in spite of the fact that we had abruptly interrupted her Sunday afternoon.

Only 2 downsides: Steep irregular steps and handrail up to the flat, and the building ventilation shafts bring smoke from other flats into this flat, often resulting in smelling smoke in the flat.

Overall Elif and the flat provided a great home base from which we had a great time exploring and experiencing Istanbul.

  • Submitted: Feb 29, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

View, view, view!

  • 5 of 5

Amazing views and great location! We're a family of 6, and spent a week in August at this charming Cihangir apartment. It had everything we needed, Robin was easy to deal with, and both Elif and Davide (property managers) were super helpful and responsive. Yes, you have to pound those stairs, but it's all worth it: plenty of nice restaurants and small shops within walking distance, and very lively atmosphere. Don't need a car for longer trips: easy to use public transportation, from train to the Old Town to ferry to Prince's Islands from Kabatas. We just wish we had more time to explore and enjoy this very vibrant and rich in tradition city. Will definitely be back!

  • Submitted: Sep 12, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Maher khaled

  • 4 of 5

Great place to stay walking distance from train statio the manager was helpful and answers the phone all the time shops around the flat were friendly and helpful great view of the water and old city great Foid dilevry all the resturants knew the place just by saying Robin I dont recomend it for older people because of the steep hill you have to walk to train station over all great place to stay in Istanbul thank you Ms Aleaf . Even though they promised us a half day tour that never happend . It only took us half of a day to figure out the train system and the local shops . My family and I were very pleased with the stay

  • Submitted: Jul 31, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Hagia Sophia
Grand Bazaar
Topkapı Palace
Blue Mosque
Galata Bridge
Beyoğlu
Galata Tower
360 Istanbul
Eminönü
"Great shopping, boats, fresh fish seaside, lots of local color"
Istiklal Caddesi
Ferries
"A must do - trip up the Bosphorus and back. Cheap, beautiful, another view of Istanbul from ..."
New Mosque
"Lovely view of this gorgeous mosque. Walk over the Galata Bridge, and there you are!"
The Old City
Bebek
"Nice chic getaway from central Istanbul...walk along the Bosphorus to this village. Eat over..."
Karaköy
"The latest hip and happening area in Istanbul just a short walk from this flat."
Ortakoy
"Fun on Sundays...great views and yummy brunch at House Cafe."
Nevizade Sokak
"Great food and street dining atmosphere"
Dolmabahçe Mosque
"Just down the hill and about 10 minutes walk along the Bosphorus."
REINA
"Huge disco on the Bosphorus."
Babylon
"Good live music."
Hafiz Mustafa
"Best baklava in town."
Fish Bazaar
"Walk here in 10 min from this flat."
Suleymaniye Hammam
"See this mosque from the balcony!"
Istanbul Modern
"Beautiful museum with very nice view cafe, just a short walk from the flat."
Karakoy Gulluoglu
"Famous baklava place...walk from this flat."
Leb-i Derya Kumbaracı
"Great views!"
The Spice Bazaar
"Love this market!"
Bosphorus Bridge
Taksim Square
"A short walk from the flat."
Bosphorus Cruise
"A Must Do! Short walk from this flat to the ferry terminal where you can get a ticket for th..."
Golden Horn
"View it from your flat!"
Çiçek Pasajı
"Fun and lively at night. Only 15 min walk from flat."
Historic Areas of Istanbul
Tophane
"A short walk from the flat. Continue on from here to the neighborhood of Kadikoy with its ma..."
Nearest Airport
30 Miles
Ataturk Airport, 30 min. by car
Nearest Barpub
many all around
Nearest Ferry
1 Miles
About a 15 min walk
Nearest Train
5 Miles
10 min walk to Taksim or down hill to tram
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
on outskirts of Beyoglu
Nearest Restaurant
many all around
Nearest Beach
30 Miles
Kilyos on Black Sea or Princes' Islands
Car: not necessary

Charming turn-of-the-century neighborhood with cafes, cobblestone streets, boutiques, traditional and international restaurants, 10 minute walk to Taksim Square and metro. Just up the hill from the tram which will take you to the old city in minutes. and just up the hill from Kabatas Ferry station. 1 city block to taxi stand. Charming neighborhood favoured by Istanbul's creatives and foreigners living in Istanbul.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Beyoğlu Apartment Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$170
$1,020
$3,060
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $20 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

airport meeting & driver $45
cleaning/prep $70

Long term stays of 2 weeks or longer require an additional $70 cleaning fee for a once every 2 week cleaning.
Although the views are absolutely stunning year round in this flat, they are partially filtered May 15 - Nov 15 due to a beautiful tree off the balcony.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Beyoğlu Apartment Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 2
Building Type:
  • building
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1200 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Downtown
  • Monument View ...
  • Near The Ocean
  • Ocean View ...
  • Water View ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Bottled Water
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Safe
  • Sofa Bed
  • Telephone ...
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • Catering Available ...
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - combination tub/shower , large with sink and mirror. Fluffy towels
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , Features: toilet & sink
  • Bathrooms are located conveniently between bedrooms and salon. Two separate rooms next to each other. Shower/tub room is spacious, and the toilet room is small with sink. This flat has 1 toilet.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , Nice quiet room at the back of the apartment.
    Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single , Quiet bedroom at back of the apartment.
    Convertible bed(s) - 1 sleep sofa /futon , New comfy sleeper sofa sleeps 2
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen , Our Sultan's Room. Views!
  • Queen size Beds (2) one bed in master bedroom, the other in Sultan's nook, Twin or Single Beds (2) Can be moved together to create a king bed, Sleep Sofa or Futons (1) new fold-out sofa couch in living room, Add our flat above this one for an additional 3 bedrooms and 2 more toilets. Master and singles bedroom are at back of apartment. Very quiet. Other side of flat is on hillside with schoolyard 1 block over and sometimes a cruise ship at dock below.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Bicycles ...
  • Boat ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • alternative lifestyle
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets considered ...
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Onsite Services:
  • Private Chef
  • Staff
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • duty free shops
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • synagogues
  • theme parks
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • boating
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • pier fishing
  • swimming
Notes:
In this flat, you feel as if you are in the middle of a bay with Sultanahmet skyline to your right and the ships of the Bosphorus and the Asian shore in front of you and to your left. A delightful neighborhood lovingly written about in the book 'Istanbul' by Orhan Pamuk. Close to everything while far away enough to give the feeling of living in this magical city. A recent Guardian article named the Cihangir neighborhood as one of the most liveable in the world. If you don't like being treated like a tourist and want the convenience of getting to the sites when you want, this is the perfect location. Rent this flat with the flat above it for 30% off.

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties