check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

David Butler

Member since: 2008
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Fabulous Lake & Mtn Views, Fireplace, 2 Masters, Great Decks, Spa

32 Reviews
Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Wildwood Mountain House Rental Photos and Description

House, 3 Bedrooms, 3 Baths, (Sleeps 6)

This upscale, light filled home is situated at an elevation of 4200’ on a beautiful wooded hillside overlooking Wildwood Lake and Shortoff Mountain. Enjoy tennis and the gazebo in the private community area. Listen to the orchestra of frogs in the ponds or fish in the stocked lake.

~Home is filled with original fine art, luxurious leather furniture, antiques and rugs from around the world.

~Custom ironwork throughout home by Whitney Butler Designs of Pensacola. Professionally Decorated by Brakebill-Cox Interior Design, Knoxville, TN.

~Gourmet kitchen, granite countertops and island, knotty alder cabinetry and pantry, new stainless appliances professional knives & cookware, extensive selection of herbs, seasonings, condiments.

~Decks: 70 feet of wrap around decks, gas grill, lower deck with 7 person spa, seating for 8. Lawn level with additional seating and swing overlooking lake where flame azaleas and rhododendrons abound.

~Dining, great room, kitchen with floor to ceiling windows, vaulted ceiling with 18’ granite fireplace, hardwood floors, custom cabinetry, fabulous lake and mountain views.

~Den: cozy room with antique restored wood burning stove, custom wet bar, cherry flooring, large flat screen TV.

~Spacious bedrooms are separated from one another by living areas for privacy.

~King master, redwood walls, floor to ceiling windows, bath with double vanities, 7’ walk in shower, all stone or cherry wood materials. Walk in closet with full laundry.

~Double queen master bedroom, cherry floors, antique onyx bath with 7’ walk in shower.

~Center king bedroom with wonderful lake view, cherry floors, private bath.

~Wireless internet, three flat screen TV’s with DVD players, games and books.

~Enjoy one level home, level from parking while living in treetops from decks.

~Cutting gardens have been created for your flower arranging.

~Central vacuum throughout house.

~We are sorry, but we cannot allow pets due to alergies.

(Unfortunately this is not a kid friendly house. There could be safety issues with children and the spa and fireplaces. We also have valuable art pieces that are subject to breakage)

Please call us. We will be happy to answer your questions

IF THIS PROPERTY IS NOT AVAILABLE, we have two other wonderful VRBO properties that you would love. They are VRBO # 341344 and #459608

Refund Policy: We're pleased to refund 90% of your payment if your cancellation is outside 45 days of arrival with a $50 cancellation fee.(For monthly, within 60 days). Regrettably, we can not offer refunds inside 45 days, as it's difficult to rent vacation properties on short notice. However, if we can re- rent the property for the cancelled period, or a portion thereof, we will refund any amounts recovered from the new rental, less the 10% and $50 fee. Prices subject to change without notice. Paid reservations with deposits confirm original price.

If the hot tub is not functioning due to mechanical failure, we cannot give refunds or credits. We maintain our spa but sometimes things happen that cannot be avoided. We will try to repair the spa as soon as possible but this is very difficult on a weekend. A functioning hot tub is not a condition of the rental. We will do everything we can to insure you a great vacation.

Keywords: Cabin,House,Smoky Mountains

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
David Butler (Owner)
Member since: 2008
Call Owner
Speaks: english

About David Butler

David & Mary have visited Highlands for 30 years, initially camping. We have traveled in many areas of the world and have included some of our treasures for all to enjoy in this very special home Antiques, artwork, and Persian rugs. We love to hike, cook and garden. David's artwork is hung throughout our home.

Why David Butler chose Highlands

Highlands is a rare gem in the mountain communities. It has quaint charm, natural beauty and abundant hiking, waterfalls for day adventures, while world class shopping and restaurants await you at days end.

What makes this house unique

The central location, peaceful views and living combines the indoors and the outdoors. Hiking, waterfalls, nearness to town make this the perfect setting.

Reviews

4.9
based on 32 traveler reviews

Fabulous Lake & Mtn Views, Fireplace, 2 Masters, Great Decks, Spa
average rating of 4.90625 based on 32 reviews
fairhope, alabama usa
5

You've gotta chose this one!

  • 5 of 5

Great property with very helpful owners. This home has everything you could want or need for a terrific getaway. We especially loved the bathrooms and the gas fireplace was perfect for the cold weather. We just returned January 2009 and were blessed with lots of snow and cold! What a fun time. Highlands is great with numerous shops and delicious restaurants. The hiking is fantastic and snow skiing is within 1 1/2 hr.drive.

  • Submitted: Feb 1, 2009
  • Stayed: Jan 2009
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We have had the most wonderful guest. When we created the home, we wanted it to be very special to all who stay with us. We love the interaction in dealing directly with our guest, answering their questions about favorite hikes, restaurants and seeing photos of their families at our home. THANK YOU ALL!
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0
5

Great private location in the woods

  • 5 of 5

Beautiful and comfortable home. We enjoyed our family stay in the mountains. Owners were so easy to work with. We arrived late in the evening and the house was lit and ready for us to arrive. Perfect location between Highlands and Cashiers. Beds were very comfortable and the bathrooms were beautiful! We felt very much at home.

  • Submitted: Aug 19, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Charleston
5

Great property! Peaceful setting and very convenient to activities.

  • 5 of 5

Our stay at the Butler's home was perfect. The house itself exceeded our expectations. It was nicely appointed and tastefully decorated with a perfect balance of rustic (think mountain lodge) and modern (nice, high end kitchen equipment). The location was perfectly situated to enjoy all that the Highlands, NC area has to offer. We strongly suggest the Whiteside Mountain hike, Dry Falls, and the Nantahala Outdoor Center whitewater rapids adventure. For dining, don't miss Cyprus.

Communication with the Butlers was outstanding. All of my questions were answered in a very timely fashion. They were friendly and helpful. The welcome letter was extremely helpful and covered pretty much all you would need to know to get checked in.

The only minor complaint that we had was the internet service is somewhat intermittent in nature. However, that is clearly the internet service provider's problem and no fault of the Butler's. Just be sure to complete any critical online work prior to coming.

Overall, we couldn't have asked for more, and we will be returning in the future.

Thank you!

Robb and Lori Dunn

  • Submitted: Jul 25, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
United States
5

We would stay here again & again!

  • 5 of 5

Chose this because we had 3 adult couples and this was the only property with 2 king suites and a third suite with 2 double beds - comfortable and all on the same level. We had room to spread out. The kitchen had everything we needed to dine in. The property was beautiful with all the amenities of home and then some! The hot tub after golf was a winner. Owners very responsive to questions and made the check/out process simple.

  • Submitted: Jul 21, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Very luxurious with plenty of room for the whole family.

  • 5 of 5

We loved the place. The living space was very comfortable. The kitchen was high end and the hot tub was a big plus! We hope go back and stay longer!

  • Submitted: Jun 30, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Absolutely beautiful property

  • 5 of 5

We loved this property. Had a great time. The house was perfect. Every detail was perfect.

  • Submitted: Oct 20, 2015
  • Stayed: Oct 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
121 Miles
Nearest Point of Interest
Whiteside Mountain Hike
Car: necessary

Local farm produce at August Produce, 10 waterfalls within 15 min, we provide trail maps and books.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Wildwood Mountain House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Peak
May 1 2016 - Oct 31 2016
3 night minimum stay
$275
$1,600
$4,950
 
 
Shoulder Fall
Nov 1 2016 - Nov 23 2016
2 night minimum stay
$245
$1,470
 
 
Thanksgiving
Nov 24 2016 - Nov 30 2016
4 night minimum stay
$295
 
 
Winter Shoulder
Dec 1 2016 - Dec 20 2016
2 night minimum stay
$245
$1,490
 
 
New Years & Christmas
Dec 21 2016 - Jan 3 2017
4 night minimum stay
$275
 
 
Winter
Jan 4 2017 - Mar 31 2017
2 night minimum stay
$245
$1,470
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$275
$1,600
$4,950
 

Additional information about rental rates

Security Non-refundable $49
Cleaning Fee $125
Tax Rate 9.75%

Holidays and special events are excluded from discounted rates. Rates are subject to change until confirmed.
Check in 4 PM, Check out 10

(Unfortunately this is not a kid friendly house. There could be safety issues with children and the spa and fireplaces. We also have valuable art pieces that are subject to breakage)

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Wildwood Mountain House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2000 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Lake
  • Lake View
  • Mountain
  • Mountain View
  • Water View ...
Theme:
  • Family
  • Romantic
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Broadband Access
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Firewood
  • Free Long Distance
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Water Cooler
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Stove
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • King size beds (2), Queen size Beds (2)
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Books for Adults
  • Books for Kids
  • DVD Player
  • Music Library ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Barbecue
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Tennis Court
  • Wood Deck
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed ...
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
  • Outdoor Hot Tub
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • coin laundry
  • forests
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • pond
  • rain forests
  • restaurants
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • racquetball
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • skiing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
Notes:
The home is fully stocked, towels, linens, soaps, tissue, garbage bags, paper towels, cleaning agents, vacuums, etc, Ceiling fans, KITCHEN/DINING PROVISIONS, Condiments,Gas range, disposal, blender, food processor, coffeemaker, multiple sets of dishes, cutlery, glassware, flatware & bar items, Ample cookware/bake ware, serving pieces and linens, outdoor gas grill, Seated main level dining for 15, dining table 6, two porch dining table 6, Granite counter 3, Washer/Dryer, Housekeeping Service Available

Partner Offers