Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Northern Enclosure Lodge - Four Season Retreat

Sleeps9
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Space 1,680 sq. ft.
Property type chalet
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

Chalet, 4 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 7-9)

NORTHERN ENCLOSURE LODGE is a four season chalet located only five minutes from Boyne Highlands and Nubs Nob ski areas and the quaint villages of Harbor Springs and Petoskey.

Northern Michigan, much admired for its superb skiing, is also known as a fabulous summer destination. Our home is within minutes of the beautiful sandy beach and dunes of Petoskey State Park on Lake Michigan.

We are close to many inland lakes and canals, ideal for swimming and boating; slow meandering streams, perfect for canoeing; and 20 championship golf courses. Many of our guests visit the famous tourist destination of Mackinac Island, located in the nearby Straits of Mackinac.

The chalet is a cozy, three level, rustic lodge. It features a loft with two bedrooms, a first floor master bedroom, and a walk-out lower level with another bedroom. There are two bathrooms, utility area, and a large rec/media room that will accommodate your entire party.

Keywords: Chalet

More Details

Owner
Bill and Chris Nixon
Member since: 2008
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
November 20, 2017

About Bill and Chris Nixon

We are a family of die-hard Northern Michigan lovers that discovered this wonderful area as Honeymooners in 1969 and have returned every summer and winter since. We finally were able to purchase our own retreat and keep finding new places and experiences as well as frequenting old favorites!

Bill and Chris Nixon purchased this chalet in 1991

Why Bill and Chris Nixon chose Harbor Springs

We were drawn to this house because of it's great location , the skiing and summer activities, the relaxed atmosphere, and yes, I confess, I love knotty pine! After many upgrades over the years , I feel that we have established an atmosphere that not only we enjoy but others will as well when they visit.

What makes this chalet unique

Make your own memories in this wonderful area from our comfortable and cozy lodge. Children love the loft and judging from our now 3 or 4 guest memory books, all seem to enjoy their stays.

Guests provide their own bed sheets/pillow cases and towels which helps to keep our rates low and maintains each guest's own standard of quality as well. Blankets and pillows provided.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Thank you for another week of Northern Enclosure hospitality. Our extended family comes up north for a summertime reunion as well as seeing friends living in the area, so it's important to have a comfy accommodating cottage with room to visit, cook, enjoy the view, etc. We think Northern Enclosure is ideal! Thank you again!
Aug 2015
  • 1 of 5

Map

Car: recommended

Amenities

Harbor Springs Chalet Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • chalet
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1680 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 9
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
General:
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Telephone
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wood Fireplace
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • Combination shower/tub in main level bath, new shower in bath on walk-out level.
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 9
  • Queen size Beds (2), Twin or Single Beds (3), Bunk Beds (1) Guests provide own sheets/pillow cases and towels which helps to keep our rates low and assures that each guest's own standards are maintained. Blankets and pillows are provided.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Game Room ...
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • VCR
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Bicycles ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • 1 bicycles
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • marina
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • water parks
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • boating
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • wildlife viewing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • rafting
  • skiing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Chalet is located in a heavily wooded area, with decks front and rear, three levels, 1600+ sq feet, cozy lodge atmosphere.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(7 traveler reviews)

57% Complete
42% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Northern Enclosure Lodge - Four Season Retreat
average rating of 4.571429 based on 12 reviews
5

Our Family Ski Weekend

  • 5 of 5

We had an amazing time at Northern Enclosure Lodge! It was very clean, well-kept, and well stocked. The Nixons made sure we had everything we needed! We especially enjoyed the fireplace and cozy atmosphere. The location was great for skiing! We were sad to leave and can't wait to go back! Thank you for allowing us to stay in your home!

  • Submitted: Feb 27, 2017
  • Stayed: February 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you very much for choosing Northern Enclosure Lodge, we appreciate your business and hope that you will be able to return! We will be making arrangements to return your lost stuffed mouse toy to you!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Very relaxing, clean, and well stocked

  • 5 of 5

Myself, my 4 adult kids, and my parents stayed here. It was perfect! Had enough space for everyone. I had the lower level BR and the bed was very comfortable, my parents had the bedroom on the main floor, the 3 girls had one side of the loft and my son had the other side. Even though there was no air conditioning the ceiling fan with the front and back door open allowed from a great breeze. Chris and Bill were great to work with, the wifi was not working when we first arrived, they had someone out to the house by 9am and it got fixed right away...it was on the side of the internet company which had to be reset by them. The kitchen was so well stocked, there was nothing that we needed. Had caphelon pots and pans, plenty of cups, mugs, dishes and silver where. Cooked several meals including breakfast and dinner. The only suggestion that I would make, is there were no blinds to cover the big sliding door at night which faced the road. Would recommend this place and would stay again if we go to that area.

Debbie and the Gang

  • Submitted: Aug 25, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks Debbie! After 27 years of business, we believe that attending to details and service are what our guests expect! We certainly hope that you and your family will return!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

A great place to relax and get away

  • 5 of 5

We had about 10 people and never felt cramped in. It was an affordable place that made you feel like at home. It was clean and neat and warm. The furniture was nice and the beds were comfortable. I really like it when I found out the water pressure in the shower was strong. We had cable to watch NHL playoffs and it was on HD TV's. The location was great as it was close to a store, a restaurant and ski hills. We will definitely try to make it back.

Todd G

  • Submitted: May 21, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Up North Getaway with attention to detail

  • 5 of 5

Overall experience was this property offered everything we needed to enjoy a relaxing weekend. Owners have taken special care to supply this home with everything you will need to make the stay comfortable. The multi-levels worked out great for those who wanted to stay up or for those who were early risers. We truly enjoyed the natural fireplace and the two large HD TV's for the NCAA March Madness games..... GO STATE... Sorry Bill & Chris(LOL).

We hope to visit back many more years to come Thank you Bill & Chris

  • Submitted: Mar 20, 2017
  • Stayed: March 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
East Lansing, Michigan
4

Marilyn Boucher and family

  • 4 of 5

This is a very good value vacation destination because the property owners do not provide bed linens, bath, kitchen or beach towels, and provide no laundry! Therefore, the rental is about half the going rate! Wow.

The chalet is comfortable, good beds, efficient kitchen, shaded, proximate to ski hills, state park beach, fancy shoppin!

We inhabit the area every summer due to relatives owning property across the road.

The only thing lacking here and most other cottage properties is an allowance for well-trained dogs and their responsible masters.

I give Northern Enclosure a 4+!!!!

  • Submitted: Aug 12, 2014
  • Stayed: August 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Linens are provided by our lodge guests to keep the rates reasonable. The purchase of two sheet sets for each of our seven beds, as well as the maintenance of the linens, would necessitate a much higher rate charged. We hid the stacked washer and dryer behind louvered doors in the basement. I guess we hid them too well! We appreciate your feedback and look forward to your coming back to visit us again!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

Great place to stay!

  • 4 of 5

We had a very nice time at Northern Enclosure. It was very close to the mountain. The place is very nicely decorated and the beds were comfortable. There is plenty of room for 2 families of 4, the basement bedroom, bath and living area are like a separate apt. so very private.

  • Submitted: Jan 15, 2013
  • Stayed: January 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you very much for your kind remarks! Our main goal is to offer a family-friendly stay in a clean and comfortable atmosphere, at a reasonable price ! We hope that you will be able to return again! Chris & Bill
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $75
Refundable damage deposit $200
Tax Rate 6.0%

The referenced $ 100 rate a night by VRBO is the lowest nightly rate based on a $ 700 non-summer week.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties