check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Karen Raftery-Murphy

Member since: 2008
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Quaint Cozy Beach House in Popponesset - Walk to Beach - Last minute Specials!

4 Reviews
Sleeps8
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

Popponesset House Rental Photos and Description

4 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, sleeps 8

Wonderful Cape Cod style home. Open Floor Plan with kitchen flowing into living room. Great Spacious Wraparound Deck with gas grill. Lovely outdoor shower. Beautiful big back yard. Located on Dead-End street that runs into picturesque pond. Walk to beach, Popponesset Inn and Marketplace. Live entertainment on weekends during summer. Far from any hustle and bustle. Great Location. Play miniature golf, eat homemade ice cream or just sit and relax. Biking and walking paths close by. (10 Menemsha Rd - Mashpee, MA 02649)

Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Karen Raftery-Murphy (Owner)
Member since: 2008
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Reviews

5
based on 4 traveler reviews

Quaint Cozy Beach House in Popponesset - Walk to Beach - Last minute Specials!
average rating of 5.0 based on 4 reviews
5

Let's Get Away from it All!!

  • 5 of 5

We have rented this lovely, comfortable cape house in the past and plan to come down again. The location is perfect, just a quick walk down the end of this quiet street is the private beach. Loved it in early morning and of course at sunset. There is so much open space here that you never feel cramped. The gorgeous deck creates another huge entertainment and grilling space with plenty of room for family and friends. It feels like the house is doubled in size. But it's also so private it could be a yoga or meditation spot. Tons of things to do in this location, concerts, community house, golfing and plenty of walking and running trails. In the mornings we looked forward to a brisk walk to the marketplace for coffee, homemade muffins and bagels, lazing about in the outdoor cafe people watching. There's no shortage of kids to play, ride bikes, and go fishing with yet the area is still pleasntly quiet. It reminds me of the perfect vacation down the cape that I had as a child. Can't wait to return! Love the owners, they go out of their way to make sure you have everything you need.

  • Submitted: Jun 1, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

The Perfect Getaway. Great Location!

  • 5 of 5

Quiet, peaceful, clean cottage located in beautiful Popponesset. Walk to beach, Marketplace and the Popponesset Inn. Fish, feed the ducks or search for turtles at the end of the street in the picturesque pond.

Great place for kids to ride their bikes and enjoy their freedom. Kids love to go to the Community Center each morning for pick up soccer or baseball games and crafting. Movies and dances at night too.

Walk to beautiful beach and enjoy sunrise, sunset and beautiful views of Nantucket Sound. We love parking our car for our stay and walking or riding bikes everywhere. We look so forward to our morning walk/bike ride to the Marketplace for coffee, the morning paper and breakfast.

We really enjoyed the new comfortable furniture in the living room and love that this cottage has AC and laundry. The huge wrap around deck is so wonderful for hanging out and family cookouts.

Nice private yard for the kids to run around and play. Plenty of sleeping room too.

Karen is so helpful and wonderful to deal with. She feels like a relative!

We look soo forward to our summer vacation here.

  • Submitted: Mar 18, 2015
  • Stayed: Mar 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Visit Reminded Me Of Being A Kid Again

  • 5 of 5

Whenever we stay at this house, it always reminds me of our vacations on the Cape when we were kids. I love sharing that feeling with our children.

Every time we have rented, upon our arrival the house was very clean and well manicured. The spacious living room and kitchen with open floor plan, allows us to be together while doing independent indoor activities, whether it is: games, crafts, cooking, or just watching a movie.

There is plenty of sleeping space. The beds were very comfortable and we slept peacefully. Oh, and when we invited friends to join us for an overnight, there was plenty of parking for them, with driveways on both sides of the house.

We loved the huge wrap around porch, while our older kids could play on the dead end street, our youngest had plenty of room to play on the porch. We knew our kids were safe. It was a treat getting up in the morning and sitting on the deck with my cup of coffee in peace and quiet.

Of course, our favorite part of the visit is the private beach, which is steps from the house. Our children always make an adventure out of traveling over the wooden bridge, while scouting out a turtle, swan, or rabbit.

I feel this vacation rental was well worth the value. My husband and I have also rented during the off season over our anniversary, and we loved having the fireplace to sit by.

The best way to explain it, is that there is a great feel about this house. It is well worth its rental value.

  • Submitted: Aug 27, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0
Boston Area
5

Great family vacation spot

  • 5 of 5

I was very happy with this family vacation getaway. Lots of things for the kids to do: fishing, rowboats, swans in the pond at the end of the street. Popponesset Marketplace within walking distance with family entertainment, restaurants (great lobster rolls) shops, pizza, ice cream, Popponesset Inn (great restaurant on the ocean). Two top notch golf courses within a couple of miles away (New Seabury Country Club). Mashpee Commons, great shops, restaurants etc within a few miles away. Short drive to Falmouth, ferries to Martha's Vineyard, Nantucket, Nobska Lighthouse, Woods Hole, Hyannis, Cape Cod Mall, Christmas Tree Shops, more than you could possible fit in (but it's fun trying!!!) Great place for access to action, great place to be quiet with family by the ocean or by the fireplace or just siiting on the expansive porch reading a book or having a family cookout. Highly recommended! Make a memory with your family and children.

  • Submitted: Mar 26, 2011
  • Stayed: Sep 2010
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
8 0

Map

Nearest Ferry
4 Miles
Falmouth Ferry
Nearest Beach
0.1 Miles

Short walk to the Popponesset Marketplace for an ice cream, pizza, or a game of miniature golf. Everyone 'loves' the live entertainment at the Marketplace on evenings in the Summer. Mashpee Commons is 1/2 mile away - 90 shops... including restaurants, bars and a movie theater. Ferries to Martha's Vineyard and Nantucket are in nearby Falmouth and Hyannis.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Popponesset House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Sept - October
Sep 18 2016 - Oct 31 2016
3 night minimum stay
$235
$1,645
 
 
Nov - April
Nov 1 2016 - Apr 30 2017
3 night minimum stay
$175
$1,200
$3,600
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $400

If cleaning is needed, $200 will be subtracted from the damage deposit.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Popponesset House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Near The Ocean
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Internet
  • Parking
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Lobster Pot
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Lovely - outdoor shower
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single , (bunk beds)
    Bedroom 4 - 2 twin/ single
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Wood Deck
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Leisure Activities:
  • walking
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • swimming

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties