Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927


Bedrooms 3
Space 2,000 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights
Popular Features
  • Internet
  • Washing Machine
  • Parking
  • Outdoor Grill
  • non smoking only
  • Air Conditioning
  • Private Pool
  • children welcome


About the property

House, 3 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6-8)

This is it!! A fantastic modern home only 3 to 4 minutes from the beach that is called " SOUTH FLORIDA'S BEST KEPT SECRET" and considered one of the most beautiful beaches in South Florida.

The house sleeps 8. Because of the L shape you can put the kids or company on one end of the house and enjoy total privacy in the huge Master Bedroom on the other end where you have gorgeous views of the pool and waterway. Open the sliding glass door and hop right into the hot tub. Perfect for adults, kids, teenagers and seniors. Walk to the liquor store and several local restaurants or drive to dozens more. We are only minutes from several major malls and a short drive gets you to the huge Sawgrass Outlet Mall where shoppers from all over the world congregate. Get that beautiful tan! Day dream while you relax by a sparkling, clear pool, or hop into our latest addition, a gorgeous hot tub . You can read a great book while sitting on the patio with the sun beaming down on you. Hit the revitalized gorgeous beach, play golf at one of our great courses. These dreams become reality for you at Coconut Haven! Be the envy of your friends when you arrive back home with a gorgeous Florida tan. Check out our fantastic waterfront with a 100 plus foot dock and unbelievable views await you.

Preferred over Ft. Lauderdale and other beaches because you avoid the huge crowds and have lots of parking. Pompano Beach is the perfect beach and at days end we offer peace and quiet with a large private patio, a huge sparkling pool and a gas grill to cook those burgers. All this is within a 3 or 4 minutes drive to the beach where you can drop off your cooler, umbrellas and gear with parking right there. No dragging your belongings back and forth from a condo or distant house. You have a food and ice cream concession plus a large restroom facility right there at the beach. Be careful if renting an advertised beach house. Most are not on the beach so read the description carefully.

Pompano Beach is considered one of the most beautiful beaches in South Florida. The public beach has been revitalized at the cost of millions by the city of Pompano Beach and the entire area is fantastic, see our photos.

Coconut Haven is an amazing and beautiful remodeled home on a gorgeous and very wide canal in an area of upscale homes. You can play in the huge, gorgeous pool or sit and relax with drink in hand and watch the boats go by. Bring your own boat or you can rent a boat and tie it up to our dock. You can bring up to a 50' boat and park it on the dock.

You can enjoy a beautiful stainless applianced kitchen with everything included and fit for any gourmet cook. Gorgeous cherry cabinets and granite tiered counter tops with stools to seat six while overlooking the pool and canal. Seven huge glass sliding doors allow for unbelievable views of the waterfront, passing yachts and the patio and pool. The living room sports a 50' plasma TV plus a 28' flat screen family room TV. The master and one guest bedroom also have flat screen TV's.

The master bedroom is huge with a sexy, one of a kind bathroom that has off white marble walls and floors set off with black granite accents and glass block shower walls. The shower has a ceiling rain shower, wall mounted shower head and wall shower jets guaranteed make you relaxed and dreamy. There is plenty of room for two, Wow !! We have sliding glass doors to the pool just steps away. If you like boats just watch them parade by the house on a daily basis. Bring your own or rent one to tie up at our dock. We have great waterfront restaurants so take a boat ride out to dinner or lunch. Big boat? Not a problem.

Boat the intracoastal to Ft. Lauderdale or explore the many local canals. No boat? Take a ride on the Water Taxi and cruise to over 18 of the hottest restaurants and bars from Ft. Lauderdale to Hollywood, then visit and local attractions. You can hop and shop to your hearts desire as the next Water Taxi will be right along and you have unlimited stops, all for one low price. For more fun, take an hour and a half ride up New River on the Carrie B or hop on the world famous, 410 passenger Jungle Queen Riverboat for the tour of your life. Need more adventure? Charter a fishing boat at the local fishing pier, rent a jet ski or go para-sailing. Golf and beaches are minutes away and some of the best shopping in the world is right here. Night life is fantastic, nightclubs galore, hundreds of restaurants are nearby as are sports bars and Broadway type shows. The Hard Rock Cafe and Casino is only a half hour away and we have local gambling just minutes away! We have it all with this location and you will love your stay.

More Details

Mal or Dianne Mager
Member since: 2008
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
March 28, 2017

About Mal or Dianne Mager

We call our home 'COCONUT HAVEN' because we planted the trees you see that produce hundreds of coconuts each year. It is our favorite spot in the entire world.

My wife and I are avid and experienced boaters who love going up and down the intracoastal, stopping to shop and dine in the many restaurants and shops on the way.

Our 4 adult kids and some of our14 grand kids usually visit in the winter and love it too. Coconut Haven is a wonderful place to be and you can't help but love it!

Mal or Dianne Mager purchased this house in 2003

Why Mal or Dianne Mager chose Pompano Beach

Dianne and I were riding past the house in our boat and saw that it was for sale. We loved the location and bought it the same day, then totally remodeled it, naming it COCONUT HAVEN. The location is perfect,quiet,child safe and rated as one of the safest spots around. It is sort of hidden away from the rest of the world yet only two or three minutes from the beach, shopping malls, golf, hundreds of restaurants and night life. It's on a beautiful section of waterfront where you can watch the yachts and boats go by, catch a fish from the dock and see an occasional Manatee and quite a few Iguanas. Lets not forget just sitting by the pool on a nice hot day with a drink in hand enjoying the sun. What more could anyone possible want in a home.

What makes this house unique

We enjoy the peace and quiet of our neighborhood and our relationship with our wonderful neighbors.

The beach is only a couple of minutes away and my wife and grand kids love that. We have three supermarkets within 5 minutes of the house, shopping malls galore, a liquor store within walking distance and superb restaurants all within minutes. We have Houstons, Shooters, Fridays, Carabbas, Olive Garden and dozens of others within 3 minutes also. All this and you would never know it while at the house because it is so quiet and peaceful. Our little place in heaven that we love to share with you.

Kids love it here, the pool, fishing from the dock, picking up coconuts that fall from our trees and even picking bananas from our banana trees when ripe. Where else can you find such a unique home with such amenities?

Guestbook comments from the owner

What a fantastic and immaculate home with incredible amenities! The owner and his wife were wonderful in every way, answering our questions and making certain we and our two kids were happy. The hot tub was wonderful, clean and hot. The pool is huge, sparkling and clean. It's so nice to sit in the hot tub and swim in the pool while watching the boats travel by the house. We also had lots of chairs and beautiful, comfy chaise lounges where we relaxed and enjoyed the sun.

We read a review on this site that was not complimentary, and our experience was just the opposite of his. We give this home a 5 star rating. While we were there everything worked, there were no broken items and the house was impeccable. Mal and Dianne couldn't have been nicer and we are very glad that we did not take that review seriously. We couldn't have been happier and loved every minute of our stay so highly recommend both Mal and Dianne and Coconut Haven. We will be back!
Jul 2016
  • 1 of 2


Cypress Lakes House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 2000 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy 8
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets considered ...
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
Location Type:
  • Beach ...
  • Near The Ocean ...
  • Water View ...
  • Waterfront ...
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Broadband Access ...
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Ducted Cooling
  • Ducted Heating
  • Filtered Water
  • Free Long Distance ...
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Area
  • Living Room ...
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer ...
  • Shampoo
  • Split-System Air Conditioning
  • Split-System Heating
  • Telephone ...
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Freezer ...
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Lobster Pot
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • Bathroom one is very large and has is unique with rain shower, wall jets and a hand held shower for a unique shower surrounded on two sides by glass walls. Bathroom #2 is full with a tub and vanity.
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (1) Guest room #1 has a queen bed, Twin or Single Beds (1) Guest room #3 has new twin beds with Sealy box springs and mattresses. They can be pushed together to make a King Size bed., Child Beds (1) Roll away, Sleep Sofa or Futons (1) A leather convertible queen bed in in the family room
  • Books
  • Books for Kids
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Games for Kids
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • VCR
  • Beach Chairs
  • Beach Towels
  • Binoculars
  • Boat ...
  • Boat Dock
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Fully Fenced Property
  • Golf ...
  • Large Cooler
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Patio
  • Small Cooler
  • Tennis ...
  • Walkway to Water
Pool / Spa:
  • Heated Pool
  • In Ground Pool
  • Outdoor Pool
  • Private Pool ...
  • jetted tub ...
  • arboretum
  • bay/sound
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • recreation center
  • reefs
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
We have a private 100' boat dock with room for a couple of 30 foot boats or even one large 40 or 50' boat. Coconut trees, banana trees, laundry room, roll away bed, beautiful furniture and easy to clean ceramic tile floors. Just think, no lawn to mow, no outside work, just fun in the sun. Play at the pool or just relax poolside and watch the boats go by the house.


Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(30 traveler reviews)

average rating of 4.5333333 based on 32 reviews

Pompano Paradise!

  • 5 of 5

We stayed at this home while our son was competing in a karate tournament. It was heaven! The pictures do not do justice to this home. The canal is visible from most rooms in the house and the patio/dock are wonderful places to sit and watch the day slip by. The guys fished off the dock (caught a few crabs!) and we all enjoyed the iguanas. Kitchen is unbelievable but the master bath...well, let's just say that I want this re-created at my house (hint to my husband!) We had a cookout on Sunday afternoon for the karate team. Everyone had a great time and were quite envious when they had to compare their tight hotel arrangements with the space and amenities with this home. Mal and Di have been wonderful hosts - very prompt in responding to inquiries and making sure that all was well before, during, and after our stay. They have gone above and beyond by putting together a fantastic binder which serves as a guide to the home and the community - everything from where the light switches are, where to get groceries, and those favorite restaurants that only the locals know about! We were truly blessed to be able to stay in their home. We hope to be back when the karate circuit brings us back down to Ft Lauderdale!

  • Submitted: Aug 15, 2009
  • Stayed: Jul 2009
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We can only say that Shellee and her family were a wonderful family and a pleasure to have as our guests. We just wish we had been able to meet them. They treated our home as if it were their own and we welcome them back at any time. Thanks Shellee and family. Mal and Dianne
Did you find this review helpful?
1 3

Wonderful vacation!

  • 5 of 5

Lovely home! Very relaxing and the spot on the canal was beautiful. We really enjoyed the pool and the Jacuzzi. The layout of the house is perfect with the kitchen overlooking the pool with easy access. Location of the house is great as it is very quiet at the house and the neighborhood being very close to any amenities you would need. Wonderful vacation!

  • Submitted: Jan 15, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Nice House .. Great View ... Quite Nieghborhood.. Owner Responses

  • 5 of 5

Great House .. No Hassle .. Wonderful Shower .... We Had Zero Complaints... Mr. Mager is A Great Guy .. And Was Very Helpful And Easy Going..

  • Submitted: Jul 30, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks Mark. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and liked everything so much. And yes, that master bedroom shower is definitely the best!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

A Relaxing Holiday Rental

  • 4 of 5

We were in the USA for our son's wedding and after the hustle and bustle in Maryland we needed some time out to relax.

We were fortunate to find Mal and Diannes home on the beautiful intercoastal at Pompano.

The outside space around the good sized pool and hot tub is great. Plenty of sunbeds and chairs. BBQ grill was ready to cook on. The photographs are unable to show how peaceful, relaxing and spacious the outside actually is.

The kitchen, lounge areas and master bedroom are spacious. The two other bedrooms and family bathroom are adequate. The ensuite has a good rain shower - more of a storm, the best we have had.

A few bugs greeted us which we dealt with. With more maintenance we would rate this home with 5 stars.

Thank you Mal & Dianne for letting us use your home.

  • Submitted: Jul 16, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so glad you enjoyed our home and we apologize for a "few bugs". It's common in South Florida to get a few ants and palmetto bugs, especially after rain. We take pride in controlling them but sometimes a few get by our sprays and powder. Thanks again for the great review!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Absentee Landlord.

  • 1 of 5

I have stayed in dozens of VRBO rentals and typically don’t write reviews, but I felt compelled to write this one. In most places, the owners are thrilled to have us at their home and welcome you like you are part of the family. Not here.

When I arrived I was surprised to see the lawn furniture so outdated and in poor condition. There was also broken drawers in two rooms and a few other cracked items in the kitchen. In the ‘Welcome Binder’ we found a large list of rules using boldface type on what not allowed. The binder made it very clear that everything was being inventoried and we would be charged for any missing or broken items. This was stated multiple times in capital letters and boldface type. Not very welcoming but, Ok. This made me realize I better tell the landlord about several broken things we found so we would not be charged.

I went outside to turn on the hot tub. It did not work. I called the landlord. I provided him with the list of issues. He immediately said, “Wow, you have a lot of complaints for someone who just arrived.” Interesting... He said, "That hot tub should have been fixed last week. It’s not working??” I got a little frustrated because this meant he know about this potential issue and never informed me, and did not follow up to ensure that it was fixed prior to arrival. Note, the hot tub is the first picture on his site. He said “What do you want me to do, fly down there and fix it for you! I have been doing this for ten years, don’t tell me how to run my business” I understand that things break, and things happen. What I don’t understand is asking your guests to find the issues and thinking that it is a fine diagnose and report issues. That is an owner’s primary responsibility, not the guest. That is when he called me multiple names that I cannot put in this review and hung up.

He never called me again during nor after my stay.

This owner is living far away from his property without a property manager. You are the property manager. Any issues are up to you to find and up to you to deal with. You are on your own.

If you are reading this review and still thinking about renting this place because you see all the other great reviews, you are exactly like me. I thought that the bad reviews must be people that are really hard to please or perhaps just had a bad day, etc. Trust me. I should have listened to the other poor reviews and you should too. Learn from my mistake.

  • Submitted: Apr 14, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Ouch, this vacationer was out to hurt us with this review. This gentleman was an angry guy from the get go. He complained about our outdated outside furniture. That has all since been replaced as the Florida sun does take it's toll on anything outside. He was angry that we would charge for missing or broken items. How come? We have had people steal things in the past and break some valuables in the house, so have to have a bit of protection and that clause is a deterrent for those wishing to "take things home". When he called me about a problem with the hot tub not working he had a chip on his shoulder from the start. When I said that parts would be in the next day and the repairs made in the morning, he demanded that I fix it immediately. That just wasn't possible without the parts but he got angrier and angrier. I'm 76 years old and never have had such angry abuse sent my way. It was non stop and in the end I also lost my temper. I finally had to hang up the phone to avoid more degrading talk from him. His statements quoting me simply are not true, that 's his angry temperament coming out. The hot tub was repaired the next day as promised. He was correct that I live far away in Massachusetts. My wife and I spend about 4 months a year at the house and fly back and forth. We take our responsibilities seriously and keep our home in excellent condition. We don't need a property manager as we have a lawn company, a pool company, a hot tub company, a house cleaner and a very capable maintenance man who has taken care of our home for over 10 years. We all work together to make sure our guests are comfortable and well taken care of. Almost all people who stay at the house are thrilled with it, but occasionally we rent someone that we just can't keep happy. Our precautions are necessary and although most guests are wonderful, we have had renters with stolen credit cards who took all of our TV's, furniture, expensive decor and tools. All uncovered by insurance, and the weeks rental fee? Bounced! Others have left the house in a mess. This is rare but has happened to us three times in the past year. We hope this cleared up some of the questions about Gary's review and that you take the time to read the good reviews and then take your vacation at our beautiful home.
Did you find this review helpful?
10 0

Wonderful Pompano Beach Vacation Home

  • 5 of 5

We enjoyed our family vacation at Mal and Diane's beautiful home. Everything about the home was exactly as advertised on the VRBO website. We had a minor issue with the pool when we arrived (we think from something the previous renters had done) and Mal was very responsive and got it taken care of right away. They truly care about their guests in their home and it shows by the care they give their renters and their home. The layout of the home is great, there is plenty of space for everyone and everything we needed at the house. We used the pool and hot tub every day with our 3 children and also enjoyed fishing from the back dock. The view from the home was outstanding and the location is close to many excellent restaurants. The neighborhood seemed very safe, my husband and I ran every day in the neighborhood and there were many of the neighbors our walking and running. We hope to vacation here with our family next year!

  • Submitted: Apr 6, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 2

Rates & Availability

Cypress Lakes House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
Winter/ Spring
Dec 30 2016 - Apr 29 2017
3 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 5 guests; add $15 per night, per additional guest
Apr 30 2017 - Aug 31 2017
3 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 5 guests; add $20 per night, per additional guest
Sep 2 2017 - Dec 22 2017
3 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 5 guests; add $20 per night, per additional guest
Standard pricing
3 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

exit cleaning fee $200 + Tax
Pet Fee $100 + Tax
Refundable damage deposit $495
Tax Rate 11.0%

Add $500 to the last two weeks of March and the first week of April
7 night minimum during major holidays, last two weeks of March, 1st week of April
Exit cleaning $200.00
Damage deposit of $495.00
Florida lodging taxes of 11%,
smalls dogs upon approval
No Spring Breakers! Must be 25 or older to book
Deposit of $1000.00/wk, balance due 30 days prior to occupancy
We cater to families

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message Send a Message


Nearest Airport
12 Miles
Fort Lauderdale
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
The Oar House, within walking distance
Nearest Golf
2 Miles
Pompano municipal 36 hole championship course
Nearest Motorway
0.5 Miles
Rt. 1
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Walk to 3, drive 2 4 minutes to numerous others
Nearest Ski
1800 Miles
Nearest Beach
2 Miles
The revitalized Pompano Beach, it's beautiful
Car: recommended

Pompano Beach is located in the heart of the Gold Coast and is often referred to as the Venus of America and the boating capitol of the world, where multimillion dollar yachts can be seen tied up to huge, multimillion dollar waterfront mansions. If you are lucky you may sit in a restaurant next to, or bump shoulders with, some famous movie star or other famous person when shopping in the area..

Pompano Beach has a gorgeous revitalized beach area with lots of sparkling ocean, sand and sunshine. The famous Pompano Fishermans Wharf, about 1000 feet long is a great place to catch Snapper, Snook and large Barracuda.

Coconut Haven is a gorgeous home with a sparkling blue pool and waterfront with a 80+foot dock. Bring your own boat or rent one locally. We have a very quiet, child safe and upscale residential area. Just minutes from golf, dining at the many great restaurants, shopping, beaches, entertainment, nite life, shows and more. Boat shows, the Festival Flea Market, Sunrise Swap Shop, boat rentals, the Goodyear blimp which is located only minutes from the house, shopping malls galore, tennis, parks and a bike, roller blade and jogging trail. Hundreds of restaurants from the usual chains to fine dining on the waterfront. Bar hop by riding the Water Taxi all day and night. Stop and shop at every restaurant and bar along the intracoastal. For more information see our web site...

Other Activities: Boating, Para-sailing, snorkeling, kayaking, jet skis, Goodyear Blimp, fishing, swimming and beach for sun and fun


Partner Offers