check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand

David

Member since: 2008
Call Owner
Speaks: english, spanish

Mora Lake Home with Spectacular View

19 Reviews
Sleeps9
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Minnesota House Rental Photos and Description

2BR/2BA/Sleeps 9

Our lake house offers a panoramic view of a private spring fed lake with all the modern conveniences to make this your home away from home. There is a fully equipped kitchen, formal dinning area with a expandable table to accommodate everyone and large living room with vaulted ceiling, wood fireplace and 60" HD Smart TV. The master bedroom has a 36" smart HD TV.

Relax and enjoy the beautiful sunset overlooking the lake. Watch the family of loons on the lake, the bald eagles soaring overhead or an egret walking along the shore in early morning. Recently guests have reported experiencing an owl as the sun sets in a tree directly in front of the living room (spring 2016). Take the canoe, paddle boat, row boat or fish right off the dock to catch bass, northern, walleye, crappie, sunfish, and a variety of other fish. There is a gas stainless steal grill for cook outs and a lakeside fire pit to gather around and roast marshmallows or share campfire stories. If the weather doesn’t cooperate, spend a cozy day indoors watching a movie, reading a book or playing a game from our collection. You will feel like the outdoors is all around you, with amazing views of the lake and wilderness from virtually every room.

What to do: There is a stone patio with a gas grill for cook outs and a lakeside fire pit to gather around and roast marshmallows or share campfire stories. When the weather doesn’t cooperate, spend a cozy day indoors with central air and heating, watching a movie, reading a book or magazine, or playing a game from our collections. You will feel like the outdoors is all around you, with amazing views of the lake and wilderness from virtually every room. Whether you are planning a family vacation, a romantic getaway, or an outdoor sporting weekend, this home offers something for everyone.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible
David (Owner)
Member since: 2008
Call Owner
Speaks: english, spanish

About David

I own a Real Estate Company in Minneapolis. I grew up and went to high school near Mora Minnesota.

David purchased this house in 2003

Why David chose Minnesota

We wanted a lake home close to the Twins Cities where we could relax and have quality time with family. It has been a perfect getaway for us. It has given us great pleasure to open this home to many people over the years.

What makes this house unique

We love the lake home because of the open layout and view of the lake. The mix sand and gravel shore makes it a perfect lake front to cool off in the summer. We keep the sandy shore virtually weed free. The good fishing is a bonus. Troll around the lake with the canoe and you are bound to catch fish. In the winter there is ice fishing with easy access to snowmobile trails.

Reviews

4.5
based on 19 traveler reviews

Mora Lake Home with Spectacular View
average rating of 4.5263157 based on 19 reviews
5

Wonderful Experience - Great Owner

  • 5 of 5

This is a perfect little getaway for our two families to get together. A short drive north of Minneapolis/St. Paul made the location convenient, yet quiet and peaceful away from the city. We spent 3 days sitting by the still lake, fishing, swimming, and at the campfire. We went into Mora, for a short time for ice cream and the park, but the kids just wanted to get back to the lake. We didn't need anything else.

The space was spacious and comfortable and provided everything that we needed. David was great to work with for our needs, and the price was affordable. He even mailed back some items that we had accidentally left behind. We were impressed with the hospitality and consideration. We highly recommend this property for your vacation.

  • Submitted: Jun 18, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Memorial Weekend Getaway

  • 5 of 5

We were looking for a place to get away from the city and this was a nice compromise between somewhere out in the middle of nowhere and something that wasn't too close to the cities. The house itself is situated right on Devil's lake. When you walk in the floor plan is separated with an open kitchen/dining area that was fully stocked with everything we need, updated appliances, good hot water, and a large dining table that fit our large party. The windows (floor to ceiling) offer a great view of the backyard, dock, and the beautiful lake! The living room is very spacious and the windows open to let in some nice fresh air. The living room also has a smartTV and Dish network that included most of the channels we were interested in (although watching TV isn't the priority when staying here). WiFi is average and the cell service can be spotty depending on your carrier, but again, this is a getaway from the busyness of life, so it wasn't missed for us.

Overall sleeping accommodations definitely met our needs and expectations. The upstairs bedroom is spacious and the bed was comfortable for us (some people may find them a little bit hard depending on your preferences). The downstairs stays very cold, which for us was a challenge with little kids, so we bundled up with blankets at night. The basement has space for a pull out futon-style bed and a separate bedroom with a Queen bed. Bathrooms are large, clean, and updated and we didn't have any issues running out of warm water.

The lake itself was nice, we took the canoe out several different times to do some fishing and managed three fish over the course of the weekend (1 fairly large bluegill, 1 small mouth bass, and 1 smaller sized northern). Keep in mind that the backyard is fairly shaded and being the area the cabin is in, expect a lot of mosquitos/bugs. Bonfire pit sits right next to the lake and made for a great evening by the fire watching the stars.

The cabin is approx. 5 minutes from "Downtown Mora" which has everything you need for groceries (Coborns or Shopko), liquor stores, bait shops, and fast food/gas stations (Marathon, Subway, McDonalds, Hardy's).

Overall, we found the cabin to be a nice getaway and provided plenty of room for two families to stay at. The owners were very quick to respond to any questions or concerns we had throughout our 3 day stay. Would definitely recommend to anyone looking to relax, fish, or just getaway from it all! Thanks again David!

  • Submitted: Jun 2, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Great location for a peaceful & relaxing get away

  • 5 of 5

First of all, I want to thank you to let us stay at you lake home. The view from the living room and dining room is breath taking. Luckily we had good weather to take the paddle boat around the lake, it was our favorite activity during our stay. We will definitely come back next time in the fall to enjoy those beautiful fall colors shown in your picture.

  • Submitted: May 2, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

A Writer's Retreat in a Beautiful Scenic Atmosphere

  • 5 of 5

As a writer, I was looking for a scenic environment to let the creative juices flow, and David's lake home was the perfect place. Quiet, intimate, and even though there are neighboring homes, there are enough trees that makes one feel as if they're on a private oasis. It was March, so the nearest homes were empty.

David was gracious and accommodating to all my needs, and more! Whether you are looking for a retreat or a family gathering, this home is perfect! The pictures don't do this home enough justice. It's a must see for yourself!

I really appreciated David filling the bird feeder before my arrival! During the day I watched a variety of birds, including Blue jays and Woodpeckers. And a family of ducks were playing in the open water areas; at least 7 babies were present. Then there were the squirrels, gopher squirrels, and even an owl! I really appreciated David filling the bird feeder before my arrival! And at night, the wolves were howling.

Thank you, David! I'll be back!

  • Submitted: Apr 7, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Great vacation house close to the cities!

  • 5 of 5

We stayed here twice, first with my family after my brother's wedding in the fall of 2013 and again in late August 2014. We had so much fun both times. The lake home is clean with amazing view of the lake. It also has a huge yard to grill, have a bonfire and play lawn games. Being able to use the canoe, small boat and paddle boat are also added bonuses. Would definitely recommend this lake home if you want to get away but only a short distance away from Minneapolis!

  • Submitted: Feb 3, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
1

Avoid this one!

  • 1 of 5

Our vacation was ruined! The list of problems is extensive (13 to be exact), but due to space, limiting to six: 1) Mildew so bad on lower level, all four adults had to reside on first floor only; two sleeping in the living room. 2) Beds, noted as queen, were not beds with mattresses and box springs. They were thin, foam pads on slatted frames sitting a few inches off the ground…HORRIBLE! The others were futon or roll-away that we had to carry up to the main floor due to the mildew on lower. 3) What was used to divide first floor from an extremely steep staircase to the lower floor was an old baby gate with ineffective use of bungee cords. Our dog was able to slide through and fell down the entire level. 4) Washing machine was broken. 5) Upstairs shower we could only get to run cool water. 6) Glass sliding door pictured on VRBO site in dining area, had a sign on it that stated “Does Not Open”, which is incorrect. It can be opened and there is an approx. 8 foot drop to the concrete blocks and ground below. No deck – NOTHING! When we called about some of our complaints and potential health issues the owner was already aware of them. Said the shower was installed backwards with hot and cold water reversed. Washing machine was previously broken, plus knew there was a wet basement with buckling flooring in lower level. He offered that we could make do and try to get them to work ourselves or he could come up in a couple of days to look at them. He didn’t bother telling us about any of these issues before we arrived…totally unacceptable and bad business! We have used VRBO from Maine to Montana, many times and never had an issue until this one. If you have allergies/asthma, small children, pets, elderly/handicapped or anyone who needs to sleep, AVOID THIS ONE! After leaving, we received a refund of the remaining days. Unfortunately we suffered with the waste of vacation time, stress, health issues and additional expenses.

  • Submitted: Sep 9, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Gary, My wife and I are sorry to hear that our lake home did not meet your expectations. Since our lake home is often fully booked during peak season, we encourage and appreciate all feedback. This helps us with maintenance and our goal that every vacationer is able to enjoy our lake home to the fullest. We did arrived and inspected the home minutes after you left. We did not feel the walk out basement smelled musty. The showers had hot water and the washer worked fine. However, since last summer, we have done more inspections and have made the following repairs: replaced the flooring through out the basement, repaired the sofa bed in the living room, secured the patio door in the dining room and are looking into a better gate to the lower level. We also have done full evaluation of the comfortability of our home. Our beds are quality Ikea queen size as we state in our listing. We understand that the low profile style beds are not conducive to some elderly and for that reason we will replace them in the near future. Year after year we continue to make improvements so that every vacationer can fully enjoy our lake home.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Car: necessary

Throughout the year, Mora has a lot local events. In the spring canoe race on the Snake River, summer 5K & half-marathon, fall bicycle tour of 25 or 50 miles. The summer is full of county fairs, farmers' markets, 'Crazy Days' and plenty of other enjoyable activies. The fall colors are great on the lakes and the surrounding area. In the winter there are numerous snowmobil trails and plenty of lakes for ice fishing, also the world-renowned Vasaloppet Classic consisting of 13K, 35K, 42K & 58K races that draw international skiers and spectators. http://www.moraclassicseries.org/

Other Activities: Ice fishing during the winter

Photos

Rates & Availability

Mora House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
High season
Jun 1 2016 - Sep 30 2016
3 night minimum stay
$195
From
$225
Fri,Sat
$1,250
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$195
$1,250
$3,500
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $200

Holiday and weekend rates are the same.
There is a refundable $200 damage deposit.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Minnesota House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1200 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Lake ...
  • Lake View
  • Lakefront ...
  • Rural
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Firewood
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Mobile Phone
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Shampoo
  • Sofa Bed
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Grill
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower , Ceramic tiled shower
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 9
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , 1 twin/ single
    Mater main level bedroom - 1 queen , Spacious bedroom table and two chairs. 40" smart HD TV
  • Spacious main level bedroom with table and two chairs. 40" HD smart TV. Lower level Bedroom has queen size bed and a twin size fold out Ikea chair.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Game Console
  • Video Games ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Barbecue
  • Binoculars
  • Boat ...
  • Boat with Paddles
  • Canoe
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Patio
  • Pedal Boat
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Wood Deck
  • 6 garden chairs
  • 2 beach chairs
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • gambling casinos
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • pier fishing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • skiing
  • snorkeling
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing

Partner Offers