Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Looking for peace & quiet ?! Tranquility is the vacation spot for you!

Bedrooms 3
Space 1,800 sq. ft.
Property type cabin


About the property

Cabin, 3 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6)

Property is 1800 sq. ft. log home.. TV, DVD, Fireplace & ceiling fan in main living room. 3 br with TV in each br. Ceiling fan in each br. 2 bath with 1 bath in master br. House has front & back porches with great views. Central air, washer, dryer, fridge. Home is very private, but is less than 3 miles to Bryson City, N. C., close to Nantahala River. The driveway is paved.

Approximately 30 minutes to skiing at Cataloochee.

Member since: 2008
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
March 17, 2018


Bryson City Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1800 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Mountain
  • Rural
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Sofa Bed
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (2), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1)
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games for Kids
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Wood Deck
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • unsuitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • churches
  • coin laundry
  • forests
  • library
  • pond
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • skiing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting


Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(36 traveler reviews)

86% Complete
11% Complete
0% Complete
2% Complete
0% Complete
Looking for peace & quiet ?! Tranquility is the vacation spot for you!
average rating of 4.8055553 based on 36 reviews

Great Cabin, Great Bargain!

  • 5 of 5

We rented this very nice cabin for a Fall colour viewing weekend with my family. This is the best way to family vacation for privacy and saving money. We would have required two hotel rooms and forced to eat out. This cabin is private, well maintained, spacious, well equipped and just a great bargain too. The owner is extremely nice and accommodating and did everything he could to make sure everything was good. The Bryson area is also nice, as it is not so commercial like Cherokee. We did a lot of hiking on the Blue Ridge and local trails, but we would have been just as content to have bivouacked all weekend enjoying the cabin as well. Home away from home, but at several thousand feet (we're from Florida).

  • Submitted: Nov 11, 2008
  • Stayed: October 2008
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am very pleased that another family has enjoyed my home. My goal is 100 % satisfaction & I constantly work toward that goal. My cabin name is "TRANQUILITY" and it certainly lives up to the name.
Did you find this review helpful?
18 0

Great cabin and very spacious!

  • 5 of 5

We will rent again!

  • Submitted: Feb 25, 2018
  • Stayed: February 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Overall great stay- and on short notice too!

  • 4 of 5

We had a last minute change of plans to our planned vacation and we stayed at this lovely cabin. Overall we loved it, there were some minor issues- but nothing that affected us too much.

Pros: It is close to town- really close.

Even though it is so close to town the cabin itself is isolated. You couldn't even see another house or cabin from the property. On a side note: there was a lovely Mexican restaurant (La Poblana) nearby that had the best food we ate during our stay in North Carolina. Also quite a few shops nearby, within a few miles.

The view is beautiful. Honestly, I loved it and would spend my mornings drinking coffee outside enjoying the view.

The cabin itself was cozy, yet spacious. It's a one level cabin and I wasn't sure how spacious it was going to be, but it was plenty of room for my family of 5.

The beds were comfortable and the linens were clean.

The kitchen was well stocked with pans, plates, and everything we needed to cook our own meals.

Cons: The hill is a fairly steep to get to the cabin. I would suggest using an AWD vehicle, especially in winter months when it may be snowing.

The grill outside didn't work. We planned to do some grilling outside, but the grill (which is a gas grill) wouldn't light.

If you're a clean freak don't look underneath the couches in the living room. We were looking for a missing Jenga piece and there was a ton of dust underneath. Also, someone's dirty socks- not ours haha. The rest of the house didn't seem dirty so maybe it was just the cleaning person not doing a thorough job.

Overall, would I stay here again? Absolutely!

  • Submitted: Jan 14, 2018
  • Stayed: January 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Very peaceful and relaxing

  • 5 of 5

My family (including two young children) had a great time! The yard Ian perfect for playing and the house so secluded. The house had everything we could need for cooking/grilling. We would definitely return!

Constructive criticism: the house was very dusty and some light fixtures/fans didn't work properly. House cleaning crew needs could do better, especially for the daily cleaning fee that we pay.

  • Submitted: Dec 23, 2017
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Overall this was one of the better vrbo properties that I have stayed. Great cabin!

  • 4 of 5

The cabin was very well furnished and the owner quickly responded to any questions or needs. The only reason not a five rating is there were some furniture (coffee table and end tables) that was wobbly and a few wasps inside, the overall cabin is very comfortable and well furnished.

  • Submitted: Dec 8, 2017
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We were happy to have you as a guests and hope you'll visit again. We'll be replacing those tables soon.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Disappointed in house

  • 2 of 5

Home had some issue......

1- furniture wobbles in living room

2- refrigerator doesn't make ice (so bring your own)

3- bathroom between the two small bedrooms has a loose toilet seat (so be careful when you sit down)

4- description states Gas Grill ( that grill is so old and nasty I would be embarrassed to have it there)

5- floors were not swept very clean or wasn''t and bees in the house

6- tv did not work - wasn't hooked up correctly so we had to fix it

7- some of the lights didn't work

8- owner didn't supply no toiletries.... very little tissue paper

9- as matter of fact, we never heard from the owner except when I emailed him and asked about his process for renting the cabin

10- cabin is on a VERY steep hill, so be careful

11- there is imitation rocks around the does not show that....hahahaha

12- never heard anything from owner.....not one call - not one message during the whole stay

  • Submitted: Nov 19, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We strive to make sure all of our guests have a wonderful time in our home and have had many happy guests as is evidenced by our many positive reviews. We were disappointed we failed to meet expectations on this trip and take these concerns seriously. During our communications with this guest both during the visit and afterwards, we were made aware of some issues that needed attention We appreciated the opportunity to make this right for this customer and make improvements for future guests.
Did you find this review helpful?
4 4


Nearest Airport
65 Miles
Nearest Motorway
3 Miles
US Highway 74
Car: necessary


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $80 + Tax
Tax Rate 10.75%

Fall & Winter Seasons - Weekends are a 2 night minimum. Must rent Friday & Saturday night with checkout on Sunday.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties