check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand

Bob and Joannie Ruhstorfer

Member since: 2008
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Beautiful Executive Waterfront Home with Breathtaking Views of Lake Charlevoix

14 Reviews
Sleeps12
Bedrooms 6
Bathrooms5
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Overview

Northern Michigan House Rental Photos and Description

House, 6 Bedrooms, 5.5 Baths, (Sleeps 12)

Nothing has been overlooked in this beautiful waterfront home! Large custom built, professionally landscaped home featuring hardwood floors, large open floor plan, cental air (main and lower levels), and large bedrooms. Furnished and decorated for the discriminating guest and to accomodate families with small children. Located in the Lakeshore Club development, 1 1/2 miles from beautiful downtown Charlevoix featuring 800 feet of semi private sandy beach with extended sandy shallow area great for kids swimming and mooring your boat. Home overlooks 20 acre nature preserve with breathtaking views of Lake Charlevoix, regarded as the nicest lake in Midwestern U.S., Quiet and scenic with crystal blue water and sugar sand beaches. The home is also located less than one mile from the popular 'Castle Farms' which makes it the perfect place for the families of the bride or groom to stay.

Charlevoix Arts and Culture:: Artistic Expression in Charlevoix County is boundless! From gallery tours and art shows to summer concerts, Charlevoix has something for everyone.

Art fairs, galleries and festivals provide a venue for both the amateur and professional artist and crafts people. A highlight on Charlevoix's cultural calendar is the Waterfront Art Fair, listed among the nation's top art fairs. This event draws thousands of visitors each year.

Free outdoor concerts are presented every Tuesday and Thursday throughout the summer in downtown's Bridge Park.

During the community's annual Venitian Festival, music and fireworks fill the air almost nightly!

Water Fun!: In the summertime, the area's waters are magnets for sunbathers, swimmers and boaters. Pristine public beaches include Depot Beach, Elm Point, Ferry Beach, Whiting County Park and Young State Park, all on Lake Charlevoix, and Michigan Beach and Fisherman's Island State Park on Lake Michigan. Boaters can easily travel between beaches, or even communities by using shoppers' docks.

Further, the Jordan and Boyne Rivers are ideal for exploration by canoe, inner tube and kayak. Anglers drop their lines from boats along the shores of Lake Charlevoix, while sleek charter boats troll the depths of Lake Michigan. The Charlevoix pier on Lake Michigan is a favorite fishing spot for anglers.

Throughout the summer, the Charlevoix Yacht Club holds Wednesday evening sailboat races on Lake Charlevoix; visible from elevated rear porch!

Nearby Attractions:: Charlevoix is ideally located close to resort towns Traverse City, Petoskey, Harbor Springs and Historic Mackinaw Island, and just a ferry ride away from Beaver Island. For some adult fun, visit the Odawa Casino in Petoskey or visit Traverse City, home of the National Cherry Festival and Sleeping Bear Sand Dunes where you can enjoy days of touring and tastings at beautiful wineries located on some of the most breathtaking sites in the area. Visit world famous and historic Mackinaw Island and enjoy the 'preserved' downtown hustle and bustle of the early 1800's or take a ferry to nearby Beaver Island which is the most remote inhabited island in the great lakes.

More Details
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Bob and Joannie Ruhstorfer (Owner)
Member since: 2008
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Why Bob and Joannie Ruhstorfer chose Northern Michigan

We are both from Michigan and have lots of family there. We live in Chicago now and love the 'Windy City' but we like to spend as much time as possible with family in Michigan. We believe the Charlevoix area is uniquely located in the hub of North Western Michigan vacation land. 'Charlevoix The Beautiful' is within an hour drive of the Traverse City Wine Country, Petoskey Casinos, Mackinaw Island, numerous world class ski resorts and golf courses just to name a few.

Reviews

4.6
based on 14 traveler reviews

Beautiful Executive Waterfront Home with Breathtaking Views of Lake Charlevoix
average rating of 4.571429 based on 14 reviews
5

Fantastic Place for a Group Get-a-Way!

  • 5 of 5

I wanted to take the time to write a review for the weekend at Bob and Joannie’s home in Charlevoix since it was so much more than I expected. We had 5 couples and two 14 month olds for a wedding at Castle Farms. We had a fire Friday night while waiting for everyone to arrive; it was so relaxing and there were so many laughs, the setting was perfect. The beds were wonderful and after taking in the fresh air Friday night, all of us slept like babies. Coffee and conversation on the huge porch, while looking at beautiful Lake Charlevoix, was also special. The two toddlers, along with their parents, enjoyed the toys and play area. The location to Castle Farms was so close, we probably could have stumbled our way back at the end of the evening and downtown isn’t far at all for shopping and dining. The home is stocked with everything you could possibly need and has such a comfortable feel throughout. The property manager, Judy, stopped by to make sure we had everything we needed. This rental was top notch and provided a weekend getaway that was so enjoyable and relaxing. Thanks for sharing your home and providing all of us an awesome weekend!

  • Submitted: Jul 14, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Michigan
1

Expensive dissapointment

  • 1 of 5

Dirty dishes in the cupboard, pet hair on the comforters, lower level so damp & cold it was hard to be down there for any length of time, what looked like mold in the lower level bathroom. Neighborhood environment very unfriendly from the no trespassing sign to the creepy neighbor sitting in his upstairs window watching every move we made outside & on the back deck. 5 day stay was about 4 days too long. Would not recommend this property due in a large part to poor management & poor communications

  • Submitted: Jun 29, 2015
  • Stayed: May 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Our house is in a private development that is located in a quiet picturesque setting. We employ a professional cleaning service and expect nothing less than a very clean home after every stay and we have a new two zone central HVAC system with detailed instructions on how to set it. The guest made no mention of any issues with the house until this review. However, they did show up with large 5th wheel travel trailer and parked it in our driveway without our approval and against HOA rules, which did upset the community. They also exceeded the agreed amount of guests. We ended up withholding their damage deposit and feel this review is more about that than any legitimate complaint with the property. We obviously did a poor job of screening this renter and for that we apologize to our neighbors.
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0
Ravenna, MI
5

Weekend stay

  • 5 of 5

This is an absolutely beautiful home! I would highly recommend this property! My family enjoyed it immensely. We stayed Friday through Monday at the end of April. The weather was a little chilly outside, so we stayed inside for a large portion of the weekend, but there was plenty to do. The younger children played with toys in the basement, while the teens and pre-teens used the pool table and watched movies on the big screen t.v. Everyone had plenty of space. Well organized house. Loved it!

  • Submitted: May 13, 2014
  • Stayed: Apr 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Midland, Michigan
4

Nice house, nice location, poor house management

  • 4 of 5

The house was nice and well decorated. A few suggestions. They should have golf cart to go to the beach as it is 2 to 3 hundred yards from the house and a long walk for young kids. The beach was nice, but needed some grooming. The house was nice and there were plenty of toys and room for the kids to play. The house management company would get a poor review as they did not respond to issues in the house. There was little to no hand soap. There were no trash bags and we where not able to separate the trash as per the house rules. However, even with the poor management, we all had a good time and will likely rent again in the future.

  • Submitted: Jul 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0
Vassar, MI
5

Fantastic Stay

  • 5 of 5

We were lucky enough to find this home just up the road from Castle Farms where our daughter was married in April-2013. It was the perfect place for our family to stay. The home was beautiful, plenty of room for our family and we appreciated very much it being pet friendly as we unexpectedly needed to bring our golden retriever with us. Bob was very easy to work with, quickly replying to any questions we had. Charlevoix is a beautiful part of Michigan with a lot of different things to do and you will have to look hard to find any accommodations nicer than this home. Thank you for sharing your home with us.

  • Submitted: Apr 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Midland, MI
5

Absolutely PERFECT!!!!!

  • 5 of 5

I don't know how anyone could possibly say anything negative about this home, because this home was absolutely PERFECT in every way possible for our 3-day weekend. We had 13 adults and 3 toddlers stay in this home for our friends wedding at the Castle Farms and we all slept very comfortably. The kids were in heaven!! Not only because of the toys, but the bikes, the walking path to the beach, the front yard to play in, etc. There was so much room and it was AWESOME!!! I have to say that the communication with the owner, Bob, went very well. In fact, the night I sent a request to rent his home, he contacted within the hour. He was fabulous. When we arrived and noticed throughout the weekend how organized the owners were (i.e. labels to necessary items, a booklet of info of the house and nearby areas), I knew that they were great to work with. Every single person that stayed commented on how great it was to be here. The view of Lake Charlevoix was also something we will never forget. We LOVED it! The pictures on the VRBO website do not even compare to how beautiful this home is in person. Thank you so much for allowing us to stay in your home and providing such excellent hospitality. We really hope we will have another opportunity to stay here in the future!

  • Submitted: Oct 8, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We appreciate feedback from our guests and are always pleased to hear that they enjoyed our home. We rented for many years our selves so, we know how important it is to have a property meet your expectations. We along with our rental manager, Judy, strive to make sure everything goes as smooth as possible.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Nearest Airport
50 Miles
Cherry Capital Airport
Nearest Ski
15 Miles
Boyne Mountain Resort
Car: necessary

Ranked #2 on Midwest Living's list of 100 Best Small-Town Getaway's. Charlevoix County has a long reputation for being one of the most picturesque getaway's in Michigan. Whenever you visit this resort town, you'll see why it is called the crown jewel of Northern Michigan. Set in the midst of Lake Michigan, Lake Charlevoix and Round Lake, its beauty is as engaging in January as in June! Adding to the appeal of the waterfront, galleries, boutiques, and restaurants is the fact that this casually elegant destination will present vacation memories that will be treasured for years to come!

Other Activities: Canoe, inner-tube and kayak tours, Charter Fishing in Lake Michigan, Golf, Downhill, cross country and snowboarding, Snowmobiling

Golf: Michigan is an international destination for premier golfing, and the Charlevoix area's many courses are a major contributor to that reputation. Golf Courses include; Antrium Dells Public Golf Course, Belvedere Golf Club, Boyne Mountain Resort - The Alpine Course and The Monument Course, Charlevoix Golf Club, Charlevoix Country Club, Dunmaglas Golf Course, and Mallard Golf Club & Driving Range.

Ski: The Midwest's finest ski resorts are all within an easy drive. Boyne Mountain, Boyne Highlands, Nub's Nob, Shanty Creek and Schuss Mountain. Also the City of Charlevoix offers one of the few municipal ski facilities left in Michigan. Mt. McSauba is designed with families in mind, from the beginner to the intermediate downhill skier. Equipment rental and lessons are available. Snowboarders and cross-country skiers also enjoy this friendly facility.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Charlevoix House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Summer
Jun 25 2016 - Aug 20 2016
7 night minimum stay
$6,245
 
 
Late Summer
Aug 21 2016 - Sep 24 2016
3 night minimum stay
$805
$5,125
 
 
Fall/Winter
Sep 25 2016 - Dec 18 2016
3 night minimum stay
$660
$4,185
 
 
Holiday Season
Dec 19 2016 - Jan 1 2017
4 night minimum stay
$805
$5,125
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $395
Refundable damage deposit $1,000
Tax Rate 6.0%

Required refundable damage deposit of $1,000 can be in the form of a check held on deposit or major credit card.
There is a 3% convenience for credit cards.
Cleaning is charged extra.

$500 is due with reservation. Balance of 1/2 down due six months in advance of stay. Balance of rent plus security deposit due 90 days prior to stay.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates to see total
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Northern Michigan House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 6350 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Beach View
  • Lake View
  • Waterfront
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Family
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Filtered Water
  • Garage
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Parking
  • Security System
  • Telephone
  • Telescope
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Water Cooler
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Catering Available
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Lobster Pot
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 12 people
Bathrooms:
  • 5 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Master Bath - toilet , shower , jetted tub
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 4 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 5 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 6 - toilet
  • Spacious Master Bath features both a large whirlpool tub and lage multiple head shower.
Bedrooms:
  • 6 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Master - 1 king
    Family suite - 1 queen , 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , 1 child bed
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen , 1 baby crib
    Bedroom 4 - 1 double , 1 twin/ single
    Bedroom 6 - 1 double
  • High Quality Baby Crib available on site.
Entertainment:
  • Air Hockey
  • Audio Tape Player
  • Books
  • Books for Adults
  • Books for Kids
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Game Room
  • Games for Kids
  • Music Library
  • Pool Table
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Toys
  • VCR
  • Video Game Console
  • Video Games
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Bicycles
  • Binoculars
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Patio
  • Small Cooler
  • Terrace
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Walkway to Water
  • Wood Deck
  • 6 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Pool / Spa:
  • Jacuzzi
  • jetted tub
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • forests
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
  • marina
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • water parks
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • skiing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Our home is set up to accomodate families with small children. Besides the crib we have a high chair, booster chair, Pack N Play and baby monitors available on site. Video game is a 'Play Station 2'.

Partner Offers