Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

1 BR Bear Mountain Golf Course Condo, Brand New Luxury Suite

Bedrooms 1
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 3 nights


About the property

Condo, 1 Bedroom + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2-4)

Your 1 BR suite is located in the Heart of the Village of Bear Mountain Golf and Country Club Mountain Resort. This 600 sq ft Luxury suite overlooks the 3rd Fairway, and the Village of Bear Mountain.

The 36-hole Golf Course is co-designed by Jack Nicklaus and his son Steve. There are in fact two courses... The 'Mountain Course' and the 'Valley Course'. They are both set in the foothills of Mount Finlayson and strike the perfect balance between playability and a year round golf experience for golfers of all skill levels. With panoramic mountain, city and ocean views and located only 10-12 minutes from downtown Victoria... You'll fall in love with this world-renowned Golf Course and Village Resort.

Bear Mountain has recently opened the 'Valley Course'... A second Nicklaus-designed 18-hole championship golf course which offers the same world class facilities as the first 18-hole Mountain Course. The new Valley course is a par 71, reaching 7,000 yards from the championship tees, and makes Bear Mountain the first 36-hole Nicklaus designed golf resort in Canada!

And for those guests who would rather explore than putt... There are many opportunities just minutes away from your own front door to explore, go antiquing, rest & relax at the Westin Resort Spa where the 'Full Body Massage' is to-die-for; or you can venture off to Jack's (Nicklaus) Pub & Restaurant for some of the best wings in town. Please Note the Pool is located next door at the Westin and requires a fee to use the facilities.

Or you can catch the Trolley during the summer months and venture down the hill where all the box stores are - From Winners and Home Depot, to Costco, Wal-Mart, and the Brick. Plus lots of restaurants, and gift stores to browse.

And all of this is just steps away from your front door...

Your home-away-from-home includes 10 ft ceilings; Granite, Tile, and Warm Chestnut colored Laminant throughout; Stainless Steel Appliances; In-Suite Laundry; and a gas Fireplace.

This is a brand-new suite that is professionally designed and decorated and includes a private bedroom with a King-sized Sealy Mattress with additional memory foam added to increase the height and comfort of your bed. The 600-1000 thread-count sheets and non-allergenic down-comforter will also ensure that you have a restful nights sleep.

While enjoying your breakfast from your private balcony, you can watch the golfers on the 3rd fairway pass by your elevated suite. Or you can look further down to see all the activities at the Golf Course Club House and local Town Market (due to be complete 2008).

The fully-equipped oversized kitchen features a large separate granite island with an eating bar for 2-4 people.

The comfortable living room is tastefully decorated with a new leather (double-sized pull-out) couch that sleeps 2 more guests; a gas fireplace; a 36' flat screen wall mount TV; quality stereo with CD, tuner, and iPod/MP3 connections.

The bathroom has Tile and Granite throughout, with a contoured tub and shower unit.

This luxurious condominium offers the traveler a truly unique experience when visiting Vancouver Island... You can venture up island for the day and go caving at Horne Lake, or whale-watching a 1/2 hour away in Sooke, or spend your vacation on the Mountain in the 'Whistler-like' Village, or even drive downtown and go antique shopping or beach combing in Victoria.

Whatever you choose, you know that your stay with us will be an enjoyable one... Please view our calendar below and book early to ensure your quality stay in Bear Mountain. - 30 Day Rentals

PS: Please note that we also have a 2 Bdrm and a Bachelor Suite as well. (see #170755 and #183050 for more photos and info)... In total we can accommodate 14 guests between our 3 suites in the same Bear Mountain development.... Also Check out my Condo in Puerto Vallarta VRBO #262594

If you have a large or small group coming to the Island, please contact us for further information at the phone number listed below, and we'll be glad to help you in any way we can...



Keywords: Condominium

More Details

Member since: 2008
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
April 19, 2018

About Carmen

Owner lives in Edmonton, AB Canada, and purchased their suites in Bear Mountain during the initial construction stages back in 2006.

Carmen purchased this condo in 2007

Why Carmen chose Bear Mountain Resort

Frank was looking at creating a home away from home... With Frank being an avid golfer, and Bear Mountain being ranked as one of the best (36 hole) courses in Canada, it was an easy decision on where to purchase. Not to mention the Resort is ideally located with quick and easy access to downtown Victoria, the Highlands, Sooke, and the upper Island destinations.

What makes this condo unique

The Resort is similar to Whistler in that you feel like you are in an Alpine resort with all the Luxurious amenities, yet you are also a 12 minute drive into Victoria BC with all of it's tourist attractions and famous landmarks. The Highlands (where Bear Mountain is located) has been fully developed with all of the large Box Stores like, Costco, Walmart, Home Depot, etc... It's just an ideal place to relax, breathe the mountain and ocean air, and even shop or go on tours by day, and enjoy the restaurants and nightlife by night... Or if you'd rather you can stay in at night, and light up the BBQ (and fireplace) and enjoy the view of the heart of the village, with a nice meal, while lounging out on your large balcony. It's all good!


Bear Mountain Resort Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Golf Course View
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Elevator
  • Garage
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Linens Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • King size beds (1), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1)
  • CD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness center
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • racquetball
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • spelunking
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing


3.7/5 -
(7 traveler reviews)

42% Complete
28% Complete
0% Complete
14% Complete
14% Complete
1 BR Bear Mountain Golf Course Condo, Brand New Luxury Suite
average rating of 3.7142856 based on 7 reviews

In summary "excellent"

  • 4 of 5

Great layout, very clean, beautiful view. Just an all round great experience.

  • Submitted: Oct 24, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Tucson, Arizona, U.S.

Attractive looking place but a painful experience.

  • 1 of 5

When I first arrived and saw the unit I was impressed by how new and fresh it looked. Unfortunately my experience went down hill from there. First, I noticed how few bowls and dishes there were. In checking the inventory I discovered that items were missing. It was difficult contacting the housekeeper whose cell was not set up to receive messages. When I finally was able to inform the house-keeper, she told me to ignore her own inventory that it was just "wear and tear" and that I would not be held responsible for missing items. Finally, after prodding, she did buy some more dishes and bowls but not until the last week of my one month stay. I had been told to turn off the gas lead to the barbecue but there was no gas container. The house keeper brought one over but, when it did not fit, gave up. In short I did not have the use of the barbecue despite it being listed as an item in the inventory. The bar stools in the kitchen were ridiculously high for the counter top and could not be adjusted. Lacking was a table along the bed but only a high dresser. Some cleaning supplies were missing and the housekeeper told me she hastily cleaned up before my arrival when she finally did bring over the supplies. The portable air conditioning unit in the bedroom produced more heat from the back than cold air in the front. In addition it was extremely noisy. When it was off the bedroom was overly-warm during the night as the windows only opened a crack probably for safety reasons.

Outside of using the coffee maker and toaster I rarely used the kitchen. Still, I was falsely accused of having broken the vent over the microwave resulting in the purchase of a new microwave and the loss of a large chunk of my deposit.

If I learned anything it was that prospective renters must demand to be accompanied on a walk-through prior to settling in and a second walk-through upon leaving. Anything less than that would jeopardize the deposit. Let the buyer beware.

  • Submitted: Aug 11, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Very sorry for this persons experience at our condo. We have been running it for 10 years and never had a problem like this. We have usually had great compliments on our cleaning lady. We will be looking into your complaints and if need be replace her. Thank you.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great Value!

  • 5 of 5

The location worked out very well for our golfing vacation. My golf buddies and I booked this condo for our annual tournament. Well run from the initial contact with the owners to the greeting when we arrived. There were plenty of beds to accommodate our group comfortably and plenty of information material and books on nearby restaurants, main attractions. This condo has a well-equipped kitchen with all utensils and spices you need. The location was perfect.

This condo is a great value.

  • Submitted: Nov 10, 2015
  • Stayed: October 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Edmonton, Alberta


  • 5 of 5

My friend and I stayed a week at this lovely 1 BR condo at Bear Mountain. The location was ideal for me, as I needed a quiet place to relax in the evenings. It had all the amenities required including BBQ, fireplace and well-stocked kitchen to make some fantastic dinner. We played golf and enjoyed being able to walk to the golf course. I particularly loved the balcony, which faced the golf course, couldn’t have asked for a better view. The place was immaculate and the AC worked good above expectations.

The only thing is that this condo is further away from Victoria’s main attraction, so you will need to rent a vehicle or catch a taxi to reach the city’s center. But, if you want to take the parking and driving hassles out of your vacation, Trolley bus stops are just 2 blocks away from the condo. Nearby we found nice restaurants, café and convenient stores. It’s a wonderful place! Would definitely stay here again.

  • Submitted: Jun 8, 2015
  • Stayed: June 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Deceiving photos, broken laundry, cable not working...

  • 2 of 5

Well I feel very unhappy and deceived about this vacation rental.

I stayed from Aug 14-19th. The ad clearly shows pictures of a pool and hot tub. Then to find there is no pool in the complex at all and you have to go over to the Westin resort and pay a fee?! Incredibly misleading ad. I chose this place because of the pool and planned on spending my days lounging by it, not having one to enjoy ruined my trip.

I also arrived to find the laundry broken, unusable.

The cable tv didn't work.

The bath towels smelled like mildew (hence my desire for working laundry facilities) and were stored under the sink up against the pipes. Definitely don't want to put that against my face thank you.

On the plus side, the unit is very nicely decorated, modern with nice kitchen appliances and the king bed is heavenly.

However, the unit is too warm for a summertime rental. The windows only (inexplicably) open about 4 inches, and you cannot get any kind of air movement. There is a ceiling fan in the bedroom which is good, but the rest of the unit needs fans too for air movement, it's uncomfortable if you aren't directly under the fan (in the bedroom). There is an external a/c unit but it's not vented... so you have to have the patio door open (letting all the warm air in)..defeats the purpose entirely. Not to mention it's too loud to talk over when it's on.

The dishes - there is only service for 4. Not a deal-breaker, but another inconvenience. There are 2 bowls in total.

Patio furniture needs a proper cushion, leaning your back against metal rungs is anything but comfortable. And to be clear, your main view from the patio is a parking lot. Again, the pictures mislead with photos of the golf course, but that's not actually your view. There isn't a lot of traffic so it's not awful, and you can see the mountain which is lovely, but in the interests of being honest and upfront, you are mainly looking at a road and parking lot.

They eventually did send a repair man to fix the laundry, but that was an annoying intrusion, I waited during the agreed-upon time and no one showed up. Then he showed up later when I had plans and it was not convenient... as well, *I* had to phone the cable company and go through all the troubleshooting to get the cable repaired. Totally unacceptable.

For this, I was offered $50 compensation. For a totally ruined trip. Would not stay here again.

  • Submitted: Sep 10, 2014
  • Stayed: August 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am deeply sorry to hear that you were not fully satisfied with your stay with us at our home-away from home in Bear Mountain. The experiences you described our not characteristic of the level of service we strive to provide. We always try to ensure the units are in the best condition, but it sounds like the washing machine and cable were not working this particular time. I have met with the housekeeper to ensure all appliances are inspected before and upon guest arrival and to immediately report any maintenance issues directly to me. We have also asked the housekeeper to store the towels in a drawer and away from the sink. As far as the windows only opening 4 inches, it's a safety feature to prevent children from falling. We have also removed the picture of the swimming pool as we can see it can be perceived as being included.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 1
Plantation, FL

Lovely condo

  • 5 of 5

The condo is exactly as described. Carmen was very helpful throughout the booking process and our contact there, Edith was very nice. Everything is new and the condo is totally furnished.The only problem is that the trolley no longer runs and there's no public transport, so renters will need to have a car. The nearby Bear Cafe, is great for coffee and sandwiches.

  • Submitted: Jul 6, 2012
  • Stayed: June 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0



Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $117.55
Damage Deposit $313.46

If staying longer then 1 Week a higher Damage Deposit may be charged.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 7 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties