expand arrow-rightsvg-balloonsvg-carsvg-dogsvg-fireplacesvg-flat-screensvg-heatersvg-laundry-washing-machinesvg-snowflakesvg-hot-tubsvg-swimming-poolsvg-wheelchairsvg-wifiarrow-right
Magnifiercirclex

Big Island Paradise/walk to shops and beach/infinity pool/mtn views/family fun

Waikoloa Village, HI, USA
  • Condo1200 sqft
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps6
  • Bathrooms2
  • Half Baths0
  • Minimum Stay3 - 7 nights

Condo, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6)

This Hawaiian plantation-style condo in the Fairway Villas resort complex is surrounded by the greens and fairways of the Waikoloa Beach Golf Course. We are centrally located across the lake from the Kings' Shops and within walking distance of the Queen's Market Place. The beautiful crescent-shaped white sand beach of Anaeho'omalu Bay is a fifteen minute walk away. Hapuna and Kauna'oa (Mauna Kea), within a fifteen minute drive, are also picture perfect Hawaiian beaches.

Enjoy the newly refinished infinity edge pool with elevated rock spa overlooking the 4th hole and Kings' Lake, the fitness center, and the poolside gas barbecues.

Our two bedroom, two bathroom first floor Golf Villa offers a relaxing and convenient location to fully enjoy all the Big Island has to offer. It is decorated in tropical style, and provides many amenities including a complete kitchen with granite counter tops, stocked with a full complement of small appliances and utensils, our favorite spices and cookbooks to make this your home away from home.

The master bedroom has a king size bed, with a Serta iComfort pillow-top mattress and a "smart" TV. The master bath features a large soaking tub, separate shower, double sinks with a marble countertop, and large walk-in closet. The guest bedroom has two twin beds, which can be pushed together to form a queen-sized bed. There is also a convertible queen-sized sleep-sofa in the living room.

The living room includes a large screen Samsung smart HDTV, digital HD/DVR cable, DVD/BlueRay player, free high speed wireless/wired Internet access, and stereo. There is a large selection of mainly Hawaiian music CDs, movies for the entire family, island, volcano and reef documentaries. Enjoy our collection of guide books and books about Hawaiian culture, history and famous visitors.

Relax under the ceiling fan on our lanai and watch the sunset or play a game or puzzle from our entertainment center. Enjoy the view of the 4th tee and Kings' Lake, with Hualalai Mountain as the backdrop. The lanai closet holds beach chairs, umbrella and toys.

This is our Hawaiian home, and we have furnished it with everything we appreciate during a long stay. We think you will enjoy it too.

Hawaiian State Tax ID GE-153-796-6080-01

TA-153-796-6080-01

Owner

Roger Taillon

Member Since 2007
Premier Partner
This HomeAway partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.
Response rate:
100%
Response time:
within a few hours
Speaks:
english, french
Calendar last updated:
Apr 15, 2018
About Roger Taillon

Aloha! We are a retired couple with grown children and grandchildren. While we spend most of the year on the east coast, close to family, we also like to travel. And we spend several weeks a year in our second home on our favorite place, the Big Island of Hawaii. Kay & Roger Taillon

Roger Taillon purchased this Condo in 2002

Why Roger Taillon chose Puako

We had been vacationing on several Hawaiian Islands every few years beginning in 1984, when we visited Maui. Although all the Hawaiian islands are beautiful, we decided that Hawaii is our favorite. It is the biggest, the most diverse, with the volcanoes, beautiful beaches, tropical rain forest, ranchland, and coffee farms, many activities and great restaurants. The Kohala Coast, where our condo is located, has the best beaches, some of the best restaurants, and is relatively uncrowded. So when we were ready to retire, it was a natural choice for our second home.

What makes this Condo unique

Our condo is furnished as our second home, so it is comfortable and fully equiped for a long stay. The view from the lanai at sunset is beautiful. The condo is within walking distance of numerous activities, and an easy drive to others.

Amenities

    • Internet
    • Air Conditioning
    • Satellite or Cable
    • Kids Welcome
    • Washer & Dryer
    • Hot Tub
    • Parking
    • TV
    • No Smoking

      Bedrooms

      • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
      • Bedroom 2
        2 twin/ single
      • Master Bedroom
        1 king, Serta iComfort pillow-top mattress
      • There is a king-sized bed in the master bedroom. The master bath includes an over sized soaking tub in addition to a separate glass and tiled shower, and double sinks in a marble counter. The guest bedroom has twin beds, which can be pushed together if preferred, and its own bathroom. A queen-sized sofa bed in the living room sleeps two more. Full-size washer and dryer are conveniently located in a hall closet. All linens, kitchen, bath and beach towels are provided. Both bedrooms have televisions.

      Bathrooms

      • 2 Bathrooms
      • Master Bath
        toilet, tub, shower
      • Bathroom 2
        toilet, combination tub/shower
      • Master bath includes large soaking tub, separate shower, double sink.

      Location Type

        • Golf Course Front
          Fourth tee of the Waikoloa Beach Golf Course
        • Lake View
          Only the fourth tee of the Waikoloa Beach Golf Course separates us from King's Lake
        • Lakefront
        • Mountain View
          From our Lanai, always a clear view of Hualalai, and a view of Mauna Loa when the weather is clear.
        • Near The Ocean
        • Resort
          Part of the Waikoloa Beach Resort

          Theme

            • Family
            • Sports & Activities
            • Tourist Attractions

              Meals

                • Guests provide their own meals

                  General

                    • Living Room
                      With entertainment center
                    • Activities Guide
                    • Alarm Clock
                    • Basic Soaps
                    • Broadband Access
                    • Ceiling Fans
                    • Clothes Dryer
                    • Fitness Room / Equipment
                      Fitness room for resort includes treadmill, eliptical machine, two bikes weight machine and some barbells.
                    • Free Long Distance
                      Free long distance phone throughout US, Canada and US territories
                    • Hair Dryer
                    • Internet
                      High-speed internet access either through our wireless network or through wired connection
                    • Iron & Board
                    • Linens Provided
                    • Air Conditioning
                      living room/dining room & each bedroom separately controlled air conditioning
                    • Local Maps
                    • Local Restaurant Guide
                    • Paper Towels
                    • Parking
                      Reserved parking space immediately in front of building.
                    • Parking Off Street
                      Reserved parking space immediately in front of building
                    • Shampoo
                    • Sofa Bed
                    • Telephone
                      answering machine
                    • Thermos Bottle
                    • Toilet Paper
                    • Towels Provided
                      Towels, Including beach towels
                    • Washing Machine
                      Full-size washer in unit
                    • Wireless Internet
                      Wireless printer/fax/copier/scanner. "Smart" TVs and DVD player can also connect to wireless internet.

                      Kitchen

                        • Kitchen
                          Fully equiped with granite countertops, full-size appliances, large amount of cabinet space
                        • Blender
                        • Coffee Maker
                          14 cup Cuisinart coffee maker
                        • Cooking Utensils
                          Includes large selection of high quality cookware, coffee maker & grinder, slow-cook crock pot, food processor, blender, toaster, waffle maker, rice cooker, juicer, lettuce spinner
                        • Dishes & Utensils
                          Dish & silverware service for 12
                        • Dishwasher
                          Full size GE Profile dishwasher
                        • Freezer
                        • Ice Maker
                        • Coffee Grinder
                        • Microwave
                          Large wall mounted microwave
                        • Oven
                          Full size GE Profile oven
                        • Pantry Items
                          Large selection of spices, some staples, cook books
                        • Refrigerator
                          French door refrigerator freezer with ice-maker and through-the-door ice dispenser
                        • Stove
                          Glass top 4-burner GE Profile range
                        • Stove
                        • Toaster

                          Dining

                            • Dining
                              Booster seat
                            • Dining Area
                            • comfy seating for 6 people

                              Entertainment

                                • Games for Kids
                                • Books
                                  Guide books, Hawaiian history and culture, large selection of light reading, a few children's books
                                • Books for Kids
                                • CD Player
                                • DVD Player
                                  Sony DVD/BlueRay player, which is internet connected, and provides free movies on demand
                                • Games
                                  Yahtzee, Sequence, Life, Scrabble, Backgammon, Chess, jigsaw puzzles and more
                                • Books for Adults
                                • Music Library
                                  Large selection of Hawaiian music, Jimmy Buffet, jazz and more.
                                • Radio
                                • Satellite / Cable
                                  Oceanic Time Warner cable package, including high-definition channels, music channels, Showtime, on demand channels, DVR
                                • Stereo
                                • Television
                                  Large flat screen high-definition smart Samsung TV in living room and master bedroom; regular (not smart) TV in guest bedroom
                                • Video Library
                                  Hawaiian volcano and underwater videos, movies filmed in Hawaii, general interest & children's movies.

                                  Outside

                                    • Beach Towels
                                    • Lanai / Gazebo
                                      Covered lanai with ceiling fan and light, mountain, lake and sunset views
                                    • Large Cooler
                                    • Outdoor Grill
                                      Communal grill area with six grills
                                    • Outdoor Grill Gas
                                    • Water Sports Gear
                                      Beach chairs ,beach umbrella, child's flotation vests, boogie boards and a few beach toys

                                      Suitability

                                        • suitable for elderly or infirm
                                        • wheelchair inaccessible
                                          Groundfloor unit with no stairs inside or out, wide front door, but no special handicap accoutrements. Most interior door-frames 32" with about 31" clearance.

                                          Pool / Spa

                                            • Communal Pool
                                              Infinity-edge salt water pool
                                            • Outdoor Hot Tub
                                            • Shared Hot Tub

                                              Attractions

                                                • reefs
                                                • restaurants

                                                  Leisure Activities

                                                    • beachcombing
                                                    • boating
                                                    • luaus
                                                    • scenic drives
                                                    • shopping
                                                    • sight seeing
                                                    • walking
                                                    • whale watching

                                                      Local Services & Businesses

                                                        • ATM/bank
                                                        • fitness center
                                                        • groceries

                                                          Sports & Adventure Activities

                                                            • sailing
                                                            • cycling
                                                            • fishing
                                                            • golf
                                                            • hiking
                                                            • kayaking
                                                            • deepsea fishing
                                                            • scuba diving or snorkeling
                                                            • snorkeling
                                                            • snorkeling/diving
                                                            • swimming
                                                            • wind-surfing

                                                              Notes

                                                                • Free long distance phone within the US and Canada & telephone answering machine. All TVs are flat screen high def Samsungs; 50" in living room, 40" in master bedroom - both "smart". Additionally in living room: printer/fax/scanner/copier combo. Stove is four-burner glass-top. Additional small kitchen appliances include slow-cook crockpot , food processor, waffle maker, juicer, and rice cooker. Large selection of cooking utensils and spices. Booster seat for young child. Some beach equipment.

                                                                  House Rules

                                                                  Check-in: 3:00 PM

                                                                  Check-out: 11:00 AM

                                                                  Cancellation Policy

                                                                  100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date. You must contact the owner directly to request cancellation.

                                                                  43 Reviews

                                                                  Excellent4.6/5

                                                                  Latest reviews

                                                                  They thought of everything!

                                                                  Charles T.

                                                                  This property is fantastic for a young family. The owners have thought of everything to make your stay enjoyable. From the well stocked kitchen, beach equipment, music, DVDs, travel books and clear instructions/directions, your stay will be relaxed and stress free. The unit is nicely appointed in traditional Hawaiian style. One bedroom has a comfortable queen bed and the other two twin beds great for kids. Each room has a TV to help put you to sleep if jet lag doesn't get you first. The unit and whole community are well maintained. We met nothing but friendly people at the pool and BBQ. Everyone was warm and charming. The pool is intimate and there is a community, open-air gym as well as well equipped BBQ area all within 50 yards of the unit. Many thanks to The Tallons for their generosity and for thinking of everything that made our family trip a memorable one.

                                                                  A true Oasis in Paradise

                                                                  We loved our stay at this unit. Everything is provided.TV's were great ..kitchen fully equipped and up to date..Furniture in excellent condition and always being renewed..

                                                                  There is nothing missing or lacking within..The owners have decorated with an eye towards making it feel very warm and inviting..Thje a/c when needed is efficient and quiet..A truly 5 star experience. Also the entire complex is beautifully landscaped and maintained including the pool complex and barbecue grills. Would not hesitate to recommend staying here to the most demanding traveler..

                                                                  Great Value, Great Vacation, Great R&R!

                                                                  Greg K.Saskatoon SK Canada

                                                                  Stayed February 2018. This is the fourth time that we have had the pleasure of staying at Roger and Kay’s little gem (2012, 2013, 2016, 2018). We have already booked for 2020, as we simply don’t want to miss out on the opportunity to relax in ‘our’ little spot in Paradise. At this point, we have spent a total of 12 weeks in this unit.

                                                                  We have read the reviews and are quite surprised at some of the comments.

                                                                  The location is perfect. Within walking distance of just about everything, but tucked away on the golf course, far from traffic. Puako is special, with some very underused and secluded beaches. Try and be there at high tide for snorkeling in the tidal pools and watching the turtles come in and out. The condo association is talking about adding solar heating to the pool, so the cold pool issue should be a thing of the past. We ended up cooking a lot more in the unit and at the BBQs than we have in the past. Talk about feeling like home! As mentioned elsewhere, well stocked with spices and many essentials. Just replace what you use, and maybe a bit more.

                                                                  In those 12 weeks, the only insects that we have seen were the odd fly that would sneak in while the door was open. I did see a gecko in the unit this year. But that’s good luck and takes care of that odd fly.

                                                                  The bedroom AC was great, I had to turn it off for the night as the room was cool enough for my wife. After reading the complaint about the AC, it seemed like defeating the purpose to have the AC running and the windows open.

                                                                  Yes, the sheets are not quite the right size. Big deal. I’m not asking for military corners! Pillows not like home? Suck it up, Buttercup. And Roger charges a very reasonable rate. A friend of mine stayed in E block, paid over $200 a night and had cockroaches. Another friend was staying in his brother’s condo in K and was paying just as much!

                                                                  Remember that this is someone’s home. With continued occupation and use, things will wear out or break. We arrived the day after the “Handle on kitchen faucet loose and could not be fixed” comment and saw no issues. We noticed an issue with the dishwasher and let Roger know. There was a repairman out the next morning and it was working nicely within an hour. Considering the use that it gets, it has held up pretty well. And cleanliness has never been a problem for us. Treat it as you would your own home!

                                                                  Roger, we love the new mattress, fridge and chairs. Not crazy about the sofa though, just a bit slippery. 😊

                                                                  Mahalo

                                                                  Owner's Response:

                                                                  Thank you very much for your detailed review! We are happy that you once again enjoyed your stay, and appreciate your comments. We are looking forward to your next stay. Mahalo!

                                                                  Nice unit and good size

                                                                  Pat & Diana C.Eagle, ID

                                                                  Stayed Jan-Feb 2018. We had a good stay. The location is great for walking to King and Queen shopping areas. We did have some issues noted below, but the owner was very quick to contact the management company for repairs. Issues do come up and the owner has to rely on the management company to handle them. At first the management company was very slow to respond, but did improve as the week went on. Would stay again if the master bedroom AC worked better. Can't imagine how hot the master bedroom would be during the summer months. Master bedroom and lanai face afternoon sun.

                                                                  4 stars if not for master bedroom AC issue

                                                                  Thoughts:

                                                                  Nice master bedroom bed. For some reason the sheets used were for a normal depth bed, but the bed requires deep pocket. Corners kept coming off.

                                                                  Nice speed WiFi provided

                                                                  All pillows were very soft. It would have been nice if firmer ones were also provided

                                                                  Unit is on golf course. If you like to leave the windows open, the golf course machines start going by as early as 6:15 am

                                                                  No issue with parking and we had two cars

                                                                  Huge frig

                                                                  Here is the good and not so good.

                                                                  Good:

                                                                  Very well stocked with kitchen, household and beach items

                                                                  Good size lanai with table for 4

                                                                  Had what we needed for a one week stay

                                                                  Not so good:

                                                                  AC in master bedroom never worked as good as other two units. It seemed to have an issue, but the AC repair company pushed off the issue as user error. Was not happy with that!

                                                                  Hall bath light and toilet not working correctly upon arrival-Fixed

                                                                  Only partially used toilet paper role provided upon arrival in each bathroom

                                                                  Handle on kitchen faucet loose and could not be fixed

                                                                  Owner's Response:

                                                                  We're happy that the guests, in general, had a good stay. We understand the biggest problem was the air conditioning, and that would be frustrating. The AC service people, however, said the unit was set too low, which caused it to freeze up. It started working again after being allowed to thaw. We checked with the current guests who say they have the AC set at 70 degrees and it is working fine.

                                                                  Our management company had the flickering bathroom light and the leaky stop valve on the toilet replaced as soon as the problems were reported. We believe all sheets for the thick master bedroom mattress have deep pockets; we're sorry if they still come off. As for the toilet paper, our cleaning people apparently forgot to leave extra rolls this time.

                                                                  Good location and property amenities but the cleaning company is not properly cleaning the unit.

                                                                  Aimee P.

                                                                  The condo is located in a great part of the property with a lake/golf course view and in walking distance to shopping and the pool. The master bed was very comfortable. The unit is stocked with island guide books and cooking utensils which was very convenient. It is also a short drive to A-Bay which is an amazing beach. It has the potential to be great but we were disappointed at the lack of cleanliness. I had to clean mold off the shower tile and floors were very dirty. Also the sheets were stained and looked dirty like they might not have been properly laundered. The cups that were in the cupboard were also dirty and I had to scrub the coffee stains off and send everything through the dishwasher again. Also the couch upholstery and carpet looked like they needed to be cleaned as well. We also killed several bugs and cockroaches inside the unit. I know in the tropics this can be difficult to control. I would reccomend switching cleaning services or property management services to make sure they are properly cleaning and hiring pest control services between guests.

                                                                  Owner's Response:

                                                                  We were disappointed to learn that a few recent guests were unhappy with the cleanliness of our condo. We met with the cleaning company to discuss specific issues and solutions. We have taken several actions in response:

                                                                  --we replaced the living room sofa bed and chairs;

                                                                  --for problems related to our new air conditioning system, we have increased the frequency of service visits;

                                                                  --we checked the sheets and towels, and now all are sparkling white;

                                                                  --we had the carpet cleaned again, and the tile floor steam cleaned

                                                                  --we signed a new contract with Orkin pest control, which in addition to regular treatments, allows for emergency visits if a guest experiences a problem;

                                                                  --we fixed the sticky lanai closet door, so guests can more easily get to the beach chairs, umbrellas and boogie boards.

                                                                  Roger & Kay

                                                                  Paradise at its finest!

                                                                  Susan J.Oceanside

                                                                  This ground floor condo was fabulous! It came with everything you could possibly need! The owner was fantastic to work with. My husband is terminally ill and the owner was so kind and said that we could cancel if medically needed. Thank God we were able to make the trip! Our family loved the condo and thoroughly enjoyed our trip to the Big Island!

                                                                  Location

                                                                  Waikoloa Village, HI, USA

                                                                  Two golf courses in resort. Swimming, snorkeling and water sports activities at A-bay beach. Scuba and deep sea fishing nearby. Luau and dolphin interaction at nearby hotels. Day trip to active Kilauea Volcano. Other Activities: boating, shopping, kayaking

                                                                  Rates & Availability

                                                                  Additional information about rental rates

                                                                  Cleaning Fee
                                                                  $195
                                                                  Tax Rate
                                                                  14.42%

                                                                  Weekly rates are designed to give the seventh night free (calculated at six times the daily rate) Hawaiian State Tax IDs: GE-153-796-6080-01 (General Excise Tax) TA-153-796-6080-01 (Transient Accommodations Tax)

                                                                  $141avg/night
                                                                  43 Reviews
                                                                  Excellent 4.6/5
                                                                  Premier Partner
                                                                  Enter dates for accurate pricing
                                                                  Instant Confirmation
                                                                  For booking assistance, call 888-640-7927

                                                                  Property # 182737

                                                                  x