Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Caballete Retreat ~ Need to Relax? ~ Visit this Peaceful & Secluded Retreat.

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms1
Half Baths1
Space 1,375 sq. ft.
Property type house

Overview

About the property

3 Bedrooms, 1.5 Bathroom w/Shower & Washer/Dryer, Sleeps 8 Comfortably

Caballete is a Rustic Retreat located in one of the most beautiful ridge lines in Jackson County. It has been family owned and maintained for several generations. Highlights include: Full working Kitchen including dishes for cooking & eating and a Breakfast Nook perfect for Bird Watching. Three multi-level decks, a Weber charcoal grill, stone camp fire pit with all the charcoal and wood provided. Unique rooms include a Stone Floor Sunken Den, Music Room with tuned Piano, Library and TV Room with Two Story wall of Books both old and new.

Caballete Retreat ~ About us: ~This Rustic Retreat is located in one of the most beautiful ridgelines in Jackson County. Owned by Dan & Sara Scholze, and managed Sara, Caballete Retreat (Caballete is Spanish for 'ridge') is large enough to accommodate up to eight (8) guests comfortably. (Additional Guests by prior approval only please) The Valley and Ridges Surrounding have been kept in the family for several generations. Caballete Retreat is a 'Home' more so than a Cabin or Retreat and was lived in full time up until the Fall of 2005.

A Secluded, Private, Ridge Retreat: ~Need to Relax? You've picked the right place. Nestled into the Ridges, this Retreat offers a secluded, very quiet and private get-away. Wildlife abounds with birds, squirrels, deer, turkey, and you might even see the elusive red fox, or a Big Buck just yards from the home.

~Hiking the Ridges is allowed, but please obey all No Trespassing Signs, as we want to respect the neighbors land.

~There is a Beautiful Library with a two story wall filled with shelves of books, photos, and other unique items. Another Highlight is the Sunken Den with a Stone Floor made of Actual Stones dug from the area, and a beautiful Wood Floor. One final special room is the Music Room, where a Large Piano (and it's tuned!) awaits the right person to make some beautiful relaxing music.

Everything but your Food & Drink....: ~All Linens (Sheets), Towels, Hand Towels, and Wash Cloths are provided at NO extra charge. There are dishes available and a few pots and pans for cooking. All we ask is you treat them as your own, and please leave for the next guests to enjoy.

~No Food or Drink is provided, other than the fresh spring water from the well. Local phone service and local TV Channels are provided along with DSL Wireless Internet.

~Outside there are Three multi-level Decks, with a Weber grill awaiting some juicy Steaks (Charcoal included)! A stone camp fire pit can be found with plenty of room to relax around the fire or lay in the hammock. Once again, all the wood provided.

More Details

Property Manager
Daniel Scholze
Member since: 2008
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
November 17, 2017

Guestbook comments from the manager

This place was great, I loved the way wou made it look very classy. Don't change anything please. I will be back. Loved it.
Mar 2012
  • 1 of 152

Amenities

Black River Falls House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 1375 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Rural
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Broadband Access
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Firewood
  • Garage
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Sofa Bed
  • Telephone
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom/ Laundry - toilet , shower , Includes Washer/Dryer
    Bathroom Upstairs - toilet
  • ~Large Bathroom with Rainfall Shower Head. One Sink but plenty of extra counter space. Washer/Dryer for your use along with Drying Rack. Located on Main Floor between the Kitchen and Library Room. ~New in April 2009 - Added a Half Bath upstairs! ~New in 2010 - Updated Firepit and sitting area outside. Added two electric fireplaces. ~New in 2011 - Finished Siding on Garage.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Master Bedroom - 1 queen , Private Room
    Bedroom 2 - 1 double , Private Room
    Bedroom 3 - 1 twin/ single , Balcony Access
    Sofa Sleepers - 2 sleep sofa /futon , Main Level
  • ~Comfortably able to sleep eight (8) Guests. May accommodate more by prior approval and using a couple sleeping bags (Not included) especially if there are children. Please contact us to confirm we can accommodate your group. ~Large Private Master Bedroom w/ Queen sized bed, Large Closet, Dresser, Three Windows, Window A/C, and Electric Baseboard Heat. ~Bedroom 2 is Private Bedroom w/ Double size Bed, Built in Desk, Two Windows. ~Bedroom 3 is tucked away between the Master Bedroom and Bedroom 2. It is not private, as you walk through this bedrom to enter Master Bedroom. Twin Sized Bed, and Exterior Door with Access to 2nd Floor Deck / Balcony has a Beautiful view.(accessed through the 1/2 bath). The perfect place for sitting and enjoying your morning coffee or reading a book. ~The main level offers two pull-out sleeper sofa's to accommodate 3-4 Guests.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Books for Adults
  • Books for Kids
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games for Kids
  • Piano
  • Radio
  • Television
  • VCR
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Binoculars
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Patio
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Wood Deck
  • 8 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • forests
  • library
  • live theater
  • playground
  • pond
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • water parks
  • waterfalls
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • gambling casinos
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • rafting
  • roller blading
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • skiing
  • snorkeling
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
Notes:
~All Linens and Towels provided. ~Large Fire Pit with firewood & Weber Charcoal Grill with Charcoal Provided. ~Air Conditioning provided by two Window Air Conditioners. ~Gas Wall Furnace for Heat with Electric Baseboard for additional Comfort ~Most all Kitchen Cooking/ Baking and Eating Utensils provided. ~Local Telephone and DSL Wireless Modem provided. ~Caballete Retreat is a multi-level home. Entry, Music Room, Kitchen, Bathroom and Outside Deck are all on same level. Two Sofa Sleepers located on main level. ~Other Levels may have one or more steps including somewhat steeper staircase to 2nd Floor Bedrooms. We recommend to keeping an eye on younger children for their safety. Safety gates are available upon request. ~Dogs are welcome. Request they remain in Entry when inside and do not enter sleeping areas or jump on furniture. Cats not allowed inside due to concern for guests with allergies. ~Monthly and long-term rentals welcome for business or pleasure.

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(23 traveler reviews)

78% Complete
21% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Caballete Retreat ~ Need to Relax? ~ Visit this Peaceful & Secluded Retreat.
average rating of 4.7826085 based on 175 reviews
5

A lovely, secluded retreat with stunning surroundings

  • 5 of 5

We enjoyed our time here immensely. The house is completely surrounded by ridges so you feel like you're miles away from anyone else. It may sound simple but the firewood being included was a really nice touch. It was great not to worry about hauling in firewood and fretting about running out, especially on a November evening. Having a roaring fire is so relaxing and we had no trouble meeting that need. It should also say something that we never left the property until the last minute of our rental time. Despite the chilly temps outside, the house was very cozy. The kitchen was well stocked even for the Thanksgiving spread we made. The kitchen is a bit cramped and the cooking utensils are well-loved but we had everything we could have wanted to use at our fingertips. We considered stealing the divine dinette set but thought better of it in the end. There were plenty of linens and towels. It was nice having the different spaces so you can get a little alone time even with 5 people staying. There are many different levels to the house so you have to be careful initially but you get used to when to watch your step fairly quickly. If you have guests with mobility issues, you will want to check carefully to make sure they can navigate the multiple staircases and steps. Luckily, the main floor is level with the entrance and the kitchen, bathroom, and pull out couch are all on the same level so it wasn't a problem for our guest who uses crutches. If you need more than one room for people who have trouble with stairs, this isn't the place for you. Hiking the ridge was a challenge but we felt accomplished after doing it, -- yes, the person who uses crutches did make the summit!! The host was very thorough at check-in but then gave us our privacy (even though we might have gotten a little bit rowdy at one point). The TV is small and in a room by itself which for us was a plus. We didn't want a huge TV blaring but wanted to be able to watch a movie when the mood struck. Overall, a great get away.

  • Submitted: Nov 9, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your nice review, Dale. The seclusion and privacy of Caballete Retreat is enjoyed by many of our guests. The fire pit offers a cozy and relaxing ambiance to enjoy laughs and stories until late into the evening. Many delicious meals have been prepared, even for large groups, in the cozy kitchen. As noted, the levels and steps are many, yet with safety and caution neither have posed a problem. Several guests with mobility issues, including wheelchairs have enjoyed staying at Caballete Retreat. We do suggest careful consideration to our guests with special needs as we want them to feel comfortable and safe during their visit. Caballete Retreat is located in one of the most beautiful ridge settings in the area. Although the climb to the top of the ridge can be a workout, the view from the top will take your breath away. WiFi and satellite TV is provided for the convenience and entertainment of our guests. We enjoy sharing Caballete Retreat with our guests and are very happy when they have a good time and appreciate the beauty of nature at the doorstep of Caballete Retreat.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful setting, peaceful and relaxing.

  • 5 of 5

3 deer greeted us as we drove up to the retreat. Birds were a plenty and the cabin was an architectural feast, from the stone floor in front of fireplace to the balconies and different floor levels both inside and out!

  • Submitted: Oct 13, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for you review. There is a great opportunity to see wildlife around Caballete Retreat. Everything from the deer, raccoons, fox, and even a bear have entertained guests. Bird watchers have a never ending flow of many varieties. Even a few flying squirrels glide past in the evenings. The rustic, but modern home, does provide character not often seen. We are very happy you enjoyed and appreciated it. We look forward to your return.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great weekend home

  • 5 of 5

A great weekend retreat. Beautiful location in the woods but also convenient to town. Comfortable place to stay. Hosts were very friendly.

  • Submitted: Oct 9, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Caballete Retreat is located in a very beautiful and peaceful wooded setting. It is a short ten minute drive from town. The retreat provides a cozy atmosphere for a family or a group of friends getting together.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Beautiful retreat!

  • 4 of 5

Beautiful property in a gorgeous area. We only stayed one night to attend a local festival, but had everything we needed. Check in was easy, all the amenities were provided, and had plenty of space for our family. The cabin could have been cleaner which is why I could only give four stars, but everything else was great.

  • Submitted: Sep 24, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review. We apologize for not meeting your expectations for cleanliness. We strive to keep Caballete Retreat clean and comfortable. We prepare carefully for each guest. We had all the carpets shampooed a few days before your visit. The retreat is older and rustic in some areas, and there are high ceilings and bookshelves that can collect dust? We are giving the entire cabin a review for cleanliness so as to not disappoint any future guests. We do hope you return and see how we are doing.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect

  • 5 of 5

Awesome owners and property very much recommended

  • Submitted: Aug 13, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the nice review. We are glad to share the property and want our guests to enjoy their stay. We hope you return in the future.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect

  • 5 of 5

I don't know where to begin! It is an absolutely perfect retreat. When all of us first walked in we were struck by the charm. We explored every room and couldn't help but feel happy! It was so cozy and relaxing. The setting is amazing as we were able to enjoy the peacefulness. We enjoyed watching the wildlife and cannot wait to return when the weather allows us to enjoy the outdoor tranquility! If you are looking for something with modernness and city action this is not the place for you. If you are looking for an escape from hectic life happenings and want to enjoy peace and quiet this is definitely the place for you! The owners are absolutely wonderful and you can tell they go above and beyond to make your visit the best you have ever had!

  • Submitted: Mar 24, 2014
  • Stayed: March 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: This review is really what we work towards for our guests. We want them to feel the calmness of the quietness of the setting and also enjoy the wild life. Besides the Retreat, there is so many nice parks and shopping, and in winter even Bruce Mound for those who want to ski. We continue to think of ways that our guests can enjoy the peacefulness. Thank you for your kind words.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Nearest Airport
60 Miles
LaCrosse or Eau Claire
Nearest Barpub
5 Miles
In Black River Falls
Nearest Golf
5 Miles
Skyline Golf Course - 18 hole
Nearest Train
32 Miles
Amtrak - Sparta, Wisconsin
Nearest Motorway
3 Miles
County Road A & County Road F
Nearest Restaurant
5 Miles
In Black River Falls
Nearest Ski
15 Miles
Bruce Mound Ski Hill Resort
Nearest Beach
10 Miles
Lake Wazee - County Park
Car: necessary

Ridges, Lakes, Hiking, ATV, Snowmobiling, Biking, Fishing, Hunting, Private, Secluded, Relaxing

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Tax Rate 5.5%

Weekly Reservations during the Summer, Major Holidays and Deer Hunting are preferred but not required.

Reservation Policy - $250 Refundable Damage/Security Deposit Required within Ten (10) days after phone/ email confirmation of requested stay. Deposit is Refunded within 3-10 days after your stay. Full payment for your lodging is requested a minimum of 15 days before stay.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties