check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Djuna Perkins

Member since: 2008
Call Owner
Speaks: english, french, spanish

Quiet Comfortable Cabin 5 Min. Walk to Swimming and Boating

45 Reviews
Sleeps4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Sherwood Forest Cabin Rental Photos and Description

2 bedrooms, 1 bath, sleeps 2-4

Remember the simple pleasures of a country, lakeside vacation where you can spend the day swimming or boating, exploring new towns and attractions, or just spending a lazy afternoon reading on the screened-in porch? Get back to those simple pleasures in our cabin, which is located in a beautiful, quiet country setting far from the chaos of modern life in the heart of the Berkshire Mountains. The cabin is just a five minute walk to a lake where you can swim, fish or canoe (canoe and life jackets provided). Or spend the day exploring the many surrounding towns with antiques, restaurants and shopping galore. Other activities nearby include: hiking, horseback riding, Tanglewood, children's arts programming, The Mount (Edith Wharton's home), Arrowhead (Herman Melville's home) Jacob's Pillow Dance, outlet shopping, summer stock theater, Shakespeare and Company, Berkshire Museum, Clark Museum of Art, Eric Carle Museum, Heartwood School and Becket Arts Center among many, many others. Now offering high speed internet and satellite TV.

Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Djuna Perkins (Owner)
Member since: 2008
Call Owner
Speaks: english, french, spanish

About Djuna Perkins

I am a lawyer living near Boston with my husband and three children, but I grew up in Woodstock, New York.

Djuna Perkins purchased this cabin in 2007

Why Djuna Perkins chose Becket

Living and working in the city, I missed the country and thought the best way to teach my kids to care for the earth was to make sure they had a place where they could actually see and appreciate the natural world, and where we could all get away from the madness of the electronic world.

What makes this cabin unique

This cabin is an incredibly restful place. From the breeze on the screened porch to the unbelievable stars and the air at night, to the simplicity of its furnishings, it is just the place to get away from it all and remember who you are.

Reviews

4.6
based on 45 traveler reviews

Quiet Comfortable Cabin 5 Min. Walk to Swimming and Boating
average rating of 4.6444445 based on 45 reviews
Upstate New York
5

Truth In Advertising

  • 5 of 5

We stayed at the end of June and were delighted to find the cabin as advertised; clean, neat and with every convenience but, thankfully, with no Internet. Enjoyed the canoe and the many cultural offerings nearby. The owners put a great deal of thought into their home, and it shows. Reasonably priced in a funky, eclectic development. Would definitely stay again.

  • Submitted: Jul 4, 2009
  • Stayed: Jun 2009
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you!
Did you find this review helpful?
6 1
5

Great 10-day getaway with pet

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I needed a place to get away to with our dog as our house was undergoing renovations. This Becket cottage was great. Though small and snug, it lives bigger because it is very well-equipped and has a huge screened-in front porch. My dog and I loved walking all around Sherwood Forest in the mornings and my husband and I loved exploring the Berkshires in the afternoons and evenings. We were very busy, highlights include: visiting and dining at Jacob's Pillow in Becket, hiking Keystone Arches in Chester, attending a great play in Stockbridge, visiting the excellent Clark Museum in Williamstown, enjoying Shaker Village in Hancock, antiquing all over the place, and more.

We were able to accommodate visitors, too. Our 25-yr old son stayed over for a weekend and my 78-yr old mother and her friend dropped by on the way through from Maine to Michigan. Guests reported that the bunk beds were comfortable and easily entered/exited.

  • Submitted: Sep 6, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
New Hampton, New York
5

The Right Choice for a Week in the Berkshires

  • 5 of 5

We just got back from our week at our rental in Becket, MA. The cabin (“Excaliber”) was perfect for what we wanted for our week away. It was an economical choice – the daily rate is quite modest. The amenities provided are in good condition… linens, dishes, pots & pans, washer/dryer, air conditioning, gas barbecue. Djuna Perkins was most welcoming in the communications with us in the planning of the week. The cabin is located at a convenient distance from various points of interest, museums, Jacob’s Ladder Dance Festival, Tangelwood , etc. Because of the washer/dryer, don’t overpack for your time away. Our dog, Chloe, enjoyed the cabin also. We recommend going to Becket and staying at Excaliber!

  • Submitted: Jul 31, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Cozy and comfortable

  • 4 of 5

Cabin is in a quiet part of the lake community. A quick walk will bring you to the lake, we also explored near by lakes on bicycle and in car.

  • Submitted: Jul 12, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Comfortable cabin in a friendly quiet area.

  • 5 of 5

We were looking for a place to relax and unwind, and we found it. Adorable cabin with everything you need. Enjoying coffee in the morning on the back deck listening to the birds and watching the chipmunks and squirrels or relaxing on the covered front porch watching rain. After a day of hiking at state parks or shopping at the close by outlets , you can sit by the firepit in the yard or cozy up inside by the wood stove. The cabin had plenty of clean linens and towels. The bathroom was a perfect size, but the toilet placement was a little tight. The caretaker was super friendly, and there if you need her. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Submitted: Jun 8, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
wakefield masss
3

Glorified lakefront shack

  • 3 of 5

If you're tall like myself, run like you stole something.

Ceilings are only 6 foot 3, and the bed can accommodate someone up to 5'11"

The commode is so close to the vanity I couldn't use the toilet without contorting like a Circus de Soleil performer, I'll leave it at that.

Pics are deceiving, not lakefront. Cabin is not horrible but not worthy of praise. Thank god for the cable and Wi-Fi. Also homeaway charged us $43 fee for booking, and the owner charged a pet cleaning fee$20, since we brought our small dog, we left the cabin cleaner than we found it on arrival and FYI whoever is doing your dishes doesn't know what they're doing, try using dishsoap. Basically my stay was two car payments which I'm regretting now.best of luck.

  • Submitted: May 12, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Our taller potential guests will certainly appreciate Jim's feedback, but it's important for travelers to understand a few things: First, we do not advertise the house as lakefront or even as having a water view. It is, however, a short walk to a large lake (pictured in the listing photos) where you can swim, canoe and kayak, and you have access to four other lakes in the community--each with its own unique features--as well. Second, as can be seen in the listing photos, the bathroom is small, and the footrail on the standard queen-size bed in the master bedroom might make it uncomfortable for taller guests. It is true that the ceilings in the bedroom and bath are low, and we will measure the height and put a notice to that effect on the listing page. However, the ceilings in the main room, where most time is spent, are well over 8 ft. high. We also do not have a dishwasher, and our housekeeper only washes the dishes that are left in the sink at the end of a guest's stay. Having the housekeeper inspect or re-wash all the dishes, cutlery, cookware and glasses at every cleaning would require hours of labor that would make the house unaffordable for most guests. Our home is a cozy retreat that offers as many of the amenities of higher end homes as possible (high speed internet, satellite TV, gas grill, laundry, well-equipped kitchen, 100% cotton linens and towels, tasteful furnishings, a large back deck and front screened porch) while maintaining (as of this writing) the second most economical rate of any of Homeaway's listings in the Berkshires, and we are among the minority who welcome pets. I hope this information is helpful to other travelers.
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Map

Nearest Airport
90 Miles
Bradley Int'l Airport
Nearest Train
80 Miles
Springfield
Nearest Motorway
10 Miles
Mass. Pike
Nearest Beach
0.3 Miles

Becket, Massachusetts is in the heart of the Berkshire Mountains, an arts, culture and nature-lover's destination. Rural without being remote, the area has something for everyone, including many summer arts festivals, art classes, museums, dance, theater, antiquing, outlet shopping, horseback riding, hiking, swimming, fishing, rafting, museums, and countless wonderful towns with terrific shops and restaurants to explore.

Other Activities: cultural events

Photos

Rates & Availability

Sherwood Forest Cabin Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Fall
Sep 20 2016 - Oct 30 2016
2 night minimum stay
$109
From
$160
Fri,Sat
$725
 
 
Winter/Spring
Oct 31 2016 - May 25 2017
2 night minimum stay
$99
From
$149
Fri,Sat
$695
 
 
Summer I
May 26 2017 - Jun 29 2017
2 night minimum stay
$129
From
$175
Fri,Sat
$895
 
 
Summer II
Jul 1 2017 - Sep 4 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$895
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$109
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $65
Pet Fee $20

Summer II cancellation policy: 100% refund 60 or more days prior to arrival; otherwise, minimum $200 cancellation fee up to the full amount of the booking if not re-rented. Off-season: 100% refund 30 or more days prior to arrival; otherwise, minimum $100 cancellation fee up to the full amount of booking if not re-rented.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Sherwood Forest Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 640 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Lake
  • Rural
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Firewood
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Sofa Bed
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Stove
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - outdoor shower
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Master - 1 queen , 1 baby crib
    Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single , Bunkbed
  • The twin beds in the second bedroom are bunkbeds.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Books for Adults
  • Books for Kids
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Beach Chairs
  • Beach Towels
  • Boat with Paddles
  • Canoe
  • Deck / Patio
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Screen Porch / Veranda
  • Small Cooler
  • 4 garden chairs
  • 4 beach chairs
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Onsite Services:
  • Housekeeper
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • forests
  • live theater
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • horseback riding
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • swimming
Notes:
Portable boombox for iPod, CD player

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties