check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Alyssa

Member since: 2008
Speaks: english

Classic Cottage with Ocean View on beautiful Spruce Pt - access to Pools & more!

10 Reviews
Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Boothbay Cottage Rental Photos and Description

3 Bedrooms, 1 Full Bathroom, Wonderful accommodations for 6 or less

Fisherman's Perch is a 3 bedroom Maine Vintage Cottage situated on Spruce Point, just 1.6 miles from the Boothbay Harbor footbridge along the shore line. Enjoy the beautiful ocean view, sounds of the fog horn and waves crashing, and the clean saltwater air mixed with the smell of spruce. This knotty pine cottage with a field-stone fireplace, newly remodeled eat-in kitchen and both open and covered porch is located adjacent to the Spruce Point Inn. While we are private, our guests do have the option of enjoying the wonderful amenities of Spruce Point Inn, including spa, fitness center, pools, hot tubs, kayaking, fishing, playground, child care programs and more. Walk or borrow a bike from the Inn to ride to the harbor for shopping, eateries, boat rides, take advantage of the Spruce Point Inn facilities (including their great restaurants), explore the Maine coast’s lighthouses, botanical gardens, artisans, or just sit back and relax on the great porch and enjoy Spruce Point's ambiance!

2017 Season Rentals: We are taking reservations for the 2017 Season. We hope to be able to accommodate you! Should you have any questions or need further information, please feel free to contact us though this website!

Please note -

*We rent as many weeks as we can during the season, but it is a short one. Therefore, if you make a reservation and have to cancel for any reason and we are able to fill your dates, we will refund your money.

*We are also willing to accept families with pets, though we need you to tell us about your pet for pre-approval. There is a Pet Deposit.

*Payments are made as 50% at the time of booking with the balance (plus a Security Deposit) due 3 weeks before arrival date.

* We require a $200 security deposit on all new rental relationships. Our caregivers will confirm with us after each departure that everything is ok and we will drop the deposit at the post office or via HomeAway (depending on how payments are made) to be returned to the renters. If there are any deductions that need to be made, we will provide explanation and receipts when necessary within 10 business days. Unfortunately, this is a result of some items being taken from the cottage during the summer of 2008.

*If you choose the option to "REQUEST TO BOOK" please be sure to provide the following information so we can be sure to charge you accurately: 1) Do you want to rent our Sheets & Towels for $75 + 7% Maine State Tax or bring your own? 2) Are you bringing a pet? 3) Do you want to pay by credit card? If so, the following credit card transaction fees will be added to your fee: 2.9% on US based credit cards / 4.9% on foreign based credit cards. If you do NOT want to pay by credit card and would rather pay by eCheck via the HomeAway system or check by mail, please click "SEND A MESSAGE" instead and inquire that way!!

More Details
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Alyssa (Owner)
Member since: 2008
Speaks: english

About Alyssa

I have spent the last 38 years vacationing in the Boothbay Harbor region. In 2008, after many years of going to BBH 2 or more times a year, my family purchased our cottage, which has all the charm and character we knew we needed in a BBH home.

I get so much pleasure out of hearing from renters - new and old - who love BBH. BBH completes me...being at the cottage and looking at the water, whether it is gorgeous and sparkling or gray and stormy, calms me.

Alyssa purchased this cottage in 2008

Why Alyssa chose Boothbay Harbor Area

The charm of the cottage coupled with the amenities of the Spruce Point Inn are perfect for those looking for R&R or for fun (and some R&R)!

What makes this cottage unique

I love rocking on the porch; the sound of the foghorn as I fall asleep; getting the garden ready in the spring and arriving in the fall to see really tall flowers (that always surprises me); going to the Inn for their s'mores bonfires; walking down to road to catch a gorgeous sunset; looking up at the sky at night to see the most incredible stars; the smell of a fire in the fireplace; pulling into the driveway after too long away...

Guestbook comments from the owner

We received the most wonderful email from our current renter during her family's stay and she gave us permission to post it here:



----- Forwarded Message -----

From: Brenda M

To: AS

Sent: Sunday, August 14, 2011 10:07 AM

Subject: Re: cottage



Hi Alyssa,

We are here now in your dear cottage. I really have to compliment your family on how you've done it up perfectly! You've managed to keep the warm and cozy feeling of the age of the cottage while at the same time outfitting it with modern conveniences which make it comfortable. I could name so many but wouldn't want to leave anything out: the great bedding, the cute lamps, the decor, the working shower--good pressure, the towels that really dry you, the nice TV (even though we probably won't use it, it's nice if there's some historic moment happening so we can watch it), the internet capability, just about every little thing to make it great. I love old things and I can just imagine how much fun you've had finding lots of treasures for your cottage. I love the furniture, the doors with the latches, the ironing board, the silgranite kitchen sink (I have one at home, love it), the rocking chairs on the deck, just amazing! We even found sugar packets in the cute little sugar can today!



Thank you so much for being so hospitable and considerate!

Brenda M.
Aug 2011
  • 1 of 8

Reviews

4.9
based on 10 traveler reviews

Classic Cottage with Ocean View on beautiful Spruce Pt - access to Pools & more!
average rating of 4.9 based on 18 reviews
5

I hidden gem with extra perks

  • 5 of 5

I grew up staying on Spruce Point in the summer. This year we celebrated our parent's 50th anniversary, so we had more people staying with us than could fit.

My wife and I, along with our 2 year old, stayed at the Shane Cottage. It could not have been more perfect for us and we even shared with two of my brothers for part of the stay. We felt very comfortable, had great WIFI for some surprise work and plenty of room to spread out.

The Inn membership was a real perk, which allowed us discounts at the Spa (which my wife used) and access to the water taxi into town and most mornings we took the paddle boats out. With a toddler, we could get up and walk to the playground looking for moose (there was a calf here this summer) and at night, once he was in bed, there is nothing better than sitting on the porch.

I highly recommend this cottage if you are looking on Spruce Point and Alyssa made it super easy to book and get oriented to the house. It was a great vacation.

  • Submitted: Aug 24, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: It was a pleasure having you stay at our cottage and meeting/getting to know you over email!! We are very happy you found us and that we could help to make celebrating your parent's 50th anniversary that much more comfortable by providing some additional space. It is always nice to meet people who have a common love for a place...like Spruce Point & Boothbay Harbor! We are so glad the cottage met your needs, that you had a wonderful time and that you had the chance to take advantage of the Inn's amenities via the membership passes. THANK YOU so much for taking the time to share your experience and all the special things you did! We greatly appreciate your kinds words and review!!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Vermont
5

Best rental and family vacation-3rd year in a row

  • 5 of 5

This was the 3rd year we've rented the Shane Cottage at Spruce Point and we can't say enough about it - we absolutely love our week there every year! It is a great value and so much fun for everyone. We really love it there and had such an amazing week! The kids bring their scooters and were scootering around the entire resort from pool to arcade to pool all day long! We did everything - kayaked to Burnt Island, took the boat to town (daily for ice cream), played shuffle board (inside and out), swam, went on long runs, biked, had tons of s'mores, fished (each kid caught about a dozen fish!), swam in the ocean, went in the hot tub, played in the pools, barbecued on the deck, made new friends with other families' kids staying at the resort, and even got some reading done! All of the activities are free (except going on the sailing schooner which we didn't do). The staff at the resort is amazing - fun and welcoming - they got to know us all in the short time we were there and the last night were letting our kids be the "interns" at the s'mores pit (there was a wedding and all the guests showed up so the s'mores pit was a bit crowded and they loved the help!

The cottage is rustic and neat. Everything is very clean and the porch is 3/4 covered so if it rains you can still be outside on the porch. It's nice and shady too so stays cool all day and very cool to sleep in at night - perfect!

The owners are very helpful with any questions and always responsive in the rental process too.

We can't thank you enough for renting out your cottage - we love it and can't wait to go back again next year!

  • Submitted: Jul 19, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you SO much for your wonderful review!! We love hearing about everyone's vacations and yours sounded absolutely fantastic (we are a little jealous)!! It has been a pleasure having you choose to stay at our cottage year after year and we look forward to continuing the tradition in 2017! Thank you again for all your kinds words and sharing your experience for others to read! We very much appreciate it!!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Perfect home away from home for our family of 5!

  • 5 of 5

Perfect! There is no better word to describe our stay. From the first contact to the final thanks, Alyssa was a treat to deal with. She answered every question we had, and then some. The cottage was exactly as described. My family of 5 (with 3 kids 6 and under) made it our home for more than a week. We made the mistake of stopping before we got to town to grab groceries - no need. The grocery store that is close to the cottage is great. And you should head to Oak Street Provisions for a great selection of wine, beer, local meat, fresh seafood, etc. The cottage was clean and neat. We loved building fires, cooking on the grill, and the view!

Some highlights of our trip - the aquarium, the botanical gardens, puffin boat tour, walking the trails behind spruce point inn, hunting for sea glass, finding beaches (our favorite was at Reid state park), trying lobster rolls and fish sandwiches (get the fish sandwich from Phil & Mikes) from the various restaurants, swimming in the pool at spruce point inn, permaquid point lighthouse/park, climbing the rocks along the shore, the tidal pool at the Rachael Carson Preserve, and so much more that I can't remember off hand.

We were a little worried about finding enough to do with three young kids, but it turned out that we had no problems at all. We were also a little worried about having 3 kids in a smaller cottage, but that was not an issue at all either.

If we come back to this part of Maine, I have no doubt that we will reach out to Alyssa to stay at the Fisherman's Perch again.

  • Submitted: Jun 25, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Michael - Thank you so very much for your wonderful review of your time at my family's cottage!! We greatly appreciate it! It was a pleasure having you and your family and we are thrilled you all had such a fantastic time in the Boothbay Harbor region!! :) Thank you for also sharing some of the many things you did - there are some I haven't tried and now want to add to my list! Thank you again for sharing on HomeAway about your special family vacation!! Hope that one day you will return! It was very nice working with you and having your family make our cottage your home away from home!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Fantastic Vacation

  • 5 of 5

Our family LOVED our vacation on Spruce Point. The cottage is so charming and just what we had imagined for our Maine vacation. Boothbay Harbor had so many fun activities for our young children to enjoy, with lots of beautiful spots to explore. The best part of this rental, though, is its access to Spruce Point Inn. Our kids had a blast riding their bikes around, swimming in the multiple pools, kayaking, fishing, roasting s’mores at night, etc. – great family memories. Alyssa was so easy to work with as well. We will definitely rent this cottage again.

  • Submitted: Feb 4, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: So happy you loved your vacation in Boothbay Harbor staying at our cottage!!! We are glad your family made so many special memories!! Looking forward to working with you again when you feel it is the right time to return! :)
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Wheaton, IL
5

Magical Cottage

  • 5 of 5

Fisherman's Perch is a wonderful cottage for a Maine vacation. Our granddaughters loved wandering through "the woods" & we just loved the porch for coffee in the morning & wine in the evening watching the lobstermen pulling traps. Having the use of the Spruce Point Inn amenities was a great bonus. We loved being able to use the kayaks, (kayboats as my 5 yr old granddaughter said,) & hanging out by the salt water pool all afternoon. This cottage was a very special & healing place to be. Alyssa has been so easy to deal with as well. We will be back next year for sure!

  • Submitted: Jul 31, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so very, very happy that you and your family had a wonderful time!! It always makes us feel good to hear when folks had a great time in Boothbay Harbor staying at our cottage on Spruce Point and left looking forward to their return!! :) We are thrilled to have you counting down to your trip in 2015!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Perfect

  • 5 of 5

Our stay could not have been smoother. The cottage size, rooms, kitchen and especially the porch were ideal. The location worked out fabulously for us.

  • Submitted: Jun 16, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks very much for taking the time to review our cottage! We appreciate it and are so glad you had a good experience!!! Thank you again!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
63 Miles
Portland, ME
Nearest Train
60.4 Miles
Portland, ME
Car: necessary

Boothbay Harbor (BBH) is one of the most picturesque harbors on the coast of Maine, with Camden and Pemaquid to the north, Wiscasset and Georgetown to the south, and Monhegan Island to the east (by way of ferries departing from BBH). Explore the winding streets of the harbor with an array of shops, restaurants (fine dining and wharfs), sightseeing boats, fishing excursions, kayaking, concerts on the lawn of the library, craft fairs, festivals, and more. The Boothbay Region is also home to a small Aquarium for kids and the Coastal Maine Botanical Gardens. Enjoy climbing on the rocks and watching the tide change or take a fun day trip to: Freeport (home of LL Bean and lots of outlets), Damarscotta, Rockland, Pemaquid Point Lighthouse, Portland or one of the communities listed previously for more adventures and sights to see. Return after a fun filled day to the tranquility of the cottage and Spruce Point to watch a beautiful sunset or spend a day relaxing and making use of all of the activities only steps away.

Other Activities: Boating, Kayaking, Shuffleboard, Croquet, Putt Putt, Shopping, Live Theater, Shelling, Climbing Along the Ocean's Rocks

Photos

Rates & Availability

Boothbay Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Post-Season
Sep 3 2016 - Oct 9 2016
2 night minimum stay
$250
$1,550
 
 
Pre-Season
May 18 2017 - Jun 23 2017
2 night minimum stay
$250
$1,550
 
 
Season 1
Jun 24 2017 - Jul 21 2017
7 night minimum stay
$2,050
 
 
Season 2
Jul 22 2017 - Sep 1 2017
7 night minimum stay
$2,200
 
 
Post-Season
Sep 2 2017 - Oct 1 2017
2 night minimum stay
$250
$1,550
 

Additional information about rental rates

Sheets & Towels $75 + Tax
Tax Rate 7.0%

Security Deposit for new renters = $200

Pet Security Deposit (pet must be pre-approved!!) = $300

We accept Checks, Money Orders, Wire Transfers, e-checks, VISA, Mastercard, AMEX & Discover Card.
Credit card payments will be assessed a 'convenience fee' where we will add to the charge the fee we are charged by VISA, Mastercard, AMEX or Discover Card (2.9% on US based credit cards / 4.9% on foreign based credit cards).
eChecks through the HomeAway website is only available for domestic U.S. banks only. There is no additional fee to pay via eCheck.

If you see Service Fee listed anywhere, this is a fee charged by HomeAway that goes directly to HomeAway to "provide travelers peace of mind" and "HomeAway's Book with Confidence Guarantee."

We try to keep our calendar up-to-date, but please feel free to email to ask about our availability.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Boothbay Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Near The Ocean ...
  • Ocean View ...
  • Water View ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Broadband Access
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Fireplace
  • Firewood
  • Fitness Room / Equipment
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Living Room
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Sofa Bed
  • Telephone
  • Toilet Paper
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen
  • Lobster Pot
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single , (Bunkbeds - adult size)
    Living Room - 1 sleep sofa /futon , (pull-out couch that can sleep 2)
  • There are ceiling fans in Bedroom 1 and Bedroom 2, as well as one in the Living Room. * While 8 can sleep in the cottage, it is situated most comfortably for anywhere from 1 to 6 people. We strongly prefer 6 people or less.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Books for Adults
  • DVD Player
  • Game Room
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Barbecue
  • Bicycles
  • Binoculars
  • Boat Dock
  • Deck / Patio
  • Kayak / Canoe
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Tennis Court
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Walkway to Water
  • 1 bicycles
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
  • Heated Pool
  • Outdoor Hot Tub
  • Outdoor Pool
  • Spa Whirlpool
Onsite Services:
  • Massage
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • horseshoes
  • outlet shopping
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • sound/bay fishing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Some of the amenities listed above are a part of the privileges all of our guests receive at The Spruce Point Inn. Here are some of the highlights of The Spruce Point Inn's amenities (not all are listed): Boutique spa with full services, Two outdoor pools (a saltwater and a heated freshwater pool), Three whirlpool spas, Private Dock to fish and swim off of, Two championship Har-Tru clay tennis courts, Fitness center with specialized classes, Croquet, Shuffleboard, Children's program (avl in July and August), Playground, Hammocks, Recreation hall and Game Room, Kayaks, Bicycles, Fishing, Hiking Trails, 3 restaurants (one with nightly entertainment), Laundry (Washing Machines and Dryers), Shuttle (boat and van) between the Inn and the Harbor We do have a telephone with unlimited local calls (long distance calls may require a calling card; calls outside of the US will require that you use your calling card). We also have cable Internet access with wireless broadband.

Partner Offers