Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-829-7076
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-829-7076

San Geronimo Retreat in the Redwoods- Awesome Room Rentals with a treehouse view

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Half Baths1
Space 2,500 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Overview

About the property

Come to the woods, for here is rest... John Muir

After extensive renovations, improvements, and a brand new 450 square foot chef's kitchen, ... The Retreat in the Redwoods is finally ready to rent again via VRBO. We also take reservations via TEXT messages to 415-676-7387. Please do not call the owner!

The rental includes your own 2 private rooms and private bath (practically the entire upstairs), sharing this amazing custom 3500 square foot home in San Geronimo Valley centrally located in the AMAZING West Marin redwoods!

Somewhat like a bed and breakfast... but without the breakfast! Inga, the owner, likes to think of this as a European inspired Gasthaus. She got the inspiration for this while traveling as a child every other year to Germany and Austria, making lifelong memories.

(A Gasthaus, also called Gasthof, Landhaus, or Pension, is a German-style inn or tavern with a bar, a restaurant, banquet facilities and hotel rooms for rent.

Gasthäuser are typically found in smaller towns and are often family-owned. It is not uncommon to have three generations of a family working together in such an establishment and many have been owned by the same family for generations.

Gasthäuser are common in Germany, Austria, Switzerland and other European countries around Germany. Some are decorated with mural paintings (called Lüftlmalerei (de)) depicting fairy tale stories or local legendary figures )

The house is completely furnished, including your room with contemporary furnishings. There are 2 bedrooms, or use them as a bedroom and an inspirational seating / work/ writing room by folding up the Tranquility Room's murphy bed!

Both rooms have lovely redwood views and provide two 100% organic Turkish cotton bathrobes for your use and enjoyment while visiting.

The newly renovated 450 square foot modern chef's kitchen facilities are available for all to use and has seating for 5 at the island and 6 at the breakfast table. The kitchen holds the laundry (washer and dryer.)

There are balconies from here to the north and south, There is a sound dock in the kitchen to hook up your ipod, which is connected to speakers in the kitchen and the south porch.

The 250 square foot south porch with 4 adirandack chairs, table for 6 people, outdoor grill. 2 large heaters, a green wall and a view into 1600 acres of open space. This is also the way to the hot tub.

The north side of the kitchen has a balcony porch with a heater and 2 adirondack chairs (which is the owners favorite spot to watch the sunset through the trees.)

Also shared are the public areas of the house. (Living room with fireplace and dining room)

We provide a lending library of DVD movies to suit almost any taste and there is WIFI throughout,

The 2-3 person hot tub is located just behind the house and is accessible via the large back porch off the kitchen. It is the perfect place to get a jet massage while enjoying the redwood forest.

The house has great Wi-Fi, a DVD player with +/-50 DVD's (watch movies from your computer or from our Netflix account)

Oh, and last but not least... "Must Love Dogs". Your well mannered dog may be OK with prior approval . We absolutely do not allow cats (the owner is allergic)

We have 2 rescue dogs at the house in the evenings and weekends, Hansel (a miniature American Eskimo - Chi mix) and Fritz (a Golden Chi mix.) Fritz is currently a bit fearful towards people and appears aggressive, so we keep him away from guests.

This is a magical place that we call home, and we share it only to loving people that appreciate the beauty and wilderness that only the San Geronimo redwood valley can provide.

Please inquire if there is a need to sleep over 4 -6 people, or if more than 2 beds are necessary. 4 people in 2 beds are included within the $250.00 night rate + $50.00 per person per air mattress.

Note: Upon special request at least 3 months in advance, the entire house may be rented privately for $500.00 a night with a 4-night minimum. The max full house rental can accommodate about 10 pp in 3 bedrooms, and 2 air mattresses.

Amenities:

Hot tub with a view of the redwood forest by day, and starry sky by night.

There is plenty of parking.

Activities and Attractions:

San Geronimo Valley is close to Fairfax... and Point Reyes Station... in West Marin. It is a 45 minute drive to San Francisco, 20 minute drive to San Rafael, 15 minute drive to Point Reyes Station, 10 minute drive to Fairfax, 5 minute drive to Samuel P. Taylor State Park.

Dining / Entertainment: The Two Bird Cafe is in walking distance from the house. It offers home cooked gourmet breakfast, lunch and dinner with a wonder wine selection. In a short drive over the "hill", you will be in Fairfax, the home of great restaurants, shopping, Movie Theater, Iron Springs Brewery, live music, and farmers market during the summer. San Rafael is just a bit further which offers even more dining, shopping, theaters, and a downtown-wide farmers market during the summer on Thursday nights with entertainment, gifts and children's rides.

Hiking: The house is situated in a park like setting on 1.5 acres of redwoods. It backs up to 1600 acres of wilderness with hiking and equestrian trails nearby. Please do not hike directly from the property, for private land is not marked well and you may encounter "not-so- happy" neighbors.

There is a seasonal creek that runs through the side the Papermill creek running nearby where you can still watch the Coho and steelhead spawning. It is a bit out in the country... but that is what we love about it! There are hundreds of miles of hiking in the shadow of Mount Tamalpais.

Biking: Marin is the birthplace of the mountain bike, with miles and miles of open terrain to discover. Street biking is also very poplar here, and many local coffee stands and pastry shops cater to touring bikes.

Beaches: Point Reyes, Bolinas and Stinson Beach are all fairly close, within a 30-40 minute drive.

Golf: The world class 18 hole San Geronimo Valley Golf Course is right across the street! It is open to the public, with a clubhouse restaurant for breakfast and lunch, and some dinners.

Local parks: Samuel P. Taylor State Park, Mount Tamalpais State Park, Point Reyes National Seashore, Muir Woods National Monument, Roy's Redwoods

We are happy to share our tour books, dog park books, hiking and biking trail maps and give recommendations for day trips.

Please contact us for further information & photos...

Keywords: B&B (Bed and Beauty)

More Details

Owner
Inga Birkenstock
Member since: 2008
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
October 14, 2017

About Inga Birkenstock

Trey and I met 17 years ago sailing and share our love for the outdoors, and all activities associated with it. We love hosting in our home, and have met so many beautiful people from all parts of the world through doing this.

Inga Birkenstock purchased this house in 2006

Why Inga Birkenstock chose California

Trey and I purchased the home to get away from the hustle and bustle of the city. The moment you drive over the mountain into the San Geronimo Valley, you are immediatly drawn to the sunny sky, country ways, horses, cattle, deer... and of course the beauty of the valley! We live on the property and enjoy coming home to a vacation every day.... life is great out here! Close enough to civilization, but a feeling of being in the middle of nature.

I have always enjoyed going to gausthouses in Austria while growing up, so i wanted to do the same here. It is somewhat like a bed and breakfast, however... much more affordable... because with the full kitchen available to all.... I do not provide breakfast!

What makes this house unique

We have been told that the favorite thing at our property is waking up in the extremely comfortable beds to the large picture window within the redwoods. It has been descibed many times as like waking up in a treehouse. People love to sleep in here, and just relax. Hiking and exploring come in a close second to favorite activities!

Guestbook comments from the owner

Dearest Inga & Trey,

What a gift to have you back in my life. fun and enjoyment comes easily with an old & dearest friend (and Trey is a great new addition!)



We had a BLAST! Waking up in our treehouse bedroom was an amazing sight. your home is beautiful and inviting. The wines and food were Scrumptious but the company was the best!!



You have a slice of heaven up here among the redwoods! We are definately coming back (with the kids next time!)

Love the kiddies Tasha & Jordan...

Until next time,

Rehana



Thank you with all our sincerest flattery for your most gracious indulging. Everything was perfect. Our visit was marvelous, and the memories will be the basis of our stories when we meet again.THANK YOU, THANK YOU, THANK YOU!

Mark

PS- THIS HOUSE ROCKS!

(This message was left in the Harmony Room guestbook
Aug 2009
  • 1 of 20

Map

Nearest Airport
25 Miles
Oakland
Nearest Barpub
2 Miles
Papermill
Nearest Ferry
8 Miles
Larkspur
Nearest Golf
0.5 Miles
San Geronimo Publc
Nearest Train
22 Miles
Amtrack
Nearest Motorway
7 Miles
Highway 101
Nearest Beach
15 Miles
Point Reyes
Car: necessary

Wine Country is a 45 min drive, visit Sonoma, Napa, and the Russion River Vally Vineyards... fall is the Crush period.... many wineries provide special parties!

Amenities

San Geronimo House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Accommodation Type:
  • Bed & Breakfast
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2500 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • Max. adults: 4
  • Min. age of primary renter: 21
  • Not suitable for children
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets considered ...
  • Smoking allowed ...
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Wood Fireplace ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Ice Maker
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Shared Kitchen ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Room
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Upstairs bathroom - toilet , combination tub/shower , This is the private bath between the rental 's 2 rooms
    Downstairs Powder Room - toilet , This is in the shared area of the house
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Harmony Room - 1 queen , The Harmony room is furnished in dark plums and browns with
    Tranquility Room - 1 murphy bed , The Tranquility room is furnished in dustry blues and light
    Upstairs Multi Purpose room - (2) inflatable Queen matresses available for extra guests
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player ...
  • Music Library ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
Onsite Services:
  • Massage
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • sailing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Situated in the Redwoods, in a breathtaking environment. You share this very large and well thought out custom home with the owners, but rarely see them due to the unique plan. We are here when you need us for special suggestions, such as cheese, wine, or historic pub tours, but we try to give you the privacy you seek as much as possible. This house is outstanding for its use of light, both natural through the redwoods and electric throughout the house... The Retreat in the Redoods is home to an award winning lighting designer and a very talented and smart electrician / lighting control guru. We love company and respect privacy!

Reviews

Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(7 traveler reviews)

85% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
14% Complete
San Geronimo Retreat in the Redwoods- Awesome Room Rentals with a treehouse view
average rating of 4.428571 based on 27 reviews
5

Absolutely Awesome!

  • 5 of 5

Inga and Trey were wonderful hosts!

They had everything ready for when we arrived, even down to doggie beds and treats for the pups! We traveled with our two little terriers (Jenny and Ginger) and they had a fun time with Inga and Trey's pups, Hanzel and Fritz...

This trip was a surprise for my husband and Inga and Trey's home in the redwoods was the best experience of our week traveling. It was so peaceful and beautiful, it made us feel like we were in a spa!

We could not have asked for a better experience - many thanks!

Mary-Anne and Hanley

  • Submitted: Aug 1, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Mary-Anne, We enjoyed meeting you and were thrilled the dogs made a connection! What fun that was watching them! Thank you for being a wonderful and consciences guest! Inga
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

cozy inside, gorgeous outside

  • 5 of 5

Inga and her husband were SO welcoming, gave us a full tour as soon as we arrived (later than expected) shared their beautiful deck with us, and even gave us a demonstration on their cool exercise equipment!

The area surrounding the house is impeccably quiet and serene, and there are little paths up into the forest, and many spots to sit and admire the natural beauty on the property. Inside was clean, quiet, and well equipped for sleep, showers, and lounging about.

There is a cute breakfast place called Two Birds nearby and plenty of places to wander. We would recommend this vacation spot to anyone.

Many thanks to our hosts, who we really enjoyed meeting and their fiesty little fluffy dogs! A+ all around!

  • Submitted: Sep 8, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

San Geronimo Retreat

  • 1 of 5

not good. Misleading advertising. smelled of tobacco smoke.

  • Submitted: Jul 2, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: It is truly a shame that you feel that way Dan, especially since it was not you that stayed in the rooms, it was your daughter, her boyfriend and the last-minute addition "oops, I forgot, there will be a toddler too!" First off, we do not allow smoking (of any kind) in the rental rooms. The rooms have recently (March 2017) received all new paint, Berber carpet, beds and bedding, and I can assure you, have no smell of smoke. Your Daughter was the second rental since we relisted with VRBO, and when she left, she left the distinct smell of marijuana. In addition, she left three very large burn holes in our new carpet, and even texted that this was done by a falling candle. This is costing me more than the rent to repair the carpet. Secondly, someone, probably the toddler, had rummaged through our private office drawers, and had taken keys to our accounting file cabinet with sensitive credit information. Your daughter texted me that she found these keys, but has not to this day returned them. I am hoping I can blame the toddler for this, for otherwise this poses a questionable security issue with renting to your daughter, and why they took these keys. I still have the text that Jill wrote saying that she has these. Other items were damaged including art, the front door, and a broken china doll. We have reported the damages to VRBO's Renters Damage Protection Insurance, and since you lied and said you did not do this, the insurance will not cover this and we are holding your deposit to pat for this. All it would have taken is to admit this to the insurance and it would have been taken care of. Since the insurance is not something we set up, we do not know the limitations of the insurance, and that is why we feel the need to hold your deposit. I am not sure what else you describe as "misleading”; however, it is quite upsetting that someone like you can set up a rental for your daughter and leave a bad review on our site. You did not even stay here. Unfortunately, your daughter is a product of the way of the world these days, never taking responsibility for her own actions and slandering a business or person if things don't go her way. I suggest taking extreme caution to anyone considering renting to Dan for his daughter's sake. She goes by several names, Jill, Bonnie... whatever. And why exactly does a grown woman need her Father to rent rooms for her? Something is just not right with this situation.
Did you find this review helpful?
10 0
san francisco, ca
5

gorgeous, cozy space

  • 5 of 5

What we love!--

The place was comfortable, cozy, and easy to settle into. The directions to the house and guidelines for usage were clear and helpful. The movie selection was nice and the lighting inside and all around the property were EXCEPTIONAL. The view of the trees and near by trails made nature therapy really easy. The kitchen was user friendly and stocked with equipment. Being dog and family friendly is another huge plus. The view from the hot tub was the perfect addition to cold rainy days.

Some things we would've liked different--

We're environmentally aware bunch so there were a couple of things we wished were different. The upstairs living room was drafty and hard to heat, even with a fire. The bedroom windows, not being insulated, let out a lot of heat so being encouraged to not use multiple towels seemed like a minor earth friendly feature compared to the major waste of heat escaping constantly. Being concerned with Teflon poisoning, we mainly used the stainless steel cooking ware because the non-stick cooking ware were scratched up probably from previous guests not following kitchen directions. Not sure if you can do anything about it, but the neighbor's dogs barked and barked, making for prolonged noisy departures and arrivals. We would have liked more detailed instructions on using the entertainment systems and the thermostats in the bedrooms as they were not user-friendly.

  • Submitted: Dec 28, 2010
  • Stayed: Dec 2010
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are happy that you "mostly" like the place! I am sorry that we were out of town at the same time as you visited, or I could have personally explained that the intructions for the entertainment centers and the thermostats were in your welcome binders in each of the bedrooms.... I suppose you could have also called me or emailed me if you had questions. Cannot comment on the single pane windows, for we do the best that we can with the 49 windows in the house..... we pay dearly for the redwood views, and have had many bids to replace the windows in excess of , $150,000... we use storm windows, and have the heating programmed, and of course, provide wool slippers from germany, egyptian cotton robes and many throw blankets for your comfort. Most people know that everyone dresses in layers here, and come equipped with sweaters and sweats, and warm socks when they visit over the winter season....Heck, it is even cold in the redwoods in the summer if you are not used to it! . I do not think anyone wants me to raise the rates to cover $150,000 worth of new windows. I see you still ave us 5 stars... so I suppose the good far outweighed the bad!
Did you find this review helpful?
4 1
5

A gem! And thank you for being pet friendly.

  • 5 of 5

The San Geronimo Retreat is a wonderful pied-a-terre for anyone looking to explore Marin County and the San Francisco Bay. It is a beautiful property, very private, nestled in the redwoods but located in the heart of Marin County and a short driving distance away from many points of interest such as the quaint villages of Faifax and San Anselmo with their wonderful restaurants (we recommed Indian and Thai), organic markets, boutiques and antique shops. Point Reyes Station is also close by: There one can savour fresh local oysters . For the adventurous at heart, it also provides easy access to many beautiful beaches for surfing or kiteboarding, tons of hiking trails, and biking routes. After a day of exploring, it was good to come back to the peacefulness of the retreat, build a fire and share stories around the fireplace. Inga and Trey are wonderful hosts and know how to make any guest feel comfortable. The house is as described and photographed but no add can depict how comfortable it was. The bedrooms are a great size and very well appointed and the bed VERY comfortable. The view from the windows is amazing. My husband and I stayed there for three weeks and we picked the harmony room as it offered more storage. It was perfect! Note that Inga's kitchen has anything one's need to cook wonderful meals should you decide to stay in for dinner!

Last but not least, we feel fortunate to have found such a comfortable, clean pet friendly accomodations. Inga and Trey understand the value of finding a home away from home and so THANK YOU!!

  • Submitted: May 19, 2010
  • Stayed: Apr 2010
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Albuquerque
5

San Geronimo Retreat in the Redwoods

  • 5 of 5

I couldn't have chosen a finer place to stay for my month-long course in California. Inga, Trey and their 2 wonderful dogs made me and my dog feel right at home and the house and setting are fabulous!

  • Submitted: May 19, 2010
  • Stayed: Mar 2010
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $100
Pet Fee $50
Additional Bed -per bed $50
Refundable damage deposit $800

Rates are subject to change until reservation confirmation
Additional guests staying on air mattresses are $50.00 a night
Additional pets are $50.oo per stay

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties