check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Marjorie Van vort

Member since: 2008
Call Owner
Speaks: english, spanish

Luxurious Oceanfront Condo in the Heart of Sosua

10 Reviews
Sleeps4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 4 - 7 nights

Overview

El Batey Condo Rental Photos and Description

2 bedrooms, 2 full bathrooms, sleeps 4

La Puntilla de Rosa is a new development of 10 luxury condos perched on a cliff overlooking the Atlantic Ocean with mountains and a nearby beach in view. Ideally located on a quiet residential street and only two blocks from town and a five minute walk to Sosua Beach, this property enjoys both tranquility and proximity to Sosua's activity and night-life.

The livingroom has a breathtaking view of the ocean and gardens from two sides, and every room has a view of the ocean. Built into a hill, the entrance is on the ground floor but the porch and master bedroom are one level up, allowing for more privacy and amazing views.

Potential renters should note that this condo has a policy of not renting to single men.

Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair accessible
Marjorie Van vort (Owner)
Member since: 2008
Call Owner
Speaks: english, spanish

Reviews

5
based on 10 traveler reviews

Luxurious Oceanfront Condo in the Heart of Sosua
average rating of 5.0 based on 10 reviews
1 Nesbitt Drive, Mendham, NJ 07945
5

Beautiful

  • 5 of 5

Breathtaking.... We loved our stay.... Our children, 14, 11 and 9, thought, this was one of their favorite vacation ever. Our walk every afternoon to the beach was extremely interesting since you had to walk through town to get to the nearest beach, only 5 minutes away from the condo. Julia, our housekeeper was so nice and accomodating, the bedrooms were beautiful and the kitchen has everything you need....

Marjory, Thank you!

  • Submitted: Apr 12, 2009
  • Stayed: Apr 2009
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you, Todd and Patricia, for taking the time to write this review. I am very happy to hear that you and your children enjoyed your stay at La Puntilla and hope that you come back!! Thanks again, Marjorie
Did you find this review helpful?
13 0
Layton, UT
5

Best family vacation ever!

  • 5 of 5

Words and pictures cannot describe how amazing Marjorie's condo really is. The condo is very spacious, and at one point, we had 4 visiting family members staying with us, and everyone had a place to sleep. The master suite has a large bathroom, and two doors you can leave open(there are screens on every window) and see/hear the ocean from your bed. Marjorie uses a property management company that is very responsive. They answered the phone anytime we called, and were quick to fix any problems that arose. There are 3 air conditioners, one in the living room, and one in each bedroom.

A little about us. Myself, my wife, 12 year old daughter, and 17 year old daughter spent 45 days of paradise in Sosua. The pictures cannot capture how close you are to the ocean and two beautiful beaches. During our stay, we spent almost every day in the pool located in the back of the property. Watching the sunset from pool is something we will always remember. We met many of the other condo owners during our stay, and they are quick to help you or give you advice on food and excursions. The only problem we had was choosing to spend the day at either Playa Sosua, or Playa Alicia. Both are a few minute walk from the condo. A couple of things we recommend are: 1) the monkey jungle, where you get to feed monkeys while they climb all over you. My daughters were almost in tears because they were so excited. 2) go see 27 waterfalls. Here you get to climb up and jump off of waterfalls. 3) go try the local restaurants. A word of advice, bring cash, credit cards are not excepted at most places. Our favorite restaurant is called Mori Mai, they make an amazing pizza, and great breakfast. 4) go deep sea fishing. We caught 3 dorado and one barracuda. They give you all the rum you can drink, snacks, and 4 hours on the water trolling. 5) do the paddle board trip that leaves from Playa Sosua. You get to paddle board over coral reefs and explore the bay in front of Playa Sosua.

To sum things up, Marjorie's condo is the best place to stay in all of Sosua. The property is safe and has 24 hour security. The security guards are very nice and helpful. Living here with my family for almost two months, we felt perfectly safe and the condo really feels like home. We will be returning every year, as we like to leave the cold and snow(we live in Utah) and have views that people only dream of. Thanks Marjorie for giving my family memories that will last forever.

  • Submitted: Jan 4, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

The perfect summer vacation!

  • 5 of 5

This condo and its location is the perfect combination for a family to relax and enjoy the beauty of the island. There is a 270 degree view of the ocean form the interior of the apartment. A balcony that allows you to enjoy the ocean air and sound of the surf day in and out. This is my 3rd summer here and I look forward two spending here coming summer here as well. If you have the opportunity to spend time here, you will soon understand the full impact of this condo. Words don't do it justice. I thank Marjorie for providing such an incredibly wonderful place for my family and I to wind down from our busy life in Canada. God bless and I will be in touch soon.

  • Submitted: Oct 8, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Wonderful vacation!!!!

  • 5 of 5

Friends and I stayed at Marjorie and Ben's place for a month this summer. We had such a wonderful vacation! I would highly recommend the place to anyone looking to escape the 'trapped' atmosphere of the all-inclusive resorts. This condo allows for plenty of relaxation, yet you have much more freedom to explore the country. We enjoyed both the tranquil 'Playa Alicia' and the more social 'Playa Sosua' for their differing beach personalities. We loved jumping off the cliff at the back of the property, floating in the beautiful pool, watching the incredible sunsets from the porch every night, and falling asleep to the gentle wave sounds. We brought our own snorkel equipment (also easy to rent or buy in town) and had excellent snorkeling experiences almost every day at both of the local beaches! Jose, the taxi driver endorsed by the condo community, was a wonderful tour guide and took us on many excellent day trips. I would highly recommend checking out the following: 27 Waterfalls (Damajagua), Punta Rusia (snorkeling), Jarabacoa and Salto Jimenoa, Salto Limon and the beach at Las Terrenas in the Samana Peninsula, the cable car in Puerto Plata, "Three Rocks' snorkeling, the Monkey Jungle Ziplining, and hanging out on the beach and watching (or doing) the kitesurfing and windsurfing in Cabarete. The only excursion I would not recommend would be the local 'big-game fishing' that we arranged through a local vendor at Playa Sosua. It seemed to be a scam as no one every catches anything and the seas are so rough that the customers are often seasick the whole four hours. Our favorite restaurant in town, by the way, is called "Finca". It doesn't look like much from the outside, but is absolutely gorgeous and charming inside, and has truly amazing food.

Marjorie and Ben are extremely accommodating and forthcoming with information. Their condo is extremely clean, and it looks exactly like the pictures (hard to believe it's that beautiful, but it is!). Bathrooms are not shown in the pictures but are very nice. The security guards, gardeners, maid (Julia), and the management staff are all very helpful and friendly. We enjoyed our stay immensely. Thank you Marjorie and Ben!

  • Submitted: Aug 29, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

A truly remarkable experience !

  • 5 of 5

Dear Marjorie,

I cannot begin to tell you how much I have enjoyed my time here this summer. I have been coming to the DR for 6 years and I have never stayed in such an awesome facility before. There is nothing more that I could wish for in terms of beauty, comfort and location. I hope that I will be able to rent your condo once again next year during the same time period. I checked out the website but it does not show July or August on the booking calendar yet. Thank you for everything and I will keep an eye on the booking site so I can confirm next years reservation. I still have one more week here in paradise but I was anxious to drop you a note.

Thanks again,

Mitch Christophersen

(PS My daughter loves your cat and Im affraid she has been spoiling her and her furry friends.)

  • Submitted: Aug 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Coaticook, Quebec
5

Perfect location

  • 5 of 5

The condo is exactly as pictured. (if not better) Marjorie gave us the best advise. The best of all was to have use Jose to get us around. There is really no reason to rent a car. The condo is located so you can walk easily to both beaches and downtown. The view is breathtaking. Jose took us for a tour of Puerto Plata and the Rum factory one day and a plantation another day. I can not image a better location on the island or a better condo.

There are two grocery stores within walking distance and you can get everything you need.

I thought the other reviews might have over stated the property when I read them. However, like mine they do not do the place justice. The best ever!!

  • Submitted: Feb 1, 2010
  • Stayed: Dec 2009
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0

Map

Nearest Airport
10 Miles
Puerto Plata
Nearest Restaurant
0.1 Miles
Morua Mai and Piergiorgio Palace
Nearest Beach
0.1 Miles
Sosua Beach and Playa Alicia
Car: not necessary

Other Activities: kite boarding, kayaking, paddle boarding, party catamaran trips, glass bottom boat

Photos

Rates & Availability

El Batey Condo Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Christmas/New Year
Dec 18 2017 - Jan 3 2018
7 night minimum stay
$1,500
 
 
My Standard Rate
4 night minimum stay
$150
$1,000
$2,000
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $0
Refundable damage deposit $300

Electricity allowance of $25/week included. Client will pay for extra electricity usage.
Maid service 3 days per week included.

To reserve the condo we must receive a check for half the rental amount, which must be drawn on a U.S. bank.
Rental balance plus $300 security deposit to be paid in cash upon check in.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable
Calendar not updated in over 2 months and may not be available. Look for rentals with Request to Book or updated calendars.

Amenities

El Batey Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Beach View
  • Mountain View
  • Oceanfront
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Away From It All
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Safe
  • Security System
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Water Cooler
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single
  • Twin beds can be converted into a king. We have a double aero bed in the closet if needed.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Music Library
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Beach Towels
  • Deck / Patio
  • Gated Community
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Walkway to Water
  • 6 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair accessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
  • Outdoor Pool
  • Whirlpool
Attractions:
  • caves
  • churches
  • festivals
  • museums
  • reefs
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • synagogues
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • waterfalls
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
The washing machine and dryer are communal. Maid service 3 times a week included.

Partner Offers