check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit

Romantic Seneca Lake Waterfront Escape/Hot Tub/Wine Trail/Pets

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Overview


Details
Property
cottage
Sleeps
6
Bedrooms
2
Bathrooms
1
Minimum Stay
2 - 7 nights

About the property

2 Bedrooms, 1 Full Modern Bathroom, Full Modern Kitchen, Sleeps 6 comfortable

Welcome to the coziest cottage on Seneca's west side. This cottage is in a very private and quiet setting. Enjoy the awesome views from the hot tub overlooking the lake. There is large screen cable TV and high speed wireless Internet. The front of the cottage has an awesome view of the lake through a mostly glass wall. That view is accessible from most of the cottage. Dinner with the family or breakfast at sunrise can be enjoyed on a large dock, or on the covered front porch. Has gas grill and fire pit by the water. Very large bedrooms, including a king master. Modern new appliances in kitchen - new ceramic tile bathroom. Very well decorated and exceptionally clean. 2 tennis courts nearby. 3 golf courses within 15 minutes. In-cottage massages and limo tours at door available. There are only a few stairs down to the lake and even a small beach for children. We are in a VERY central location which puts us close to most of the regions premier wineries and nearby towns. We are 6 miles from shopping, groceries, gas, restaurants, and movie theaters. 8 miles from state boat launch and boat rentals. Road open year round and easily accessible in winter. Walking distance to the Outlet Trail for hiking and biking between Seneca and Keuka lakes. Cottage is modern and exceptionally clean. Award for Excellence every year . Excellent rental for those with pets [fenced in yard]. Easily accessible all year, including winter.

More Details

Owner
Pat Hoke
Member since: 2007
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
January 21, 2017

Why Pat Hoke chose Seneca Lake

Our family has had a cottage nearby since 1930, and since has added 3 more in the same vicinity. When these latter cottages were purchased, we knew from years of experience that this location is one of the most desireable on any of the Finger Lakes. Our cottage is very accessible year around, has ease of access to the water, enjoys peace and solitude, as well as privacy, and has beautiful views of the lake. The area behind the cottage is lawn and woods, which is also very scenic. We found the cottage to have a real, quaint lake front cottage feeling. It is cozy with lots of windows and light. We also liked the fact that the bedrooms were very large for a cottage, unlike many cottages we had seen. There are no big drop offs at the water, so our children and our grandchildren can enjoy playing in the water without fear. It was the nicest of all the cottages we looked at, and our family loves it.

Guestbook comments from the owner

I stumbled upon your site when searching for a weekend getaway. I thought the pictures of the Arrowhead Cottage were gorgeous. Of course, we were skeptical because we’d been burned by internet pictures in the past. But we decided to take a chance. Well, we couldn’t have been more pleased. The cottage was exactly what we wanted. The shabby chic décor was artfully executed, the colors and fabrics so soothing. I wouldn’t change a thing. The setting was even more breathtaking than the pictures. It was the ideal weekend for us. We sat on the porch gazing at the water for hours (and we’re from the Jersey Shore )! It was hard to leave the cottage. Thanks for an amazing adventure.
Sep 2009
  • 1 of 2

Reviews

Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(23 traveler reviews)

Romantic Seneca Lake Waterfront Escape/Hot Tub/Wine Trail/Pets
average rating of 4.2608695 based on 25 reviews
Horseheads, NY
5

Best Vacation Close to Home

  • 5 of 5

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this beautiful and clean cottage with a perfect view of Seneca Lake. We brought our dog and he also loved it! We had a relaxing time and enjoyed the many books they keep available for visitors. It is a very quiet location and the lake is right outside the door and down the steps. We highly recommend this cottage and would absolutely love to visit again.

  • Submitted: Aug 1, 2008
  • Stayed: Jun 2008
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
7 0
5

Very cozy and romantic bungalow

  • 5 of 5

I had a great experience here, met all of my expectations and more

  • Submitted: Jan 1, 2017
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Paul - we are delighted that you had a good time and enjoyd our cottage - and that you took the time to provide your comment. We hope you will come again sometime. Best regards, Pat and Brenda
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Relaxing Fall Weekend

  • 4 of 5

Very nice property. Very clean and very well maintained. One of the nicer properties we have stayed at in the Finger Lakes region. The hot tub was an added bonus. We would definitely stay at this cottage again, just sorry we couldn't get there earlier to see and enjoy all the fall colors.

  • Submitted: Nov 9, 2015
  • Stayed: Nov 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Tunkhannock, PA
5

Engagement Weekend!

  • 5 of 5

We were extremely please with the accommodations here. The house is right on the lake with a small dock on the water, the hot tub is situated to perfectly for fantastic views and the sun comes right into the house every morning, it is nothing less than gorgeous. The location is great in relation to the wine trails on Seneca Lake and its only 15 min from Geneva for any essentials necessary. The property is situated at the end of a dead end road which makes it a quiet and peaceful neighborhood. The house was in excellent condition and we had everything we needed. I appreciated the owners working with us and they were great offering to be there if we needed them. What was a simple getaway turned into my boyfriends and mine engagement celebration. It was the perfect place to make memories and share this wonderful time with our friends. I highly recommend the location to anyone looking for a relaxing weekend on the lake.

  • Submitted: Oct 23, 2015
  • Stayed: Oct 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Sister weekend getaway!

  • 5 of 5

My sister & I rented your cottage for a sister weekend getaway. It was easy to locate & upon driving up, we fell in love with the outside. When we walked inside we entered the kitchen. Once again falling in love with what we saw.....clean with modern appliances, dishes, silver & glassware, pots & pans, etc & perfect size for us. Taking our tour, we found a large master bedroom off of the kitchen. The king size bed was beautifully made & the room offered a very large closet, built-in drawers, several other dressers, chair, a charming décor & plenty of extra floor space. Loved the little shelf that was installed on the middle window overlooking the backyard...clever touch! The bathroom, across the hall from the master was small, but not confining in anyway to me...perfect fit for this cottage. The living/diningroom...VERY spacious with 2 sofa beds, several chairs, dining table, built-in corner shelves, electric fireplace & nice cottage décor. The other bedroom off the living room with its double doors, beautifully made queen bed, 2 very large closets, dressers & sounds of the water below lapping up on shore...so very peaceful. The outside covered porch offered a table with several chairs, gentle tinkling of chimes to soothe the soul & a beautiful view of Seneca Lake.The hot tub we found clean & ready for us to relax our aging joints. We ventured the 1st day to the dock/beach area, but found the lower stairs to be a little precarious for us, so we unfortunately did not use the fire pit to roast our marshmallows (instead we ate them as is. Was looking forward to a well toasted marshmallow from the fire pit, but perhaps the next time we rent, the lower stairs will be more secure or rebuilt). One other slight little cosmetic-type fix & that would be the bathroom sink faucet. Loved the style, but after years of hard water our beautiful area supplies us with, the base of the faucet is beginning to corrode. I'm not at all a very fussy person, but I thought I would bring this to your attention. All in all, though, our stay at your lovely little cottage was far to short. I would have loved to stay for months on end, but unfortunately the outside world starts to beckon & one must answer its call. Thank for the privilege of staying at your cottage & we hope to become regulars in the future. P.S...our desire was to leave it as close to the way we found it (with the exception of the linens, of course) so your housekeeper could breeze through with little to clean.

  • Submitted: Oct 26, 2014
  • Stayed: Oct 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

You can only ride a Cash Cow for so long before you have to feed it.

  • 1 of 5

The view was great... Once you looked past the overgrown bushes, which is why the place got a one star rating. But it is clear this place hasn't seen $5 worth of up keep since the owner bought it 8 years ago and posted"recently remodeled" pictures.

Specifics - the pet friendly olive green, cheap, popcorn carpet is at least 30 years old (I am in the carpet business) the kitchen carpet is absolutely disgusting. NOTHING is "recently" updated no matter what the ad says.

The roof over the deck leaks like a sieve. The stairs going down to the water are a serious safety and danger at the least. The curtains, bedspread and everything else is old and falling apart. They are the same ones shown in the 8 year old pictures.

There is no place to lie down, only two love seats. No furniture on the dock as pictured. Speaking of the dock, it is shaky and unsafe. The fence around the yard is falling apart.

Bottom line is the place has potential. It is on a nice street and does offer a nice view, even if obstructed by lack of maintenance.

But as it is now it is not something I would not recommend to anyone. It is in serious need of a "for real" update.

Now in the event the owner refutes this review, as he has with other negative ones, saying "most people are very happy" or "this guy only wants his money back", let's make it clear. I do not want my money back and I will even throw in the new toilet seat we bought to replace the broken one we found when we arrived. That's a start.

The owner should be ashamed for misrepresenting this property the way it has been.

  • Submitted: Sep 3, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: The photos shown are the most recent ones, and they speak for themselves. Each time we make an improvement, we update the photos. The roof over the front porch did develop A LEAK, but we are unable to replace or fix it during the summer season - which is when this guest was there - because we only have a 6 hour window between rentals, which is not enough time. At some point, we did not put the table and chairs out at the end of the dock because a storm with high winds blew everything off the dock during a storm, and did damage to the furniture - and also lifted our boat out of the boat hoist and damaged it beyond repair. We are guilty of not updating that photo. Guest failed to mention that there are several chairs on the beach by the fire pit, and on the front porch. There also is a table with chairs on the porch where many guest enjoy their meals with an awesome view of the lake. Most of the dock was rebuilt in 2009, and is very sturdy. The rest is fine. There are many plants and bushes on the hillside in front of the cottage going down to the beach. We allow those to grow wild to protect the hill from erosion - and we periodically trim back the bigger ones closest to the cottage to keep the view open. At their worst, those bushes do not block the view from the cottage or porch. The 2 couches in the living room are both SOFA BEDS. One is a double, which is normally big enough for one to lay on with the sofa closed. Over the years we have received numerous excellent reviews and we're noted for the level of cleanliness and service we provide. Our other guests frequently praise the hot tub with beautiful panoramic views of the lake, which this guest also failed to mention. In that this guest has expressed a high level of dissatisfaction, it's disappointing that he never made any of his concerns known to us during his stay - and given that this guest sells carpet, it's not clear if he was trying to sell us a new one.
Did you find this review helpful?
6 0

Map

Car: recommended

We are centrally located and within minutes of the Seneca Wine Trail and Keuka Wine Trail, as well as many local towns such as PennYan, Geneva, Watkins Glen and Hammonds Port. We are 6 miles from grocery stores, gas, restaurants, and movie theater - 8 miles from the state boat launch and choice of boat rentals. We are 45 minutes from Bristol Ski Resort.

Golf: We are located within 10 minutes of 2 golf courses in Geneva, NY, and one course in PennYan, NY

Ski: We are located about 45 minutes from Bristol Ski Resort.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message

Additional information about rental rates

All linens and towels $0
Pet Fee $50 + Tax
Cleaning $50 + Tax
Wine Travel Card $0
Tax Rate 4.0%

$35 clean fee applies to rentals in Jan, Feb, Mar. $75 clean fee rest of year -waived if left clean. Pet fee is $25/night - or $150/week.

Cancellation policy is 1 month prior to arrival date. No refunds after that date for any reason. All cancellations are subject to a $50.00 cancellation fee.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Dresden Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 1200 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Lake
  • Lakefront ...
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Family
  • Romantic
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Bottled Water
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Filtered Water
  • Free Long Distance
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer ...
  • Sofa Bed
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Water Cooler
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • Very clean and bright full bathroom.
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
  • Both rooms are very spacious and bright.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Barbecue
  • Beach Chairs
  • Bicycles ...
  • Boat ...
  • Boat Dock
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Patio
  • Porch / Veranda ...
  • Tennis ...
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Wood Deck
  • 8 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets considered
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
Onsite Services:
  • Chauffeur
  • Massage
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • forests
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • waterfalls
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Pets welcome with deposit. Inquire for details. Property has gated/fenced yard for pets and small children.

Learn more about this vacation rental at the owner's website:

Partner Offers