check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit

Luxury Condo in Historic District Close to Convention Center

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview


Details
Property
condo
Sleeps
4
Bedrooms
2
Bathrooms
1
Minimum Stay
2 nights

About the property

1 queen bed in Bedroom, 1 full bed in 2nd bedroom , Sleeps 4

Welcome to the Chestnut Lofts. Located at 2nd and Chestnut.

A boutique condominium building centrally located 3 blocks from the Liberty Bell, Independence hall and 1 block from Penns Landing and the waterfront. Step out your door to dine at cafes and restaurants or explore Old City in a horse drawn carriage. If visiting for a trade show, we are just a short walk to the convention center as well.

PLEASE DO NOT USE THE BOOK IT NOW BUTTON FOR STAYS LESS THEN 4 NIGHTS BEFORE CONTACTING US

Our 900 square foot condo has granite counter tops, brand new stainless steal appliances, exposed brick walls and beautiful exposed wood beams. This condo also has Wifi. The building is a certified historic landmark and is a unique blend of both new and old. If you’re coming to Philadelphia to experience the history or enjoy the fine dining you could not ask for a better location. As we do own 2 apartments in this building one facing north towards chestnut and one facing south. This unit faces south toward a parking garage. Please see notes below for pros and cons of each unit.

***There are pluses and minuses to each of our properties and we want to make sure you select the one that you and your group will enjoy the most. Please see short summaries below with the pros and cons of each of our properties below.

The Chestnut Lofts ...HomeAway # 179041 (faces rear of building)

The Chestnut Lofts is located is located in Old City which although is steps away from the liberty bell and independence hall also has a very lively night time scene with cafes and restaurants and bars. The pros of this unit is that it is located on the top floor of a 5 story building and oriented facing south toward a parking garage not facing chestnut street so it's much much quieter. Drawbacks being there isn't a waterfront view as you have in the front unit, it doesn't have those huge 20 foot ceilings and the main bedroom is a platform style (the second bedroom is fully enclosed). Please see link here for full listing. https://www.vrbo.com/141917

The Chestnut Lofts ...VRBO # 477685 (faces front of building)

This unit does have a water view, has soaring 20 foot ceilings and gets great sunlight. The drawbacks being it's located on Chestnut St so noise can be an issue especially on a weekend night. Please see link for full listing. https://www.vrbo.com/477685

(Panama St )Cozy Home in Historic Washington Square ...HomeAway # 3165419

This home is located directly next to our other home listing #583380 (Townhouse in Washington Sq) on a quiet cobblestone walking street. Both homes are nearly identical although "Townhouse in Washington Sq" was recently remodeled with a new kitchen and new bathroom. On the upside it has a washer and dryer where the other does not. You can not be more centrally located than this, very easy walk to Rittenhouse Square, Washington Square, 13th and Sansom as well as Old City. The location is hard to beat. Drawback wise these places are small and they have very challenging stairs.

(Panama St) Townhouse in Washington Square ...VRBO # 583380

Please see above summary

Charming on Historic Street ... VRBO # 619713

My personal favorite of all our properties. This home is located 258 S. Quince street, if you google images of "Quince street Philadelphia" you will see it has been the subject of many a painting and photograph. The street with all it's cute little walking streets and off shoots is very European/ Old World. It's very tough to drive a car down, more of a cobblestone walking street, making it very quiet, almost an oasis in the middle of the busy city. It's still not too far from the historic sites but certainly not as close as The Chestnut Lofts are. It also has a private back patio with table and 4 chairs. Although it is a trinity, its much larger than the ones we have on Panama st. Drawback wise, Id say it has a lot of stairs and could be an issue for a toddler or someone that has any sort of mobility issue. Please see link for full listing. https://www.vrbo.com/619713

****Very Important

Please read our notes about 2 and 3 night stays in the rates section. We take them on a case by case basis and rates can be much higher. Please do not use the book it now button for 2 or 3 night stays before contacting us.

More Details

Property Manager
Josh Russell
Member since: 2007
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
January 21, 2017

About Josh Russell

My grandfather purchased this building in 1930 using it as his furniture store. My father developed the building into 20 offices and 16 condos selling off several while keeping this penthouse unit for himself.

Josh Russell purchased this condo in 1990

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(53 traveler reviews)

Luxury Condo in Historic District Close to Convention Center
average rating of 4.8301888 based on 53 reviews
San Antonio, Texas
5

Great accomodations in perfect location

  • 5 of 5

The property was just as advertised. My group of 4 was very comfortable. The apartment is in the perfect neighborhood. We stayed over New Year's Eve and were able to walk to the great historical sites like Independence Hall and The Liberty Bell and were right down the street from Penn Landing and had a beautiful view of the fireworks. The area is also packed full of restaurants and bars and there are grocery and liquor stores nearby as well. Try Pete's for pizza and Jim's for cheesesteaks. We were also a short uber ride away from the Eagles game and the airport so the location was ideal. Our host was super responsive and check in and out was super easy. Thanks Josh, if we ever have the opportunity, we would be thrilled to stay again!

  • Submitted: Jan 2, 2017
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great location- warm and cozy loft

  • 5 of 5

Loved this loft. Had the perfect space for our family of 3 adults. Close to amazing restaurants and the river rink. A fun Christmas holiday return to our home town. Josh was very responsive to our questions. We highly recommend josh and the chestnut lofts!

  • Submitted: Dec 28, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

nice condo...great location

  • 5 of 5

the property was clean, well appointed and the location was fantastic.

josh was great...from booking to refunding the security deposit, he was very responsive and professional. highly recommend.

  • Submitted: Dec 22, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Thanksgiving at the Chestnut Lofts

  • 5 of 5

Had a wonderful stay at Chestnut Lofts on our trip to Philadelphia with our family over Thanksgiving, 2016. Josh and Miranda have provided everything one needs for a perfect vacation-very clean property, great beds and bedding, and easy to follow directions to enter the property and to operate the TV and wifi. The location is superb-we parked our card in the parking lot across the street; and, we were able to walk to the historical sites. Josh promptly answered our emails and gave us good advice about our car. Thanks for a special time!

  • Submitted: Nov 25, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Birthday Weekend

  • 4 of 5

Apartment was clean and well located for Old Town Touring.

A rowdy, bustling night life on the street but quiet in the apartment.

Naturally quiet in the day.

Apartment on the 5th floor and thankfully there is an elevator.

My only problem was with the reservation people at Home Away. I was assured by two Home Away people that parking was included, so I booked with them. When the contract came from the owner it stated that NO parking was included but there were near by public lots.

Addressing my concern with Home Away I was told to contact the owner as they only did the booking. The misinformation did not come from the owner but from the people at Home Away. I was told to file a complaint which I did, but again I was told to contact the owner.

The error was at Home Away and of course now I could not cancel the reservation because of time constraints.

  • Submitted: Oct 17, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Im so glad you enjoyed your stay with us that really makes me angry that HomeAway gave you misinformation about our home. Parking is not included in any of our properties and runs roughly $25/night in the local garages. Im very sorry that happened. Safe Travels, We hope to have you back again soon. Best, Josh & Miranda
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Awesome home, awsome location!

  • 5 of 5

You cannot beat this location in Philly! The home was perfect and had all that we needed on our 5 day trip! Penn's Landing and so many historical sites, good restaurants and nightlife all within easy walking distance! Josh was readily available with communication and very accommodating! We will stay here again if we ever get the opportunity to return to this great city!

  • Submitted: Oct 10, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

The Hipstoric™ Old City District (OCD) is a place of unique people, significant history, charming shops, intriguing night life, and just loads of entertainment. Come and find out why it's a great place to visit, work and live. We look forward to seeing you in the neighborhood! Independence Hall, Independence Visitor Center, the National Constitution Center, the Liberty Bell Center are but a few of the countless historical attractions the OCD has to offer. Learn about our important history and the Old City of today, while eating and shopping at fun and interesting places!

Photos

Rates & Availability

Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $125
Pet Fee $40
Refundable damage deposit $250
Tax Rate 8.5%

Important Note with regards to two night stays! With Regards to 2 and 3 night stays. We do take 2 and 3 night stays on a case by case basis. Please inquire for a quote.

Rates Subject to Change

Manager's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the manager or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Center City Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1200 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Downtown
  • Waterfront
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Historic
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Elevator
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
Entertainment:
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • boating
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • golf
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • tennis
Notes:
I recently put a 47 Inch Plasma in this Condo.

Partner Offers