Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

check navigate-up


Member since: 2008
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Beautiful Log Cabin *Mountain Views* *Hot Tub*

50 Reviews
Bedrooms 2
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Pay with confidence

Your booking will be backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee when you complete your reservation online and finalize payment on HomeAway.

Learn more


North Carolina Cabin Rental Photos and Description

Cabin, 2 Bedrooms + Loft, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 4-7)

This log cabin is a great place to relax and enjoy nature at its finest. Nestled away on a private mountain lot, yet conveniently located to many area attractions.

The cabin is a 2 bedroom each having its own bathroom with a loft for additional sleeping or TV watching. There is a queen bed in each bedroom. The loft has a pull out sleeper sofa and a pull out sleeper chair. Wood floors, tile, and carpeting add to its natural wood beauty. The kitchen has stainless steel appliances and silestone countertops with a breakfast bar. The gas burning fireplace adds to the already comfortable and cozy atmosphere in the large open living area. The 4 person Hot Tub is a great way to unwind and enjoy the view from the back deck.

Relax and enjoy the mountain views from the wrap around deck or hike to nearby Lake George for fishing, swimming, and picnicking.

Privacy is guaranteed as the cabin sits on almost 3 acres in gated Gateway Mountain surrounded by mountain laurel and a lush hardwood forest. A trout pond and a waterfalls complete with picnic area welcomes guests year round.

Close to The Biltmore Estate, Lake Lure, Chimney Rock Park, Historic Black Mountain, Mt. Mitchell State Park, Lake James, Linville Caverns, and Maggie Valley. You can be as busy as you want or as laid back as you need! Visit the Gateway Mountain website for more information and pictures.

Keywords: Log, House

More Details
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Sharon (Owner)
Member since: 2008
Call Owner
Speaks: english

About Sharon

My husband and I grew up near the mountains in Pennsylvania and spent our childhoods hiking, fishing, and camping. When we vacationed in Gateway Mountain we loved the natural surroundings and breathtaking views that were all around us. We decided to purchase this vacation home so that we could revisit the beauty and tranquility of the mountains whenever possible without the hassle of hotels or condominiums.

Sharon purchased this cabin in 2008

Why Sharon chose North Carolina

Gateway Mountain is our quiet, relaxing home away from home. The developers kept the natural beauty of the mountains while providing Gateway residents and visitors with the security of a gated community. Our home is within a short drive to beautiful Asheville, NC which provides plenty of year round activities for everyone in our family.

What makes this cabin unique

Gateway Mountain has many areas to hike, fish, swim, nature watch, and explore. It is also conveniently located so that in a short drive you can get to Lake Lure, Chimney Rock Park, Asheville, Black Mountain, the Blue Ridge Parkway, Linville Caverns, Granfather Mountain, Little Switzerland, Catawba Falls,and other areas which offer a variety of year round activities.


based on 50 traveler reviews

Beautiful Log Cabin *Mountain Views* *Hot Tub*
average rating of 4.48 based on 50 reviews

Great weekend getaway

  • 4 of 5

We had a wondeful time at the house . We enjoyed cooking meals and relaxing in the hottub, everything was veery clean ! One thing was lack of wifi but your going to the Mountains to unplug anyways :) !the driveway was a little tricky getting up especially after it rained but we made it .! We all loved that dining room table :) would def stay here again .

  • Submitted: May 4, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Beautiful place to stay

  • 5 of 5

This cabin was so beautiful and the location was exactly what we had hoped for. The cabin was located towards the top of the mountain so we had a nice view. The wrap around porch made it easy to sit and have my morning coffee while enjoying said view. On the porch there was also a small hot tub which was lovely on some of the cooler evenings. Inside the cabin was nicely decorated and Sharon provided a lot of the small things, such as sugar, coffee, soaps, etc, to make the stay a little easier. The only negative I had was the comfort of the furniture. The dining room chairs seemed broken because the seat cushions no longer had their support so when you sat down you sank into the wood frame of the chair which was extremely uncomfortable. And the loft sofa had a pull-out bed, but unfortunately that too was worn down so much that we couldn't even use it. If those two things were replaced this cabin could be absolutely amazing. The beds in both rooms were very comfortable though! Despite the furniture I still wanted to give Sharon a 5 star because she was very communicative and the cabin stay overall was wonderful. **Warning** If you NEED Wi-Fi or have AT&T you may want to find another location. There is no Wi-Fi at this cabin and my husband and I had no cell service. We had to go into town to check in with family if we needed too. If you want to be completely unplugged though this is the place for you! There is a land line in the cabin that you can use to call collect or use a phone card for. Sharon was nice to provide us the number to give our families just in case there was an emergency with our son back home though! I was very grateful for that.

  • Submitted: Apr 26, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Mountain house

  • 3 of 5

The trip up the mountain to the house was easy and yes the driveway is steep but we had a truck so no problem. The house was overall clean for the most part. Wish the beds were bigger considering my boyfriend is 6'4". But they were comfy. FYI you can hear everything in this house. Overall the house was nice. The only complaint is they cut the cable off at 12am and our check out wasn't till the next morning. But I would recommend this house.

  • Submitted: Apr 11, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We don't shut off the TV at 12am. There must've been a bad storm in the area or the system was temporarily down. Sorry for this inconvenience.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

This is a real gem in the mountains of North Carolina.

  • 5 of 5

Our family spent a week in this cabin during our spring break. We have a 5 and 6 year old that we were worried about keeping entertained during our stay. The kids spent a lot of the time outside playing in the woods or playing on the deck. We traveled to Chimney Rock/Lake Lure and Asheville during our stay which are short scenic drives and also explored the Gateway Mountain fishing lakes. The cabin had everything we needed and was well kept and clean. I would highly recommend staying at this cabin. It was an excellent experience.

  • Submitted: Mar 21, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Beautiful Cabin

  • 4 of 5

Overall, my friends and I had a wonderful visit! The cabin is absolutely gorgeous and the view was great. I am glad I read the other reviews because you should definitely bring extra toilet paper and paper towels, as we would have run out. The hot tub did not take hours to heat up, it took two days. Luckily, we still got to enjoy it on our last night. The last thing I feel is important to know is that 4-wheel drive is not recommended, it is absolutely necessary. We had two SUV's and one could not make it up the driveway. It really was a great trip. The waterfall was spectacular. I just thought anyone else booking the cabin may want to know those few details.

  • Submitted: Jan 21, 2016
  • Stayed: Jan 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Yes...I always recommend 4 wheel drive in the winter if there is a possibility of ice and/or snow....glad you made it up the driveway and had a good time!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Things to know before staying here

  • 3 of 5

1. TRY to arrive in daylight. I've lived and driven in the mountains all my life but these roads are confusing and the directions provided could be clearer.

2. Info provided said the hot tub may take "several hours" to warm up in winter. It took 24 hours and we were only there for a weekend so really didn't get to use it.

3. Yes the driveway is intimidating, especially at night, but you will make it, you just might churn some gravel.

4. The cabin itself is really nice, well kept, and feels like-new. Definitely great bang for your buck.

  • Submitted: Jan 13, 2016
  • Stayed: Jan 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Point of Interest
The Biltmore Estate
Nearest Point of Interest
Chimney Rock Park
Nearest Point of Interest
Lake Lure
Nearest Point of Interest
Lake James
Nearest Point of Interest
Linville Caverns
Nearest Point of Interest
Snow Ski Resort
Car: necessary

waterfalls, trout pond, lake for swimming and fishing,

Pay Per View movies available at 3.99 each


Rates & Availability

Old Fort Cabin Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $200
Tax Rate 6.75%

70.00 Cleaning Fee for 2 nights---3 nights or more I pay the 70.00 cleaning Fee
****Refundable damage deposit is returned within a few days of your departure****

Please call or email me if you would prefer to book through me and not VRBO....thank you! ( or 407-353-3755)

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates to see total
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)


North Carolina Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone
  • Washing Machine
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 7
  • Queen size Beds (1), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1)
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Video Library
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • wildlife viewing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • spelunking
  • swimming
  • water skiing

Partner Offers

Other Vacation Properties

Contact the Owner

Tell us about your trip, then book it

This property requires that you message the owner to complete your booking request.
Enter dates to calculate a quote