check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Mr. Hensley - contact by e-mail first

Member since: 2008
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Papa Bear's River Cabin- 3 bedroom, 2 full bath, Riverfront

27 Reviews
Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Page County Cabin Rental Photos and Description

3 bedroom, 2 full bath, Riverfront

Papa Bear invites you to come relax in this beautiful riverfront log cabin, with all the right amenities and a view second to none. Located near the beautiful Skyline Drive and Ski Slopes. Explore the famous Luray Caverns or take a short drive to the home of Thomas Jefferson. Maybe just relax, or fish or read a good book. This cabin will certainly create memories for a lifetime.

Live Well.....Love Much.........Laugh Often-

Papa Bear

Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Mr. Hensley - contact by e-mail first (Owner)
Member since: 2008
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Guestbook comments from the owner

Dear Hensley Family,

Thank you so much for renting your beautiful cabin to our family. Our children absolutely loved every minute staying there and were quite sad to leave. The warmth of your cabin , the decor , the outdoor amenities like the fire pit and wrap around porch , along with the perfect setting along the Shenandoah River made for a magical and relaxing family vacation.We could see all of the thought and details that went into your home ; it is perfect for a family retreat and everything we needed. It was also a nice addition that there were children toys and movies available for down times.

We were able to visit the beautiful Shenandoah Caverns and accompanying family friendly museums as well as eat a delicious lunch at the stunning historic Mimslyn Inn , all was fantastic ! Everywhere we went everyone had great hospitality and K

kindness. The mountains and scenery in the Shenandoah area are breathtaking and something everyone should experience.

Thank you again for opening your cabin to us. We had a wonderful time ; our children are already asking when we can return to Papa Bear's River Cabin ! ( They loved the stuffed Papa Bear and Baby Bear in the cabin as well as all the bears throughout your decor ! )



Best Regards,

Amelia and Michael and Children
Oct 2014
  • 1 of 19

Reviews

4.7
based on 27 traveler reviews

Papa Bear's River Cabin- 3 bedroom, 2 full bath, Riverfront
average rating of 4.703704 based on 46 reviews
Paulsboro,NJ
5

Riverfront serenity!

  • 5 of 5

Papa Bears river cabin is a bucolic dream in the Virginia countryside. Beautifully landscaped right on the Shenandoah river. Completely private, yet close to Luray and Skyline drive. This is our second vacation here and we love this place! The house is perfectly appointed,super clean and instantly feels like...home. My boyfriend is an avid fisherman and caught 30 bass in 3 days! After a full day of hiking we just love pulling into the long driveway and seeing our cabin. It truly is a warm,welcoming respite. The Hensleys are a delight and are eager to answer any questions or concerns and do so promptly. I feel they truly enjoy sharing their little slice of heaven with all of us. We will return, yet again.

  • Submitted: Sep 3, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for taking time to review our property !! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Papa Bear's . We want to thank you for taking such good care of our property and hope you will return again soon !!! Best, The Hensley Family
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Morrisvile
4

Comfortable, quiet, spacious and well-appointed

  • 4 of 5

Stayed for a weekend in late summer. Beautiful property with very responsive owners. Plenty of room in the primary bedrooms, and has a well-equipped kitchen. The only improvement we could suggest is adding a window-air conditioner in the upstairs bedroom, as it gets a bit warm, even with the AC set at 70 degrees. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Submitted: Aug 22, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hello , Thank you so much for taking time to review our property . Sometimes when previous guest leave the cabin , they close off some of the upstairs air vents . We try to remember to check the vents after the guest leave . When the vents are closed , it will get warm upstairs. Thank you again for letting us know and we will check on this issue. We would love to have you visit again !!! The Hensley Family
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Peaceful!

  • 5 of 5

Our family had a wonderful week at Papa Bears! The cabin is wonderfully maintained, steps to the Shenandoah River and has a great deck and hot tub! The owners were wonderful & easy to work with! Could have had a more peaceful and blessed week with my family!

  • Submitted: Jul 21, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking time to review your stay at Papa Bear's River Cabin. We are so glad to hear your time at the cabin was enjoyable. We love having guest like you and hope you will come back soon. We want to thank you too , for leaving the cabin in really good condition. We truly appreciate that !! Thank you again !! Take Care, The Hensley Family
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Maryland
5

Fun time with family

  • 5 of 5

We stayed for a few days of relaxation and had a lovely time! The cabin is cozy, but plenty of room for a family of 6 (including 4 kids ages 5-11). They loved opening and closing the gate and having a campfire in the fire pit, plus all the bear decor! Close to Luray and Shenandoah, plus the basic things we needed like groceries. Cabin was very clean and well-equipped with everything we needed. Thanks for a great stay!

  • Submitted: Apr 2, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for choosing Papa Bear's River Cabin for your family vacation. We love having families visit our cabin and hope you will come back again !!!! The Hensley Family
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Perfect!

  • 5 of 5

A group of friends and I got together to celebrate my 28th birthday at this cabin. It was absolutely perfect. The cabin is nice and clean, the hot tub was wonderful, and the view is breath-taking. We went to masanutten resort on Saturday to go snow-tubing, but unfortunately they were all booked. Word of advice: reserve your time online prior to going there. We all loved it so much that we are planning to come back during the summer!

  • Submitted: Mar 10, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for taking time to write this wonderful review . We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at the cabin . We love having guest like you and hope you will visit Papa Bear's River Cabin again !!! The Hensley Family
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

It's a wonderful place for a vacation

  • 5 of 5

This is our second time staying at Papa Bear's cabin and we would stay there again. The location is a perfect balance of quiet and accessible to all the essentials, including Shenandoah National Park. The house is clean and in great condition and we liked how it was decorated for Christmas. The gas fireplace is not only nice to look at, but it will warm the house up in a hurry, especially the upstairs area. The outdoor seating is nice and there is plenty of space for fishing along the river. The kitchen is well-equipped for cooking even a full Christmas dinner, as we did, though it's a good idea to bring your own seasonings, of course. If you've forgotten something, there is a Food Lion that's only about 15 minutes away. In terms of what one would normally expect from a vacation home, I can't say that anything was missing and many nice extras were there. The only drawback to our stay was that the mattresses on the beds were surprisingly loud, making it hard for everyone in my family to get a good night's sleep. Even while in the downstairs bedroom, I could hear people upstairs getting in and out of bed in the middle of the night. In all, we enjoyed our stay very much and it made for a special Christmas vacation. Thank you!

  • Submitted: Dec 29, 2015
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so glad you had a good time at Papa Bear's River Cabin and we love having guest like you and your family. Thank you for letting us know about your stay . The issues you had are resolved and we appreciate you letting us know !!! Thanks again !!! You are always welcome at Papa Bear's River Cabin !!!
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Map

Car: necessary

Located in Virginia's Shenandoah Valley. Ideal location for couple's anniversary, honeymoon, quick getaway, family vacation or retreat. Enjoy being nestled between the Shenandoah National Park's Skyline Drive, The George Washington National Forest and the legendary Shenandoah River. Beautiful views and peaceful surroundings that nature has to offer. 1 Mountain + 1 River = A Perfect Vacation at Papa Bear's River Cabin

Photos

Rates & Availability

Page County Cabin Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$250
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $25 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Property Damage Protection $59
Tax Rate 10.3%

15% discount for 6 nights or more. Children under 12 years old are free.

Cancellation: Tenant shall receive a refund of all
payments made by Tenant, less a cancellation fee equal to ten percent of the total rent amount if the Premises are re-rented on the terms set forth herein. If the premises are not re-rented, Tenant will not be entitled to a refund of any rent payment.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Page County Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Location Type:
  • Mountain
  • Mountain View
  • River
  • Rural
  • Ski in/Ski out ...
  • Water View ...
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Firewood
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Grill
  • Kitchen
  • Lobster Pot
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • Both baths have tub w/ showers.Towels and wash cloths provided.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single
  • This cabin has three bedroom with TV in each. The bedroom upstairs has a queen bed, a twin w/ trundle, a full bath and also a walk in closet. The bedrooms down stairs shares a full bath.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Books for Kids
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television
  • Toys
  • VCR
  • Video Game Console
  • Video Games
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Barbecue
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Wood Deck
  • 4 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
  • Outdoor Hot Tub
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • autumn foliage
  • caves
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • forests
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • restaurants
  • water parks
  • waterfalls
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • skiing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
Notes:
The cabin is nicely equipped. The cabin is secluded by being surrounded by 280 ac of privately owned mountain land with beautiful river frontage but within easy driving distance to the town of Shenandoah and Luray. . New hot tub ! Relax in this new 6 person hot tub and watch the Shenandoah River drift by.

Learn more about this vacation rental at the owner's website:

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties