check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-829-7076
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-829-7076

Eleanor Perry

Member since: 2003
Speaks: english

Charming and Quaint Cape Cod Cottage Near Cockle Cove Beach

4 Reviews
Bedrooms 2
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more


South Chatham Cottage Rental Photos and Description

Cottage, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6)

Cranberry Way cottage is a delightful and charming 2 bedroom, 2 bath Cape Cod cottage on a no-outlet street on a large lot with much privacy, within easy walking distance to Cockle Cove Beach. It is a quaint country cottage with central air conditioning, high speed internet, free phone calls to the US and Canada, fireplace, large new 2nd bathroom, washer and dryer, microwave, cable TV, DVD, CD, VCR players, gas grill, and it is only a short walk from conservation land at the end of the road. It is just 0.6/mile from beautiful Cockle Cove Beach and 2 miles from the center of beautiful Chatham, now on the list of one of the 10 best National Heritage Destinations to visit in the US. It is near great restaurants, museums, fishing trips, and the Cape Cod National Seashore Center with guided walks, films of Cape Cod history, and wonderful bike trails. Don't miss the opportunity to have a marvelous vacation at a reasonable rate on beautiful Cape Cod.

Chatham is a charming town in the middle of Cape Cod, accessible to every area of the Cape, plus Boston. There are delightful stores, museums, bike trails, Chatham Lighthouse, beautiful beaches, great whale watching and deep sea fishing trips, trips to the seal island, Playhouse, Melody Tent, Monomoy Theater with presentations by the Ohio University Players, weekly band concerts in the town of Chatham, and you are near the Cape Playhouse, the oldest summer theater in the country, the Melody Tent in Hyannis and an hour and a half from historic Boston.

There are many golf courses on the Cape, near historic Plymouth with Plymouth Plantation and the Mayflower, many bike trails through the Cape Cod National Seashore in Eastham, working grist mills, oldest house on Cape Cod in Sandwich, Sandwich glass museum, Heritage Plantation in Sandwich, and many fresh water lakes throughout Cape Cod, and the lobster is the best in the world!

Keywords: Cottage

More Details
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair accessible
Eleanor Perry (Owner)
Member since: 2003
Speaks: english

About Eleanor Perry

Mark's parents, Richard and Eleanor Perry, are the owners of two rental homes on Cape Cod in South Chatham and have been renting their three bedroom home on Pleasant Street for over 50 years. We are helping them out by managing the rental homes, now. We look forward to assisting you as you plan your Cape Cod vacation.

Eleanor Perry purchased this cottage in 1990

Why Eleanor Perry chose Chatham

We feel Chatham is the most beautiful town on Cape Cod with so many fascinating things to see and do for tenants. There are fishing trips, band concerts, great restaurants, wonderful museums, charming shops, great lobster and seafood of all kinds, wonderful beaches, boat trips around teh harbor, seals on and around Monomoy Island, Chatham lighthouse, lovely churches, and the town has had excellent zoning which has maintained the charming atmosphere of the community. It is also on the list of the 10 Most Distinctive Historic Sites in the US. We love the town and felt this is where we would someday like to live in our retirement so have invested in two properties in this lovely town.

What makes this cottage unique

The Nantucket Sound beaches are on the warm water side of Cape Cod as the Gulf Stream goes by this area and out to sea at the elbow of the Cape. The fishing is excellent, the free weekly band concerts are most enjoyable, and the shopping is an experience not to be missed as the stores are charming, unique, and can't be matched elsewhere on Cape Cod. The wonderful restaurants are a delight as is the famous Marion's Pie Shop with recipes of all types that you should not miss!

Guestbook comments from the owner

We loved our week on Cape Cod. We enjoyed visiting the beaches (especially Nauset), antique shops, and galleries. In spite of all we did, we feel rested.
Sep 2011
  • 1 of 25


based on 4 traveler reviews

Charming and Quaint Cape Cod Cottage Near Cockle Cove Beach
average rating of 3.0 based on 29 reviews
New Jersey (USA)

Cranberry Way Cottage - Chatham, MA.

  • 5 of 5

The property was clean, well maintained and the owner called to make sure all was well once. The cottage was comfortable and it was very quiet in the evening which was much appreciated.

In the morning we walked to the beach which was a little over1/2 mile away. Parking was available for a fee but the walk was so pleasant we preferred walking.

There were plenty of good restaurants and places to shop within 5 to 15 minutes of this location.

Couple of suggestions meals:

DINO'S breakfast grille - good breakfast- very reasonable.

Clancey's - Dennis on Rte 6- Nice dinner menu. Reasonable prices.

Brax - Excellent brunch- on Sunday. Reasonable

Chatham - Lovely litttle town- Variety of shops- minutes away.

Marion's Bakery- try the cinnamon buns. Whoa!

The owners of this cottage were pleasant, easy to deal with and very straight forward about their expectations which were minimal and completely reasonable. I would recommend this property to friends or family members.


  • Submitted: Jul 2, 2008
  • Stayed: Jun 2008
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We very much appreciate the kind words of Ted and Nancy and hope our future renters will find our cottage as enjoyable as they did. They were delightful tenants and left the cottage beautifully for which we were most appreciative. We look forward to welcoming our future renters personally which we were unable to do for Ted and Nancy because of our grandson's graduation, a unique situation which took us off-Cape for the week. Meeting our tenants has been a lovely experience for us for the 44 years we have been renting our two Cape Cod homes. We have enjoyed the many new friendships that have resulted and look forward to many more such meetings. Our sincere thanks to all who have made ownership of our Cape Cod property a reality. We hope we will have many more years of renting to lovely people from all over the world.
Did you find this review helpful?
17 0


  • 4 of 5

I found the owners to be extremely accommodating to accept our beloved dog and providing all that was necessary for a cottage on the Cape. The larger tv was left broken by the previous renters and the owners made two trips from their home to get it repaired for us which was certainly unexpected trouble for them. It took three adults to get the tv down from the wall and hoist it back up again after it was repaired. I did not use the portable dishwasher as we had only breakfast dishes to clean. We had a week of very good weather and many wonderful dinners at a different restaurant each night. The a/c was necessary as it got hot and humid. The beach was clean and we gladly paid the fee as it is cheaper than Connecticut! The cleaning deposit was returned promptly and I hope to return next summer.

  • Submitted: Aug 22, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We want to thank Carole so much for her lovely review. She was absolutely delightful to meet and was so very helpful with getting the TV down so that we could get it repaired as it has been damaged by the previous tenant who had broken off one of the plugs in the receptacle in the TV. She was so very understanding and was a model tenant as she left the house beautifully. We will welcome her back if she chooses to come back another year! People like Carole are the reason we are still doing our summer rentals after 51 years!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Be careful

  • 1 of 5

Here are a few points about this property, both good and bad. When we arrived the owners were out of the country, we were told their cleaning lady had been briefed about us in case we needed anything or had problems operating the lock box, which in fact we did. We spent a good two hours trying to interpret the owners instructions, then called the cleaning lady who had not been told about us and was unwilling to help. We eventually figured it out and discovered later that the owner's instructions were misleading. The cottage is set in quiet location on a dirt road. We found the main bathroom to be light and spacious.

Once the owners had returned we had to ask for more pillow cases, dessert spoons, salad servers and dish cloths. We had to call twice about garbage collection. The dishwasher was caked with powder inside, previous guests must have tried unsuccessfully to make it work. It's a very old portable one and we didn't attempt to operate it.

We had a great month there because we made things work for us. Unfortunately when it came to the reimbursement of our deposit, the owners not only had to be reminded to send the check but then deducted $70 for professional carpet cleaning to remove two pet stains, at a cost of $120, which were absolutely not pet stains. They were two dirt marks near the door walked in by us. Removing them was covered by the cleaning deposit that we opted not to have returned. It is our belief that the owners should have been there to check us out and then we could have discussed it. They didn't bother. Deducting that cost from the pet deposit and not the cleaning charge is just sharp practice, so be careful.

  • Submitted: Jul 10, 2015
  • Stayed: May 2015
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are sorry these tenants were not happy with our home. We did everything we could to please them while they were in our home, fulfilling every request they had and making the 28 mile trip to the home on many occasions as we strive to please all of our tenants and have done this for the many years we have owned this home. We did have to have our carpets professionally cleaned upon their departure due to many stains we thought were from their dog so we did use some of the security deposit to have this professionally done once again but that is our policy re: the security deposit. We also had an issue with a broken off tab on the TV which required removing the TV from the wall and taking it for repair but we are aware that accidents happen. We thank them for renting our home for the month and hope they enjoyed the rest of their summer.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 2

Not for those with pet allegies

  • 2 of 5

We knew the owners allowed pets, but had hoped the house would have been thoroughly cleaned after the previous rental. We walked in the door to a strong pet odor, which after a few hours of air conditioning seemed to dissipate. The blue chair, chair pads, bed skirts and carpet were all covered in pet hair. So, our vacation began with me having to vacuum the entire house, which was a bummer. I called the owner to let her know we had arrived and express my concerns. I was then told that the oven did not work, but she would have someone call me to repair it. No one called and we went the whole week without a working oven. Not a major setback, but for what we paid, a working oven would have been nice. We rented a house for the convenience of being able to cook our own meals. The location was ok as it was close to the beach and bike trail. It was a bit far from town. More than the 2 miles we anticipated. Overall, we made it work. Luckily the weather was on our side, so we weren't in the house much.

  • Submitted: Sep 16, 2009
  • Stayed: Aug 2009
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We had personally checked the house after the previous owners had left (as we always do) and we cleaned the house ourselves as the house had been left just "OK" in spite of the fact that we give tenants the option of either doing their own cleaning and having their cleaning deposit returned or having a cleaning service for this fee. These tenants had chosen to clean themselves but we found we had a lot to do when we arrived and we felt we left the house very clean so we do not understand these complaints. This is the first time in our 45 years of renting properties in South Chatham that we have had this type of complaint. We had just been told by the previous tenant that the oven was not lighting so we immediately called the repair service we use and the earliest they could come was a week from Monday so unfortunately we were unable to have the oven working for this family. Repair services on the Cape during the summer months are extremely busy so the company we use did the best they could do for us. We apologized to the family and explained the situation to them but apparently they were not satisfied with the explanation. When I first mentioned the oven problem to the tenants they told me it was not a problem as they would probably not be using it anyway. We are sorry they felt the accommodations were not up to their standards but we did the best we could and have had positive comments in our guest book from every other tenant this summer.
Did you find this review helpful?
6 2


Nearest Airport
12 Miles
Nearest Barpub
2 Miles
Nearest Ferry
12 Miles
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
RT. 28 AND RT. 137
Nearest Restaurant
3 Miles
Nearest Beach
0.6 Miles
Car: necessary

Our home is on a no-outlet street which is just 0.6/mi. from beautiful Cockle Cove Beach. We are pet friendly and our home has central A/C, wireless internet, fireplace, and a flatscreen TV. It is 2 miles from the center of Chatham, a charming and scenic New England town which is one of the 10 areas in the US that have been declared National Heritage Sites of Distinction. We are near the Chatham lighthouse and the Cape Cod National Seashore, seal tours by boat in the Chatham Harbor, deep sea fishing trips and it is a reasonable drive to Hyannis or Provincetown. Chatham has wonderful restaurants as well and many unique and lovely shops. Weekly band concerts are free in the village park, and the Ohio University Players perform during the summer at their theater on Main Street and have been doing so for over 50 years. The shows (2 musicals each summer plus many great plays) are extremely well performed and Guild actors are hired for the older parts in their performances. We highly recommend these presentations!


Rates & Availability

South Chatham Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
My Standard Rate
7 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $125
Refundable damage deposit $200

When you let us know you are interested in renting, we would email you a lease and hold the time until you returned the lease and a 50% deposit. The remaining amount would be due 6 weeks before the time of rental. If you do not return the lease within 10 days, then the hold will be released.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)


South Chatham Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Location Type:
  • Beach ...
  • Downtown ...
  • Near The Ocean ...
  • Village ...
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single
    Convertible bed(s) - Sleeper sofa in living room
  • Queen size Beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (1), Baby Cribs (1), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1)
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair accessible
  • autumn foliage
  • bay/sound
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing

Partner Offers